Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> USPS Priority Mail International, Delivery Time & Kastam

svage98
post Aug 19 2009, 04:56 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(doli_pargorsi @ Aug 15 2009, 11:35 PM)
Hi!

I'm a newbie from PJ & need some advices about my trade below:

I bought one eBay item from US -- costs around US$ 700 (incld. shipping).
On 03/08/2009 seller shipped it via USPS Priority Mail International (PMI) with extra service "insurance" (considering the $), but it would be without tracking). Shipping ref. no. CP64xxxxxx7US. According to him, it should be arrives in 6 to 10 days.

Until yesterday 14/08/2009 I have not received it yet. So I checked the USPS website, but it says "There is no record of this item".

My Q are:
1. About the USPS PMI, usually how long it takes to Malaysia? For my case it is more than 2 weeks now. Is that normal?
2. I worry it got "kena tahan kastam" because of the $$$. Until now I haven't received any call or letter from Pos Malaysia or Kastam yet. So what I should do? Should I call Pos Malaysia first?

Thank you in advance for sharing experience & answering.
What shipping method you using? First Class International, Priority International or Express International?Item which cost RM500 and above including shipping will likely get held with customs but if you do not received any letter from customs yet then that means your stuff haven't arrived yet in Malaysia.

Added on August 19, 2009, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(gizmo_pony @ Aug 18 2009, 10:15 PM)
USPS Priority Mail don't provide tracking no. unless the sender pay more for this additional service.

It is included in case of USPS Express Mail.

Correct me if I'm wrong. I got this info from my friend in US.
Yup...you are correct there bro. One can insist on tracking for USPS Priority Mail but at an additional cost...same as insurance. The CP64xxxxxx7US is in fact not tracking but the declaration form used for shipping the item.

This post has been edited by svage98: Aug 19 2009, 05:03 PM
svage98
post Oct 1 2009, 10:15 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(star*bug @ Oct 1 2009, 06:56 PM)
hi dear, i just got my parcel from usa thru priority mail, well the item was sent on 17 september and i get it today on 1st of october. so it not necessary take 6-10 days, could be more cuz it kena tahan at malaysia custom.

and priority mail do provide tracking number my dear, in fact, once the seller send the product, the priority mail service will email u to verify your address and stuff, together with your item location, they will update u where your item is at the moment, very efficient and it made me feel secure.
Priority international does not include tracking or insurance. You're seller must have included the tracking (meaning he purchase tracking without charging you additional cost). Both tracking and insurance can be purchase for priority international shipping at an additional price. Normally US seller will just quote without tracking & insurance. Because if you purchase them both the price will be about the same as shipping via express mail.

If item got held by customs...you will get a letter within 3-4 days of item held. Letter is sent via poslaju.

Added on October 1, 2009, 10:34 pm
QUOTE(jas @ Oct 1 2009, 12:28 PM)
Hi there, I'm also facing the same experience and hope that someone here can advice.

I bought an item of ebay and shipper sent it thru USPS priority international mail.
I have a number though not sure its its tracking or customs - CQ33 530X XXXU S

I did go to the USPS site to checked and it tells me this

Detailed Results:

International Dispatch, September 28, 2009, 6:41 am, ISC CHICAGO IL (USPS)
Arrival
Acceptance, September 26, 2009, 10:19 am, FRESNO, TX 77545
Electronic Shipping Info Received, September 26, 2009
does this means that its a tracking number?

can I conclude
that the item left the US port on 28 Sept. ?
arrive by now and with customs?
how long before it reaches me or customs to contact me?

Tried  checking with POS. no luck!
Priority international mail can take up to 2 weeks to reach here...in some cases 3 weeks. Did your seller said the shipping include tracking or not? If you are not sure better ask. If your seller did include tracking in the shipping then you view the tracking at UPSP website. You can also track the item at pos malaysia website as soon it reach Malaysia. If you see nothing there then it haven't reach yet. For me I give it about 2 weeks the most and then usually I can view the delivery status at pos malaysia website.

This post has been edited by svage98: Oct 1 2009, 10:34 PM
svage98
post Oct 30 2009, 01:53 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(DeinanCF @ Oct 20 2009, 10:21 AM)
I'm waiting for an item to come from US using USPS as well.

Just wondering if the person gave me the tracking number or the receipt reference number cos it's so damn long.

I specifically asked that there be tracking number and insured.(Probably First Class Priority Mail with insurance?)

1USPSRxxYxxxxxxxxxxxx

the 'x' being numbers.

It's been 2 weeks since it was sent out(6 oct), and the person has not replied my emails regarding the tracking number. But it's through paypal so I'm not worried, yet.

Anyway, what is Priority Mail referred as here?
Is considered as parcel mail...which usually can be checked at e-parcel tracking system in pos malaysia website. However...it will only appear if it has entered Malaysia (meaning check in with customs).

Express mail is poslaju so you can check at poslaju tracking smile.gif
svage98
post Dec 8 2010, 10:39 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(paull98 @ Dec 8 2010, 08:56 PM)
If you notice, it has been 6 days since it's been dispatched (1st DEC) so it was obviously exceeded the usual 3-5days transit time
As stated above...priority mail is not EMS so it is totally impossible that it will arrive here in Malaysia within 3-5 days. That would be Express Mail. Priority mail usually takes 2-3 weeks...but during holiday rush like Christmas sometimes mails can be a bit slower than expected smile.gif

This post has been edited by svage98: Dec 8 2010, 10:39 PM
svage98
post Dec 10 2010, 10:17 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(paull98 @ Dec 9 2010, 12:52 AM)
Your item was processed through and left our MINNEAPOLIS, MN 55413 facility on December 01, 2010. The item is currently in transit to the destination. Information, if available, is updated periodically throughout the day. Please check again later.
The highlighted sentence really confused me now, it can be explained as either in transit to another sorting center or to Malaysia. If it is out of US it should be International dispatch following by a date just like what msdevious showed us.

The official website of USPS stated that Express and Priority Mail International only takes 6-10 days. varies by country for First Class International, That was why i chose to use Priority because it takes about the same time compare to Express but cheaper.
The official website state Express Mail takes 3-5 days while Priority Mail takes 6-10 days...both not the same tongue.gif http://www.usps.com/international/sendpackages.htm
svage98
post Aug 17 2011, 11:07 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(towsuan @ Aug 3 2011, 04:51 PM)
Just want to ask, the postman is from POSLAJU orr the normal motorbike postman? Thanks..
Most likely package was shipped via courier or express mail since the delivery time is so short. So I guess postman is from poslaju.

Added on August 17, 2011, 11:23 am
QUOTE(gadgetfreq @ Jul 22 2011, 04:56 PM)
You all are very lucky... mine's is already 30 days.. its just 10 pcs of Hot Wheels & Matchbox car. Theres goes RM100+ down to drain... Thank you Malaysia...
If you used Priority Mail International or Express Mail International is shouldn't take one month. Did you use First Class Mail/ International Standard shipping? If you did that could take some time getting to Malaysia. I've had cases where items I bought from ebay took 2-3 months to arrive. Worse case I get where my items don't reach at all maybe got lost somewhere since normal mail cannot track.

Added on August 17, 2011, 11:30 am
QUOTE(magnifizio @ Jul 13 2011, 05:12 PM)
i have the exact same experience

below are my shipment details:

Label/Receipt Number: LJ** **** ***U S
Class: Priority Mail International Parcels
Service(s): International Letter
Your item was processed through and left our OPA LOCKA, FL 33054 facility on June 14, 2011 at 7:47 pm. The item is currently in transit to the destination. Information, if available, is updated periodically throughout the day. Please check again later.
Detailed Results:

Processed through Sort Facility, June 14, 2011, 7:47 pm, OPA LOCKA, FL 33054
Electronic Shipping Info Received, June 15, 2011

i bought a pair of sunglasses worth usd70
i tried calling poslaju and also USPS

poslaju's reply: label id is not tracking no. hence they cant track my parcel.

USPS's reply: "we will get back to you within 24hours" that was 3 days ago.

anyone can help offer a solution please?
perhaps the parcel is still stuck in custom?
if so, how can i contact custom department?
PLEASE...HELP...
anyone with a past experience?
If the item arrive at Malaysia it should appear under e-parcel tracking at Pos Malaysia Website and then poslaju tracking only after your parcel has cleared with the customs. Tracking updates should also be available at USPS website. Try calling Pos Malaysia customer service about your tracking.

This post has been edited by svage98: Aug 19 2011, 08:32 PM
svage98
post Mar 29 2012, 09:15 AM

432 posts

Express Mail should reach Malaysia within 7 days but the problem is usually with our Kustam which our package could get held for a few days or a week or two depending on them >.>

This post has been edited by svage98: Mar 29 2012, 09:16 AM
svage98
post Sep 3 2012, 07:56 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(tkhe1313 @ Sep 2 2012, 03:56 PM)
Hi , normally those which cost $35 Priority Mail has FULL tracking ( even in Malaysia) , or just Express Mail is the one and only way to provide full tracking? Because I heard that Priority Mail can add few $$$ to upgrade to Registered mail , does the Registered Mail have full tracking too? What is its features? Thanks!
Priority Mail with tracking does not have full tracking like Express Mail. From experience they only provide partial tracking...meaning in US and once your parcel leave US they cannot track anymore. When reach Malaysia it is up to Pos Malaysia...nowadays it is made possible to get tracking within Malaysia because Pos Malaysia's system has upgraded to key in tracking for parcels. Long long time ago you can't see tracking because Pos Malaysia system don't provide tracking info for outside parcels (exclude registered post and express mail).

0.0258sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:45 PM