12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Project: B&W Temjin 07, Watercooled Silvertone TJ-07 in B&W

dro
post Sep 8 2009, 10:02 PM

N00B1E5
558 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 7 2009, 02:33 AM)
Wow, everyone's painting their case now eh? biggrin.gif Thanks to Martin the guru with his excellent paint job and mod! I wanted to paint my PC-A77 but it's full of rivets. Darn!
tj07 sudahhhhh
reiben05
post Sep 8 2009, 10:04 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

QUOTE(monsh @ Sep 8 2009, 09:10 PM)
haha >.<"
i tot u want holesaw for tubing .
for tubing its either 20mm or 25mm .
20mm would be a nice fit ^^,
25mm if u wanna insert rubber for securing sharp edge .
lol sleep.gif.. i saw those modders in mcptech.. all crazy one ._., they got 120mm-140mm saw holes.. made their side panel like mirror..xD
sherren
post Sep 9 2009, 03:58 AM

Retired
1,298 posts

Very nice work, great to see some great modders keep commin biggrin.gif
monsh
post Sep 9 2009, 05:42 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

converting side panels into mirror is crazy work i think .
mishandling would cause scratches .
dowan dat dowan dat ~
interior black enuf liao ^^,
TSr4st4m4n
post Sep 12 2009, 07:30 PM

156 posts

Probably one of the last update: I finally painted and installed the fans.

Masking the fans was quite time consuming and boring. But I am quite happy with the results. Below are the fans after painting and sleeving.

And I've taken few more pictures of the finished rig smile.gif

This post has been edited by r4st4m4n: Sep 12 2009, 07:30 PM
rublik
post Sep 12 2009, 07:51 PM

286 posts

Everything looks superb except for the yellow fan fire and the clusters of cable behind the casing
TSr4st4m4n
post Sep 12 2009, 08:12 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(rublik @ Sep 12 2009, 07:51 PM)
Everything looks superb except for the yellow fan fire and the clusters of cable behind the casing
Yup, I don't like the cluster of cable too. I have to take a notch out of the middle plate, behind the mobo rail so I can pass the cables directly from the bottom of the case to the back of the mobo tray.
But for that I need a dremel ... :/
rublik
post Sep 12 2009, 09:02 PM

286 posts

U can sleeve it white and combine with the other cables
LilRazor
post Sep 12 2009, 10:04 PM

432 posts

wow very nice =D but if only ur mobo was black and white it would be perfect =D
TSr4st4m4n
post Sep 12 2009, 11:28 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(rublik @ Sep 12 2009, 09:02 PM)
U can sleeve it white and combine with the other cables
Oh yeah, the yellow wire is because I forgot to put it nicely after I undervolted the rads fan. tongue.gif

I olso have to sleeve the power switch/led wires of the case.

For those of you who are using the Scythe Slipstream fans, I would recommend to undervolt them at 5V.

I am using the 1600 RPM ones (high) and once hooked up to the rad they were quite noisy. It is actually no the fan itself which is noisy, but because they are pushing lot of CFM, the air through the rad is doing quite some noise. Somemore, with my tj-07, once I closed the case, the grill at the bottom was also adding some noise as the fan are closed to it and again because of the turbulence created.

I am not a silence freak, but the noise was quite loud. Not a problem when gaming, but when just browsing, I don't need that much cooling and that much noise.

So I have undervolted them to 5V (just use a fan header to molex adapter and hook the + of the fan to the 5V of the molex instead of 12V).
Now they are running a 1050 RPM @ 5V and they are a lot (and I mean A LOT) quieter.

I was a bit worry that the temp would be a lot higher (although max CPU@57*c and max GPU@50+*C I had some room to spare). But the temp have actually barely changed. There is max +1*C on the CPU when running P95, and 1-2*C on the GPU when running ATI tool rclxms.gif

Below is some 40min running P95 and ATI tool together for maximum heat generated (I have GPU + CPU on the same loop), rad fans at 5V / 1050 RPM.

Very acceptable temperatures versus noise level which is like 10 times better than before. Now, the most noisy component in my rig during gamin are the GC caps which whistle during high load laugh.gif

I have also started to see what it would take to get to 3.6GHz from 3.2GHz. My CPU is a dude, I need to pump 1.54V idle / 1.49V load (CPU-z readings) to pass 30 min OCCT stress test shakehead.gif

But even with the fan at 5V the temps are still acceptable at max 70*C (that's the max I am willing to go anyways). But I am not sure whether I will leave run it at this voltage as this doesn't really change anything in everyday use and everything is running much hotter (including my room laugh.gif).

Now I am thinking to solder a switch to have the possibility to switch the fans from 5V to 12V when gaming. But I am not sure it is very good for the PSU hmm.gif

QUOTE(LilRazor @ Sep 12 2009, 10:04 PM)
wow very nice =D but if only ur mobo was black and white it would be perfect =D
I agree. I will definitely buy black PCB GC and mobo for my next upgrades wink.gif
dro
post Sep 12 2009, 11:50 PM

N00B1E5
558 posts

mind showing the behind mobo tray & bottom part of the case where your psu and rad are located? smile.gif

i think the noise is coming from your high density rad fins
but proc + gc max out at 60'C and 50'C is impressive for your setup bro

i trully value your thread as you have stated the place where you got your materials
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

::EDIT::

on a lighter note, i think you can still use your gc
just fabricate a PCB cover from acrylic wink.gif

so...which board will complete your B&W color theme bro? nod.gif

This post has been edited by dro: Sep 12 2009, 11:52 PM
TSr4st4m4n
post Sep 13 2009, 12:15 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(dro @ Sep 12 2009, 11:50 PM)
mind showing the behind mobo tray & bottom part of the case where your psu and rad are located? smile.gif

Here you go:

i think the noise is coming from your high density rad fins
but proc + gc  max out at 60'C and 50'C is impressive for your setup bro

i trully value your thread as you have stated the place where you got your materials
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Yup, the noise was because of the fins as I tested the fan "alone" and they were not noisy at all. But now @5V, it is barely noticeable. smile.gif

::EDIT::

on a lighter note, i think you can still use your gc
just fabricate a PCB cover from acrylic wink.gif

so...which board will complete your B&W color theme bro?  nod.gif
Not a bad idea. Although I would have to make a notch in the acrylic plate as the bottom of the RAM slots is really close to the GC PCB on this board.

Not sure yet for the mobo. As I said in a post earlier, I was maybe thinking of an i5 + P55, but the fact the P55 only allows 2 x PCI-E x8 for crossfire/SLI bothers me. I don't upgrade the mobo often, so I rather take one that is future proof. I could upgrade to i7, but I am not really interested in spending RM3k "only" to get a black PCB mobo. So I might wait for the 32nm westmere supposed to launch Q1 next year or if I find a good bargain for a 2nd hand x48 mobo with black PCB, I might go for it.

clawhammer
post Sep 13 2009, 03:38 PM

///M
8,788 posts

I guess even your back panel cables are well managed there biggrin.gif Mine is like total crap but I really love that white sleeving of yours. Can I spend you coffee and you help me do it for my power supply? laugh.gif
TSr4st4m4n
post Sep 13 2009, 04:44 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 13 2009, 03:38 PM)
I guess even your back panel cables are well managed there biggrin.gif Mine is like total crap but I really love that white sleeving of yours. Can I spend you coffee and you help me do it for my power supply? laugh.gif
Yes, sure smile.gif

The only problem I foresee is we need to have a heatgun or hair dryer for the heatshrink ... I think Starbuck staff will start to freak out if we use it inside the coffe shop laugh.gif

PM me, so we can decide a date and place wink.gif
dro
post Sep 13 2009, 06:15 PM

N00B1E5
558 posts

is it possible to cut a hole route your cables at the space behind the mobo tray?
prolly 5mm X 25mm thumbup.gif

TSr4st4m4n
post Sep 13 2009, 07:09 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(dro @ Sep 13 2009, 06:15 PM)
is it possible to cut a hole route your cables at the space behind the mobo tray?
prolly 5mm X 25mm thumbup.gif
That's what I want to do but I need a dremel to do it properly ...
shawnlut
post Sep 14 2009, 12:42 AM

±±±±±±
837 posts

Very nice paint job done on your casing & fans... thumbup.gif
Fantastic white sleeving... rclxms.gif
Any decision to change your mobo to black color mobo like Asus ROG & etc to suit your color theme ???
TSr4st4m4n
post Sep 14 2009, 08:27 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(shawnlut @ Sep 14 2009, 12:42 AM)
Very nice paint job done on your casing & fans...  thumbup.gif
Fantastic white sleeving...  rclxms.gif
Any decision to change your mobo to black color mobo like Asus ROG & etc to suit your color theme ???
See the end of my post wink.gif : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=28599109
reiben05
post Sep 15 2009, 08:09 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

QUOTE(r4st4m4n @ Sep 13 2009, 12:15 AM)
Here you go:

Yup, the noise was because of the fins as I tested the fan "alone" and they were not noisy at all. But now @5V, it is barely noticeable. smile.gif
Not a bad idea. Although I would have to make a notch in the acrylic plate as the bottom of the RAM slots is really close to the GC PCB on this board.

Not sure yet for the mobo. As I said in a post earlier, I was maybe thinking of an i5 + P55, but the fact the P55 only allows 2 x PCI-E x8 for crossfire/SLI bothers me. I don't upgrade the mobo often, so I rather take one that is future proof. I could upgrade to i7, but I am not really interested in spending RM3k "only" to get a black PCB mobo. So I might wait for the 32nm westmere supposed to launch Q1 next year or if I find a good bargain for a 2nd hand x48 mobo with black PCB, I might go for it.
omg.. D:
chanws8
post Sep 22 2009, 03:45 AM

ИΞШB!Ξ
2,165 posts

@TS
Wow~~ Your modding is sooo impressive, good job man... rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

How much it charged for the powder coated on mobo tray?

This post has been edited by chanws8: Sep 22 2009, 03:54 AM

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:07 PM