Dell Inspiron Users Thread, The ultra mobile from Dell

thexs
post Jan 8 2011, 12:17 AM

202 posts

Hi guys, I just placed on order for a Dell Inspiron 15R. The one with ATI HD5650. biggrin.gif

I think I've made the right choice. For that price, you get a good processor, 4GB 1333Mhz, 500GB 7200RPM and more importantly, HD5650.

Anyone that owns this laptop? Please share some tips on how to make it more awesome.

Oh btw, my laptop sits on my desk 99% of the time. Only bringing it out when I go travelling which is once a year. I don't think I need to worry too much about warranty, right? It's not like things will start to fail within a year or 2.
thexs
post Jan 8 2011, 12:55 PM

202 posts

Oh, mine's with 2 years limited hardware warranty.
I can't tell you anything yet, haven't even received it lol. Just placed my order yesterday. Hopefully getting it within less than a week. biggrin.gif

Still, any tips/problems with yours?
thexs
post Jan 10 2011, 10:14 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jan 10 2011, 09:40 AM)
problem is the microsoft office click to run 2010 protected Q drive appear beside C drive... access is denied.. i called dell, they stated if come with starter 2010 is like that.. dun try uninstall it.. it will still at there.. i worried messed up whole registry.. all smooth and silky.. after used 1 mth.. my temp slightly around 50+ from 40+
Oh, so you cannot access MS Office 2010? Dell didn't help you solve the problem meh?
Nice to hear it's running well, anyway, it's 40 ~ 50+ for idle, right? What about gaming? How hot will it get? smile.gif
thexs
post Jan 22 2011, 02:27 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(NicJolin @ Jan 15 2011, 12:38 AM)
What's the maximum temperature 15R user get on their ATI 5650 at full capacity?
Playing Assassin's Creed with maximum graphic settings, 88'C in a room with temperature of 26'C. Idle at 50.
That's just the 5650, though.

The i5 processors are always at low temperatures. Never exceeded 70'C. Idle at about 30 ~ 35.
thexs
post Jan 24 2011, 07:20 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jan 24 2011, 03:38 PM)
i can access.. but the Q drive appear only.. access is denied.. u get what i mean? 74 while on game gua..
I have the same issue, lol. tongue.gif
Q drive appears after opening Office but cannot be accessed. I don't think it's a big problem, though.
What I hate about Office Starter is that it doesn't come with Powerpoint vmad.gif

If got Word+PPT+Excel then it would be enough for my Uni work. Now idk whether I should keep it and use Openoffice for PPT or uninstall 2010 and install 2007 because I have the genuine Office 2007. rclxub.gif

74's pretty good. Mine goes up to 85. doh.gif
Max settings on Assassin's Creed.

0.0357sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:22 AM