The Bright Side V2, Night! Lights! Action!

ArmorFiend
post Aug 20 2009, 02:29 PM

676 posts

Wah, a week+ didnt login and we're at V2 liao..

Anyway, on AA flashlights being non-collector's item, i disagree...
I only stick to AA flashlights, whether it's AAx1 or AAx8, it doesnt matter..

You see, i travel a lot...come Oct i will be off to NZ for a couple of months.. Most of the time i would be somewhere between a mountainside and the coast, so unless i am able to get myself a reasonable hostel/motel, i wont be able to charge any CR123 bateries..and i doubt i could jst go into a mini market and buy a couple of CR123s.. Though on the other hand, AA/AAA will definitely be sold anywhere from the artic store to the desert mini mart...

Or maybe i am one collector that collect flashlights with combination of ease of use... No doubt CR123 flashlight have higher output and are smaller in size...but for my situation, i need a flashlight with 100% possibility of getting it's primary anywhere when my rechargeables ran out of juice.. Your flashlight is only as good as the batteries that powered them..without either one, it's jst a bulkier case of holding dead cells... wink.gif

Added : And one more thing, i do love CR123 flashlights when i am back home in Malaysia... :>

This post has been edited by ArmorFiend: Aug 20 2009, 02:34 PM
ArmorFiend
post Aug 21 2009, 11:01 PM

676 posts

QUOTE(NtahX @ Aug 20 2009, 04:32 PM)
anyone know where i can find this

1 WATT AA MAGLITE LED BULB and IQ SWITCH by NITE IZE

mini maglite upgrade kit in MY? anybody selling besides ebay.. or any other upgrade available for Mini Mag AA?

advice are welcomed - Thanks smile.gif
Hi bro,
I dunno how much is the maglite LED bulb, but i think it's not worth investing in coz i have the 3xAAA LED Mini Mag and seriously, its kinda disappointing.... i would suggest u to get other brand of LED light...

And btw, i have a LED by Nite Ize for 2xAA mini mag..and it's jst as bright as Energizer's keychain LED...nothing to should about..and considering i purchase them from Ebay US, it's kinda pricey and not worth while... In fact, i bought 2 pairs..with one still in it's sealed blister. If you're interested, i could sell them to you, hehee...though seriously, i dont recommend them.. It s not bright enough to be useful...
ArmorFiend
post Aug 26 2009, 08:30 PM

676 posts

I agree with Pseudoblue...

The EagleTac P100A2 is rather cheap for a 225 lumen..and i like the solid built of it...and size, not too small and neither too large, exactly at comfy grip size... the momentary on/off is very useful as well... the only thing lacking is a strobe... a minor inconvi..
ArmorFiend
post Aug 27 2009, 01:56 AM

676 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Aug 26 2009, 10:36 PM)
there's quite a thread on the functions of strobes in real life.
Very limited use actually, and have u actually had to use that function yet?
Used it twice so far...
Once was when i was waiting for my gf in a car at night.. There were like a dozen or so other cars and she couldnt pick out which one's mine...

2nd was when i went with some Rela/bomba/police members for a night ops rescue.. It was published in the paper some time back, 2 brothers of snr age was lost while trekking in Moon Gate, Penang. My strobe was used to notify some sergeant about our teams' whereabout among the sea of flashlight and people. The 2 brothers were lost on 5pm and rescued by 7am the next day.... I went back around 4am after a 3 hours search, so didnt really do anything much, kekee...except to test out my newly bought Fenix LD20.. smile.gif
ArmorFiend
post Aug 27 2009, 04:01 PM

676 posts

strinq, i seldom go into CPF coz it loads prett slow.. dunno why but other forums are pretty fast... And yea, i could use the momentary on/off on the EagleTac P100A2, but strobe is more fun ma, kekee...

Polkiuj, ur right..it's 195 lumen instesd of 225.. and since then i have been EDC on P100A2.. Must be a bit blur after came back from watching Laughing Gor:Turning Point.. :>
ArmorFiend
post Sep 3 2009, 02:44 PM

676 posts

I have a friend staying in Singapore and he will be coming back by Mid of September. If anyone's interested, i will have him check how much it is selling (eneloopies) in Singapore and update you guys. Hopefully it will be cheaper since Malaysia have a 23% tax on batteries... sad.gif
ArmorFiend
post Sep 7 2009, 05:27 AM

676 posts

Did they say anything about sending the clip to previous owner of LD10 & LD20? Jst trying my luck... smile.gif
ArmorFiend
post Sep 7 2009, 03:17 PM

676 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Sep 7 2009, 11:58 AM)

So, no info on existing owners of LD series about the clip and we won't be getting any for free. I'm very dissapointed with their marketing strategy on this. They should protect investments of LD series owners by having the new body+clip compatible with the current LD series. So current owners can purchase the upgrade with a lower price, instead of forcing to buy a whole new flashlight, with the same LED technology, same circuit, same specs. You are paying the same price for another LD10/20 you owned for knurling and clip - That's it. I may also think they might make more sale for selling upgrades to protect customer's investment than just selling a whole new flashlight. But of course it will interest new buyers.

I don't doubt their quality though. I have Fenix flashlights but this idea is kinda ridiculous man...
I am with you on this bro..i would love to have that clip on my LD20.... sadly..
ArmorFiend
post Sep 18 2009, 04:18 PM

676 posts

I nearly got the MOLLE from Pentagon...but since they went kaput now, i would wait for the Mc-10..hopefully the price wont turn me away...

But i dunno why some ppl think it's fugly...the design of it is so you could clip onto your MOLLE vest (or anything that matters today) and to have it stand on one end acting like sort of a table lamp..

Used to have the older bigger version during our 40km scout walk...and boy was it huge..!! Not to mention it's dim compared with LED we have today....

Gwen aka Nie, do keep us posted when your boss bring in this MC-10 k... smile.gif
ArmorFiend
post Sep 19 2009, 11:01 PM

676 posts

pseudoblue, comparing Imedion and Eneloop, which one's better..? in term of longer lasting..? Coz i know prices for them differ by RM2.50 each over here...

polkiuj, so far i havent come across any flashlight that's ugly, kekee... Some are plain simple or sophisticated, but ugly jst never cross my mind about them...
ArmorFiend
post Sep 22 2009, 06:11 AM

676 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Sep 22 2009, 03:05 AM)
I haven't use Eneloops yet but it's more recognized than Imedions for flashlights used in CPF. There's is a study in CPF for Imedions, quite detail. Eneloops appear to handle higher power draw above 4A better than Imedions. But it wouldn't matter in most flashlights applications where you will be putting your batteries in series for higher power. Even in single AA applications, you won't reach 4AA at this point of time. I chose Imedions because we've been using Powerex a long time. Based on the link I gave, they're quite competitive. Check it out.

Thanks man! Will go through them... wink.gif

Added : Jst gone through them...and seems like for flashlight usage, Imedion's gonna be slightly better than Eneloopies... I am planning to get 16 rechargeables..and with Imedion, i could save RM2.50 x 16 = RM40...

But i am still undecided...coz Eneloopies are more well known, so i know the quality is there... How about Imedion..? Anyone can help me make up my mind..? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by ArmorFiend: Sep 22 2009, 12:46 PM
ArmorFiend
post Sep 24 2009, 02:15 PM

676 posts

Nightstalker1993, yup..the Imedions are cheaper by RM2.50 each... wink.gif

Justin78, hahaa..seriously, i never cross my mind about that.. Thanks man..least now i could try on both worlds and see which one suits me better down the road...

pseudoblue, i dont have Maha chargers..will be using Sony charger instead...so hopefully results wont differ much...

Thanks a bunch guys..! Guess it's 8 each then...
ArmorFiend
post Sep 27 2009, 01:02 AM

676 posts

Finallly, got my 8 Eneloopies... 8 Imedion coming up...!!

ArmorFiend
post Sep 29 2009, 01:37 PM

676 posts

QUOTE(Philightsophy @ Sep 29 2009, 01:25 PM)
Hi Susuman and jwyj,

I will be going over to the customs soon to 'declare' the stuff from Lumens Factory. Keeping my fingers crossed smile.gif
All the best bro... Keep me updated on the P100A2 status.. thumbup.gif
ArmorFiend
post Oct 7 2009, 02:41 PM

676 posts

Guys...need help with my paracord here...
How to get the inner 'intestines' back into the green sheath..?

And jst to show off my P100A2 with my USMC Service Support Group..

ArmorFiend
post Oct 8 2009, 03:12 AM

676 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Oct 7 2009, 03:30 PM)

Added on October 7, 2009, 3:47 pmEr, can't advice much on this one, the 'intestines' are twisted inside the cover usually. Just 2 suggestion (at your own risk tongue.gif):
1) You might wanna slit off the cover fully, twist the intestines, shove it inside and sew the cover together or
2) use a tweezer and shove it all inside, the sew them. biggrin.gif
Well, you might end up with a bulge.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Oct 7 2009, 03:57 PM)
You will need to open the cord-end, possibly cut a little bit of opening, and then pull the inner strands. The tweezer will comes in handy for this.
Tried the 2nd method...and couldnt work...the inner part jst down wanna go in..

So i guess gonna try on the 1st method then... sad.gif

OOPS, i left this part blank  blush.gif  wanted to say this is a nice pic and with intricate designs
Well..susuman's gerwalk mode gimme the idea...kekee...

This post has been edited by ArmorFiend: Oct 8 2009, 03:15 AM
ArmorFiend
post Oct 14 2009, 03:14 AM

676 posts

strinq, congrate on ur MC10 man..!! If somehow u dont like it, PM me k..i am ready to get them off from u...
ArmorFiend
post Oct 14 2009, 12:05 PM

676 posts

Wah, very cool military pics..!! I always love military stuffs...!!! rclxm9.gif
ArmorFiend
post Oct 14 2009, 01:49 PM

676 posts

ray2ray, thanks bro for the link! But already been browsing them some time ago.. wink.gif

And check out below if you havent :
http://www.naval-technology.com/
http://www.army-technology.com/projects/
http://www.militaryimages.net/photopost/index.php --> TONS of IMAGES!
http://www.fas.org/programs/ssp/man/uswpns...rotary/h53.html

On the Airshow, no ler...me staying in Penang..so not convi to drive all the way down... sad.gif

ArmorFiend
post Oct 20 2009, 02:14 PM

676 posts

Old Newspaper, the Vantage Group Buy still open? Dropped u a PM about it... wink.gif

0.0900sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:40 PM