126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

The Bright Side V2, Night! Lights! Action!

RookieDaddy
post Aug 17 2009, 03:16 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ Aug 17 2009, 01:32 PM)
Can I ask if most flashlight that uses 2 x RCR123 can also use 18650 batteries? For example this quark 123^2? Thanks.
I'nm thinking of not buying any that uses CR123 batteries only.
Quark 123² can use 17670, 18650 can't fit.
Most flashlights that uses 2 x RCR123 (16340) or 2 x CR123A can use 1 x 17670 (e.g. Surefire LED range). With some, you can also use 1 x 18650 (e.g. EagleTac, JetBeam) if it explicitly said so. However, do note that not all cells are made the same length and width. That 1mm width between 16340 and 17670 could be an issue in fitting for some lights. Do NOT force the cell in if it doesn't fit, even when it's already half-way in. flex.gif
A tip from AW for his AW protected cells, you can remove the sticker label to reduce the cell's diameter. This has work for fitting AW 17500s into my Fenix TA30. brows.gif

Note: all references are made to protected Li-Ion cells. smile.gif
jwyj
post Aug 17 2009, 03:25 PM

H
1,006 posts

OK, thank you. That's the problem with flashlight collection, there are just too many different types of batteries and chargers requires....

So, the best replacement for 2 x RCR123/CR123A is to use 1 x 17670, ie, the quark 123^2 can take this 17670, correct? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by jwyj: Aug 17 2009, 04:34 PM
alantch
post Aug 17 2009, 04:59 PM

43 posts

It is always best to check on the specs whether the light is able to run on specific types of batteries. If it is not specified by the manufacturer, a check in CPF is your best bet. Those 'ang mohs' really ask all sorts of questions pertaining to power configurations for their lights.

Added on August 17, 2009, 5:11 pmHey guys, if anyone is interested in a 18650-capable SF U2A, I have one for sale currently here : For Sale. Also some other small stuff. Please let me know if you are interested.

This post has been edited by alantch: Aug 17 2009, 05:11 PM
RookieDaddy
post Aug 18 2009, 09:43 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ Aug 17 2009, 03:25 PM)
So, the best replacement for 2 x RCR123/CR123A is to use 1 x 17670
Most of the time, yes. brows.gif But as you get to research more, you will come to realise that there are a few more factors that determine compatible form factor replacement, e.g. Voltage, discharge current, etc.

QUOTE(jwyj @ Aug 17 2009, 03:25 PM)
the quark 123^2 can take this 17670, correct?  hmm.gif
Right! And our local LYN member is selling these: justin78

EDIT: my bad doh.gif , actually, given the choice, the best rechargeable replacement for 2 RCR123/CR123A is to use 1 x 18650 IF the body can accomodate the cell. 18650 cell has higher capacity and thus gives you longer runtime over 17670 cell. I like what Olight and EagleTac has done in their 18650 offering where they include a battery magazine for 2 x RCR123/CR123A to reduce the rattling in the battery tube. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: Aug 18 2009, 04:16 PM
zainalklj
post Aug 18 2009, 02:24 PM

17 posts

There are two important factors to consider whether 2xCR123 or 2xRCR123 can be replaced with 1x18650

1. The LED driver rating e.g 2.6v - 6v
2. The Flashlight bore dimension

If the LED driver rating is 2.6v - 6v yes we can use 1x18650 (3.7V) provided the bore size can accomodate it. (normally the length is accommodating due to springs at the tailcap or even both at the tailcap and LED assembly. If the bore size is smaller diameter, then 1x17670 (also 3.7v) can be used.

My favorite for Surefire is 17670 instead of CR123.
jwyj
post Aug 19 2009, 10:15 AM

H
1,006 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Aug 18 2009, 09:43 AM)
EDIT: my bad  doh.gif , actually, given the choice, the best rechargeable replacement for 2 RCR123/CR123A is to use 1 x 18650 IF the body can accomodate the cell. 18650 cell has higher capacity and thus gives you longer runtime over 17670 cell. I like what Olight and EagleTac has done in their 18650 offering where they include a battery magazine for 2 x RCR123/CR123A to reduce the rattling in the battery tube.  thumbup.gif
I think I jump in too fast. I've spent too much $$ buying all sorts of branded and non branded flashlights. I should go slower and do it systematically, such as trying to group them into battery sizes.
I will probably concentrate my collection into groups according to battery sizes.

1) 3 x AAA only,
2) 2 x AA only,
3) 1 x 18650 only,
4) 2 x 18650 only.

Added on August 19, 2009, 10:18 am
QUOTE(zainalklj @ Aug 18 2009, 02:24 PM)
If the LED driver rating is 2.6v - 6v yes we can use 1x18650 (3.7V) provided the bore size can accomodate it. (normally the length is accommodating due to springs at the tailcap or even both at the tailcap and LED assembly. If the bore size is smaller diameter, then 1x17670 (also 3.7v) can be used.

My favorite for Surefire is 17670 instead of CR123.
Maybe I will also add in,
5) 17670 too, since I ordered a few Surefire in US.

I will forget about single AAA or or single AA or 123 or C or D batteries sized flashlights. rclxms.gif

My current favourite are 18650 battery based flashlights. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by jwyj: Aug 19 2009, 10:20 AM
alantch
post Aug 19 2009, 10:49 AM

43 posts

I also went thru the same problems in standardizing my lights based on battery size. That works, but only up to a certain point. Going for lights that can take both primaries and rechargeables is the way to go. That way, I can use them on rechargeables when I'm home and take the primaries with me when I go travelling in which case I don't have to bring the charger. My standard battery types now are CR123, RCR123, P17670 and (P)18650s. I try to avoid 3x123 lights and have none of those at the moment.

jwyj, what Surefires are you getting from the US?
polkiuj
post Aug 19 2009, 11:26 AM

337 posts

Batteries, brightness, size, run-times, beam......

So many to choose from!

Haha!

I still haven't played with any 18650 lights yet. I 'de-modded' my ET T10LC2 to not accept 18650 xD.
jwyj
post Aug 19 2009, 11:27 AM

H
1,006 posts

Added on August 19, 2009, 11:35 am
QUOTE(alantch @ Aug 19 2009, 10:49 AM)
I also went thru the same problems in standardizing my lights based on battery size. That works, but only up to a certain point. Going for lights that can take both primaries and rechargeables is the way to go. That way, I can use them on rechargeables when I'm home and take the primaries with me when I go travelling in which case I don't have to bring the charger. My standard battery types now are CR123, RCR123, P17670 and (P)18650s. I try to avoid 3x123 lights and have none of those at the moment.

jwyj, what Surefires are you getting from the US?
But doesn't rechargable batteries last longer?

I got the cheapest that I can find in Amazon,

1) G2 original - USD 34.98
2) 6P LED - USD69.99
3) TerraLux 220LED - USD33.94
4) G2Z original - USD64.99
5) E2E original - USD69.00

Maybe plus 2 or 3 more, but I will limit the price of each to <USD70.

Streamlights seems to be popular too, but too many choices. I only want to get those hard-to-find in Malaysia flashlights.

Others I can buy in this forums.

This post has been edited by jwyj: Aug 19 2009, 11:35 AM
polkiuj
post Aug 19 2009, 11:35 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ Aug 19 2009, 11:27 AM)

2) 6P LED - USD69.99

Streamlights seems to be popular too, but too many choices. I only want to get those hard-to-find in Malaysia flashlights.

Others I can buy in this forums. smile.gif
Whoa! That's a lot of lights! Won't shipping from Amazon be very expensive? Why not buy from Ebay or some online retailer?

How much are you paying for shipping?
jwyj
post Aug 19 2009, 11:41 AM

H
1,006 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Aug 19 2009, 11:35 AM)
Whoa! That's a lot of lights! Won't shipping from Amazon be very expensive? Why not buy from Ebay or some online retailer?

How much are you paying for shipping?
Those are the lights I already bought, all cost including shipping to my Uncle's house in Houston, US. He will bring them to Malaysia when he visit me end of the year or next year... sad.gif sad.gif

Early this year I got a whole lot of Vitorinox & Leatherman multitools plus 10 AAA/AA maglites. Luckily, customs/immigration not interested. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by jwyj: Aug 19 2009, 11:41 AM
sniper69
post Aug 19 2009, 11:52 AM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

hye guys... looking for super thrower (the cool white -- is it the yellowish one?) and a good charger along with 2x 16850 batteries... icon_idea.gif
alantch
post Aug 19 2009, 01:24 PM

43 posts

2) 6P LED - USD69.99
Ooo ... that's a lot of Surefires
jwyj
post Aug 19 2009, 01:44 PM

H
1,006 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Aug 19 2009, 11:52 AM)
hye guys... looking for super thrower (the cool white -- is it the yellowish one?) and a good charger along with 2x 16850 batteries... icon_idea.gif
Me too also looking for super thrower using 1 or 2 x 16850 batteries.. rclxms.gif My lists are
1) Tiablo A10-G
2) Dereelight DBS v3
3) EagleTac M2XC4

Best of all is that, they are all available here... Fenix brand got thrower or not??

I'm also buying a few cheap ones from DX.
Some of the 'police/Cree/FBI' are good throwers too.

damonlbs
post Aug 19 2009, 02:22 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ Aug 19 2009, 01:44 PM)
Me too also looking for super thrower using 1 or 2 x 16850 batteries..  rclxms.gif  My lists are
1) Tiablo A10-G
2) Dereelight DBS v3
3) EagleTac M2XC4

Best of all is that, they are all available here... Fenix brand got thrower or not??

I'm also buying a few cheap ones from DX.
Some of the 'police/Cree/FBI' are good throwers too.
i think u mean 18650 laugh.gif

havent heard of 16850 yet blush.gif

also the olight M30 also a good light
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=871609&hl=

or jetbeam MX1
you can PM nexro if u want 1
sniper69
post Aug 19 2009, 02:30 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

doh.gif my bad... it's 18650
refnulf
post Aug 19 2009, 05:31 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

I only go for CR123 and 18650 lights. Nothing else!

MetalZone
post Aug 19 2009, 06:35 PM

2,515 posts

Wow V2 already. I'm so outdated. hahaha. Nightstalker, u shud link to V1 in the first post.
jwyj
post Aug 19 2009, 06:40 PM

H
1,006 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Aug 19 2009, 06:35 PM)
Wow V2 already. I'm so outdated. hahaha. Nightstalker, u shud link to V1 in the first post.
I have read all the 131 pages of V1, and now I am re-reading them all over again. .... and learning new things too. nod.gif

Added on August 19, 2009, 6:46 pm
QUOTE(refnulf @ Aug 19 2009, 05:31 PM)
I only go for CR123 and 18650 lights. Nothing else!
What a good idea. Maybe that's what I will try to do also, as I slowly remove those that take in AA and AAA batteries.
CR123 and 18650 batteries have more "WOW" factors.

This post has been edited by jwyj: Aug 19 2009, 06:46 PM
Chieftat
post Aug 19 2009, 08:16 PM

Added on August 19, 2009, 11:35 am
But doesn't rechargable batteries last longer?

2) 6P LED - USD69.99

Others I can buy in this forums.
I've got a streamlight scorpion. Nice bright incan, rubberise body with a spare bulb included.

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:41 PM