no HD sound sad.gif
bloody nice PQ though.
since it cheap, you should get it.
can add to your library and make your 100BD aim more faster thumbup.gif
rthj
post Aug 18 2009, 03:07 PM

1,048 posts

i actually sold off my US Planet earth to get the UK version...for that extra disc...which i havent even watched..
arremie
post Aug 18 2009, 03:23 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Aug 18 2009, 02:46 PM)
since it cheap, you should get it.
can add to your library and make your 100BD aim more faster  thumbup.gif
i bought bd based on this priority...
1) sq
2) pq
3) movie
4) extra bass logo whistling.gif

simply say i wont buy bd with no HD sound tongue.gif
anfieldude
post Aug 18 2009, 03:41 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Aug 18 2009, 03:07 PM)
i actually sold off my US Planet earth to get the UK version...for that extra disc...which i havent even watched..
rhtj,
That reminds me, did you ever check to see if the 5th disc is indeed 1080i?
fadthil
post Aug 18 2009, 04:06 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Aug 18 2009, 08:33 AM)
What is the tax rate Customs tax you for blu-ray movie above RM500?
43% nod.gif doh.gif
arremie
post Aug 18 2009, 04:09 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Anyway knows Underworld Trilogy UK region free or not? Bloody cheap now at GBP16.98
anfieldude
post Aug 18 2009, 04:10 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Aug 18 2009, 04:06 PM)
43%  nod.gif  doh.gif
Really, I read somewhere that they reduced optical media tax from that high to 10% + 15%.

Maybe I got it mixed up with Electronics.
fentanyl
post Aug 18 2009, 04:58 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Aug 18 2009, 01:42 PM)
at last someone else who appreciate In the Realm of Senses...hehehe

Ozawa squeals too much.
Very true! But in HD? Why not! drool.gif

aiman04
post Aug 18 2009, 05:22 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 18 2009, 03:23 PM)
i bought bd based on this priority...
1) sq
2) pq
3) movie
4) extra bass logo whistling.gif

simply say i wont buy bd with no HD sound tongue.gif
My rule:

1. Content
2. PQ
3. AQ

AQ for movies & concerts must be lossless, for documentaries I got no choice though, I own Planet Earth, Home, The Universe Season 1 & 2, When We Left Earth: The NASA Missions and many more on my to-buy list. Baraka is DTS-HD MA, which is along with the PQ is 5 stars.
mois
post Aug 18 2009, 05:25 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

any news for transformer 2 bd?
aiman04
post Aug 18 2009, 05:26 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Aug 18 2009, 05:25 PM)
any news for transformer 2 bd?
20 OCTOBER 2009

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 18 2009, 05:29 PM
rthj
post Aug 18 2009, 05:36 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 18 2009, 12:22 PM)
My rule:

1. Content
2. PQ
3. AQ

AQ for movies & concerts must be lossless, for documentaries I got no choice though, I own Planet Earth, Home, The Universe Season 1 & 2, When We Left Earth: The NASA Missions and many more on my to-buy list. Baraka is DTS-HD MA, which is along with the PQ is 5 stars.
my selection criteria:

1.content
and a very close 2nd is price!
3. PQ and AQ is pretty much on par with each other on the scale of importance.
Lone*Wolf
post Aug 18 2009, 06:09 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 18 2009, 05:22 PM)
My rule:

1. Content
2. PQ
3. AQ

Content as in the movie itself or the contents of the BD (eg. Special Features, Digital Copy, etc)?

For me, for BDs its always PQ (as in effects) & AQ. I seldom get dramas or nice directing or nice story or classics coz I will get/got them on DVDs. Much cheaper and dun need to rely on eye/aural candies.

Thats why my BD collection all are nonsense, no-brainers, all-out action and loud titles laugh.gif
kobe8byrant
post Aug 18 2009, 06:53 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

The movie must be good before even considering parting with that much money. I don't get how people canwatch In The Name of the King and tell me they enjoyed watching it - regardless of source.
low98944
post Aug 18 2009, 07:00 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Aug 18 2009, 06:53 PM)
The movie must be good before even considering parting with that much money. I don't get how people canwatch In The Name of the King and tell me they enjoyed watching it - regardless of source.
If it is "In the name of my father" then it is different story. tongue.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Aug 18 2009, 07:09 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Aug 18 2009, 07:00 PM)
If it is "In the name of my father" then it is different story.  tongue.gif
In The Name Of THE Father - Daniel Day-Lewis?

This post has been edited by Lone*Wolf: Aug 18 2009, 07:09 PM
aiman04
post Aug 18 2009, 07:13 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Content means main feature. Like movies, concerts, documentaries, etc.

But most of us here are home theater enthusiasts, so sometimes content is third priority just to enjoy the visual and sonic experience through our own equipment which I'm sure we've spent a lot. Hence, I own Transformers, and planning to get the sequel as well. That said, I also own Gandhi, Silence of the Lambs, etc on BD. I'm sure many of us are also true movie lovers, our priorities are still movies with hearts, substance, good plot, inteligent, meaningful, well written/directed, etc.

Added on August 18, 2009, 7:16 pm
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Aug 18 2009, 07:09 PM)
In The Name Of THE Father - Daniel Day-Lewis?
I own that on DVD. Great performance by Day-Lewis & Pete Postlethwaite. Very moving piece.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 18 2009, 07:18 PM
kobe8byrant
post Aug 18 2009, 07:19 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

I'm not a home theater enthusiast. I'm a home theater enthusiast-wannabe. cry.gif

Still in college but managed to get a windfall and decided to piss it all away on a bedroom set thumbup.gif
aiman04
post Aug 18 2009, 07:27 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Aug 18 2009, 07:19 PM)
I'm not a home theater enthusiast. I'm a home theater enthusiast-wannabe.  cry.gif

Still in college but managed to get a windfall and decided to piss it all away on a bedroom set  thumbup.gif
This is just the beginning bro, remember once you've become an enthusiast there's no turning back. laugh.gif

You using PS3? Make sure the set you're getting can accept multi-channel PCM so you can enjoy lossless audio.

Hope you got my reply. Good luck. biggrin.gif

122 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:08 PM