What is hosting, domain & What can i do with it, The Newbie FAQ

TScyberfly
post Aug 14 2009, 07:59 PM, updated 17y ago

Web Dev Zero to Hero
706 posts

I notice there is already guide about domain and hosting, but it is a copy paste from other site and not newbie friendly.So i decided to write one myself with short explanation and hopely more understable.

Newbie FAQ

1.What is hosting?

If you have build a website and want to put it online, you need web hosting to store your website.In other words, its like hard disk where you store your data.

2.What is domain?
Domain is the address to access your website.Example of domain is http://malaysiahostingreview.net

3.Which one do I need?Domain or hosting?
You need both.Without hosting you cant store your website, without domain you cant access your hosted website.

4.What i can do with web hosting?I dont know how to make website liao!

Nowdays you dont need to know any web programming to have a website.
You can just use Installatron or Fantastico to install any type of website that you want.What more it is very easy to use even for newbie, much like software installation in Windows!

Here are some video to show you how simple to install Wordpress (Blogging software) using Fantastico:

Dont know Wordpress?Read here Wordpress Website
Example of website using Wordpress are http://malaysiahostingreview.net

5.I dont like blogging!Any other options?

Sure!When you have webhosting, you also can install other type of website using Fantastico such as:

1.Forum

Example is http://forum.lowyat.net

2.Image hosting website

Example is http://imageshack.us

3.Wiki website

Example is http://wikipedia.com

4.Poll Website

5.Online Shop (E-Commerce website)

6.File Hosting Website

7.Social Networking website

View more here

6.How to choose good web hosting provider?

My advice is read the review of the hosting provider before sign up or asking opinion in the forum.This way you can know whether the hosting provider really up to their standard or not.

For example if you are interested in Exabytes hosting, search at Google "Exabytes review".

There also some website which provide customer review of hosting in Malaysia.You can visit it here Malaysia Hosting Review

You also can ask other opinion in Lowyat.net Webmasters Subforum

7.Which package should i choose?

If you are just starting, i suggest you to choose package with minimum 1gb space and 20gb bandwith.You will have many space to try different application, and also plenty of bandwith for regular bloggers and website.
Futhermore, the price is affordable which is under rm100.

8.Malaysia Hosting or Oversea Hosting?

If you are targetting user from Malaysia, you should choose Malaysia hosting because it is more fast for local visitor and vice versa.

That's it.I hope this guide will help you to become a new webmaster or clear your confusion about web hosting biggrin.gif

0.0163sec    0.96    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:55 AM