soulfly
post Aug 29 2009, 12:29 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

http://www.artaphot.ch/dslrs/201-jpg-noise...00-and-dynax-7d

Looks like A500 has better NR algorithm for high ISO (at normal setting) compare to A700 and A900 .... look at the details! There's barely CA too! (look at A700 vs A500 sample).
soulfly
post Aug 29 2009, 12:32 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ Aug 28 2009, 11:45 PM)
hi every1
i m newbie to dslr world
think of getting a sony entry level dslr
a230 or a330 shld i get
is the live view matter that much when we use dslr?coz the ovf of a330 is smaller but offer a titled lcd while a230 dun have live view mode and the OVF is bigger
any suggestion?

What's your budget like? If you have maximum RM3k, I'd highly recommend A500 which will arrive somewhere around October. Still got plenty of time to save up some more bucks biggrin.gif

But if you just want a play-play DSLR, A330 should be good. The viewfinder is not that small also, it's about the same as entry level Canons.

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 29 2009, 01:31 AM)
Between Sunpak PZ42X and Sony HVL-F42AM, which is better price-performance ratio ?

F42AM = cool
PZ42X = not cool

This post has been edited by soulfly: Aug 29 2009, 12:33 PM
soulfly
post Aug 30 2009, 08:53 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Aug 30 2009, 05:54 PM)
guys,

Kelvin WB settings as below:
Common Kelvin White Balance Settings :
2500K - very strong orange tungsten light
2800K - strong orange tungsten light
3200K - yellowish tungsten light
4500K M6 - flourescent light (most flourescent tubes are green even though our eyes don't see it)
5500K - flash
6500K - daylight (or daylight-balanced flourescent light)
9900K - strong blue stage lighting or evening light

Does it only give the correct WB when flash is on? am i right?
Whenever you add flash to your exposure, let say your flash is pointing at your subject, your subject WB will be at 5500K, while the ambient WB depends on its own.
soulfly
post Aug 31 2009, 11:56 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Aug 31 2009, 11:27 PM)
is this a850 weather sealed?

a900 never officially marketed with weather seal, but it does survive in hardcore environment like one of the journalist for Dakar Rally experienced. rain, dust, sand, no prob.

but not sure whether the a850 has the same kind of body seal, after all it's priced way cheaper than it's elder brother.

Added on August 31, 2009, 11:58 pm
QUOTE(finalfantasty @ Aug 31 2009, 11:51 PM)
can some sifu tell me more about f42 and compare with f58. DOnt really know the different and I'm thinking to buy a f42 thanks
F58AM is able to act as commander flash for wireless setup
has more power output
quickshift bounce (like a cobra head)
multiple flash fire

This post has been edited by soulfly: Aug 31 2009, 11:58 PM
soulfly
post Sep 1 2009, 12:59 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Sep 1 2009, 12:07 AM)
but dpreview says tht a900 has 'Environmental seals'...

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonydslra900/

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
what i mean was it was never marketed as a weatherproof body. but it does have some kind of sealing. same goes with a700.

Not sure if you have seen this yet...

http://www.swiatobrazu.pl/sony_dslr_a900_at_dakar_rally.html

This post has been edited by soulfly: Sep 1 2009, 01:00 AM
soulfly
post Sep 1 2009, 12:19 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(MemorableStudios @ Sep 1 2009, 10:40 AM)
http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores...69&N=4294966335

A850/550/500 on sale

probably i can get around 10% - 25% off ... smile.gif

malaysian price could be cheaper tongue.gif

soulfly
post Sep 1 2009, 07:52 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Sep 1 2009, 07:42 PM)

bad lighting placements, too many shadow everywhere.

soulfly
post Sep 1 2009, 09:45 PM

15,903 posts

not sure if this one counts, but if there's front fill.... the shadows on the right cheek would've been lightened

but here... no front fill at all

soulfly
post Sep 3 2009, 01:14 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Sep 2 2009, 08:18 PM)
Definately the 50 mm F1.4 or F1.8  icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif

WHO WAN THE RARE ALPHA ANCENSTOR A100!???? can collect as Antique next time  brows.gif KEKE check my WTS... but hvnt took pic of the camera... sweat.gif
send to singapore and convert to IR biggrin.gif
soulfly
post Sep 3 2009, 01:15 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Sep 3 2009, 01:12 AM)
maybe you are at the right place at the right time when the sky is superb.. and ur skill too.. laugh.gif

if the time and place is right, no need to use filter to get a superb looking sky

soulfly
post Sep 4 2009, 11:18 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(hokc77 @ Sep 4 2009, 10:01 AM)
i'm using a 4GB Extreme 3 and a 8GB Kingston 133X on A700.

Difference is after u shoot, if u immediately press play, the pic will take time to display and allow u to scroll and also to delete the pic. Extreme 3 can review and delete immediately.

If you're impatient like me, sometimes it can get frustrating. Especially after i take a pic, i wanna quickly review to see if the pic come out right and make some setting adjustment. Also, transfer time to PC is double of Extreme.

I think it's due to capacity.

I also notice that my Kingson Elitepro 133x 4GB is faster than Pendrive 8GB 40MB/s which is about 266x.

soulfly
post Sep 4 2009, 03:07 PM

15,903 posts

CZ filters are nice, definitely can improve picture quality due to superb T* coating drool.gif

0.0547sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:04 PM