DDR2 800 or 1066 will suit my system best?, E6750, GAP35-DS3L, newbie in overclock..

TSxiong_21
post Aug 27 2009, 12:37 PM, updated 17y ago

238 posts

Hi to all sifus,

recently, i was thinking to upgrade my 2gb ddr2 value ram to 4gb right afterr the launch of Windows 7...haha.. biggrin.gif

but the problem is is my computer system will compatiple with the Kingston HyperX 1066 Ram 2gb x 2?

i search through google and found out some people using this board say it got some issues when 1066 ram, but due to i was newbie who just start to learn OC, theory-tically, so i can't even know what are those technical word they post... sweat.gif

the main concern now is any sifu here try before using 1066 without OC on this board ? or it must be OC to fully used the 1066 ram?

i came out the idea to buy 1066 is because the price is quite as same as those 800mhz...

Thanks and sorry if i ask a noob question... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif tongue.gif
reventon17
post Aug 27 2009, 12:53 PM

157 posts

http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configurat...&submit1=Search

Kingston seems to suggest up to DDR2 800..
but u can still buy DDR2 1066..if its not compatible it will underclock itself...
SUSfookeatmin89
post Aug 27 2009, 12:55 PM

207 posts

but from what i know(using the same board),this board support limited 1066 rams only..check the user manual to know about it more
TSxiong_21
post Aug 27 2009, 02:54 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(reventon17 @ Aug 27 2009, 12:53 PM)
http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configurat...&submit1=Search

Kingston seems to suggest up to DDR2 800..
but u can still buy DDR2 1066..if its not compatible it will underclock itself...
QUOTE(fookeatmin89 @ Aug 27 2009, 12:55 PM)
but from what i know(using the same board),this board support limited 1066 rams only..check the user manual to know about it more
hi, thanks for the info..i'd check my board, it support 1066 DDR2..
but the list of supported memory which i download from gigabyte site is really limited due to they not update it already...

i think i better stick to 800 DDR2, since for a newbie like me, 1066 ram will be a wasted... tongue.gif
cos i check through some review, it say they needa oc the volt to 2.2-2.3v and with 5-5-5-15 only it can run at 1066..

but still, im doubt about wat if i don't want to oc it? will it had difference with 800 ram? because as i understand from web, 1066 is just another pcs of 800 ddr which can oc better...

for DDR2 800, any brand recomendation?
gothmy
post Aug 31 2009, 04:31 AM

147 posts

Go to kingston hyper x bro, it use hynix chip
mine is T1 hehe
bryanyeo87
post Aug 31 2009, 01:08 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(xiong_21 @ Aug 27 2009, 12:37 PM)
Hi to all sifus,

recently, i was thinking to upgrade my 2gb ddr2 value ram to 4gb right afterr the launch of Windows 7...haha.. biggrin.gif

but the problem is is my computer system will compatiple with the Kingston HyperX 1066 Ram 2gb x 2?

i search through google and found out some people using this board say it got some issues when 1066 ram, but due to i was newbie who just start to learn OC, theory-tically, so i can't even know what are those technical word they post... sweat.gif

the main concern now is any sifu here try before using 1066 without OC on this board ? or it must be OC to fully used the 1066 ram?

i came out the idea to buy 1066 is because the price is quite as same as those 800mhz...

Thanks and sorry if i ask a noob question...  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif tongue.gif
Yes it will work fine. anything more then 800mhz is already considered overclocking as it is out of JEDEC specifications.

the p35 ds3l is fine up to 1200mhz,

QUOTE(xiong_21 @ Aug 27 2009, 02:54 PM)
but the list of supported memory which i download from gigabyte site is really limited due to they not update it already...

i think i better stick to 800 DDR2, since for a newbie like me, 1066 ram will be a wasted... tongue.gif
cos i check through some review, it say they needa oc the volt to 2.2-2.3v and with 5-5-5-15 only it can run at 1066..

but still, im doubt about wat if i don't want to oc it? will it had difference with 800 ram? because as i understand from web, 1066 is just another pcs of 800 ddr which can oc better...

1066mhz rams are better binned, they have passed a certain level of binning.

QUOTE(gothmy @ Aug 31 2009, 04:31 AM)
Go to kingston hyper x bro, it use hynix chip
mine is T1 hehe
the only hynix's that were good were in the form of Patriot 800mhz value rams, running at 12xxMhz CL6, nice...

what the heck does T1 got to do with anything here?

kindly explain your statement.

//Moved to Q&A
GeneralX
post Aug 31 2009, 02:43 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(xiong_21 @ Aug 27 2009, 02:54 PM)

The 533MHz SPD preset is not provided hence requiring manual overclocking.

0.0132sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:51 AM