post Sep 15 2009, 02:15 PM

1,166 posts

Bought some bds from vidoezy klcc last night :

Kingdom of Heaven RM99.90
Untouchables RM99.00
Blot RM96.00
Madagascar2 RM96

Reckon that they are ok price for immediate fulfillment before the long hari raya weekend maaa .. tongue.gif

Considering Bee Movie & Meet The Robinsons too ... pricing at RM99 .. hehe.

eye
post Sep 15 2009, 02:23 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 15 2009, 02:19 PM)
Is this US pressing? Or HK? Does i have lossless audio on Kingdom af Heaven and Bolt?
Im not sure whether they r us or hkg pressing. How do i ID whether they r us or hkg pressed pls?

The Kingdom of Heaven & Blot have dtsHD. I can't play that format as im having an older avr .. sad.gif

Madagascar2 has dolby true HD, untouchables only dd & dts.

This post has been edited by eye: Sep 15 2009, 02:33 PM
eye
post Sep 15 2009, 02:50 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 15 2009, 02:41 PM)
DTS-HD MA or just DTS-HR? Seems like its lossless if it is DTS-HD MA. Prices are pretty good, especially for the Bolt...3 disc edition I suppose?

Untouchables is lossy but thats just how it is anywhere.

If it is same PQ and AQ specs as the US pressings, then why worry where it is pressed. Maybe Malaysian BD prices will drop from now.
aaa the bolt is a single disc ... hehehe .. i think at this pricing, the bds are not us import lar .. ahahahaha
eye
post Sep 15 2009, 03:30 PM

1,166 posts

Pix quality of Kingdom of Heaven, Untouchables, Blot, Madagascar2 r superb on bd. Particularly the animated movies ... spectacular!!! Im going back to get Bee Movie, Meet the Robinsons & Ratatouille .. ahahahaha!!!
eye
post Sep 15 2009, 04:19 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 15 2009, 03:44 PM)
Usually HK/local pressed Hollywood movies only BD25. Bro Eye, can you check the back cover to confirm. Or if you have a BD-ROM drive can check properties. For movies longer than 2 hours I'm worried the bitrate has been compromised to fit the BD25, especially if the US version uses BD50. Kingdom of Heaven runs around 3 hours, US version is BD50 without extra features (except trailer).

HK release of HK movies are usually BD50 though, quality is comparable to US version. One example is the Red Cliff movies and Ip Man.

The easiest way to identify the local/HK release is by looking at the blue oval sticker on the front cover, local/HK is imprinted instead of a real sticker.
The Kingdom of Heaven that i bot is a BD50 dual layer, it is printed at the back.

The other three titles, untouchables, bolt & magadascar2; not written at all. So sorry i dont have a bdrom drive to check in detail. I examined the underside of the bd disc for these 3 titles; there were two concentric circle barcodes instead of one, so hopefully, dual layer as well tongue.gif

Aiyohhhh .. if the ori release is BD50 & our asian counterparts only press on BD25 tat's shortchanging!! Like that, fish (tuna) also can sing!!!!! Perhaps those learned can post a sticky thread on how to ID them so tat we can boycott them like plague.

Added on September 15, 2009, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(neoardi @ Sep 15 2009, 03:44 PM)
Yup, 3D animation movies really shines on BD, but i'll skip Bee movie and Meet the Robinsons because of the not really fun storyline, at least for me....
My top 5 3D animated BD movies (in term of Story, PQ and AQ):
1) Kung Fu Panda
2) Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children
3) Ratatouille
4) Wall-E
5) Cars

Note that, i still dun hv Madagascar2, already ordered it... icon_rolleyes.gif
I hv bought kungfu panda (btw a hilarious movie biggrin.gif), FF7, WallE & Cars. Yeah, i read the review on Bee movie & robinsons, not that good, but pix quality very gheng maaa .. so im buying ahahahahaha!!!

This post has been edited by eye: Sep 15 2009, 05:13 PM
eye
post Sep 16 2009, 02:05 PM

1,166 posts

Yalor .. agreed and no surprise, some overseas deals are better than our local stores. I normally buy from amazon but cannot wait maaa ... long raya weekend colours fiesta.

Just bot Bee Movie, Meet The Robinsons & Ratatouille from videoezy pavilllion, all bd50 @ rm96 each.... ahahaha!!!

Gonna get eye cavities from all these eye candies .. LOL!!!

This post has been edited by eye: Sep 16 2009, 02:06 PM
eye
post Sep 17 2009, 05:44 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Bishop @ Sep 17 2009, 02:33 PM)
Anyone getting Jet Li HERO?
i wanted to buy this BD .. im boycotting it ... DTS HD MA for the english audio but not for the ori mandarin ... sad.gif

This post has been edited by eye: Sep 17 2009, 05:44 PM
eye
post Sep 18 2009, 03:33 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 17 2009, 06:29 PM)
biggrin.gif  so if buy from speedy will get chinese in DTS-MA ?  thumbup.gif
Dun think so, disney & miramax dubbed the english track in dts-hd ma only. Really tuna sing!!!

0.0420sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:03 PM