Vincent Pang
post Aug 19 2009, 12:49 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 18 2009, 10:37 PM)
Seng_Kiat: I've attempted to replicate your shot:

A900, Minolta 24-105mm F3.5-4.5(D) with Hoya Pro1 Digital MC filter, sRGB, 28mm (have to lah handheld what), F4.5, 1/160s, ISO100, Multi-segment Metering, Manual Mode, EV 0.

Then I tried using my Zeiss in case it's a Zeiss thing:

A900, Carl Zeiss 135mm F1.8 with B+W 007 filter, sRGB, 135mm, F4.5, 1/160s, ISO100, Multi-segment Metering, Manual Exposure, EV 0.

EXIF is also inside for all to see. I can't quite figure out what it is. Does the F58 on the A700 give the same problem in AWB?
the first photo look yellowish, the second looks overexpose. Looks like the AWB and AE failed. Tried manual WB ?
Vincent Pang
post Aug 19 2009, 03:12 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 19 2009, 02:33 AM)
hanafinoor: Perhaps you could call them to tell them how much you bought it for? Also, was it under warranty? They have not gotten back to me on registering my F20 either.

Pang: The second picture has an overexposed flash because the flash is 30 cm away from the object and it cannot go low-power enough to light a subject at F4.5 and ISO100 correctly at such close distances. Trying the same shot at F5.6 however nothing gets overexposed.

As for the first shot being warmer - the higher the flash output*, the warmer the flash is. When you plug the F58/F42/F20 on an A200-A900 body, it will tell the body what is the flash temperature based on flash output. Because the flash was off-camera however, it did not pass the WB information.

In the first picture the flash was further away and the camera was at ISO100 thus it needed to output more. Thus it was warmer.

That said, there's nothing wrong with a warmer flash - observe your point-and-shoots and you'll see that the flash unit has a warm color.

Of course, the point of this exercise is not to use manual WB but to use AWB to copy Seng_Kiat's scenario. Read the context!

*output because the term "flash power" is misleading; flashes always fire at full power, just that the duration changes. Unless you have a very expensive professional studio light which is engineered to change power and not just duration so it maintains a very consistent 5500K no matter what output setting.
I read Seng_kiat posts earlier, if off the shoe doesn't pass the WB information as you said I don't see why you should use AWB. The ambient light could have trick the camera to think it's warm, so the cam set it to lower temp which result in a slightly bluish output which seng_kiat is getting.

The second thing i want to comment is your flash power output. Since you said the flash always fire full power, how does the duration changes the temperature? I believe this only happen to Sony flashes as I have shot using Nikon and Canon flashes off the cam with 1/32,1/16,1/8,1/4,1/2,1/1 and never need to touch my WB setting.

The only thing I observe with higher flash output is the exposure on my subject. I have never come across anyone complaining cooler colour when they are using lower powered flash. Well, ya I can see that you are comparing the Sony flashes with flash on a point-and-shoots, then I will agree with you, there is nothing wrong.
Vincent Pang
post Aug 19 2009, 10:40 AM

1,764 posts

and i have highlighted the below statement

White balance compensation
Slight variations in a flash gun’s voltage and brightness can destabilise white balance in respective frames during continuous shooting. The Speedlite 430EX II compensates for this by transmitting colour information from the flash to the camera. This information is then used to optimise the white balance setting for each individual image. This function works with the camera set to Auto WB or Flash Mode.

continuos shooting, doesn't say this will happen on 1 shot

***** Flash Color Information Communication When the SB-600 is used with compatible digital SLRs, color temperature information is automatically transmitted to the camera. In this way, the camera’s white balance is automatically adjusted to give you the correct color temperature when taking photographs with the SB-600.

i read this as being the ambient colour temperature which the nikon will read and transmit over so the situation is ambient + flash WB, which will give a more accurate result. Don't think so there is a relationship with output of the flash

Auto White Balance compensation allows for more accurate white balance in flash photography sending color temperature information from the HVL-F58AM to the camera, where it is incorporated into the camera’s white balance settings.

this is the same as above

when we say compensation, wat kind of compensation we are talking about? +/- 100K or 1000K ?

My wall is beige-colored. (And uh, my shirt is not pure white, either.) The monitor in the second picture is beige also, in case you assume that all of these are neutral white. This makes the flash appear even warmer.

My mistake for putting the warmness of the first picture to higher power flash - it is also and primarily attributable to the scene being beige!

you tested WB without using white/grey card? your eyes has to be very good and accurate without a reference. LOL

from the test that Seng_kiat has done, i only have 2 conclusions,
1) the camera or flash is flawed
2) you are wrong that Alpha WB doesn't go down when OFF the cam flash was used

Sp00kY: good question there, exactly my point in my earlier post

edit:
question,

John Groseclose  Pro User  says:

Nikon's published flash duration specs for the SB-600:

Flash duration (approx.):
1/900 sec. at M1/1 (full) output
1/1600 sec. at M1/2 output
1/3400 sec. at M1/4 output
1/6600 sec. at M1/8 output
1/11100 sec. at M1/16 output
1/20000 sec. at M1/32 output
1/25000 sec. at M1/64 output

if this is the case, why most of the flash need a flash sync. speed which normally is 1/250 or 1/200? it should be safe to sync up to 1/900?

please enlighten me smile.gif

This post has been edited by Vincent Pang: Aug 19 2009, 10:48 AM
Vincent Pang
post Aug 19 2009, 11:15 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(MemorableStudios @ Aug 19 2009, 11:05 AM)
of course, extreme cases may be difficult... but i'm using the cobra+a900+dome diffuser its quite reliable in AWB.. some minor white balancing only..
the flash is on the cam or off the cam ?
Vincent Pang
post Aug 19 2009, 11:19 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(MemorableStudios @ Aug 19 2009, 10:58 AM)
great debate on flash... smile.gif
too bad I'm no master in this area... PP for White Balance is my thing...
i beg to defer, it's just merely some finding out and knowledge sharing happening, no debate, no insult and no offence smile.gif enjoy your day
Vincent Pang
post Aug 19 2009, 11:48 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 19 2009, 11:34 AM)
If you hooked a SB-600 up to a point-and-shoot which doesn't use a mechanical shutter, shooting at 1/1800s would thus get 1/2 output even though the flash is 1/1 output.
even though it doesn't use mechanical shutter, the speed 1/1800s should be too fast and it should miss the flash. It should have finished capturing b4 the flash fire. No ?

Vincent Pang
post Aug 19 2009, 12:35 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Aug 19 2009, 11:57 AM)
i think what he is trying to say is that
if the shutter is at 1/1800 (faster)and the flash is at 1/900 (slower)
the cam only manages to capture 1/2 of the flash instead of full...

a more extreme example will be shutter at 1 sec and flash at 2 sec...

did i misunderstand ur question?

But i still dont get why cant x-sync set at 1/900. what bro albnok said was because
your shutter curtains are not fast enough to run from one end of the frame to the other
so when i shoot at 1/4000? how is it like? hmm..

interesting...albnok free tonight? TT on knowledge sharing, teh tarik on me smile.gif
ah ok ok i got it already, looking at the chart, the flash fire at 1/2 @ 1/1600

This post has been edited by Vincent Pang: Aug 19 2009, 12:43 PM

0.0358sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:16 AM