DFI dk p45 t2rs plus vs asus p5Q3, the saga countinues

TSnicotyne
post Aug 16 2009, 06:52 PM, updated 17y ago

137 posts

1st of all,sorry if this topic is already posted..so many post,i might miss it

just want to get some opinion from the oc old timers and user of these 2 boards..

the most basic 1,performance in stock voltage,stock fsb..how issit?
realiability? which 1 can withstand the volts that u pumped through it better?
which 1 will perform better in oc?
which 1 will provide u with more overclocking option?
what about performance of stock cooling for the chipset?
compatibility with most aftermarket hsf/wb?
sweat.gif
im currently puzzled by this 2 boards..1 comes with ddr3..hmm hmm.gif but the others are proven to serve as a good oc mobo..(luv my p965infinity) hope u guys can help me out~ thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by nicotyne: Aug 16 2009, 06:54 PM
nncl
post Aug 16 2009, 09:05 PM

404 posts

both also same P45 chipset not much different in stock. If your are pro in bios setting, just get the dfi. If u are newbie in oc i think better get the asus, cause the dfi bios got lot of option,if you not so well in bios setting,it gonna let you crazy. As for aftermarket nb hsf the dfi one can easyily change to hr-05, the asus i not too sure .
TSnicotyne
post Aug 16 2009, 10:15 PM

137 posts

did i mention i used dfi mobo b4? does the bios setting are different between p965infinity n DK P45 T2RS plus?
im new with ddr3..does it brings any difference in oc?..
i mean does ddr2 are easier to oc or vice versa?
OTT a bit..sorry admin~

nncl
post Aug 16 2009, 10:57 PM

404 posts

ok then, if u can master the dfi bios choose the DK P45 T2RS plus. The different that i notice when oc is , like you wan to achieve 6xx + fsb in ddr3 mobo, even a cheap ddr1333 will do the job, but change to a ddr2 mobo, u wan achieve 6xx fsb , u need to run 1:1 fsb:dram, u will need a good overclocking ability ddr2 ram or else your ram will be bottleneck when oc.
And the ddr2 and ddr3 in p45 platform the gain is not noticeable, unless u run benchmark. in theory, the ddr3 bandwidth will higher thn ddr2 , but u need high fsb to c the different in intel core 2 platform

corrent me if i am wrong , thank you.
TSnicotyne
post Aug 16 2009, 11:23 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(nncl @ Aug 16 2009, 10:57 PM)
ok then, if u can master the dfi bios choose the DK P45 T2RS plus. The different that i notice when oc is , like you wan to achieve 6xx + fsb in ddr3 mobo, even a cheap ddr1333 will do the job, but change to a ddr2 mobo, u wan achieve 6xx fsb , u need to run 1:1 fsb:dram, u will need a good overclocking ability ddr2 ram or else your ram will be bottleneck when oc.
And the ddr2 and ddr3 in p45 platform the gain is not noticeable, unless u run benchmark. in theory, the ddr3 bandwidth will higher thn ddr2 , but u need high fsb to c the different in intel core 2 platform

corrent me if i am wrong , thank you.
so true..thats the main reason y i cannot achieve higher clocks b4..ram bottleneck..evn with good ram like corsair dominator,its hard to push the ram..evn tried extreme voltage to achieve 150% oc on e2140...

nice feedback rclxms.gif

keep it coming guys! have to make my mind on which to buy by this week icon_rolleyes.gif
nncl
post Aug 16 2009, 11:33 PM

404 posts

corsair dominator early batch which use micron chip is high overclock abiliy, if u wan a pair good oc ram u can consider the team xtreem series ddr2 1066, which using d9gkx chip to made. but only in 2x1gb.
TSnicotyne
post Aug 16 2009, 11:54 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(nncl @ Aug 16 2009, 11:33 PM)
corsair dominator early batch which use micron chip is high overclock abiliy, if u wan a pair good oc ram u can consider the team xtreem series ddr2 1066, which using d9gkx chip to made. but only in 2x1gb.
team xtreem? i got 2 of 2*1G of these ram with me..both fried...but yes,its true that these ram can give u higher clocks but it cant withstand d heat when u keep yr pc on for 24 hrs.thats y i try dominator based on the statement "cheaper,lower quality"

anyway,any readers that is specialized in dfi mobo? just WTA,whats the diff between the series in dfi boards? i mean DK,JR and such..T2RS oso got DK and JR series rite?
nncl
post Aug 17 2009, 12:13 AM

404 posts

UT=dfi flagship model DK=mid range JR=small board/M-ATX
dro
post Aug 17 2009, 12:27 AM

N00B1E5
558 posts

DFI all the way
Asus if you're going with ROG or deluxe edition
+ Q3 doesn't support much DDR3 modules

Unless you can get your hands on Rampage Extreme thumbup.gif
TSnicotyne
post Aug 17 2009, 01:21 AM

137 posts

Q3 doesnt support much modules?
lucky didnt buy it yet sweat.gif
looks like dfi owns asus by big margin ar?
any DK P45 T2RS PLUS user here? might need ur help when i got my hands on this mobo..will try to push my e7200 kaw2 this time..LoL
DFI range of bios setting sure will bring me headache... rclxub.gif

sniper69
post Aug 17 2009, 01:25 AM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

DFI LP DK P45 T2R-S Plus for me... i never, ever... never ever choose other brand than DFI doh.gif laugh.gif, damn me DFI fanboy
TSnicotyne
post Aug 17 2009, 01:39 AM

137 posts

hahahaha..nice2..me oso dfi fanboy..can join d club ar?
can giv me ur spec? what proc? ram? cooling? psu?
hengmy
post Aug 17 2009, 01:58 AM

1,991 posts

i use dfi p45 dk and p5q deluxe, dfi p45 dk my vote, unless ROG series, else forget asus..
bryanyeo87
post Aug 17 2009, 04:18 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

As for DFi, I will be providing end user support.

But between the p45 DK, and the P5Q3, i would suggest the DK P45.

Anyway, E7200 Overclocking is limited by the chip itself, probably i would say 500 fsb max or so smile.gif
TSnicotyne
post Aug 17 2009, 11:18 AM

137 posts

u mean 500fsb with max multiplier of 9.5? thats already 4-5 gig ady..e7200 runs at stock 2.53g..so 500 fsb shud be enuf ady..i duwan to oc kaw2..just wan to push the proc a bit higher...dfi shud b one of d budget mobo rite while asus is the high end type of mobo..most ppl who respond to this post suggest that dfi is the better choice..dfi really own asus by that much?
nncl
post Aug 17 2009, 01:37 PM

404 posts

bro nicotyne, why dont you consider biostar i45, cheaper , good oc ability.
OC4/3
post Aug 17 2009, 02:34 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Aug 17 2009, 04:18 AM)
As for DFi, I will be providing end user support.

But between the p45 DK, and the P5Q3, i would suggest the DK P45.

Anyway, E7200 Overclocking is limited by the chip itself, probably i would say 500 fsb max or so smile.gif
Cooling as well laugh.gif
And E7200 FSB limit is not really high due to the silicon unless you are getting handpicked chip
TSnicotyne
post Aug 17 2009, 03:30 PM

137 posts

cooling havent got the right setup to test wether it can support d heat cz im nly using cheap icecool wc nly..got sunbeam core contact in my closet..mayb after i got my mobo and ram,can see which 1 is better..mayb on par? nway,u guys think ocz flex is a good oc ram or not?
dro
post Aug 17 2009, 03:33 PM

N00B1E5
558 posts

What are the current hardware do you have in hand?
Rams? PSU? Any screenies to share? wink.gif
TSnicotyne
post Aug 17 2009, 03:51 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(dro @ Aug 17 2009, 03:33 PM)
What are the current hardware do you have in hand?
Rams? PSU? Any screenies to share? wink.gif
want to see my screenies ar?
dun need ar..running on stock nly blush.gif ..windows load so damn slow
currently using infinity p965 but that mobo got a lot of probs..bios or hardware may corrupt ady..ram setting cannot be changed,fsb higher than 350 wont boot.dun think its the ram that cause the bottleneck cz rite now using corsair dominator 1g nly.the other 1 are dead dunno why.n last time,this board fried my team xtreem ram. thats y im looking 4 new mobo..might get my hands on p45 t2rs by this week brows.gif

my previous experience with dfi..choosy mobo..some psu hav trouble with with dfi board..and ram oso..not all can be run straight out of the box.sumtimes had to put on standard ram,change some setting then can only put in the performance ram..is this mobo faced the same problem?

This post has been edited by nicotyne: Aug 17 2009, 07:45 PM

0.0184sec    0.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:21 AM