iPhone Club v9 - iPhone related news & Questions , For questions, kindly use the template
TSnokia2003
Sep 9 2009, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(vixxiee @ Sep 9 2009, 11:57 AM) forgot to include...before u allowed to transfer, u have to authorize the computer before connecting the device...that is to any computer that is authorized for your iTunes Store account...so as for your case..u can't unless the previous owner is so (ever) kind to let you know his password.
TSnokia2003
Sep 9 2009, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(le3zard @ Sep 9 2009, 04:10 PM) meaning i cant sync my iphone forever??  only can use 3rd party software if want trasnfer music/video/photo. out of all honesty, those apps don't belong to you anyway; they belong to the previous owner who purchased them legitimately. when the owner sold you the iPhone, he/she only transferred the ownership of the hardware and indirectly the OS from apple, to you.
TSnokia2003
Sep 10 2009, 02:58 AM
thanks =Hanxz= for the wake up call. standalone download links for 2G3G3G S Added on September 10, 2009, 2:59 amdownloading 3.1 now. *************************************** download done within 3 minutes. thank goodness the net is fast tonight. restoring now. will try to post some screen shots shortly. *************************************** so far, i have only detected these three. i'm gonna catch some wink now. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 10 2009, 03:25 AM
TSnokia2003
Sep 10 2009, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(ichigo_x @ Sep 10 2009, 08:35 PM) upgraded my i3gs to fw 3.1. but now unable to send mms. when attempting to send a msg will appear saying "could not activate to a cellular data service". using maxis. any ideas? 1. upon the complete restoration, did iTunes prompt you to download the latest carrier settings? 2. despite not being able to send the MMS, are you able to use the network's connection to surf the net (on safari, youtube et cetera via 3G, edge, gprs)?
TSnokia2003
Sep 10 2009, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 10 2009, 08:44 PM) ya..talking about 3G  i will update firmware later this midnight(need to wait off-peak hour to use my download quota  ) off topic disclaimer » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « but TPG has done it again this time (with a better deal). for the same price, i'm now getting 90GB (45+ 45) per month. the only bad side, is the off peak time has been moved forward, implying a later sleeping time, if you wanna download stuff.
TSnokia2003
Sep 10 2009, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(ichigo_x @ Sep 10 2009, 08:48 PM) 1. nope, there was no prompt. 2. cant use network conn. either to surf. msg pop up "Could not activate cellular data network. You are not subscribed to a cellular data service"  well makes sense then. you have to restore again unfortunately, and make sure your MAC/PC connection to the net is stable during the activation process. would be wise to make sure that your maxis sim card is inside the iPhone as well. once you have downloaded the relatively small patch, you can then proceed to use your previous backup. for further information, head over here
TSnokia2003
Sep 10 2009, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(ichigo_x @ Sep 10 2009, 09:01 PM) Noted with thanks. will attempt restore process. by patch u mean itunes prompt? well, wish me luck.. yes. for further understanding, just read the link that i have supplemented you with. without a network connection, MMS will not work, but not the vice versa (having a network connection, does not necessarily guarantee the success of MMS)
TSnokia2003
Sep 10 2009, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(fansoption @ Sep 10 2009, 09:16 PM) HI, i just update 3.1 , can anyone tell me who still using 3.0 go to setting - wifi - there only got 1 wifi showing off nothing tap? izzit when turn on wifi oredi then all the tap menu come out ? in order for us to help you, try to help yourself first by being more articulate with your question.
TSnokia2003
Sep 10 2009, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(ichigo_x @ Sep 10 2009, 09:25 PM) i have restored but there's no prompt frm itunes abt carrier patch..  havent restored my backup yet oh tough luck then. maybe wait for someone who is actually on maxis to comment. because AFAIK, for my both 3G (from SingTel) and 3G S (from optus), each time i perform a restore, a prompt will definitely occur for me to download it.
TSnokia2003
Sep 11 2009, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 10 2009, 11:28 PM) sure but i believe thr are alot of ppl already updated i only can update at tomorrow  buy a zone 1 metcard and meet me in chadstone. i pass you a burned copy of the OS and iTunes 9!
TSnokia2003
Sep 11 2009, 06:29 PM
QUOTE(vectorian @ Sep 11 2009, 04:05 PM) I searched but can't find anything. My question is how can I listern to my songs from iPhone via my office notebook / computer speakers without transferring any of them over and without iTunes installed. I would just like to plug my iPhone in with the connector and play the songs with the sound streaming thru the comp's speaker. Cheers! AFAIK, no such feature. perhaps someone might have encountered this? but i do know such feature exists during my 1st and 2nd gen of iPod nano days.
TSnokia2003
Sep 13 2009, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(hackwire @ Sep 13 2009, 03:45 PM) i have one problem i try to google and you tube but i cannot find any answer to it. How can we switch off the Auto Dimmer and fade out to black screen when the phone is idle but it's not... Sometimes i been reading ebook and the iphone just go blackout. How can we set this to off? try settings -> general -> auto-lock -> never though i'm not entirely sure.
TSnokia2003
Sep 13 2009, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(hackwire @ Sep 13 2009, 08:17 PM) thanks it works but i can't use this function anymore. keypad accidentally press in the pocket if not off . any good apps to download for this? erm, an app just for that feature? can't you like enable that "function" when you wanna read the said ebooks, and then turn it off upon completion? besides, this one "messes" up with the system and i doubt apple will authorise such apps in the first place.
TSnokia2003
Sep 13 2009, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(fizyboy @ Sep 13 2009, 09:25 PM) Hi, I'm getting a 3GS end of this month and i was wondering whether the visual voicemail thingie works properly with our malaysian carrier? Thanks. complete list
TSnokia2003
Sep 14 2009, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(eekwan7 @ Sep 14 2009, 01:01 PM) hey guys,i am currently using digi prepaid,at the top of my i3GS,there is a circle beside my telco carrier,what is this?when i am using hotlink prepaid,there was no circle but got a E at the top,is that the same with that small circle?  2. What is 'E' or 'o' next to my carrier?
TSnokia2003
Sep 14 2009, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(azrilyp @ Sep 14 2009, 03:20 PM) i was merely providing an answer to eekwan7; it contains a link to his query it would be crazy for me to ask a question like that, to even begin with.
TSnokia2003
Sep 14 2009, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Sep 14 2009, 05:46 PM) guy, wanna ask, i have downloaded the 3.1 firmware from here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281the reason being i have an unstable connection at home and it kept stopping around 10mb. since now i already have it, what should be my next step, it is not explained in the above link. assuming that you are on windows. 1. plug in your iPhone. 2. wait for iTunes to detect it. 3. at the main page of the iPhone on iTunes, hold shift on either "restore" or "update" as desired and select your downloaded firmware. 4. follow on screen instructions
TSnokia2003
Sep 16 2009, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(frank_fusion @ Sep 16 2009, 09:44 AM) hi all iphone sifus..i juz curious about one thg..yesterday i call maxis centre to subscribe maxis data plan 500MB for my iphone 2g.. sadly, they said the package cannot be used wif i2g..does anybody knw d real truth bout dis? i tot it juz d same as i3g but wif edge speed lor.. btw ur assistant is highly appreciated..TQ there is shouldn't be any phone discrimination. the data bundle should still work as prescribed. the only difference is the speed. apart from that, i'm pretty sure that you can use the same SIM card with another phone (not just the iPhone) to browser the internet.
TSnokia2003
Sep 17 2009, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Sep 17 2009, 04:33 PM) I want to ask to reset all the data like a new set for the iphone 3G? Any sifu can guide me? Thank you! you will have to restore. you have two options; 1. let iTunes download the firmware 2. download the standalone firmware and follow the steps as shown in the picture below » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 17 2009, 06:18 PM
TSnokia2003
Sep 18 2009, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Sep 18 2009, 02:14 PM) another dumb question... why i cant make a 3G video call using contact?  because none of the iPhone models actually support video calling to begin with?