New APS-C / DT Crop Lenses ----------------------------
Sony 11-18mm F4.5-5.6 DT = RM20xx Sony Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* 16-80mm F3.5-4.5 DT ZA = RM25xx Sony 16-105mm F3.5-5.6 DT = RM16xx Sony 18-250mm F3.5-6.3 DT = RM16xx Sony 50mm F1.8 DT SAM = RM5xx Sigma 50-150mm F2.8 EX DC HSM Macro = RM30xx
New Full-Frame Lenses ------------------------
Sony 16mm F2.8 Diagonal Fisheye = RM25xx Sony 20mm F2.8 = RM19xx Sony Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* 16-35mm F2.8 SSM ZA = RM54xx Sony Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* 24-70mm F2.8 SSM ZA = RM54xx Sony 24-105mm F3.5-4.5 = RM18xx Sony 28mm F2.8 = RM8xx Sony 35mm F1.4G = RM45xx Sony 50mm F1.4 = RM10xx Sony 50mm F2.8 Macro = RM14xx Tamron 70-200mm F2.8 Macro = RM30xx Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG HSM Macro = RM38xx Sony 70-200mm F2.8G SSM = RM54xx Sony 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G SSM = RM25xx Sony 70-400mm F4-5.6G SSM = RM54xx Sony Carl Zeiss Planar T* 85mm F1.4 ZA = RM50xx Sony 100mm F2.8 Macro = RM23xx Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* 135mm F1.8 ZA = RM48xx Sony 135mm F2.8/T4.5 Smooth Transition Focus = RM36xx Sony 500mm F8.0 AF Reflex = RM25xx Sony 300mm F2.8G SSM = RM20xxx Sony 1.4x Teleconverter = RM15xx Sony 2.0x Teleconverter = RM15xx
Common Kelvin White Balance Settings : 2500K - very strong orange tungsten light 2800K - strong orange tungsten light 3200K - yellowish tungsten light 4500K M6 - flourescent light (most flourescent tubes are green even though our eyes don't see it) 5500K - flash 6500K - daylight (or daylight-balanced flourescent light) 9900K - strong blue stage lighting or evening light
Xenon lighting is rare but that should be between 7000-9000K.
Whenever you enter a new situation that has different WB, just set your Kelvin WB again and test with one shot. You
should be able to do this with practice.
With the Sony A300 and A350, you can use Live View and see the effect of changing Kelvin WB... live!
M = Magenta G = Green 2500K = Blue 9900K = Amber
Take a picture. Supposing the picture is very Green, you need to add the opposite which is Magenta. If the picture is
too Blue you need to go closer to Amber. So if the picture is very blue-green-ish, you will need to go closer to 9900K
M9.
To prevent the built-in flash from appearing in pictures when in wireless flash mode, you can use any of these
methods, or a combination of them:
- use a darker aperture (e.g. F11) - use a lower ISO (e.g. ISO100) - use a shutter speed faster than your flash sync speed so that High Speed Sync is activated (e.g. 1/320th of a
second) - use a piece of exposed, developed negative film in front of your pop-up flash
as i know, we can trigger flash wirelessly and we can set the channel in flash gun .. so that the other wouldnt trigger our flash ..
i know how to change the channel on flash gun but how do i change the channel in camera? ..
Added on August 17, 2009, 7:00 pm oo thanks ..
wow .. sp90 can produce such a good picture .. . my next target should be sp90 la .. .. btw, sp90 can be used on FF right (just in case i upgrade to FF in next decade) .. hahaha .. .
yes i m using sp90 on my a900 but most of my portrait shots were done by my sal 50mm 1.4.
QUOTE(tot31 @ Aug 17 2009, 08:32 PM)
I agree with that...that's why I'm still using my kit lens..why should I opt for a more expensive lens since I can get good results on my kit lens. The most important thing to me is the customer satisfaction, if they're happy, I'm also happy. So far I'm getting good feedbacks, non complaints. Some even reengaged me.
Agree with you, once upon a time i made the same mistake by buying lens that i finally rarely use.
Guys just updated my blog with my FIRST WEDDING PHOTO shoot.... Please feel free to visit and do C&C, as i cant post pics here.... Your words of wisdom (C&C) is much appreciated for me to learn, improve and know my mistake.... Thanks alot guys....
Is this image real or modified from A900?? im more curious with the A550 no news at all bout it. that lens doesnt look like an Alpha lens... more like a Canon lens to me.. mayb i din expose much to FF lenses.
This post has been edited by clivengu: Aug 17 2009, 08:33 PM
clivengu : It looks like a photoshopped a900 only to me. Where's episode 2? (:
Ahhh~~~ don keep remind me that~~ too bz with work. just back from holiday.. now works piling up ~ if doing episode 2 can own me a new camera body then i'll do immediately
i tried to dim my LED light..cant see the 2 tones thingy u mentioned..
dun mind me... i haf crappy lappie~~
QUOTE(Melv @ Aug 17 2009, 08:30 PM)
Repost:
Guys just updated my blog with my FIRST WEDDING PHOTO shoot.... Please feel free to visit and do C&C, as i cant post pics here.... Your words of wisdom (C&C) is much appreciated for me to learn, improve and know my mistake.... Thanks alot guys....
try to bring ur couple model further a bit from the wall.... u use pop-up flash? i dun like the harsh shadow~ i might not even use flash if like that... not really that nice ler...
dun mind me... i haf crappy lappie~~ try to bring ur couple model further a bit from the wall.... u use pop-up flash? i dun like the harsh shadow~ i might not even use flash if like that... not really that nice ler...
hahahahahaha....ya using pop up flash.....no money to buy 'cobra' yet..... Thx for the comment...really appreaciate it bro!
this question has been asked before, i think.. but let me just ask again.. cause i still dont fully understand it..
This image here is done with flash.. Its not the feel that i wanted.. it looks soooo.. i dont know how to put it in words la.. the flash just killed off the feel
This image, is not really good.. cause again.. i think these people move too much.. but its captured without flash, abit too dark but nvm..
What im trying to say is, how do you capture something like this without turning on the flash because the flash just makes the picture sooo plain, like over exposed or something. But at the same time, remain a faster shutter speed where it can capture the movements of the people without sacrificing the light of it without using the built in flash.
I feel the built in flash is abit too bright to my taste. Sifus help?
What you guys think about HVL-F20AM ? Currently cheapest at RM 400 ...
Bought from zaloon pudu plaza rm390. But some sad story. During KLPF i was with pikiz, ketua kelas, marushin and 2 others that i cant recall their names. I attached my f20am and play with wireless during our coffee break. After that I put my cam attached with f20 in the bag. Upstairs (close to KLPF entrance) when i took off my cam from the bag the f20 was broken in the neck (just bought 2 days b4 sob sob). I did not fall my cam just put inside my bag attached with f20. I trusted my lowerpro bag. Lucky a900 doesnt scratch even a bit but the pastic neck of my f20am broke. AhMike n Albert tried to resusicate. This morning the f20 was sent to sony service centre. Inside the flash is still good but the plastic connection on the neck broke. The moral of my story - becareful in handling f20 because its the most fragile compared to my f58 and f42. Village/uneducated man like me handling f20 habislah tak sempat shoot subjek yang best best lagi.
This post has been edited by hanafinoor: Aug 17 2009, 11:31 PM
Bought from zaloon pudu plaza rm390. But some sad story. During KLPF i was with pikiz, ketua kelas, marushin and 2 others that i cant recall their names. I attached my f20am and play with wireless during our coffee break. After that I put my cam attached with f20 in the bag. Upstairs (close to KLPF entrance) when i took off my cam from the bag the f20 was broken in the neck (just bought 2 days b4 sob sob). I did not fall my cam just put inside my bag attached with f20. I trusted my lowerpro bag. Lucky a900 doesnt scratch even a bit but the pastic neck of my f20am broke. AhMike n Albert tried to resusicate. This morning the f20 was sent to sony service centre. Inside the lens is still good but the plastic connection on the neck broke. The moral of my story - becareful in handling f20 because its the most fragile compared to my f58 and f42. Village/uneducated man like me handling f20 habislah tak sempat shoot subjek yang best best lagi.
Kesian :-( ... Do you have to pay for sending in the F20 to Sony ?
Definitely not suitable as main flash for a200. Most people get F20 to trigger F58 wirelessly only.
No money la to get F58 or F42 hmmm ... what do you mean not suitable as a main flash ? not enough power ? I love to take portraits indoor, that's why i need a flash, F20 not enough ?
I am waiting for my phottix battery grip to arrive tomorrow :-), any experiences with this grip ?
Bought from zaloon pudu plaza rm390. But some sad story. During KLPF i was with pikiz, ketua kelas, marushin and 2 others that i cant recall their names. I attached my f20am and play with wireless during our coffee break. After that I put my cam attached with f20 in the bag. Upstairs (close to KLPF entrance) when i took off my cam from the bag the f20 was broken in the neck (just bought 2 days b4 sob sob). I did not fall my cam just put inside my bag attached with f20. I trusted my lowerpro bag. Lucky a900 doesnt scratch even a bit but the pastic neck of my f20am broke. AhMike n Albert tried to resusicate. This morning the f20 was sent to sony service centre. Inside the lens is still good but the plastic connection on the neck broke. The moral of my story - becareful in handling f20 because its the most fragile compared to my f58 and f42. Village/uneducated man like me handling f20 habislah tak sempat shoot subjek yang best best lagi.
Kesian :-( ... Do you have to pay for sending in the F20 to Sony ? No money la to get F58 or F42 hmmm ... what do you mean not suitable as a main flash ? not enough power ? I love to take portraits indoor, that's why i need a flash, F20 not enough ?
I am waiting for my phottix battery grip to arrive tomorrow :-), any experiences with this grip ?
Pay? I will only know after 2 days.
Its not enuff its GN (power) is only 20 not even half of 42 but on a900 it excell as flash commander and simple to operate. Buy cobralah bro or at least f42 if yr dslr already eqipped with pop up flash (GN12). No money dont hurry, man man lor, simpan duit sikit sikit jadi gunung ma.
This post has been edited by hanafinoor: Aug 17 2009, 10:42 PM
this question has been asked before, i think.. but let me just ask again.. cause i still dont fully understand it..
This image here is done with flash.. Its not the feel that i wanted.. it looks soooo.. i dont know how to put it in words la.. the flash just killed off the feel
This image, is not really good.. cause again.. i think these people move too much.. but its captured without flash, abit too dark but nvm..
What im trying to say is, how do you capture something like this without turning on the flash because the flash just makes the picture sooo plain, like over exposed or something. But at the same time, remain a faster shutter speed where it can capture the movements of the people without sacrificing the light of it without using the built in flash.
I feel the built in flash is abit too bright to my taste. Sifus help?
i think if ur subject dont move too much..probably u can increase the ISO...meter ur subject n shoot...if not..get an external flash...diffuse/bounce it with gel to blend in...never really try those shot b4....so all these r just my assumption =x
why i AWB with flash, the color is totally off .. white becomes bluish or greenish under normal white lamp .. .. if using flash gel the only way to overcome this problem? or i did a wrong settings? ..
if i am not mistaken, i have no problem with flash on my A300 with AWB last time .. any idea sifus?
Added on August 17, 2009, 11:54 pmthe other things i notice is vignetting at the corners of the picture with white background .. is that normal for CZ1680 lens?
This post has been edited by Seng_Kiat: Aug 17 2009, 11:54 PM
guys wanna ask a stupid question..... i use flickr as my primary online photo album but when i right click the photo the EXIF cannot be showing up.....while some of our frens flickr's photo can....how to do that??
why i AWB with flash, the color is totally off .. white becomes bluish or greenish under normal white lamp .. .. if using flash gel the only way to overcome this problem? or i did a wrong settings? ..
if i am not mistaken, i have no problem with flash on my A300 with AWB last time .. any idea sifus?
Added on August 17, 2009, 11:54 pmthe other things i notice is vignetting at the corners of the picture with white background .. is that normal for CZ1680 lens?
was that ur lens hood??
QUOTE(neo_lam @ Aug 17 2009, 11:57 PM)
guys wanna ask a stupid question..... i use flickr as my primary online photo album but when i right click the photo the EXIF cannot be showing up.....while some of our frens flickr's photo can....how to do that??
so r u sure the exif was embedded in ur photo in the first place..
White lamps, if you mean flourescent, are not white. Flourescent is green.
Tungsten lights are orangy. So when you blend ambient light with flash you will get orange background, white subject.
You will notice this more with the A700 because you can go higher ISOs. Try using a bright lens and pointing at a flourescent light at ISO1600 and fire a few shots - you'll notice that the flourescent light flickers between green and orange (ambient room light without flourescent.)
For flourescent you get slightly warm green background and white subject.
The CZ16-80mm is fussy about filters - best to get a low-profile filter.
This post has been edited by albnok: Aug 18 2009, 12:17 AM
HiroBoroi: I have converted a webcam and a Fujifilm Digital Q1 successfully. A Nikon Coolpix 2200 couldn't turn on after that. Sony A100 at 50mm F4 1s ISO1600 using Hoya R72 and two polarizers.
Sony A700, 17mm F2.8 0.8s ISO6400 handheld using China-made RM90-equivalent filter.
Sony A700, 50mm F1.4 1/6s ISO6400 handheld using China-made RM90-equivalent filter.
Fujifilm Digital Q1 with Seagull 50mm F1.8 lens. Totally silent as it's an electronic shutter with CMOS sensor.
Same as above setup.
Note the CMOS rolling shutter!
Again, since there was no mechanical shutter...
Fujifilm Digital Q1 with 8mm F3.5 lens from manual-focusing webcam.
SpOOkY: SSS uses less power than in-lens stabilization.
IS/VR/OIS = on before exposure, stabilizing your view. On during exposure also.
SSS/AS = off before exposure, on during exposure only.
Seng_Kiat: There is a Alpha studio at Sony Style, The Curve.
You can only change camera channel on flash when it is mounted on a body.
Yuenzhi: You can go F8-F11 for maximum sharpness on a landscape.
Set your F58 to CTRL or CTRL2 and it's already ready to be triggered. The body should be set to WL Flash.
nabelon: Turn off DRO and make sure your subject is correctly exposed (more often than not, people don't know their pictures are underexposed.)
gizmo_pony: You can do tethered shooting with the A700 and A900. You can also plug the A330/A380 via HDMI to a TV while shooting.
hanafinoor: Tethered shooting is available out of the box - check your manual yo! (I haven't done it myself.)
achew: Nice shots!
lildaredevil906: Hey it's Jerome Kugan! You need a slower shutter speed to let in the background light.
slower shutter speed with the flash? or without? i did try a slower shutter speed without the flash.. the the pictures ended up useless, the hands there blur.. he strums too fast hehehe
btw spooky, i like that pic up there, im trying to create something that looks nice to the eye.. eye pleasing la.. not like *flash* ok there goes the pic of jerome filled with light..
achew: i was thinking that as well.. as when the subjects dont move much then i can slow the shutter speed, but normally, during performances, they tend to move a alot.. 2nd option i think i can play is with flash.. built in flash, flashes people direct.. then i see.. WA external flash expensive lehhh... especially the sony f42.. again people mentioned the cheaper alternative which is the f20, but based on comments, it is used mainly as a 2nd flash... based on it i would think f20 cannot pakai as main flash.. lol
but, any of you guys wanna comment about the f20 as main flash??
=( expensivee!!!! why oh why did i ever venture into the dslr world.. my poket got lubaang diii
This post has been edited by lildaredevil906: Aug 18 2009, 02:12 AM
@achew, I am using standard hood that comes with 1680CZ without a filter. is it cause the problem (vignetting)?
@albnok, yes, I understand that florescent lamp is not pure white. But last time with my A300 or my 40D and I set AWB with flash on. I am still getting almost accurate WB. but my A700 with flash on and AWB, it gives me totally off WB. I have no problem if AWB with flash off. . FYI, I am shooting with CZ1680 with no filter (just in case filter is the problem). btw, any recommended filter for 1680?
Do I need to change anything like ambient light from the camera menu, etc? I have not change anything since I bought it.
This post has been edited by Seng_Kiat: Aug 18 2009, 08:06 AM
Sony A700, 17mm F2.8 0.8s ISO6400 handheld using China-made RM90-equivalent filter.
Oh cool !! Why didn't I think of that ? Bump up the ISO to 1600. I should try that on my D90 and see what kind of shutter speed I get. Perhaps that would make the trees be still in the wind.
Its worth it if you dont mind it being slower than the HSM ..
Added on August 18, 2009, 10:11 amAnyway , I tot of selling my A300.. how much would the 2nd hand value be now? Its out of warranty already.. by 1 month.. no stractch , got hard protector original sony.. with kit lens 18-70.. hmmm..
This post has been edited by Soony: Aug 18 2009, 10:11 AM
Seng_Kiat: I would go for the Zeiss or B+W filters. Not sure which Hoyas are slim.
Show us a picture with EXIF? No you don't need to change anything. However, there is a difference in how Canon and Sony do flash;
In dimmer lighting, Sony defaults to 1/60s and pumps up the ISO to as high as possible to bring in enough ambient light. Often this means ISO1600 if your Auto ISO is set to 200-1600.
Canon picks a slower shutter speed; however I am not sure what Auto ISO will do. Though, by that I think the Canon would let in a lot of ambient light too. My guess is that Canon's rendition of flourescent is different with AWB.
MemorableStudios: My favorite Creative Style settings are:
Vivid 0 +1 +3 -2 -1
Congratulations on the A900 by the way, enjoy your 24-70mm!
Kul | Mo0: Ah, I remember the technicality - you said no more new lenses right? So a body upgrade, or an old lens, is fine LOL.
WAHHHHHHHHHHHH........The COBRA got so many supporters!!!!....3/3 said go for cobra....so cobra it is then! LoL!......Btw, where can get the best price for the cobra now? And how much wud that be? I know its arnd 1xxx rite?
but honestly la ah.... can go for tammy oso... provided you don't shoot indoors, you dont really shoot at night, you're not into wireless flash.... and then can go for the 17-50 first laa... but generally, getting an external flash gun sure more penting la...
early warning, after getting a cobra... you'll want to get another one... and another one...
but honestly la ah.... can go for tammy oso... provided you don't shoot indoors, you dont really shoot at night, you're not into wireless flash.... and then can go for the 17-50 first laa... but generally, getting an external flash gun sure more penting la...
early warning, after getting a cobra... you'll want to get another one... and another one...
Hahahahahah....thx bro for the 'warning'! Actually i am suffering from light problems cause i shoot lot of indoors and events in dark....so i think the cobra is the way!
want to minimize PP, if you have any particular settings, i would like to try that... thanks
i always stand on standard 0, 0, 0, 0, 0 if jpeg in normal shooting because I believe creative setting comes from software not the lens and it will be difficult to tweak in post processing in photoshop. Eg. sharpness - camera creative setting is not selective in sharpness where photoshop you can do masking and choose where you want parts to be sharpened. But in raw it doesnt matter tweaking will be done in sony raw converter. Lately with commercial shots I do everything in raw.
Seng_Kiat: I would go for the Zeiss or B+W filters. Not sure which Hoyas are slim.
Show us a picture with EXIF? No you don't need to change anything. However, there is a difference in how Canon and Sony do flash;
In dimmer lighting, Sony defaults to 1/60s and pumps up the ISO to as high as possible to bring in enough ambient light. Often this means ISO1600 if your Auto ISO is set to 200-1600.
Canon picks a slower shutter speed; however I am not sure what Auto ISO will do. Though, by that I think the Canon would let in a lot of ambient light too. My guess is that Canon's rendition of flourescent is different with AWB.
MemorableStudios: My favorite Creative Style settings are:
Vivid 0 +1 +3 -2 -1
Congratulations on the A900 by the way, enjoy your 24-70mm!
Kul | Mo0: Ah, I remember the technicality - you said no more new lenses right? So a body upgrade, or an old lens, is fine LOL.
Ok. Thanks for the info albnok. I will try to upload the picture later. I am in the office at the moment.
i always stand on standard 0, 0, 0, 0, 0 if jpeg in normal shooting because I believe creative setting comes from software not the lens and it will be difficult to tweak in post processing in photoshop. Eg. sharpness - camera creative setting is not selective in sharpness where photoshop you can do masking and choose where you want parts to be sharpened. But in raw it doesnt matter tweaking will be done in sony raw converter. Lately with commercial shots I do everything in raw.
yeah, on a350 also i shoot in raw... but on this monster, either i purchase 2-3 more 16GB CF cards or shoot in JPEG.. what rig u r using? to process this 24MP RAWs will be.. ouchh...
@achew, I am using standard hood that comes with 1680CZ without a filter. is it cause the problem (vignetting)?
@albnok, yes, I understand that florescent lamp is not pure white. But last time with my A300 or my 40D and I set AWB with flash on. I am still getting almost accurate WB. but my A700 with flash on and AWB, it gives me totally off WB. I have no problem if AWB with flash off. . FYI, I am shooting with CZ1680 with no filter (just in case filter is the problem). btw, any recommended filter for 1680?
Do I need to change anything like ambient light from the camera menu, etc? I have not change anything since I bought it.
yes..the hood comes wth 680 does cause that prob =)
last friday i was chatting with 1 of the manager from france...he told me he only use BW filter and he has whole set of it!!! lol...but he also said he only bought the biggest diameter filter of his lens..and he got himself those adapter to convert the rest of his lenses' diamater...so all of them could share the same diameter size....he was soooooo stubborn and insisting..at least use BW filter..or dont use anything at all.....lol...i was too shy to tell them most of my filters r probably cost only 1/10 of his bw..
Only saw Chiggy in KLPF. Manage to get remote control.
Didn't get the maggi bowl diffuser because can't spot the difference compared to bounce card of F58. May be I should do it properly in a shop rather than the cramped place.
As for SAL50F18, didn't spot it anywhere in KLPF. Flying off to Jakarta tomorrow, no time to buy already..........
we're all young at heart... hehehe... no way to run from that... hehehe
Added on August 18, 2009, 11:50 amTT this saturday with Tubiks and Kopitiam! hahaha... going to Fairy Cave in Kuching for some shots... any other Kuching Alphanian wanna come? lemme know!
This post has been edited by Braynumb: Aug 18 2009, 11:50 AM
Well i was drooling at my 1st love , the Nikon D40 since I was 15 or 16. (: Then worked part time jobs every year end and collect collect and fond out i dont love the Nikon already. And fell in love with the orange tag. So went this path. (:
fuyoo.. 18 and your gear is teh bomb.. and ur interest for photography is "waaaa"
How i wish when i was 18 i was more.. how to say.. productive.. lol..
i finally think that for once im doing something productive with my time.. something usefull lol..
back when 5 years ago, (when I was 18) i think photography is a very expensive hobby, no cheap dslr out yet at that time, its just that recently that the trend has rise and now you can see a people walk around with dslr like its a pns camera hahahaha
but does all of them understand how to use its function ? (only god knows)
my company is worse, no policy for closing, only body temperature monitoring if any cases happened... irresponsible greedy MNC... gggrrrrr...
just taking safety measure , like opening windows for open air ventilation, use of hand detergent at the entrance and in process of buying face mask and body temperature check device...
just now my colleague near me went to clinic because of not feeling well...
even I was having fever yesterday during my very convocation ceremony ( lucky they check me 37c.. if 38 sure cannot enter T_T) but after receive the scroll ... suddenly feel hurt when breathing and some pain over my body... then i take panadols sleep in car for 2 hours... sweat like shiet... then I`m ok back ( I hate my father and friends joke that its h1n1 symptom... not funny you know when you are sick )
This post has been edited by Ksano: Aug 18 2009, 12:29 PM
albert: thanks for the clarification on IS/VR/SSS etc...What i am trying to point out is that having those is a plus and i dont see why someone would not like to have it ..(not comparing which is better)
gizmo_pony : not sure bout phottix for sony...but phottix for canon isnt that good.although the capacity is higher than the ori batt but it can take less shots...heard that octopus is better....
Seng_Kiat: Hmmm, that is rather blue. You're on AWB with wireless flash, correct? Your flash is direct, and not bouncing off anything right? Also, what filter are you using on the CZ? Does it have a tint when you put the filter by itself on a white piece of paper?
I am a bit confused as to where the flash is, because it looks like you have one bouncing off the floor (could be bluish marble?) and one from the popup (shadow from the glasses and nose.)
gizmo_pony : not sure bout phottix for sony...but phottix for canon isnt that good.although the capacity is higher than the ori batt but it can take less shots...heard that octopus is better....
phottix battery has less 100mAh, that is 1500mAh ...
Seng_Kiat: Hmmm, that is rather blue. You're on AWB with wireless flash, correct? Your flash is direct, and not bouncing off anything right? Also, what filter are you using on the CZ? Does it have a tint when you put the filter by itself on a white piece of paper?
I am a bit confused as to where the flash is, because it looks like you have one bouncing off the floor (could be bluish marble?) and one from the popup (shadow from the glasses and nose.)
albnok,
Yes, I was using AWB on wireless flash. Yes, the flash was direct to the subject from the right side, not bouncing. No filter paired/used with 1680CZ. I was using built-in flash to trigger the wireless flash.
FYI, I face same WB problem if I use built-in flash (without cobra) in AWB. I have no problem if the flash off.
indeed !!! btw i did not attend her reception at istana, only at putra hotel... laa. You were there as well ? Hi, rugi, if not can shake hands. haha... Hmmm, at that time, me still don't have dslr
i only shoot at her house and at istana..so we don't meet..
and so this is all your cousin la..
More of them in here..but warning..just a pics of noob in wedding..
This post has been edited by Ranceed: Aug 18 2009, 03:30 PM
actually no... hahaha... just got exited to know that a fellow alphanian is in/from kuching... wanna find and gather all and go for TT and shoot2... hehehe
eh?? you're pixelbleed's bro? in Kuching this sunday? hehehe... ada TT and photo adventure to Fairy Cave Bau... come la... come la...
gizmo_pony: also in Kuching? hehehe... come la for the TT this sunday... never done TT with fellow Alphanians b4... wanna poison and be poisoned... hehehe...
No lah, Im from muar. what is TT anyway ? haha, sorry la. newbie here as well.
Eh ranceed if got wedding here in muar, your brother can come ka ?
Seng_Kiat: I don't have my F58 with me now, but there are TWO serial numbers - the one under the head is for the flash head. You should turn the flash sideways and look for the serial number on a white sticker with a barcode.
oh, I got it. but still cannot register. I put HVLF58AM and HVL-F58AM but still the system didn't take it. Thanks alot albnok. I will contact SC and let them know about new serial number..
Albnok, once again million thanks for your helps. I finally manage to get all items registered with mysony and guess what, they all have 18 months warranty (instead of 15 months - 12+3 months if register online) ..
QUOTE(hafeez71 @ Aug 18 2009, 05:55 PM)
i use HOYA HD for my cz...
How much you get it bro? .. .. no vignetting issue because of the filter right? what a sad story to hear that ori hood comes with 1680CZ causes the vignetting .. ..
Added on August 18, 2009, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Aug 18 2009, 05:49 PM)
bila hari hujan....serangga tidur dirumah... jadi macro tak begerak ja.....
Added on August 18, 2009, 5:50 pm nak gmbr awk ke bro?
mo mo mo .. ..
btw bro, bile free, bleh try shoot dengan flash ON with AWB? ... my picture produce weird WB la .. .. if no flash, no problem .. but with flash, a lot of problem .. ..
This post has been edited by Seng_Kiat: Aug 18 2009, 06:06 PM
Albnok, once again million thanks for your helps. I finally manage to get all items registered with mysony and guess what, they all have 18 months warranty (instead of 15 months - 12+3 months if register online) .. How much you get it bro? .. .. no vignetting issue because of the filter right? what a sad story to hear that ori hood comes with 1680CZ causes the vignetting .. ..
Added on August 18, 2009, 6:06 pm mo mo mo .. ..
btw bro, bile free, bleh try shoot dengan flash ON with AWB? ... my picture produce weird WB la .. .. if no flash, no problem .. but with flash, a lot of problem .. ..
How much you get it bro? .. .. no vignetting issue because of the filter right? what a sad story to hear that ori hood comes with 1680CZ causes the vignetting .. ..
QUOTE(Braynumb @ Aug 18 2009, 11:49 AM)
we're all young at heart... hehehe... no way to run from that... hehehe
Added on August 18, 2009, 11:50 amTT this saturday with Tubiks and Kopitiam! hahaha... going to Fairy Cave in Kuching for some shots... any other Kuching Alphanian wanna come? lemme know!
im going to kk... wait till i get back next thursday. i want to go to borneo highlands during the fake merdeka day
QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Aug 18 2009, 05:42 PM)
my school bro.....beercan...want try?
come come i want to poison myself this saturday, btw u start puasa kan? can still go island hopping this saturday?
wanna ask, does a700 have the auto focus adjustment which is stated to come with the a850?
Cos sometimes i find that certain lens need some minor AF adjustment and it's a sad thing that a200 doesn't have that. Btw, if i want to adjust my sigma lens, do i need to send in whole body arr? they can't adjust if i just send in the lens?
im going to kk... wait till i get back next thursday. i want to go to borneo highlands during the fake merdeka day come come i want to poison myself this saturday, btw u start puasa kan? can still go island hopping this saturday?
u got my number rite? u just come...puasa is puasa...my camera tarak puasa punya....
hi everybody ! i think there's a problem with my a200. im still new in photography so im currently using P mode, and also i'll adjust the exposure, im not sure whether its called the exposure, the one where u call adjust from scale -2 to +2. anyway i was shooting outside just now and the sun was bright so i adjusted to -0.75. thinking by using -0.75 my pictures wont be over-exposed, but the thing is pics are over-exposed constantly and some cases, 3 shots out of 5 shots will be over-exposed. i'll give a sample photo here, i shot using the same settings but the result turn out to be different. these 2 photos are shot at exposure -0.75 or -1 cant remember and these 2 photos were taken continuously
1. over-exposed !
2. not over-exposed
do u think my body is broken ? this wasnt the first time that happened. happened before when i was shooting indoor, my exposure was set to -0.75 and yet all my photos were overexposed
hi everybody ! i think there's a problem with my a200. im still new in photography so im currently using P mode, and also i'll adjust the exposure, im not sure whether its called the exposure, the one where u call adjust from scale -2 to +2. anyway i was shooting outside just now and the sun was bright so i adjusted to -0.75. thinking by using -0.75 my pictures wont be over-exposed, but the thing is pics are over-exposed constantly and some cases, 3 shots out of 5 shots will be over-exposed. i'll give a sample photo here, i shot using the same settings but the result turn out to be different. these 2 photos are shot at exposure -0.75 or -1 cant remember and these 2 photos were taken continuously
1. over-exposed !
2. not over-exposed
do u think my body is broken ? this wasnt the first time that happened. happened before when i was shooting indoor, my exposure was set to -0.75 and yet all my photos were overexposed
try change ur metering mode to multi segment ? ur metering mode is in spot metering mode, maybe 1st pic the spot is on the dog which is black colour and the 2nd pic it metered the grass..
edit: or center weighted.. i always put mine to center weighted..
This post has been edited by lehtung: Aug 18 2009, 08:37 PM
1. over-exposed !
2. not over-exposed
from both pics, they have different exiff data value as u use P mode,,so the camera read the metering in different way..the first one at F3.5 and the second one is F8..so its not ur camera problem, but the situation which is ur camera read different metering..better try on M mode..
1. over-exposed !
2. not over-exposed
i think u'd better off reading ur manual about how AP/SP work first..and understand the exposure triangle...shooting helps..but shootig blindly doesnt...
MemorableStudios: I would prefer the B+W because it is scratch proof.
raist86: No, the A700 does not have AF adjustment.
yuenzhi: You must've changed to Spot Metering which meters only everything in the center circle and makes it middle-toned (the black dogs become gray). Change back to Multi-Segment Metering.
Seng_Kiat: I've attempted to replicate your shot:
A900, Minolta 24-105mm F3.5-4.5(D) with Hoya Pro1 Digital MC filter, sRGB, 28mm (have to lah handheld what), F4.5, 1/160s, ISO100, Multi-segment Metering, Manual Mode, EV 0.
Then I tried using my Zeiss in case it's a Zeiss thing: A900, Carl Zeiss 135mm F1.8 with B+W 007 filter, sRGB, 135mm, F4.5, 1/160s, ISO100, Multi-segment Metering, Manual Exposure, EV 0.
EXIF is also inside for all to see. I can't quite figure out what it is. Does the F58 on the A700 give the same problem in AWB?
hanafinoor: Perhaps you could call them to tell them how much you bought it for? Also, was it under warranty? They have not gotten back to me on registering my F20 either.
Pang: The second picture has an overexposed flash because the flash is 30 cm away from the object and it cannot go low-power enough to light a subject at F4.5 and ISO100 correctly at such close distances. Trying the same shot at F5.6 however nothing gets overexposed.
As for the first shot being warmer - the higher the flash output*, the warmer the flash is. When you plug the F58/F42/F20 on an A200-A900 body, it will tell the body what is the flash temperature based on flash output. Because the flash was off-camera however, it did not pass the WB information.
In the first picture the flash was further away and the camera was at ISO100 thus it needed to output more. Thus it was warmer.
That said, there's nothing wrong with a warmer flash - observe your point-and-shoots and you'll see that the flash unit has a warm color.
Of course, the point of this exercise is not to use manual WB but to use AWB to copy Seng_Kiat's scenario. Read the context!
*output because the term "flash power" is misleading; flashes always fire at full power, just that the duration changes. Unless you have a very expensive professional studio light which is engineered to change power and not just duration so it maintains a very consistent 5500K no matter what output setting.
hanafinoor: Perhaps you could call them to tell them how much you bought it for? Also, was it under warranty? They have not gotten back to me on registering my F20 either.
Pang: The second picture has an overexposed flash because the flash is 30 cm away from the object and it cannot go low-power enough to light a subject at F4.5 and ISO100 correctly at such close distances. Trying the same shot at F5.6 however nothing gets overexposed.
As for the first shot being warmer - the higher the flash output*, the warmer the flash is. When you plug the F58/F42/F20 on an A200-A900 body, it will tell the body what is the flash temperature based on flash output. Because the flash was off-camera however, it did not pass the WB information.
In the first picture the flash was further away and the camera was at ISO100 thus it needed to output more. Thus it was warmer.
That said, there's nothing wrong with a warmer flash - observe your point-and-shoots and you'll see that the flash unit has a warm color.
Of course, the point of this exercise is not to use manual WB but to use AWB to copy Seng_Kiat's scenario. Read the context!
*output because the term "flash power" is misleading; flashes always fire at full power, just that the duration changes. Unless you have a very expensive professional studio light which is engineered to change power and not just duration so it maintains a very consistent 5500K no matter what output setting.
I read Seng_kiat posts earlier, if off the shoe doesn't pass the WB information as you said I don't see why you should use AWB. The ambient light could have trick the camera to think it's warm, so the cam set it to lower temp which result in a slightly bluish output which seng_kiat is getting.
The second thing i want to comment is your flash power output. Since you said the flash always fire full power, how does the duration changes the temperature? I believe this only happen to Sony flashes as I have shot using Nikon and Canon flashes off the cam with 1/32,1/16,1/8,1/4,1/2,1/1 and never need to touch my WB setting.
The only thing I observe with higher flash output is the exposure on my subject. I have never come across anyone complaining cooler colour when they are using lower powered flash. Well, ya I can see that you are comparing the Sony flashes with flash on a point-and-shoots, then I will agree with you, there is nothing wrong.
When the flash is used on an Alpha, AWB automatically goes to Flash WB, which is 5500K unless the flash on top tells the body otherwise.
On an Alpha, AWB does not go down to 3200K when the camera detects tungsten light and flash is used in AWB mode, unlike what you have assumed.
When you set a Canon/Nikon/Sony flash to 1/1, its duration is longer, the temperature is warmer (warmer than 5500K), but the power is the same.
When it is set to 1/32, the duration is shorter, the temperature is cooler (nearer to 5500K), but the power is the same.
This is the same for cheap studio flashes also.
My wall is beige-colored. (And uh, my shirt is not pure white, either.) The monitor in the second picture is beige also, in case you assume that all of these are neutral white. This makes the flash appear even warmer.
My mistake for putting the warmness of the first picture to higher power flash - it is also and primarily attributable to the scene being beige!
Nikon and Canon flashes also have this WB function:
White balance compensation Slight variations in a flash gun’s voltage and brightness can destabilise white balance in respective frames during continuous shooting. The Speedlite 430EX II compensates for this by transmitting colour information from the flash to the camera. This information is then used to optimise the white balance setting for each individual image. This function works with the camera set to Auto WB or Flash Mode.
***** Flash Color Information Communication When the SB-600 is used with compatible digital SLRs, color temperature information is automatically transmitted to the camera. In this way, the camera’s white balance is automatically adjusted to give you the correct color temperature when taking photographs with the SB-600.
Auto White Balance compensation allows for more accurate white balance in flash photography sending color temperature information from the HVL-F58AM to the camera, where it is incorporated into the camera’s white balance settings.
Nikon's published flash duration specs for the SB-600:
Flash duration (approx.): 1/900 sec. at M1/1 (full) output 1/1600 sec. at M1/2 output 1/3400 sec. at M1/4 output 1/6600 sec. at M1/8 output 1/11100 sec. at M1/16 output 1/20000 sec. at M1/32 output 1/25000 sec. at M1/64 output
At full power, a typical hotshoe flash has a duration of about 1/750 to 1/1,000 s, which is too slow for our needs. However, today's variable power flashes have a key feature that we can exploit: as you decrease the power, the flash duration also decreases, roughly in line with the power.
For example, my Canon Speedlites have a duration of about 1/750 s at full and half power, and then the duration decreases by roughly half every time you reduce the power by one f/stop. The result is about 1/6,000 s at 1/16 power, and 1/10,000 s at 1/32 power. That's plenty of stopping ability—albeit at the cost of reduced light output. (But we can compensate for that by using several flashes and moving them closer to the subject.)
MemorableStudios: I would prefer the B+W because it is scratch proof.
raist86: No, the A700 does not have AF adjustment.
yuenzhi: You must've changed to Spot Metering which meters only everything in the center circle and makes it middle-toned (the black dogs become gray). Change back to Multi-Segment Metering.
Seng_Kiat: I've attempted to replicate your shot:
A900, Minolta 24-105mm F3.5-4.5(D) with Hoya Pro1 Digital MC filter, sRGB, 28mm (have to lah handheld what), F4.5, 1/160s, ISO100, Multi-segment Metering, Manual Mode, EV 0.
Then I tried using my Zeiss in case it's a Zeiss thing:
A900, Carl Zeiss 135mm F1.8 with B+W 007 filter, sRGB, 135mm, F4.5, 1/160s, ISO100, Multi-segment Metering, Manual Exposure, EV 0.
EXIF is also inside for all to see. I can't quite figure out what it is. Does the F58 on the A700 give the same problem in AWB?
albnok, thank you so much for your test .. I had no time last night to test again with AWB and flash .. I just back home since 7am I left yesterday... damn tired .. ..
btw, this is the picture i shoot on the same day as i shoot my friend (as posted earlier with WB issue) ..
if I am not mistaken, I was using f58 with AWB for this shoot and it looks good.. actually i shoot a few but this the best WB i can get .. the others are having WB issue .. I am penin d .. sometimes ok sometimes ko .. ..
hurmmm .. if i am not mistaken, there is something like setting up the flash in the menu .. i cant remember what it is (i cant check in camera menu because i am recharging the battery) but the options i have are "ambient" and "ambient & flash" .. anything to do with it?
This post has been edited by Seng_Kiat: Aug 19 2009, 07:35 AM
albnok: if canon/nikon/sony flash does change its temp (WB) (based on the flash output) and send a signal to the camera to adjust the WB; should we stick with AWB instead of using custom (eg:5500k) or flash WB?
The above scenario is only applicable for on-camera external flash right? If flash is off-camera then we should use either custom/flash WB.
im going to kk... wait till i get back next thursday. i want to go to borneo highlands during the fake merdeka day come come i want to poison myself this saturday, btw u start puasa kan? can still go island hopping this saturday?
ooo ya ho... you're going to KK... lupa la plak... oh well... looks like it's just me and Tubiks then... as long as can go TT and photoshoot good already lah... hehehe...
Added on August 19, 2009, 10:39 am
QUOTE(gizmo_pony @ Aug 19 2009, 10:18 AM)
I got the defective one, gonna exchange it. Sometimes it works perfectly, sometimes gives me headache, the buttons gone wild etc...
Always unfortunate lately, dunno why huhu. Hopefully receive a working unit later.
waaaa... I hope mine is an ok one and doesn't cause any problems...
This post has been edited by Braynumb: Aug 19 2009, 10:39 AM
White balance compensation Slight variations in a flash gun’s voltage and brightness can destabilise white balance in respective frames during continuous shooting. The Speedlite 430EX II compensates for this by transmitting colour information from the flash to the camera. This information is then used to optimise the white balance setting for each individual image. This function works with the camera set to Auto WB or Flash Mode.
continuos shooting, doesn't say this will happen on 1 shot
***** Flash Color Information Communication When the SB-600 is used with compatible digital SLRs, color temperature information is automatically transmitted to the camera. In this way, the camera’s white balance is automatically adjusted to give you the correct color temperature when taking photographs with the SB-600.
i read this as being the ambient colour temperature which the nikon will read and transmit over so the situation is ambient + flash WB, which will give a more accurate result. Don't think so there is a relationship with output of the flash
Auto White Balance compensation allows for more accurate white balance in flash photography sending color temperature information from the HVL-F58AM to the camera, where it is incorporated into the camera’s white balance settings.
this is the same as above
when we say compensation, wat kind of compensation we are talking about? +/- 100K or 1000K ?
My wall is beige-colored. (And uh, my shirt is not pure white, either.) The monitor in the second picture is beige also, in case you assume that all of these are neutral white. This makes the flash appear even warmer.
My mistake for putting the warmness of the first picture to higher power flash - it is also and primarily attributable to the scene being beige!
you tested WB without using white/grey card? your eyes has to be very good and accurate without a reference. LOL
from the test that Seng_kiat has done, i only have 2 conclusions, 1) the camera or flash is flawed 2) you are wrong that Alpha WB doesn't go down when OFF the cam flash was used
Sp00kY: good question there, exactly my point in my earlier post
edit: question,
John Groseclose Pro User says:
Nikon's published flash duration specs for the SB-600:
Flash duration (approx.): 1/900 sec. at M1/1 (full) output 1/1600 sec. at M1/2 output 1/3400 sec. at M1/4 output 1/6600 sec. at M1/8 output 1/11100 sec. at M1/16 output 1/20000 sec. at M1/32 output 1/25000 sec. at M1/64 output
if this is the case, why most of the flash need a flash sync. speed which normally is 1/250 or 1/200? it should be safe to sync up to 1/900?
please enlighten me
This post has been edited by Vincent Pang: Aug 19 2009, 10:48 AM
edit: question, if this is the case, why most of the flash need a flash sync. speed which normally is 1/250 or 1/200? it should be safe to sync up to 1/900?
please enlighten me
i am just curious on how it works and what i shud do ...if i cna set my WB to the DOT on the SPOT then i dont have to PP la hha
eh, ya woh..if sync at 1/900 isnt it COOL? I am curious too....since the slowest is 1/900....
and i have highlighted the below statement continuos shooting, doesn't say this will happen on 1 shot i read this as being the ambient colour temperature which the nikon will read and transmit over so the situation is ambient + flash WB, which will give a more accurate result. Don't think so there is a relationship with output of the flash this is the same as above
when we say compensation, wat kind of compensation we are talking about? +/- 100K or 1000K ? you tested WB without using white/grey card? your eyes has to be very good and accurate without a reference. LOL
from the test that Seng_kiat has done, i only have 2 conclusions, 1) the camera or flash is flawed 2) you are wrong that Alpha WB doesn't go down when OFF the cam flash was used
edit: question, if this is the case, why most of the flash need a flash sync. speed which normally is 1/250 or 1/200? it should be safe to sync up to 1/900?
please enlighten me
great debate on flash... too bad I'm no master in this area... PP for White Balance is my thing...
I learned my lesson somehow...no matter how I pp, sometimes, when the color wasnt captured properly, no matter how I pp also i cant get the right result.
extreme case, shooting in tungsten and set my WB to 8000k.... most of the colors may not be captured in this case and the histogram might be heavy towards one channel (blue i pressume) i might be wrong,
I learned my lesson somehow...no matter how I pp, sometimes, when the color wasnt captured properly, no matter how I pp also i cant get the right result.
extreme case, shooting in tungsten and set my WB to 8000k.... most of the colors may not be captured in this case and the histogram might be heavy towards one channel (blue i pressume) i might be wrong,
Correct me if im wrong.
of course, extreme cases may be difficult... but i'm using the cobra+a900+dome diffuser its quite reliable in AWB.. some minor white balancing only..
The variance between full power and low power flash certainly is not very drastic. You can try it yourself between 1/1 power F22 ISO100 and 1/32 power F4.0 ISO100. I would say it is in 100 Kelvins variance, but this is a good experiment to do with RAW and a custom WB color picker.
I have used off-camera flash in tungsten and flourescent light on the A700. In both cases, the AWB certainly did not go down to tungsten (giving me blue-ish flash) or flourescent (giving me magenta-ish flash). It stayed at Flash WB or 5500K.
Could something be wrong with Seng_Kiat's A700? Maybe.
Flash sync speed depends on the camera shutter. It is determined by how fast the shutter blades can move. Shutter blades travel at a fixed speed.
Flash duration depends on the flash head. You're the audio guy, you know your capacitors lah.
Even though the flash duration for a SB-600 is 1/900s at 1/1 output, your shutter curtains are not fast enough to run from one end of the frame to the other. If you were to hook a SB-600 to a camera via PC Sync or a camera without a Nikon TTL hotshoe, and you shot at 1/900s, you would see a stripe of light! It would be fixed in position relative to the frame.
At shutter speeds slower than the flash sync speed, the first curtain goes up, and the entire frame is exposed, before the second curtain goes up. Thus, one pulse from the flash is enough to light the whole frame.
At shutter speeds faster than the flash sync speed, the first curtain goes up... and the second curtain follows behind it without ever exposing the entire frame. The delay/distance between the first and second curtain is smaller for faster shutter speeds so there is a smaller 'stripe' of the exposed frame at any time.
If you put the SB-600 on a Nikon TTL hotshoe, the camera recognizes that there is a flash attached (and prevents the shutter speed from going faster than the camera's flash sync speed if the flash is in bounce mode) and the flash recognizes that it is attached to a camera. So when the flash is pointed straight, the camera allows HSS, and the flash goes into HSS mode.
The flash, in HSS mode, will fire a few pulses, to 'fill in' the stripes to illuminate a full frame. Because it fires a few pulses its power is reduced.
* HSS = High Speed Sync, same as Canon's FP Flash
If you hooked a SB-600 up to a point-and-shoot which doesn't use a mechanical shutter, shooting at 1/1800s would thus get 1/2 output even though the flash is 1/1 output.
Seng_Kiat: "Ambient&flash" means that when you change EV, your flash EV changes also. "Flash only" means that when you change EV, flash EV does not change.
SpOOkY: AWB will default to Flash WB when the camera knows that a flash was used so there is no need to change to Flash WB.
its good though... probably every1 who uses off cam flashes & multiple flashes are thinking about this now...
in fact, im concern about on-camera flash too......imagine if the cam adjust the WB based on the signal passed from the flash...then there is no need in using custom wb/flash wb....unless the signal is only to tell the camera to + or - the current WB temp
Added on August 19, 2009, 11:42 amthanks for the explanation....
QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 19 2009, 11:34 AM)
Seng_Kiat: "Ambient&flash" means that when you change EV, your flash EV changes also. "Flash only" means that when you change EV, flash EV does not change.
How do we do this? a bit lost....
SpOOkY: AWB will default to Flash WB when the camera knows that a flash was used so there is no need to change to Flash WB.
Oh great..means that hen camera is attached, WB is set automatically..i shall try if flash is off camera and what the AWB will act as. Then, what is the flash WB for? Which means it is pointless to set custom WB also right? Assuming that each manufacturer will set their AWB to the color temp of the flash of the same make.
If you put the SB-600 on a Nikon TTL hotshoe, the camera recognizes that there is a flash attached (and prevents the shutter speed from going faster than the camera's flash sync speed if the flash is in bounce mode) and the flash recognizes that it is attached to a camera. So when the flash is pointed straight, the camera allows HSS, and the flash goes into HSS mode.
IINM, SB600 allows HSS mode even in bounce mode...
This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Aug 19 2009, 11:42 AM
If you hooked a SB-600 up to a point-and-shoot which doesn't use a mechanical shutter, shooting at 1/1800s would thus get 1/2 output even though the flash is 1/1 output.
even though it doesn't use mechanical shutter, the speed 1/1800s should be too fast and it should miss the flash. It should have finished capturing b4 the flash fire. No ?
i think what he is trying to say is that if the shutter is at 1/1800 (faster)and the flash is at 1/900 (slower) the cam only manages to capture 1/2 of the flash instead of full...
a more extreme example will be shutter at 1 sec and flash at 2 sec...
did i misunderstand ur question?
But i still dont get why cant x-sync set at 1/900. what bro albnok said was because your shutter curtains are not fast enough to run from one end of the frame to the other so when i shoot at 1/4000? how is it like? hmm..
interesting...albnok free tonight? TT on knowledge sharing, teh tarik on me
This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Aug 19 2009, 12:12 PM
oh god.. A230 & A330 is a disgrace to current alpha users.. very dissapointed with them... cost-cutting models... but the savings not passed to the customers..
The SB-600 at 1/1 output, is ON for 1/900th of a second. So if you shot at 1/1800th of a second you would only get half the flash duration effectively making it 1/2 output. It's not like the flash is an instantaneous burst that happens at the end of the 1/900th of a second - it's continuously lit for that 1/900th of a second. SpOOkY has got it right.
SpOOkY: The "exp.comp.set" function in the A100/A700/A900 can switch between "Ambient&flash" or "Flash only".
On the A200-A380 it is "Ambient&flash" by default behavior and there is no option in the menu. On Nikons it is "Flash only" and there is no option (on the D700).
Oops my bad, the SB-600 does allow HSS and bounce (though it is quite pointless because you lose so much power bouncing and using HSS.)
Flash WB is for when you want to fix the WB as 5500K even when there is no flash attached. This retains rich color for stage lighting, for example. With AWB and no flash, it can go down or up.
MemorableStudios: I see you've got the FA-EB1AM battery pack. Congratulations!
This post has been edited by albnok: Aug 19 2009, 12:27 PM
i think what he is trying to say is that if the shutter is at 1/1800 (faster)and the flash is at 1/900 (slower) the cam only manages to capture 1/2 of the flash instead of full...
a more extreme example will be shutter at 1 sec and flash at 2 sec...
did i misunderstand ur question?
But i still dont get why cant x-sync set at 1/900. what bro albnok said was because your shutter curtains are not fast enough to run from one end of the frame to the other so when i shoot at 1/4000? how is it like? hmm..
interesting...albnok free tonight? TT on knowledge sharing, teh tarik on me
ah ok ok i got it already, looking at the chart, the flash fire at 1/2 @ 1/1600
This post has been edited by Vincent Pang: Aug 19 2009, 12:43 PM
At 1st glance I thought A330 sells at RM699 with flash, extra lens and bag.
Dont misjudge with the word PWP (Purchase with purchase)
You need to top up of your purchase in order to get those.
can consider for my 2 year old nephew.. his hand is probably small enough to hold it...
Added on August 19, 2009, 12:39 pm
QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 19 2009, 12:24 PM)
The SB-600 at 1/1 output, is ON for 1/900th of a second. So if you shot at 1/1800th of a second you would only get half the flash duration effectively making it 1/2 output. It's not like the flash is an instantaneous burst that happens at the end of the 1/900th of a second - it's continuously lit for that 1/900th of a second. SpOOkY has got it right.
SpOOkY: The "exp.comp.set" function in the A100/A700/A900 can switch between "Ambient&flash" or "Flash only".
On the A200-A380 it is "Ambient&flash" by default behavior and there is no option in the menu. On Nikons it is "Flash only" and there is no option (on the D700).
Oops my bad, the SB-600 does allow HSS and bounce (though it is quite pointless because you lose so much power bouncing and using HSS.)
Flash WB is for when you want to fix the WB as 5500K even when there is no flash attached. This retains rich color for stage lighting, for example. With AWB and no flash, it can go down or up.
MemorableStudios: I see you've got the FA-EB1AM battery pack. Congratulations!
yeah... thanks... it really is a big help... 15 continuous bounce flash shots at 5fps.. no problemo.. anyway, 15 continuous is just for test.. WARNING!!! do not go more than 20 at a time...
This post has been edited by MemorableStudios: Aug 19 2009, 12:39 PM
hi again, i got 1 very noob question.. I was looking through the photos section and i noticed the bokeh thread, one guy posted this spec
Camera Model: Sony Alpha 350 Lens: Pentax Super Takumar 50mm F1.4 M42 mount Aperture: 1.4 Shutter speed: 1/00 ISO: 100
Sony with a pentax lens?
Then i started googling, there is such things as Nikon Lens adapter for sony cameras e.g link
Im gonna sound noobish but i think i can get more clarification here..
Do you think the old nikon lenses can fit into the a300? And even if it does, there are alot of stuff mentioned that makes the lens cacated.. Opinions? ^^
Sayang la.. my dad has a bunch of lenses all from his old time of photography.. beercan, macro, wideangle.. But all with nikon.. I kinda wanna play with those lenses cause i dont have budget for my own lens..
Edit: if u guys want more details about what lenses my dad used to use, id be happy to snap the pictures and the camera that he was holding..
This post has been edited by lildaredevil906: Aug 19 2009, 02:16 PM
hi again, i got 1 very noob question.. I was looking through the photos section and i noticed the bokeh thread, one guy posted this spec
Camera Model: Sony Alpha 350 Lens: Pentax Super Takumar 50mm F1.4 M42 mount Aperture: 1.4 Shutter speed: 1/00 ISO: 100
Sony with a pentax lens?
Then i started googling, there is such things as Nikon Lens adapter for sony cameras e.g link
Im gonna sound noobish but i think i can get more clarification here..
Do you think the old nikon lenses can fit into the a300? And even if it does, there are alot of stuff mentioned that makes the lens cacated.. Opinions? ^^
Sayang la.. my dad has a bunch of lenses all from his old time of photography.. beercan, macro, wideangle.. But all with nikon.. I kinda wanna play with those lenses cause i dont have budget for my own lens..
i used to have one of those
there are 2 types of adapter, one is glass-less (like mine), which won't allow the lens to focus to infinity.. it is good for macro though..
another one is with glass.. this one can be used to focus to infinity.. but it'll have a bit of TC effect.. and it will affect ur IQ as well..
be informed that both types will only allow u to use MF only..
ooh i see....
stage lighting? but when u set ur WB as Flash (5500k, all brands the same) it actually close to white/daylight? if the stage has all sorts of colors, wont the picture turns out weird? if too hot then becomes too cold or the other way around?
No la. No money to buy anything also. Haha. When getting white gun la? (:
haha.. white gun?? dunno la.. gonna slow down with photography for a while i guess..
QUOTE(millenia3000 @ Aug 19 2009, 03:01 PM)
bro sig! apa khabar bro? lama x dgr kan... bz ngan keje ke?
hi chris.. i'm good thanks..
was busy taking care of my mum.. she was being admitted to CCU Hospital Selayang due to a sudden heart attack.. after being in a coma for 10 days, my mum passed away last two days.. i'm still trying to cope with the news, but i need to be strong for my sis..
SpOOkY: If the stage has all kinds of colors, and you flash (or don't flash), it will turn out nice. You don't expect to correct red and green light into neutral white - that defeats the purpose of colored lighting, doesn't it?
i think i'm ok.. thanks for asking bro.. thanks for the sms too anyway..
Hi sig....I understand how you feel ya...sabar ya.
To those who made inquiry for my beercan, it was sold yesterday sorry I cant hold when come to money matters not without a deposit. My tammy 28105 f2.8 also belong to him now. Sorry ok, I sold the lenses to my close alpha bro acu/ahmad zamzahuri or clix clix. My drybox hv to make way for a new lens.
SpOOkY: If the stage has all kinds of colors, and you flash (or don't flash), it will turn out nice. You don't expect to correct red and green light into neutral white - that defeats the purpose of colored lighting, doesn't it?
so tat is the reason to fix the temp at the middle of the bandwidth is it?i see..thank u~ to bring out all of the ori color hhhe... faham dah boss
This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Aug 19 2009, 03:44 PM
was busy taking care of my mum.. she was being admitted to CCU Hospital Selayang due to a sudden heart attack.. after being in a coma for 10 days, my mum passed away last two days.. i'm still trying to cope with the news, but i need to be strong for my sis..
may i know wats wrong with alphanatics website.. I cant seem to be able to access it lately..(togetherwith other websites) i hope the govenrnment din simply block websites.........
LOL!, for wut purpose gov want to block alphanatics? Maybe server datacenter problem la..
I can access smoothly
This post has been edited by destfull: Aug 19 2009, 07:12 PM
hmm.. 16105 or 1680 arr?? What's the market price for 1680 now arr?
lets say 1680 cost rm2500..how much is 16105 now...???
my operator had been asking me whether he should buy a new 16105 or a used 1680...if the price is right..i might ask him to buy mine...anyway..my warranty wasnt registered yet =x
Its not that i dont want to comment but I dont see anything to comment, maybe I am a noob...nicely done..ikhlas.
if u hv problems accessing websites host parking overseas, try my way...access from proxy server....www.kproxy.com but i have to warn u so many advertisement u hv to click out but at least u can get the site.
This post has been edited by hanafinoor: Aug 19 2009, 10:05 PM
As i mentioned earlier, and got an answer, but i would like to double confirm before i start ordering online hehe..
Pictures below are of my dads old nikon camera, theres actually a few more tele lens kept in other boxes.. have to dig thru.. but u get the jist..
just wanna double confirm that the adapter from here for nikon to sony could actually fit in these old lenses..
i mean , i dont know how new the technology goes to be, i dont know if the new technology of dslr cams will let the old lenses fit etc etc. any help is appreciated..
lets say 1680 cost rm2500..how much is 16105 now...???
my operator had been asking me whether he should buy a new 16105 or a used 1680...if the price is right..i might ask him to buy mine...anyway..my warranty wasnt registered yet =x
Just bought mine for RM1650.
BTW, there is a guy called minimuffin (alvan88@gmail.com) wanna sold his 1680cz for RM1980. You might wanna ask him
Its not that i dont want to comment but I dont see anything to comment, maybe I am a noob...nicely done..ikhlas.
if u hv problems accessing websites host parking overseas, try my way...access from proxy server....www.kproxy.com but i have to warn u so many advertisement u hv to click out but at least u can get the site.
thanks bro nafi....im still learning
QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 19 2009, 10:31 PM)
ah ming: Try now?
ryzan76: Uh... the paper's a bit blueish. Somehow I am not drawn to wanting to buy the shoe... try to naikkan daya tarikan dia.
bro..i share the same view as albert...the background doesnt give a strong contrast against ur shoes...and probably i would find another angle that make it interesting...
but for a proper product shot..i guess its ok(other than the bg color)..
This post has been edited by achew: Aug 19 2009, 11:34 PM
bro..somehow i share the same view as albert...the background isnt white enough..or give enough contrast against the shoes...
just my personal preference...if i'd to put my shoes in this direction...then i'd probably frame it at the right side...to me..it makes the photo more "balanced"...but well..its is jsut my pref...
thanks bro...thats y i need a comment...to improve...but i always cant improve
i edited my comment bro..somehow after reading it again i find it doesnt make sense to frame it at right..LOL.....sorry..a lil bit exhausted from my work..cant think straight..
This post has been edited by achew: Aug 19 2009, 11:52 PM
i edited my comment bro..somehow after reading it again i find it doesnt make sense to frame it at right..LOL.....sorry..a lil bit exhausted from my work..cant think straight..
no worry bro....comment make me improve....but also cant improve... btw...thanks.....
just my small comment...when u find that it couldnt satisfy u..probably u can just keep shooting from different angle..afterall.. few shutter count doesnt cost that much right....maybe try to think out of the box....thats what people are paying for....if u follow the "traditional way"...it would be just another "traditional shot"
thats not a small comment...but a big bgi and good comment to make me improve and thinking thanks bro....
yes..the hood comes wth 680 does cause that prob =)
So even thou the hood supplied with 1680 is petal type.. it still cause the vignetting ? Vignetting at wide angle ?? Thinking to get this lens after saving enuf..
yup..small part at the side...but well..not a prob for me at all...at the worst case just take it off..i dont really see much problem even without hood...
As i mentioned earlier, and got an answer, but i would like to double confirm before i start ordering online hehe..
Pictures below are of my dads old nikon camera, theres actually a few more tele lens kept in other boxes.. have to dig thru.. but u get the jist..
just wanna double confirm that the adapter from here for nikon to sony could actually fit in these old lenses..
i mean , i dont know how new the technology goes to be, i dont know if the new technology of dslr cams will let the old lenses fit etc etc. any help is appreciated..
eh bro,if you bought the adaptor do give some review bout it. i got a nikon fslr 50mm f1.8 lens collecting dust
haha.. white gun?? dunno la.. gonna slow down with photography for a while i guess.. hi chris.. i'm good thanks..
Oh my... I'm sorry to hear bout your lost bro... my condolences to you and your family... Kuatkan semangat bro... and take care of you and your family...
QUOTE(kopitiam @ Aug 19 2009, 04:11 PM)
must be kenak poison last saturday
memang pun... hehehe... freakin VG... kan dah kena poison... yo, where's the link for the bag?? hehehe...
This post has been edited by Braynumb: Aug 20 2009, 08:04 AM
Inna lillaahi wa innaa ilaihi rojiuun. Alfatihah... Takziah buat seisi keluarga. Sobrun jameel.
Oh my... I'm sorry to hear bout your lost bro... my condolences to you and your family... Kuatkan semangat bro... and take care of you and your family...
QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Aug 20 2009, 08:23 AM)
Inna lillaahi wa innaa ilaihi rojiuun. Alfatihah... Takziah buat seisi keluarga. Sobrun jameel.
hi bro.. we dont know each other, but i do offer my condolences..
Even my mum is in the hospital now, havent recovered from the appendix burst in the stomach, which according to the doctors, is one of the worst case they have seen.. I'm thankful to them for doing the operation in short moment notice.. otherwise...
no wonder alphanatics seem so quiet.. but i can get in fine hehe...
@ Killerz622 : yea, will do a review on it when i buy it =), seems like very little people has experience with it but i did try to mount it on my dads nikon d40, got limitations.. must set the aperature to the lowesr before it allows you to shoot it.. will try to play with it more later then i can see if its worth buying the adapter..
was digging thru his old stuff and came by a tele lens.. 600mm
no wonder alphanatics seem so quiet.. but i can get in fine hehe...
@ Killerz622 : yea, will do a review on it when i buy it =), seems like very little people has experience with it but i did try to mount it on my dads nikon d40, got limitations.. must set the aperature to the lowesr before it allows you to shoot it.. will try to play with it more later then i can see if its worth buying the adapter..
was digging thru his old stuff and came by a tele lens.. 600mm
which shop would you guys recommend me to go to buy the a700?
minimuffin's a700 is very tempting.. but if i can get a new a700 with full warranty for couple hundred more, i don't mind paying the difference.. You guys got the number for the shops?
Btw, bengang with Sony Center pyramid... awhile tell me full set a700 is 2999, den when i call back, they say 3899... ; must go there pay them a visit to confirm the price..
Last week I just for fun at CamWorld Sg Wang its 3.2k cash oh. Body only some more. Didnt research much la. Keeping myself away from the a700poison thats why.
raist86: A new A700 can go close to RM2999. Try Studio Zaloon in Pudu Plaza.
Killerz622: For Nikkor AF-D lenses you need to set the aperture ring to F22 (or whatever aperture is marked in orange color) to allow the Nikon body to control aperture.
A700 got 2 version? Cos that day I was in KLCC testing lens, the new a700 body finish is quite plastic-ky feel. And the grip sensor is made from different material? New one seem to be oxidized faster and lose it's shine.
Killerz622: For Nikkor AF-D lenses you need to set the aperture ring to F22 (or whatever aperture is marked in orange color) to allow the Nikon body to control aperture.
my nikon lens is the Series E lens which used in FSLR. No AF wan.
a700 already out of stock in Studio Zaloon... even i doubt he can give for 2999... the best price for this (body) is 3.2k.. and its very rare now to get...
a900 at studio zaloon 72xx (can pow some free gifts oso)
Killerz622: Nonono you set it to the orange mark on a Nikon which can control aperture on-body. On a Nikon FM2 which doesn't have any aperture control on-body you set the aperture on the lens. If you mount it on an Alpha you can open it to F1.8.
yea i saw online got a few.. but.. i dont have paypal acc.. im more of a cod person .. i see it i buy it.. i wanna go see a few shops listed at alphanatics to check out if they have the adapter or not..
imo, i dunno la, if its just me, but sometimes, i feel that there is a need for the AF mode. I tried shooting in manual mode, abit tedious, but if used right, the picture turns out great...
Question, if the lenses, left unused for like maybe 5-6 years, it collected the sticky dust on the lens, with a dab of water also hard to remove the dust.. how to clear it ah? or is it better to send to the center to serivce it for me? I prefer cleaning it myself la.. im a stingy person..
haha.. white gun?? dunno la.. gonna slow down with photography for a while i guess.. hi chris.. i'm good thanks..
yea i saw online got a few.. but.. i dont have paypal acc.. im more of a cod person .. i see it i buy it.. i wanna go see a few shops listed at alphanatics to check out if they have the adapter or not..
imo, i dunno la, if its just me, but sometimes, i feel that there is a need for the AF mode. I tried shooting in manual mode, abit tedious, but if used right, the picture turns out great...
Question, if the lenses, left unused for like maybe 5-6 years, it collected the sticky dust on the lens, with a dab of water also hard to remove the dust.. how to clear it ah? or is it better to send to the center to serivce it for me? I prefer cleaning it myself la.. im a stingy person..
i see some adaptor come with the electric connection. u press the shutter half way down and manual focus the lens until the body have a beep sound which means u have a sharp focus.
tanjq87: Or rather, the older bodies can have a different finish due to wear and tear. My A900 doesn't look as nice as hanafinoor's!
The grip sensor does lose its shine. Well mine did!
But somehow the shiny finish due to wear and tear looks much tougher than the new a700 plasticky look. But my grip sensor still looks shiny despite my sweaty hand! I read somewhere saying that the shiny one is made out of nickel but it doesn't pass EU standard, so for the new a700 they change to another type of metal?
Nickel ? I tot i suppose to be Mg Alloy? Somebody will have allergy with Nickel..
what a tiring day 3 hrs of shoot (9.30pm to 12.30am) 1182 photos taken 50% camera battery (on siggy hsm - drain more power) flash use until unicross rechargeable battery flat, then replace with sony eneelop
hkhk: The A700 body is magnesium alloy; the grip sensor is nickel. I don't know if they have changed it, but it would've been great if they figured out a new metal by the time the A900 came out as I miss my grip sensor and eye-start AF!
not sure yet.. dunno if really wanna go for true macro lens..
btw, i'm still using 1870Z and 55200G
aiseh... sikit lagi nak kena tipu... hahahaha... nice one tho bro... been looking for those stickers also... where u buy?? wanna stick a CZ logo on my Prinzflex Auto Reflex... hehehe... leh jadi limited edition...
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Aug 21 2009, 07:39 AM)
hi all .. morning .. ..
i am damn busy in kuantan at my uncle's house .. i have no time for photography .. but i took this yesterday:
c&c please ..
you focused on Olympus rite? y not use smaller aperture? best thing for product shoot to me is clarity... but didn't know you have a E420...
This post has been edited by Braynumb: Aug 21 2009, 08:22 AM
Seng_Kiat: I really like how the strap is positioned, such that it travels OUT of the frame. It helps to frame the subject and define the borders which are otherwise invisible.
Killabee88: ahh.. kk.. will try the vivid settings
dingenius3: lol.. tru also.. some of the machas here use female tag.. but will try to snap the branch coming out of the corner later.. now in office adi.. nothing for me to snap..
I find it b/w photography easier.. of all the pictures i took.. this page (scroll up abit) i feel is one of my best shots.. the rest of the shots in color looks flat/no life.. samore the lcd screen cannot see the picture like how u see it in pc..
btw, i got some offer on the metz 36 flash.. RM370, i find it affordable.. But RM700 - 800 for the sony 42 am pricey, any one give me some input on comparing with a metz 36 to a sony 42? if its more worth saving for the 42 then i would have to go 2 months without flash and using the built in flash..
This post has been edited by lildaredevil906: Aug 21 2009, 11:10 AM
-------------8<-----------8<-----------8<------------ btw, i got some offer on the metz 36 flash.. RM370, i find it affordable.. But RM700 - 800 for the sony 42 am pricey, any one give me some input on comparing with a metz 36 to a sony 42? if its more worth saving for the 42 then i would have to go 2 months without flash and using the built in flash..
u'll be amazed on how interesting it is to do wireless flash without any other additional gear... so i suggest grab the F42 later
which u might sell it off for F58 when u kena poison later on...
Killabee88: ahh.. kk.. will try the vivid settings
dingenius3: lol.. tru also.. some of the machas here use female tag.. but will try to snap the branch coming out of the corner later.. now in office adi.. nothing for me to snap..
I find it b/w photography easier.. of all the pictures i took.. this page (scroll up abit) i feel is one of my best shots.. the rest of the shots in color looks flat/no life.. samore the lcd screen cannot see the picture like how u see it in pc..
btw, i got some offer on the metz 36 flash.. RM370, i find it affordable.. But RM700 - 800 for the sony 42 am pricey, any one give me some input on comparing with a metz 36 to a sony 42? if its more worth saving for the 42 then i would have to go 2 months without flash and using the built in flash..
hkhk: The A700 body is magnesium alloy; the grip sensor is nickel. I don't know if they have changed it, but it would've been great if they figured out a new metal by the time the A900 came out as I miss my grip sensor and eye-start AF!
you mean a900 doesn't have grip sensor and eye start AF?
sh1t lo.. the poison starts coming in.. ahahha dammit.. 3 months w/o flash then *BAM!* f58.. wa.. i shouldnt come to this thread that often lulz... must resist must resistt..
ganasnya! haha... but iinm i think third party flashes are fine as long as ya got wireless transmitters all hooked up properly...
well for noob like me...I used nissin di622 before..the metering is not accurate...either my cam problem or flash problem...but however, the metering is not accurate la.. always over exposed or underexposed one........but Metz has pretty good review...BUT again, if u want me to pay for Metz, i rather get F42 lo...coz metz not cheap... maybe u wana consider the latest di866 COOL leh...perf? i duno la
aku bodoh, tak tau pasal Nissin. Tak pernah cuba pun.
oh ya hor... hampir terlupa... working till 2pm... after that shud be ok laa... but where ah? aaaah maybe our brothers here can help suggest a good place to belajar macam budak tadika of where to do street photog....
tanjq87: Yes, the A900 doesn't have a grip sensor (darn nickel-allergic Europeans!), and it does not have Eye Start AF either. There is an eye sensor though to turn off the screen when you are looking through the viewfinder.
oic...
no AF grip senzor trigger on A700 on european version ?
This is a Hong Kong body (the labelling lacks any of the EU regulations, which normally occupy the rectangle round the tripod bush. You can see from this view the size of the handgrip and the space for fingers with the angled mirrorbox escutcheon.
mine is a hong kong body, what's yours?
The Hong Kong model has a real, working nickel-plated grip sensor – replaced by a black plastic dummy strip in European models. I don’t guess Sony will be recalling all our expensive European Alpha 700s to base in 2008 to have them fitted free of charge with a new non-nickel strip that actually works. There are a few dummies around the Sony camp, and not all of them are camera components.
Grip sensor sense that if your are holding the camera with your hand, a small current will pass through your palm to tell the camera that you are actually holding it, to prevent eye-start focus activates when you hang the camera around your neck.
This post has been edited by tanjq87: Aug 21 2009, 02:01 PM
Grip sensor sense that if your are holding the camera with your hand, a small current will pass through your palm to tell the camera that you are actually holding it, to prevent eye-start focus activates when you hang the camera around your neck.
nice feature... but, since a900 doesnt have eye start AF, not much use to have this grip sensor..
The A700 came first, with grip sensor and eye-sensor. Both these sensors make Eye-Start AF a lot more usable.
Because the grip sensor uses nickel, which is banned in the EU, Sony made the A900 without the grip sensor.
Because there was no grip sensor, Eye-Start AF becomes less usable, because it can be triggered when hanging around your neck like the A100-A380. So Sony just removed that feature from the A900 totally.
The A700 came first, with grip sensor and eye-sensor. Both these sensors make Eye-Start AF a lot more usable.
Because the grip sensor uses nickel, which is banned in the EU, Sony made the A900 without the grip sensor.
Because there was no grip sensor, Eye-Start AF becomes less usable, because it can be triggered when hanging around your neck like the A100-A380. So Sony just removed that feature from the A900 totally.
seems like you got friends high up the sony chain to know all this...
MemorableStudios : Don't you know albnok is the super grandmaster of almost everything about photography? Big big big sifu ok! Learn from him if you can. Never fail to teach me something at every TT session. (:
TT normally the location where one? PJ or KL area?.. i dunno once i saw a bunch of people with dslr TT-ing at Mosin at TTDI.. dunno if its u guys or not.. =P
Mosin I dont think we had TT there before. Well TT is all over Malaysia la. But the TT I will only ( only can) attend is TT around PJ la. DU Uptown/TTDI/Curve like that lo. (:
Eh... come TT this sunday at Bau, Kuching.... hehehe... me and some alphanians are going for photoshoot at a local cave aka "Fairy Cave" in bau... seriously can't wait... and also not forgetting to get my new gear... hehehehe...
Mosin I dont think we had TT there before. Well TT is all over Malaysia la. But the TT I will only ( only can) attend is TT around PJ la. DU Uptown/TTDI/Curve like that lo. (:
got bonus question here for those using the Phottix Vertical Grip. does the VG automatically switches batteries when one of it runs out? Or we need to do it manually?
MemorableStudios: Er, I've got a Minolta Dynax 7 which has a grip sensor and eye start sensor (it started with Minolta film bodies.) The Minolta Dynax 9 also had a grip sensor.
The Konica Minolta 7 Digital lost the grip sensor. The Konica Minolta 5 Digital after that also didn't have it.
The Sony A100 still didn't have the grip sensor but the A700 brought it back.
The Dynax 9 was Minolta's last professional-level SLR with a 100% 0.74x viewfinder (same as the A900).
The Dynax 9 also had a grip sensor, so there was no reason for Sony to purposely remove it on the A900. Unless the EU buat kacau.
Funny thing is, the Dynax 9 was the first professional-level SLR to have a pop-up flash and could control wireless flashes and people laughed at it*, saying it's not a pro camera because it has a pop-up flash.
It is likely because of that, that the A900 doesn't have a pop-up flash... but Nikon got the idea and put a pop-up flash on the D700... which is now, the only full-frame dSLR with a pop-up flash. (The Canon 5D/MkII/1D/1Ds do not have it.)
I've been following the Alpha series (had the A100, A700 and then A900) and anybody who has been around that long would know about the grip sensor issue. It's quite uh... common knowledge.
* People also laughed at the invention of auto-focus and multi-segment metering, but now every camera has it!
I just wish sony would unveil their latest line-up of bodies soon... Would make my upgrade decision much easier...
Don't know whether to hold on to my money first or splurge it on an a700..
On another note, EU is well known for their tough health and safety regulations and manufacturers have to comply if they want to do business there. Sometimes, it's a little annoying, but most of the time, those regulations do make sense.. People DO get sick from Nickel poisoning and it's not just an european thing... Any metal which is capable of leeching and be absorbed into our body can cause heavy metal poisoning... it's just the matter of amount being absorbed...
MemorableStudios: Er, I've got a Minolta Dynax 7 which has a grip sensor and eye start sensor (it started with Minolta film bodies.) The Minolta Dynax 9 also had a grip sensor.
The Konica Minolta 7 Digital lost the grip sensor. The Konica Minolta 5 Digital after that also didn't have it.
The Dynax 9 was Minolta's last professional-level SLR with a 100% 0.74x viewfinder (same as the A900).
The Dynax 9 also had a grip sensor, so there was no reason for Sony to purposely remove it on the A900. Unless the EU buat kacau.
Funny thing is, the Dynax 9 was the first professional-level SLR to have a pop-up flash and could control wireless flashes and people laughed at it*, saying it's not a pro camera because it has a pop-up flash.
It is likely because of that, that the A900 doesn't have a pop-up flash... but Nikon got the idea and put a pop-up flash on the D700... which is now, the only full-frame dSLR with a pop-up flash. (The Canon 5D/MkII/1D/1Ds do not have it.)
I've been following the Alpha series (had the A100, A700 and then A900) and anybody who has been around that long would know about the grip sensor issue. It's quite uh... common knowledge.
* People also laughed at the invention of auto-focus and multi-segment metering, but now every camera has it!
you know your history well bro... anyway, the pop up flash would have been a great bonus for the a900.. now i need to get another cobra or f20... waste more bucks... i can live without the eye-start AF though..
eye start without the handgrip sensor is quite annoying though, especially if you have the camera hanging on your neck and the sensor is resting on your chest... keep having the cam trying to focus on whatever it's pointing at.
yeah.. had that with my a350.. when its over my neck.. feels like its focusing on my crotch.. hahaha
well i'm not.. but i've seen the effects of heavy metals have on humans.. constant exposure is definitely not very good..
I seem to have some problem my sigma 24-70 on my a200.. i read that it's center and border resolution is supposed to be quite good but most of the shots i take have a very soft border and even sometimes soft center... Seems like it's backfocusing alot in slightly less than optimal light condition..
Is there any way to fix it other than sending it to sigma for calibration? Cos the technician say need to send together with my body to singapore and would need more than a month to get it calibrated...
Added on August 21, 2009, 5:52 pmI want to test it throughly on an a700.. but i don't have an a700 body to test with... Maybe it's the a200 AF not working so accurately..
I can't use the most edge focusing point on the a200 to focus my shots.. it'll sure go soft..
This post has been edited by raist86: Aug 21 2009, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 21 2009, 04:46 PM)
I met an *******, who laughed at me for using Sony, he said why "you're using Sony ? make tv can la, but not camera..hahaha"
thank you bros and sisters, it's funny when people just couldn't let go of the fanboy mentality.
me myself eyeing new lens..and on the verge of switching to a new job..eyeing 5dmk2 if everything goes well(or maybe a850 if it has HD video recording capability)..was poisoned by the Kuroshio Sea video on youtube.
P/S : But on second thought, I would not want to miss the great Alpha community, globally and locally .
This post has been edited by nabelon: Aug 21 2009, 08:49 PM
raist86: The A700 has a F2.8 sensor in the middle, for more accurate focusing and the ability to detect focus faster.
nabelon: That aquarium video isn't a good example of dSLR video (the main reason people like it is for shallow depth of field.) That video could've been shot with a point-and-shoot with HD video capability!
However, I still strongly dislike the rolling shutter effect (seen on every video dSLR to date.) When subjects move quickly across the frame, they flicker!
I met an *******, who laughed at me for using Sony, he said why "you're using Sony ? make tv can la, but not camera..hahaha"
no need bother them wert....the one who tell u this he know nothing about what's bhind Sony.... we got KM and CZ...and this is enough for Sony to rise to #3 in just few years..... moreover photography is depend on the brain behind the viewfinder but not the camera body...
raist86: The A700 has a F2.8 sensor in the middle, for more accurate focusing and the ability to detect focus faster.
That's why i hope to get access to an a700 to test the focusing accuracy of the sigma.. if nothing wrong with the lens, den i don't need to bring it back to have it fixed.
QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 21 2009, 11:34 PM)
nabelon: That aquarium video isn't a good example of dSLR video (the main reason people like it is for shallow depth of field.) That video could've been shot with a point-and-shoot with HD video capability!
However, I still strongly dislike the rolling shutter effect (seen on every video dSLR to date.) When subjects move quickly across the frame, they flicker!
yeah i guess it can be shot with a normal pns hd capable i've yet to see a bokeh video, maybe i should search around, but i am eager to see sony having hd video capable slr.
sorry wat is a grip sensor???? eye start sensor i know.. but grip sensor? My A100 tak ada kan?
Yea a100 tak da. (: Eye start i find it irritating la. Some times dont wanna focus also focus.
itu eye start ah kalau tarak grip sensor ah manyak susah worr... kasi gantung punya jam, dia sindiri oto focus kasi lu... gua ta mau pakai itu eye start AF la... beh pio eh!
The A700 non-EU version is the only Alpha with a grip sensor.
I used to press the Drive button on the A100 to disable Eye-Start AF. Otherwise, I love Eye-Start AF; it's like AF-C but it doesn't hunt. Use Eye-Start AF to aim near a subject to get it in focus... then half-press and shoot then.
last week , met a nonac MarkII owner .. i was taking some group pic in an event first , we starts taking about work n his bisnes , a casting production company, claim using hi-tech sony videocam cost RM75k a piece
then he ask me , but whY u choose Sony for slr ? Soo i turn ON my humble semipro alpha body , and starts showing my collection fr my previous trip to Euro , Middle East etc.
He just amazed , and plus invite me to his studio to participate in model shooting , offer me to join his coming project ... somethng International rafting competition , cant recall
So , What can i say ...
QUOTE(raist86 @ Aug 22 2009, 11:47 AM)
get DCM lo... very good photography guides & PP tips.
just bought this month edition ... but havent got the time reading it yet
This post has been edited by noprob: Aug 22 2009, 02:30 PM
great opportunity u have there.......anyway my office colleagues all nokin users, and they are surprised at the printed shots i've made from a sony photo printer....
one advantage we have sony camera + sony digital photo printer
omg are the flies making babies??? i believe what appears in your screen might be different with print shops...i have went to a printer shop and i need to readjsut the colour and toning using their computer instead...
Wow, nice shots u got there. mind teaching me (and everyone else) how to make shots like this?
did u use slow sync flash for the 1st pic?
2nd pic PP'd kao kao hor?
I think la.. correct me if im wrong, because i always get these type of accidental shots.. very dark bg, with a slow shutter speed, assuming of the dancer making veery fast movements then maybe 2-3 sec shutter speed.. if got steady hands then no need tripod..
If you're printing from the photo printing shop, leave your colour space at RGB.
But if you print using desktop printer, or print banners, leaflets where the printing labs use offset printers, set to CMYK for best result.
Added on August 23, 2009, 5:14 am
QUOTE(Braynumb @ Aug 21 2009, 04:08 PM)
As far as I'm concerned, 3rd party battery grip like Phottix/Travor/Octopus reads 2 batteries as 1, and they only display 1 battery reading (either just battery 1 or just battery 2). No percentage.
This post has been edited by soulfly: Aug 23 2009, 05:14 AM
cos i'm in melaka now ma.. went to ask the shops here. cannot push down summore liao hor? should wait for the next gen alpha or get a700 now?
QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Aug 23 2009, 12:51 AM)
Seriously up to you la bro. LOL. a700 is the 2nd oldest alpha btw. LOL.
Go get it now IF u really need it if budget limits , then y u wanna wait for the new body .. sure the it'll b more thn Rm3k (like the first time A700 on sale)
how old or new doesn't matter , as long as u can fully utilise it and hv fun w it
I think la.. correct me if im wrong, because i always get these type of accidental shots.. very dark bg, with a slow shutter speed, assuming of the dancer making veery fast movements then maybe 2-3 sec shutter speed.. if got steady hands then no need tripod..
i think la.. correct me if im wrong tho =)
from the EXIF, seems like hokc77 set the FNum to 22. with exposure of 1/3 and ISO 800, i wonder if he used very strong flash?
Go get it now IF u really need it if budget limits , then y u wanna wait for the new body .. sure the it'll b more thn Rm3k (like the first time A700 on sale)
how old or new doesn't matter , as long as u can fully utilise it and hv fun w it
i think its all depend on budget...newer models are definitely gonna be expensive compare to a700...if budget allow..i think should wait a few more days..afterall the leak is saying the launch date is 25th aug isnt it?
if budget is an issue..well...whats the point to hesitate...just buy now n enjoy =)
* 17.2 megapixels *2.7-inch 920,000 pixels articulating LCD *8 and 9 AF points (not sure what the machine translation is saying here) * 0.98x viewfinder (coverage?) * 30 sec to 1/8000th shutter speed * ISO 100-12800 * 4 frames per second * Weight 516 grams
Hope everybody enjoy your life with photographing! Have a nice day!!