Nokia E71 Thread V4, firmware Version: 400.21.013 ready!!!

tchiaming
post Oct 27 2009, 01:48 AM

incubus
1,039 posts

the latest firmware is awesome. solves the camera prob especially night shots. the firmware update really make a huge difference for the camera. my firmware upgrade was from 2xx.xx.xx to 3xx.xx.xx. so i guess it was a huge leap.

btw, any of u guys experiencing sim card registration error? it happened to my phone a few times alrd. before n after i change a new sim card. any help guys?

a piece of advice if any of u guys wanna change a new keypad (under warranty) for ur phone. nokia guy told me that all new keypads will not have the chinese character, bracket character as well as other minor characters on the keypad. just a heads up for u guys. smile.gif

cheers!

Added on October 27, 2009, 1:52 am
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Oct 26 2009, 01:15 PM)
ur step is like tis right:
messaging>mailbox>start>yes>connecting to server>email or nokia email service>i always jus choose email but some prefer nokia email>type in ur email and password>next> wizard completed> ok>email setup..

usually for company email u need to ask ur technical support to help out.. as u need to connect to ur company intranet or server..
may i know the difference between email n nokia email service? recently i updated to the latest software, i gotta use a nokia email app. i find it annoying n prefer the old style where i can view my email inbox in the message department rather than the application department.

This post has been edited by tchiaming: Oct 27 2009, 01:52 AM
tchiaming
post Oct 29 2009, 12:22 AM

incubus
1,039 posts

QUOTE(julnoel @ Oct 27 2009, 08:39 PM)
hey..u changed ur keypad??

they did it for free? i wanna change mine too, a lot of the parts r like scraped off..

can pm me pls! smile.gif thanks a lot
yeah under warranty can do it for free. smile.gif
tchiaming
post Nov 5 2009, 01:04 AM

incubus
1,039 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Nov 4 2009, 03:25 PM)
opera mobile is out for nokia e series.. and it is for free!!!!
although still in beta stage.. i would giv it a 8/10..
it is no longer running on java.. it is now for symbian with .sis installer..
the down thing is that it dont support unicode.. asian languages is not supported lor.. well beta ma..
here the video:

to download jus head up to www.opera.com/mobile/download on ur phone or pc..
i tried this long time ago alrd. smile.gif

unfortunately i dun like it. prefer the old style where i can just navigate quickly (mobile view) by using my Right D-pad. the new beta can't do that. gotta navigate mouse style. damn annoying to navigate a mouse using a dpad
tchiaming
post Nov 11 2009, 12:45 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

guys, i have a prob here. would be nice if somebody help me out.

whenever i off n re-on my phone,

an "installing" status will be displayed

then, it shows "untrusted software found in memory card, to install go to application manager".

how do i get rid of this? i saw somewhere in this topic that says that i must reset my phone. hard reset or soft reset?

and if i reset my phone, will i still retain my data? (sms,contact,calender,application)

tchiaming
post Nov 11 2009, 07:12 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

i tried wookp method but didnt work.

attahun's method sounds good. problem is. i dunno which installation file i installed that caused this. cos i installed a bunch of applications at a time. tongue.gif
i wanna try the temp folder. anybody can tell me where to search for the temp folder so that i can solve me prob?

one more ques, if i reset my phone, Tools>Settings>General>Factory Settings>Yes

everything will be back to the a brand new phone right? then can i still restore from memory card?
tchiaming
post Nov 11 2009, 09:42 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Nov 11 2009, 07:08 PM)
DELETE THE QF FILE IN UR MEMORY CARD..
Tried deleting it alrd. still the same prob. so i dun think it's the qf file. btw, can i still run garmin if i delete the qf file?

QUOTE(attahun @ Nov 11 2009, 08:25 PM)
u know how wonderful internet is, simple search and u get the answer  tongue.gif

Ok bro try this:
1. From Nokia E71: Menu>installations>App Mgr - Browse through the apps and find the one marked 'not installed'. You an try to delete this and restart phone, if problem still persist, go to step 2.

2. Connect E71 to PC in 'mass storage mode' - turn on 'show hidden files and folders' (my computer>tools>folder options>view) - browse to phone's drive.

3. Delete folder \private\{name of app with problem]

4. Inform us if it works.

I should put this in my blog if this works.. tongue.gif and by the way, it normally happened due to improper uninstallations, possibly involving apps and themes..

by the way, the reset method u mentioned is soft reset, it shall just restore phone to factory settings but the 'registry' of the phone still clogged with old files. IF not mistaken, even data will not be lost.

Hard reset (*#7370) is better as it will wipe clean the phone drive and reinstall back to original phone just like new..but note all data will be lost.

I suppose the above in order..Feel free to correct the above info if wrong.. tongue.gif
Tried both steps.
Step 1 didnt work (i tot it would work but it didn't).
Step 2 also didn't work bcos i dunno which app is causing the prob. too many folders. n i dunno wat each folder does. so i just randomly delete some stuff which i am absolutely positive i didn't need them. in the end, it didnt work.

ok question here. if i do a hard reset, can i still restore all data from memory card? but by doing so, i would be restoring to the current condition now. am i right? so wat's the point of doing a hard reset then?

the only reason i am annoyed with the "untrusted software found in memory card, to install go to application manager" is bcos i think it's the reason that my email is not at my homescreen anymore.
i've checked my settings, the e-mail 1 & 2 notification is ticked.
it just suddenly disappeared after the untrusted software thingy happened.

i hope i'm clear here. need e71 pros to help me. smile.gif

EDITED:

ok guys. this is the solution if u have this msg popup "untrusted software found in memory card, to install go to application manager"

SOLUTION:

Delete the entire folder of 10202DCE. (e:\private\10202DCE)

The msg popup will never happen again.

But it didn't solve my email problem.

If u have the same email problem like mine (email notification missing from homescreen)

all u gotta do (if u use gmail) is to ARCHIVE YOUR OLD MAILS. apparently the E71 stop recognising when there are too many mails in the inbox.

once done, restart ur phone and retrieve all new emails. VIOLA! DONE! Email notification is back in your homescreen! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tchiaming: Nov 11 2009, 10:22 PM
tchiaming
post Nov 11 2009, 11:42 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

hey no problem! we're all learning here and i really appreciate wat u're doing for this thread man. keep it up!

oh btw, the untrusted software problem and the email problem are 2 separate problems. it would be better if u separate them. or just neglect the email problem cos it's really really rare. biggrin.gif

cheers!
tchiaming
post Nov 12 2009, 11:53 AM

incubus
1,039 posts

QUOTE(attahun @ Nov 12 2009, 08:45 AM)
the reason i asked u to check the app manager was to find the application which had the mark 'not installed' - app with problem, that app name should have been the same name with the folder in \private\ ... or it wasn't.. anyway i think 10202DCE folder shall be on case to case basis, other apps will make up new folder with new names..

anyhow glad u solved the prob.. rclxms.gif

Added on November 12, 2009, 8:46 am

aisehh..no comment.dun understand.. tongue.gif
yeah! it should be case by case basis. but lazy ppl like me will just delete the entire folder n problem solved. hahahhaa
anyway thanks a lot for ur help.

and i also dun understand. too bad la. doesnt matter. if phone batt can last 2-3 days i am happy d tongue.gif
tchiaming
post Nov 12 2009, 12:18 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

after i solved my prob! i love my e71 again! hahaha

btw, the e72 looks so tempting. i just wonder the camera quality.

and i really love the new e72 audio jack. 3.5mm instead of 2.5mm.

really make me wanna change my beloved e71. tongue.gif

oh n also the optical track mouse. haha. makes web browsing so much easier! no more opera mini for me! hahahhaa (if i change to e72 la)

This post has been edited by tchiaming: Nov 12 2009, 12:19 PM
tchiaming
post Nov 12 2009, 02:45 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Nov 12 2009, 12:22 PM)
sorry ah.. came here to kepo a bit.. hehehhe...

yeah, the 3.5mm jack is something really useful. i'm currenty an E63 owner and it's so easy for me to get headsets and headphones because the jack head is a more universally accepted size...

and then just the other day, i tried a friend's blackberry curve with the optical track mouse... wah, syiok man!! hahahaha... too bad i no money to buy E72.... =)

It would seem that the E72 took the main plus point from the E63, the main plus point from the blackberry, combo with the E71 plus points and voila, E72!!

sorry... OT liao... heheh...
yeah but sometimes i really think if the optical trackball is really necessary?

wouldn't it be more simple if they just have a touch screen? haha. anyway, if any of u guys plan to change from E71 to E72. pls keep us updated.

would like to see pics n for u to tell us the diff! tongue.gif
tchiaming
post Nov 12 2009, 04:57 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

haha. attahun damn pro man. everything also got answer. notworthy.gif
tchiaming
post Nov 12 2009, 05:35 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

haha yeah yeah. we must help each other out! spirit of lowyat.net! tongue.gif

edited: spirit of e71 user club of lowyat.net!

haha... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by tchiaming: Nov 12 2009, 05:35 PM
tchiaming
post Nov 13 2009, 01:07 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

QUOTE(attahun @ Nov 13 2009, 11:47 AM)
hehe same here, but i thought its the D-pad 'nicked' or 'chipped' and not rust. is the usage of words correct? tongue.gif
yeah it's not rust cos it's plastic. i changed mine twice during the warranty period! hehe tongue.gif
tchiaming
post Nov 13 2009, 03:36 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

huh???? seriously??? i changed my pad TWICE alrd. same goes to my qwerty keyboard. changed TWICE also. just for fun.

i just complain that it's hard to press, rust, bla bla bla

as long as u kam ching nicely with the service center guy n girl. they will help u wan. biggrin.gif

oh if u wanna know which nokia care i went to, i went to the klang centre. smile.gif
tchiaming
post Nov 16 2009, 02:04 AM

incubus
1,039 posts

QUOTE(2286 @ Nov 15 2009, 08:51 PM)
by viewing the image in gallery... then option there can rotate ard ah..=.=
hahaha. i LOLed when i saw this. laugh.gif

0.0439sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:17 AM