Everything About Blu-ray Movies v2, Blu-ray media discussions

jchong
post Aug 17 2009, 01:53 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Aug 17 2009, 01:51 PM)
Yo..thanks bro....just ordered 5 BD at USD9.18 each shipped!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
What titles did you order?
jchong
post Aug 17 2009, 11:35 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Aug 17 2009, 10:30 PM)
That's the funny thing...

I ordered both 4 days apart but the first order was delayed because of stock shortage of one title and then, so happen by chance that they were both shipped on the same day, few hours apart... When I ask the Ketam officer, he said yes, memang if each parcel less than RM500 is ok but in my case, both received at the same time to the same address so it was considered one order. Just bad luck & bad timing for me... damn! I kena around RM90+ (excluding petrol & toll to LCCT). The silly borang alone cost me RM18!!?  doh.gif
This one is just freaky bad luck... sad.gif
jchong
post Aug 19 2009, 09:36 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Aug 19 2009, 09:32 AM)
AQ.....a very impt factor to consider, must have lossy audio, if got 7.1 even better. rclxms.gif
I think you mean "lossless" right?
jchong
post Aug 19 2009, 04:55 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(boreclub @ Aug 19 2009, 04:50 PM)
thanks guys, by the time i wanna change the items, it already stated the shipment is in the process and cant be reduce the items anymore, just hope it wont be tax......i bought US245++......
This one really depends on your luck. Your order already above RM500, if kena spotted by Customs sure get taxed. Wish u good luck!
jchong
post Aug 20 2009, 11:12 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 20 2009, 10:58 AM)
Also have u received ur Divermenti? I just found out that the 875 will not accept a Dolby TrueHD 192kHz source, u might need to use the LPCM on that BD. Also that the 875 downsamples DTSHDMA of 192kHz to 96kHz.
Didn't know that. Does this also affect the Onkyo 876?
jchong
post Aug 24 2009, 02:53 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Aug 24 2009, 01:48 PM)
Those reviews are for the DVD version. See the dates, all so old one. Also, the blu ray Gladiator is only available starting 1 Sep 2009 so how can those customers review something that isn't out yet.

Actually Amazon shouldn't have put the DVD reviews under the blu ray version.
jchong
post Aug 27 2009, 10:16 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(xrossf1re @ Aug 27 2009, 09:24 AM)
you're wrong. blu-ray.com is the crappiest site of all review. See the name also u know la BLU-RAY.COM

you dare to say blu-ray.com is better than AVSforum - this already proves how shallow you are  doh.gif
What don't you like about blu-ray.com? Have you found their reviews to be inaccurate?
jchong
post Aug 27 2009, 07:07 PM

5,989 posts

Wah, so many people didn't like Watchmen?

Anyway, if anybody wanna let go PM me.
jchong
post Aug 29 2009, 08:11 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 29 2009, 02:24 AM)
Guys,is there any setting for me to get the HD audio beside change the movie audio setting when we play the movie ? Im using denon 2809 and Ps3..
As far as I know you select it from the BD.
jchong
post Aug 29 2009, 10:49 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 29 2009, 10:06 AM)
Thats what i did..I just wondering because u guys keep talking about setting bitstream,lpcm...hehe..thanks anyway.. smile.gif
I think some of those might be referring to standalone BD player. Old PS3 cannot bitstream HD audio, but will decode internally and send out as LPCM.
jchong
post Sep 13 2009, 08:45 PM

5,989 posts

No lah, his AVR out for service.
jchong
post Sep 13 2009, 10:29 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 13 2009, 10:05 PM)
sigh... worst news was Mark was too busy last week attending CEDIA that he didn't ship out my subbie sad.gif will only ship out next Fri cry.gif no mood d...  woe is me sad.gif
Good things come to those who wait... smile.gif

Added on September 13, 2009, 10:31 pm
QUOTE(moomoos @ Sep 13 2009, 04:03 PM)
i'm still Glued on House of Flying Daggers, for Audio calibration cool.gif
1) the "Drum" scene track 3 at palace
    this part really brings the midbass, & basslines to the very lows ( soree ya no 16-20hz sub to test biggrin.gif )
    when zhang ziyi is gracefully dancing around matching the beads sequence, notice the tingling of bells in that tight midbass impulse
    to the drawing of sword from andy Lau to the fight scene ended at the bath pool, not to mention crackling of bamboos at the prison...

2) prairie " track 8"  &  Bamboo forest " track 9" scene
    fighting scene at the prairie, bows & arrows shooting, withdrawing and throwing of daggers, and also the incoming of dagger like "wooden sticks "
    from no-where.
    the falling of bamboo leaves from the quiet scene ( where zhang ziyi ) is resting
    the bamboo rattling & crackling sound is superb, not to mention when the bamboo leaves sprung up, ( notice the height ) of the bamboo leaves
    ( these bamboos are some 20 - 30 feet)
Wah so good ah this title? Must test it one day.

This post has been edited by jchong: Sep 13 2009, 10:32 PM
jchong
post Sep 14 2009, 02:41 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Sep 14 2009, 02:14 PM)
so far i dont have 24p BD's moreover my LCD does not support biggrin.gif
I thought all movie BDs are 24p.
jchong
post Sep 15 2009, 09:33 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Sep 14 2009, 11:07 PM)
Thanx bro ar & moo...

(1) ok, got the point... but I still want to know the real difference between (2) & (3). No.2 seem to be a feature from a HDTV like bro moo explained which I can understand and saw a demo before at BEST DENKI. What about (3)? Other forums keep mentioning this term (motion interpolation) that's refering to the frame movement of images of something too....like video movement as opposed to film movement (digital recording vs film?)  rclxub.gif

I hope tech gurus like bro anfieldude or bro aiman can shed some light?  hmm.gif
Here's an article on frame interpolation that will shed some light for you: http://www.projectorcentral.com/frame_interpolation.htm
jchong
post Sep 19 2009, 10:39 PM

5,989 posts

Wah, work so late ah friend?

Anyway, I watched Slumdog Millionaire today. Surprisingly, for a non-action movie it does have some heavy bass moments like Amitabh's helicopter fly by. Some of the music tracks are also quite deep.

0.0228sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:59 AM