Philosophy Creativity, Are we seriously losing it?

silverhawk
post Aug 23 2009, 12:32 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

Lets try to get back on topic here smile.gif

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 19 2009, 07:11 PM)
Necessity is the mother of innovation.

They had to be VERY RESOURCEFUL in order to survive under that kind of condition.

I won't argue that you're wrong, but that you're missing a bigger picture. Creativity is necessary for innovation, and if its necessary people will be creative. You're right on this, but I want you to look at the bigger picture. Creativity has to exist in people for the sake of creativity alone. Not because its "necessary".

A lot of our technology and our research are not done out of "necessity" but simply due to curiosity. Most of the time, research leads to no tangible results but research upon research will allow something new to be discovered, or at least rule out possibilities. People then use this research information to make something useful, or in times of "necessity" they have something to refer to.

Likewise for creativity. It has to exist for the sake of it, so that people learn to put ideas together and learn to communicate them in the form of art. While the majority of it will be rubbish, there will be a lot of gems that people can look to for inspiration. This I believe is the distraught that the TS is trying to highlight. Society as a whole is becoming less creative as "arts" are no longer pursued in the same way it was in the past.

Dreamer101, you're a very practical man, and your advice is often great. However there are many times you seem to miss the bigger picture due to your focus on practicality. This focus on practicality combined with materialism in capitalistic society is killing creativity. You can see it in our media, and even in our education. Universities have turned into degree mills and become a substitute for vocational schools, that was never the purpose of a university education. Movies/film/games/etc. have become more focused on making money, rather than being artistic and trying to convey a concept/message. Books, which have always been my benchmark for inciting imagination (which is necessary for creativity) are being read less and less.

Just like how a mechanic is not an engineer, an engineer is not a scientist, an architect is not artist; just because you can come up with something "creative' in your practical work, doesn't mean you've fully grasped the concept of creativity. To fully grasp it, you have to realise that there's a level you have to be at where the practicality of the work isn't important. Simply the chase for it, makes it all worth while.

silverhawk
post Aug 24 2009, 02:45 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 23 2009, 07:39 PM)
The ONLY factor that can affect creativity cultivation across average people has to be environmental.  That is MY POINT.  Average people are NOT willing to be starving artist.  In developed country, the government funded starving artist so that they can survive.  We are NOT at that level yet.

Its not about level, you can say its being socialist or capitalist. Art is still a big thing in U.S. despite it being a capitalist country. As far as I know, there are no funds to keep artists alive, they have to work hard to earn their living. If you're in a socialist country, its a lot easier because the government gives you enough for basic sustenance.

Sorry.  I got my engineering degree from USA.  It is a USA based system with STRONG emphasis on well rounded education.  Hence, we (engineering student) has taken plenty of courses in Liberal Arts and Social Science section.  As per USA system, many engineering graduates have a lot of hobbies in arts, music, and so on..  Many engineers are amateur artists.  The PROBLEM has more to do with British education system than anything else.

laugh.gif That's what it is in theory, practically, it has become degree mills. Perhaps you've been out of the education field for too long, but even in USA, it has become a problem. The only universities maintaining a good standard are the ivy leagues.

10% of people will always be CREATIVE.  10% of people will NEVER be CREATIVE.  It is the 80% aka average people that can be affected by the environment.  That is the group that we can do something about.

This is BRITISH system thinking again.  Many engineers in USA are amateur musician, painters and so on.  Some of them turned professional in some cases.

Even in Malaysia, in Chinese cultural area, there are plenty of professionals involve in performing arts and so on.

You miss my point. You can be an "amateur" at it, but that's pointless. If your society cannot sustain professional artists, then creativity will slowly die in your culture. There will always be some amateurs creating works and all that, but as a whole you will see a decline. Its happening in society already if you haven't already noticed.

The 80% you want to do something about, needs the 10% who are truly creative. That 10% must be able to produce their creative works just for the sake of it, that will be their contribution to society. What they create, will dwindle down and inspire the other 80% who take it up as a hobby or a side job.

I'm not against being well rounded, but you have to realise that being specialised in certain fields yields a much better result for society. A team of mechanics will hardly ever produce the precision of an engineer. A team of engineers will hardly ever make discoveries like a researcher. You can have ability in multiple fields, but as an amateur turns professional, they have to put one behind for the other to dedicate the time and resources for it.

silverhawk
post Aug 24 2009, 11:25 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 24 2009, 03:56 AM)
silverhawk,

<< You miss my point. You can be an "amateur" at it, but that's pointless. If your society cannot sustain professional artists, then creativity will slowly die in your culture.>>

1) I do believe "art" in the normal sense is important.

2) However, I have to disagree with you on this one which is only professional artist is CREATIVE.

Dreamer
I didn't say only professional artist can be creative. I'm saying that the level of work produced by someone dedicated to the creative output, is simply different and cannot be achieved by someone who has focus elsewhere.
silverhawk
post Aug 25 2009, 11:55 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Aug 25 2009, 11:06 AM)
Very interesting discussions going on here. I just scrolled through the past 5 pages, so forgive me if I'm bringing up a past argument.

I think, in certain context, that creativity is formed out of necessity, sometimes out of curiosity and in a number of instances, out of selfishness and pure greed.

Think about the corporate fraud and scandals in 2001 - 2002. Enron, WorldCom in the US and HIH and Harris Scarfe in Australia.

They all happened due to CREATIVE accounting. What sparked that innovation? Greed - reporting account balances that were not tangible, recording "future profits" in the current reporting period to increase share prices.

Then they came up with loads of investment vehicles, special purpose entities which relied on "projected future profits" to sustain current high share prices. They created mark-to-market accounting practices.

Banks become very self interested and profit minded. They gave out loans to undeserving and uncreditworthy borrowers. Derivatives which were created to hedge against risk, was creatively twisted around and used to increase the bank's profits.

Unfortunately, all these creative traders and accountants were not creative enough to protect the downfall of the market, and the global financial crisis.
I think that being "creative" in this sense isn't exactly what the topic is trying to refer to. Might be worth properly defining the scope of creativity for this discussion, as the word "creative" is rather diluted.
silverhawk
post Sep 18 2009, 11:25 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(convivencia @ Sep 17 2009, 06:16 PM)
To TS,

The answer is a definite NO

For some, they don't lose something they do not have to begin with

For others, no matter what the outside society wants to do to them, what they have they still retain

And for this country, sad to say, more than 99% of our countryfolks fall into the first category

No, it ain't the education system, it's the people

Face it, we are a ppl with no imagination

In other words, we are stupid, very stupid, as compared to ppl from other countries
are people inherently what they are? or does education shape people to be who they are?

Think about it.
silverhawk
post Sep 20 2009, 06:18 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(VA1701wb @ Sep 20 2009, 02:41 PM)
For what i learn from history, we asian people did have a time be more creative than the western. In fact it is true that paper, compass, gun powder and printing technology originate from China. Even the using of gun in war also start from China. The creativity of Asia people sometimes can be said due to military need. However, one inherent problem with Asian people creativity is that they do not ask as many "why" as western people did. Most importantly, we Asian people dare not take risk( Industrial revolution do not occur in China because there is risk that the tecnology cannot sustain itself at the very begining as China is overpopulated).

I can say creativity arise in western due to low population and also war. If one country were to be success in war, they must have sufficient foundation in technology (Those who study WW2 history will understand). It is also low population that make hiring labour is more costly than using automated machinery. Finally, the education system during that time give student their own time to either do seft study and work. Compare to current education system in Asian country, most students are forced to study until time remain for them to do seft study is limited.
You make a lot of arguments that contradict each other. China has a long history of war, by that measure they should have been the most creative nation at that time, but alas, that isn't true. The time when art and creativity flourished in China was during the Tang & Ming Dynasty, which was a time of peace. The same can be said for western cultures, any time when art blooms, its during a period of peace. This makes sense, because the level of creativity needed for such art requires the top people in their fields to be able to spend their time thinking creatively, rather than thinking whether they're going to be alive in the next 10 minutes.

The low population, leading to machinery is purely your own conjecture. If you have studied the world wars, have you forgotten about russia? Which had a huge population but still automated their war production with machines? Machines simply make things more efficient, and technology is always welcomed regardless of population size.
silverhawk
post Sep 20 2009, 10:09 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(convivencia @ Sep 20 2009, 08:02 PM)
If you guys can't even understand what "Creativity" is all about

and you think you understand what creativity is all about? Last I recall, you think that creativity is a "have/don't have" talent, which cannot be cultivated via education. ery clear factor stood out ---- People are their most creative when peace broke out

Read it carefully, not war broke out, but peace broke out
In every case, not long before the period of intense creativity, some calamity must happened

Creativity flourishes during times of peace. Peace only comes after conflict, and thus intense creativty can only happen after a calamity? What kind of botched up reasoning is this? Your argument is a non sequitor. The conclusion does not follow the premise. The creativity happens because of peace, not the calamities doh.gif

Perhaps you're trying too hard to be creative?

The period of creativity can only last about 50 years or so, plus or minus 20 years, and then it deflates

Oh really? any studies to back this up besides your own conjecture?

Japan of today is suffering, mainly due to their people are just ain't creative enough

What the heck? The japanese are still well known around the world to be one of the most creative nations, whether its entertainment, arts or technology. What reality do you live in?

Same with the Chinese people
After long period of peace, the Chinese people became complacent and then they just stop thinking

Huh? If anything, China is becoming more and more creative. Did you watch the beijing olympics? Did you see the design of the stadium? Perhaps the engineering and architectural creativity of the water cube? What about Zhang Yimou? You think he isn't creative? Wow, seriously, what world fo you live in.

And for this country? Oh my
Our young generation is wasted for they never get any chance to suffer anything
Lepak becomes their favorite activity
Hmm... why bother to think if life is so easy?

Actually, the easier life is, the more time you have to think. Suffering simply expands your perspectives and gives you more material, it doesn't make you more creative. Many who suffer are not creative at all. The problem is that priorities are not on thinking, but on self gratification. Being a leech of resource rather than using society's resources to give something back in return.
silverhawk
post Sep 21 2009, 11:25 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 20 2009, 10:31 PM)
He has a VALID point.  And, there is a LOGICAL REASONING behind this.  Now, instead of arguing with him, why not assume that he is RIGHT and THINK why that might be TRUE??

You assume I didn't think about the validity of his point? You presume too much. I thought about it, and saw the flaw in his reasoning. He can be creative, but that doesn't necessary means his "creative thinking" is rationally valid. Its good you can find correlations between different sets of data, but he has mistaken the correlation for causation.

Once upon a time, I heard a good definition of being CREATIVE.

Being CREATIVE means that you are capable of

A) Looking foolish
B) Challenging the conventional wisdom.
C) Being WRONG.

I agree, but please note that "capable of being wrong" means that you are able to accept that you're wrong and keep going until you get it right. It doesn't mean its ok for you to be wrong and to stick with the wrong idea/concept.

silverhawk
post Sep 26 2009, 03:06 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(convivencia @ Sep 21 2009, 12:00 PM)
Not trying to nick pick, but if you really want to be creative, you gotta change your ways

There are a lot of ways to be creative, and in fact, one can train oneself to be creative (albeit still limited by one's innate creativity) --- but there is only ONE way to kill all your creativity, and that is, to think that you are right all the time

And that's what you are doing to yourself, right now

The only one who can free you out of that teeny tiny box is yourself.... so... it's really up to you biggrin.gif

laugh.gif This is rich.

Aren't you thinking you're right as well? Look in the mirror man. This isn't a contest of ego, but an intellectual discourse. You throw out an idea, I criticise it, if you can't back up your idea, then its obvious you never thought it through or you are clouded by your own bias and perspectives. Did the flaws in your reasoning even occur to you before I mentioned them? If I made it aware to you, and you're dismissing it, aren't YOU the one thinking in the box?

Sometimes you people think that they're thinking outside the box, but they don't realise their box is just really small and probably smaller compared to the boxes other people have started out with.

QUOTE(convivencia @ Sep 21 2009, 05:36 PM)
in the case for China, it's the burdening custom that hindered the development of science and technology
there's a Chinese saying --- don't stick your neck up
and then there's the Confucius thinking --- one has to obey their superior with utmost respect
combine the two, we got a stagnant culture in China, and they end up wasting 3000 years out of their 5000 years history

The culture is actually quite oriental in nature, you'll see similar concepts in korea and Japan. Yet those 2 countries are rather creative. Japan STILL retains its power hierarchy in its society and its very evident in their working force. Yet they are a very creative nation... doesn't this seem to fly in the face of your theories?

The problem with china's development in the past wasn't because of its restrictive power dynamics. Given such restriction, people will find ways to work within the confines, and history has proved that it often happens. The problem my friend, was because China was delusional about its position and power. It believed itself to be the strongest and best nation in the world and that the "heavens" were on its side. This closed its mind to development because they were "perfect". They no longer strived to be better.

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 21 2009, 07:07 PM)
silverhawk,
So, how much do you know about Satir Change Model?? 
Until you KNOW that you DO NOT KNOW, you cannot be CREATIVE.
A FULL pot cannot receive any more water.  You have to empty the pot first.

Dreamer

Oh really? A lot of creative people I know do not think they do not know. They think of what they can do with what they know, what can you achieve with what you know?

The Satir Change model? Yea I read it, I've not studied it in depth (as I'm sure there's more to it than just stuff on a website), but from what I can understand, its a model of change. It mentions creativity, but understand that change is not directionally biased. Change goes in any direction, for better or worse no one can really tell. Change can be due to lack of creativity or even the prohibition of creativity. So the Satir Change Model has very little to do with our discussion, unless you can convince me otherwise.

I wonder if the both of you have ever reflected what you said to me, back upon yourselves. Don't you realise that you're both talking as though you know everything, and as though you're the right one? Yet when your ideas and points are criticised, you can't put forth a convincing argument to back your points up. I have no qualms if you think you're right, that is your own opinion, but when criticised you should be able to back it up, otherwise you're not being intellectual at all.

silverhawk
post Oct 15 2009, 01:17 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 10 2009, 05:21 AM)
glad somebody got it wink.gif.

i teach 1st year architecture, one of the most creativity-dependent courses in the world. some might say fine-art is the most creative course, but architecture depends on creativity to solve problems. harnessing the ability for practical uses. since our society does pay much attention to creativity, breaking that mindset is one of the most challenging thing i've ever done.

I have great respect for architects smile.gif Mostly because its a beautiful marriage between artistic creativity and practical engineering.

That said, in regards to creativity being a process. Let me share a little story smile.gif

“Describe how to determine the height of a skyscraper with a barometer.”

One student replied: “You tie a long piece of string to the neck of the barometer, then lower the barometer from the roof of the skyscraper to the ground. The length of the string plus the length of the barometer will equal the height of the building.”

This highly original answer so incensed the examiner that the student was failed immediately. The student appealed on the grounds that his answer was indisputably correct, and the university appointed an independent arbiter to decide the case.

The arbiter judged that the answer was indeed correct, but did not display any noticeable knowledge of physics. To resolve the problem it was decided to call the student in and allow him six minutes in which to provide a verbal answer which showed at least a minimal familiarity with the basic principles of physics.

For five minutes the student sat in silence, forehead creased in thought.

The arbiter reminded him that time was running out, to which the student replied that he had several extremely relevant answers, but couldn’t make up his mind which to use. On being advised to hurry up the student replied as follows:

“Firstly, you could take the barometer up to the roof of the skyscraper, drop it over the edge, and measure the time it takes to reach the ground. The height of the building can then be worked out from the formula H = 0.5g x t squared. But bad luck on the barometer.” “Or if the sun is shining you could measure the height of the barometer, then set it on end and measure the length of its shadow. Then you measure the length of the skyscraper’s shadow, and thereafter it is a simple matter of proportional arithmetic to work out the height of the skyscraper.” “But if you wanted to be highly scientific about it, you could tie a short piece of string to the barometer and swing it like a pendulum, first at ground level and then on the roof of the skyscraper. The height is worked out by the difference in the gravitational restoring force T = 2 pi sq root (l/g).”

“…or if the skyscraper has an outside emergency staircase, it would be easier to walk up it and mark off the height of the skyscraper in barometer lengths, then add them up.” “If you merely wanted to be boring and orthodox about it, of course, you could use the barometer to measure the air pressure on the roof of the skyscraper and on the ground, and convert the difference in millibars into feet to give the height of the building.”

“But since we are constantly being exhorted to exercise independence of mind and apply scientific methods, undoubtedly the best way would be to knock on the janitor’s door and say to him ‘If you would like a nice new barometer, I will give you this one if you tell me the height of this skyscraper’.”
silverhawk
post Oct 16 2009, 04:14 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Oct 15 2009, 02:01 AM)
Loved the share silver. Where did you get it, might I inquire?
Read it long ago, can't remember where exactly, I remember the story, so I just googled for the keywords laugh.gif

0.0253sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:19 PM