Wireless Broadband Celcom Broadband v7, New package added. Refer to 1st post

funnyTONE
post Aug 20 2009, 11:30 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

(funnyTONE @ Aug 20 2009, 10:07 AM)
Well I can't guarantee on that. But I can guarantee that I've been using this apn and the speed as well as the modem setting shows that I'm on HSDPA.

how long have you been using this method? your monthly bill all ok?
tried just now.. same... coz now not peak hours... will try during peak hours~ today holiday balik kampung... kampung of kos no one use biggrin.gif

Been using it like a week or so. Previously, I was also using celcom3g apn and I don't find any issues with it. Probably one of the reason is because my house is located only 50 metres away from the transmission tower. Nonetheless, the network technician guy mentioned about this when another celcom bb user was complaining about his connection keep changing to 2g. I know that in the modem setting you need to set it to accept 3g connection only/preferred to get the best signal. But I find that this alternative also enforce the connection to be more prone towards 3g network than subsidizing on the 2g spectrum instead.

For severe connections, I also learned of a way to boost the modem signal. Of course probably most of you guys here already heard or tried such method. This method is physical modification to your modem stick, but unlike the more extreme method (astro dish, wok, etc), it uses the concept of electromagnetic.

Basically, what you need is a string of insulated copper wire (like phone cable) and a 9 volt battery (the square type). Wrap around your usb modem with the copper wire 12 times to look like a coil and then connect both ends to each of the battery's pole.

I'm looking to try this one next week when my school break starts. Since I'm already enjoying good connection, I didn't see the urgency to try it before, but it does sounds interesting.....like a mini science project. happy.gif
funnyTONE
post Aug 20 2009, 02:02 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(cruxidex @ Aug 20 2009, 12:20 PM)
althou the coil is a valid trick but connect directly the wires to the battery confirm direct shorting of your battery... be warned that the battery may broken due to high current flow due to direct shorting
Thx for the early warning. Will try and circumvent that problem. Probably would be safer to use a thicker copper wire. Something like a power cable.

0.0331sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:51 AM