Thats true. Normally, the female will outlive the male.
Tarantula Thread V12, 1 Tarantula 1 Malaysia
Aug 29 2009, 12:19 AM
984 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Here and There. |
Thats true. Normally, the female will outlive the male.
Aug 29 2009, 12:22 AM
45 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Malaysia |
but how long da male can live?
Aug 29 2009, 12:22 AM
77 posts Joined: May 2009 |
yeah...
i've heard that after the ultimate moult,the male will last long just a few month..then will die... |
Aug 29 2009, 12:23 AM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Roseville, California |
QUOTE(Aidivn @ Aug 28 2009, 09:18 AM) thanks... All depends on species. Some females 8-15 years, and I've heard some living 30-40 yrs. Males live about a year after they mature so it depends on how long it takes to mature- again depending on species.oh ya...i found out dat female Ts can lived more than 20yrs rite? but how bout male? my frenz told me...1- 4 yrs? a bit confused |
Aug 29 2009, 12:28 AM
45 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(Oldfart @ Aug 29 2009, 12:23 AM) All depends on species. Some females 8-15 years, and I've heard some living 30-40 yrs. Males live about a year after they mature so it depends on how long it takes to mature- again depending on species. poor my smithi...dun care if male or female..msti jaga elok2 |
Aug 29 2009, 12:34 AM
34 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Aug 29 2009, 01:18 AM
80 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(Oldfart @ Aug 29 2009, 12:23 AM) All depends on species. Some females 8-15 years, and I've heard some living 30-40 yrs. Males live about a year after they mature so it depends on how long it takes to mature- again depending on species. my fren first T is a rosea, it is a male....... it has had the hook since or before i started this hobby( 2 years back) and now still alive......and not forgot to mention,it is very healthy |
Aug 29 2009, 01:26 AM
I got a year old MM rosea as well.. still mating lol.
Aug 29 2009, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(ccfook2123 @ Aug 28 2009, 10:18 AM) my fren first T is a rosea, it is a male....... it has had the hook since or before i started this hobby( 2 years back) and now still alive......and not forgot to mention,it is very healthy yeah, and if it survives the next molt it will live even longer. The thing is most mature males do not survive the next molt. Hence the one year time frame since most adult T's will molt at least once a year.This post has been edited by Oldfart: Aug 29 2009, 01:49 AM |
Aug 29 2009, 02:12 AM
2,313 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Ignore the crappy song, i got very limited song in my laptop Juz wan the beat |
Aug 29 2009, 03:56 AM
235 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(Oldfart @ Aug 29 2009, 02:47 AM) yeah, and if it survives the next molt it will live even longer. The thing is most mature males do not survive the next molt. Hence the one year time frame since most adult T's will molt at least once a year. yea,like the fast growers,once hook come up,u gotto start worry,unless u have a mature female.. |
Aug 29 2009, 05:28 AM
Aug 29 2009, 10:39 AM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Aug 29 2009, 10:52 AM
99 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
what will happen if we dont provide deep substrate for burrowing sp to burrow? will it stress them severely n leads to death? or ive read that if no deep enuf substrate, they'll just spin lotsa web to make their hides..
Aug 29 2009, 11:13 AM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
yeah .... like my c. andersoni. have not enuf substrate b4.... but now it can makes da cave wif happy.
Aug 29 2009, 11:28 AM
52 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(east_wing @ Aug 29 2009, 12:05 AM) Movie 'Eight Leg Freak' will really demo the Jumping Spider, the only difference is their prey is human QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Aug 29 2009, 02:12 AM) May i know your feeding schedule please ? The abdomen sure is huge comparing to its size .. =P |
Aug 29 2009, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(Izzulogy @ Aug 28 2009, 07:52 PM) what will happen if we dont provide deep substrate for burrowing sp to burrow? will it stress them severely n leads to death? or ive read that if no deep enuf substrate, they'll just spin lotsa web to make their hides.. Don't know- I've always given my obligate burrowers lots of substrate. What reason would a keeper have for not giving a burrower substrate to burrow in? I have seen burrowers in pet shops sitting in a stressed position but pet shops don't really have a choice- can't sell the T if the T is in a hole! ETA: Don't know if they all will spin lots of webs but I have a WC H. lividum and a WC H. schmidti that would not settle down for a few months. The cobalt took to the burrow but would not web, just stayed in the burrow during the day and roamed around at night. The H. schmidti would hide among the silk plants and would web a little. Both settled down after they molted and have adopted their burrows now. This post has been edited by Oldfart: Aug 29 2009, 12:46 PM |
Aug 29 2009, 01:41 PM
717 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Who wants to be crazy with me and be grandparents of H. macs.
I've got 2 females. In the future |
Aug 29 2009, 02:05 PM
Mememe, I got 5 unsexed ones.
Aug 29 2009, 02:13 PM
My little boehmei molted again!
![]() ![]() ![]() Some other T's.... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
| Change to: | 0.1556sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:25 PM |