iPhone Club v9 - iPhone related news & Questions , For questions, kindly use the template

hussain
post May 27 2009, 04:16 PM

2,012 posts

hey guys anyone knows what is springboard binary?
Is it the springboard.app or a file named springboard in springboard.app

Please advice
hussain
post Jun 16 2009, 03:56 PM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 16 2009, 03:34 PM)
i don't think so because here in malaysia only support up to 3.6Mbps only for the time being. until maxis upgrade their network to 7.2Mbps then we can use it.smile.gif
but some areas maxis and celcom has hsdpa which is 7.2mbps but not stable like if u live in a high rise condo wont work...signal will drop back to 3g
hussain
post Jun 16 2009, 04:42 PM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(russ @ Jun 16 2009, 04:23 PM)
Hi, below is quoted from the pinned thread regarding EDGE.

When I access Settings>General>Network, I only see options like Enable 3G, Data Roaming, VPN and Wi-Fi. As mentioned above it's for non jailbroken phone, so would like to clarify on this matter whether turning EDGE off is possible. Thank you  smile.gif
download sbsettings from cydia and turn off edge there

Added on June 16, 2009, 4:45 pm
QUOTE(hussain @ Jun 16 2009, 04:42 PM)
download sbsettings from cydia and turn off edge there
sorry if your're not jail broken go to cellular data network and type something jibrish there

This post has been edited by hussain: Jun 16 2009, 04:45 PM
hussain
post Jun 21 2009, 05:31 PM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jun 21 2009, 11:12 AM)
Always read the infos when you install any applications from Cydia.

*SBSettings has no icons. To launch SBSettings, slide your finger at the statusbar where your time/carrier is located. This will launch the program. which is posted in this thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281

Just disable it by selecting the EDGE icon and it will grey out. If you need to use it, enable it again.
[attachmentid=1034697]

Launch Safari and see if you're connected to EDGE. You'll get a pop up stating "Cannot Open Page" when EDGE is off.
[attachmentid=1034699]
David what theme you using for sbsettings?Looks cool.Can i get it from cydia?
hussain
post Jun 21 2009, 05:56 PM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jun 21 2009, 05:52 PM)
The theme is called iElegance and you can get it via Cydia. Been using this on 2.2.1 too and now 3.0.

Cheers
Thank you by the way does winterboard make 3.0 slower?
hussain
post Jul 1 2009, 12:28 PM

2,012 posts

guys does anyone knows how much does celcom charge to send and receive mms on iphone? is it per mms or by data usage.??
hussain
post Jul 1 2009, 02:02 PM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jul 1 2009, 01:16 PM)
called Celcom CS about it? AFAIK, MMS charges is based on per MMS. that's for Maxis and should be applicable to all telcos.
Thanks mate
hussain
post Jul 3 2009, 10:54 AM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(walaoyeh @ Jul 2 2009, 06:15 PM)
Did anyone facing the problem with the mail push function?it feel weird like when i set manual push data, or turn off the push function.it still automatic push the email in iphone????
i got same problem la.How to stop push completely?Anyone?
hussain
post Jul 3 2009, 11:35 PM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(walaoyeh @ Jul 3 2009, 09:04 PM)
Hussain,have u install the weather icon?i think is effected by this,after i uninstall it then now seems like ok already
no i have not installed any weather icon.I try to keep my hacks minimal,mine push is off but still email coming in
hussain
post Jul 17 2009, 12:46 PM

2,012 posts

Guys i need some help.I am on celcom using iphone 2g.I want to enable tethering on my iphone. I used the instructions on the os 3.0 guide and installed the celcom mobile config in my iphone but after that i still dont see the tethering function on my iphone.Please help
hussain
post Jul 17 2009, 02:04 PM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jul 17 2009, 12:59 PM)
Make sure you reboot the phone after you installed the config.

Another option is to use ipcc @ http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/752226
Hi David,tried both ways...and rebooted each time,still don't see the tethering option.What am i doing wrong?
hussain
post Jul 17 2009, 02:35 PM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jul 17 2009, 02:21 PM)
@hussain
FYI ... tethering does not work on iPhone 2G, even using the ipcc. The situation is the same with MMS (not until some guy finds a way to hacktivate it).

Added on July 17, 2009, 2:29 pm

Search the thread on how to do manual backup. I don't recommend using aptbackup as you are moving from 1.1.4 (ancient firmware) to 3.0 (latest firmware). It might screw up the phone later.

For the BOLDED questions
1. If you don't have wifi at home but have wired internet connection, buy a wifi dongle if you can't afford a wifi router. Use it as ad-hoc to share your pc internet connection.

2. SMBPrefs and BossPrefs are already been replace with Summerboard and SBSettings hence the recommendation on not using aptbackup as it will transfer old junk to your new firmware.
alamak...patutla...tks man
hussain
post Jul 20 2009, 10:23 AM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(alwinc @ Jul 20 2009, 09:56 AM)
Hi. my iphone hanged for half an hour already after i installed apps from cydia.

it just hang at the page of "Reload Springboard" there.. Was thinking to do a restore but ..... i could not back up the files inside my iphone to my computer. it says the backup could not saved in computer leh.

anyone can help ?
try using ssh or if your wifi is off use diskaid and copy your folders to your computer

copy /var/mobile/Library/AddressBook to your computer. This contains your contacts. While you’re at it you may want to copy all these:

/var/mobile/Library/AddressBook - Contacts
/var/mobile/Library/Calendar - Your calendar
/var/mobile/Library/Notes - your notes database
/var/mobile/Library/Safari - your bookmarks and cookies
/var/mobile/Library/SMS - your text messages.
hussain
post Jul 20 2009, 04:34 PM

2,012 posts

hey guys could some kind soul please upload or pm me their iphone springboard .app?

appreciate it so much

Thanks in advance
hussain
post Jul 22 2009, 03:20 PM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(Coner32 @ Jul 22 2009, 10:53 AM)
iPhone Generation : 2G
Unlocked? (or Part Number): Unlocked
Current Firmware : 3.0
iTunes Version : 8.2
PC/MAC : PC
Jailbreaking software : Jailbroken
Problem Encountered : iPhone failed to boot up (it hang at the blank screen after the apple logo)
Steps Taken So Far : rebooted, still hanging at the blank screen
Screenshot of Problem(if applicable) :
Other Information/Remarks : i edited "mobile installation" file using WinSCP... then reboot... then the problem occur... Please help T_T
p/s: iphone failed to connect to itunes... unable to restore my iphone now... icon_question.gif

iPhone Generation : 2G
Unlocked? (or Part Number): Unlocked
Current Firmware : 3.0
iTunes Version : 8.2
PC/MAC : PC
Jailbreaking software : Jailbroken
Problem Encountered : iPhone failed to boot up (it hang at the blank screen after the apple logo)
Steps Taken So Far : rebooted, still hanging at the blank screen
Screenshot of Problem(if applicable) :
Other Information/Remarks : i edited "mobile installation" file using WinSCP... then reboot... then the problem occur... Please help T_T
p/s: iphone failed to connect to itunes... unable to restore my iphone now... icon_question.gif

seriously need help now cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
hi bro find a guide on how to put your phone into DFU mode from the net while plugged in to pc and itunes open.Then restore again

Added on July 22, 2009, 3:41 pmOh my god...i already put some writings on my apn at cellular data network and also disable edge using sbsettings.and also disabled all push mail and uninstalled all push apps..Why my data usage still going up?
Someone please help....

This post has been edited by hussain: Jul 22 2009, 03:41 PM

0.0357sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:31 AM