126 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

The Bright Side V2, Night! Lights! Action!

strinq
post Aug 27 2009, 03:15 PM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

yeah, ppl are curious about the legion II.
After the big hooha at cpf.
icaruz76
post Aug 27 2009, 03:23 PM

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Aug 27 2009, 03:04 PM)
what's your opinion on the Legion II? is it tough? something that's "whack-able"? do you think the lens will withstand drop?
i dont use my lights to whack something..hee..hee. rclxub.gif also have not drop it yet. The build quality is actually very good. the UI control ring makes you wonder why bother with clicky anymore.. the beam is so bright with little artifacts compare to my other MCE/P7 lights. and the best part is you won't feel that much heat after more than 30 mins on high..

by the way if look closer at my pics.. you can see my beater light... battle scar black 3D p7 running on Accupower evolution LSD batts. this thing can last for hrs on high..
alantch
post Aug 27 2009, 03:34 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(icaruz76 @ Aug 27 2009, 02:53 PM)
Here's my modest collection

3D P7, Legion II, Mg PLI, Fenix L2d, 2AA Mag, SF G2(R2 drop in), Fenix LD01 SS, Ultrafire RL-118 SS, Ultrafire C3 SS, Solarforce L2 SS, 3D P7

Apologize for bad pics..

one more coming next week ..bored 6P with nailbender SST-50 drop-in
and end of september hopefully my first Ti lights..Quark Tactical 123 n 123x2..
Ooh ... looks like a growing family of lights. What do you use to drive the 2 3D P7s? Were they your own mods?
icaruz76
post Aug 27 2009, 03:39 PM

QUOTE(alantch @ Aug 27 2009, 03:34 PM)
Ooh ... looks like a growing family of lights. What do you use to drive the 2 3D P7s? Were they your own mods?
Both direct drive...heatsink and p7 from britelumens..switch mod by myself..quite straightforward.
using teflon 22g wires..and 3xD Accupower Evolution LSD Nimh from amazon.
pseudoblue
post Aug 27 2009, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(andrewlim8 @ Aug 27 2009, 12:44 PM)
i am new to all these led flash.

anyone tried this ULTRAFIRE WF-501B?  claimed that 245 lumens, is it true? how is this UltraFire as compare to other brand like Fenix, EagleTac?

the price is quite cheap costs less than 100 included battery 18650 n charger.
Hi, I dont have any ultrafire lights, I've read about them though, icaruz and strinq has a point about its quality... But then, you can go ahead and just buy it and give it a test, it runs on an earlier Cree P4 bin LED... post some pics! brows.gif Does the charger and batt comes with it, an Ultrafire charger and protected 18650?

Fenix and Eagletac quality is alot higher though. If you can afford a bigger budget, I recommend these brands. Also not forgetting Quark lights are becoming very popular. We have local dealers for these brands.

If you like along the line of 18650 batts, I can recommend the Fenix TK11 R2, Fenix TA21 which I have experienced.

Other members here can also suggest more since they have more experience with other light brands. I only have Fenix lights and they are great.

hrmm.. the Olight M20 seems to be good as well.. muaha
polkiuj
post Aug 27 2009, 03:53 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(andrewlim8 @ Aug 27 2009, 12:44 PM)
i am new to all these led flash.

anyone tried this ULTRAFIRE WF-501B?  claimed that 245 lumens, is it true? how is this UltraFire as compare to other brand like Fenix, EagleTac?

the price is quite cheap costs less than 100 included battery 18650 n charger.
"claimed that 245 lumens, is it true?" It's probably true, to a point. It might mean that it makes 245 lumens, maximum (or minimum or average) at the emitter. Different manufacturers state brightness differently. The best spec is "minimum or average out the front lumens".

I've never tried this particular light so I dunno but most ultrafires is like a really cheap Fenix or Eagletac. It's made lousier and it can't take water. The plus points are it is easily modded, you can mod it to take water. But modding = cash icon_idea.gif

My personal suggestion: Get an Eagletac P100A2 or P100C2. The awesomest of cheap(ish) lights!!

This post has been edited by polkiuj: Aug 27 2009, 03:56 PM
RookieDaddy
post Aug 27 2009, 03:57 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(icaruz76 @ Aug 27 2009, 03:23 PM)
The build quality is actually very good. the UI control ring makes you wonder why bother with clicky anymore.. the beam is so bright with little artifacts compare to my other MCE/P7 lights. and the best part is you won't feel that much heat after more than 30 mins on high..
thanks smile.gif gosh... now you got me interested... drool.gif wonder how his SST-50/90 performs, is it gonna be >1000 lumens? read his thread yesterday and saw the prototype photo, still liking the current version tint... curious as to whether any neutral/warm tint exist for these SST-50/90.
can't seems to find his thread anymore, everytime I click the searched results, it returns with "No Thread specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator"... shakehead.gif
ArmorFiend
post Aug 27 2009, 04:01 PM

676 posts

strinq, i seldom go into CPF coz it loads prett slow.. dunno why but other forums are pretty fast... And yea, i could use the momentary on/off on the EagleTac P100A2, but strobe is more fun ma, kekee...

Polkiuj, ur right..it's 195 lumen instesd of 225.. and since then i have been EDC on P100A2.. Must be a bit blur after came back from watching Laughing Gor:Turning Point.. :>
icaruz76
post Aug 27 2009, 04:02 PM

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Aug 27 2009, 03:57 PM)
thanks  smile.gif gosh... now you got me interested...  drool.gif wonder how his SST-50/90 performs, is it gonna be >1000 lumens? read his thread yesterday and saw the prototype photo, still liking the current version tint... curious as to whether any neutral/warm tint exist for these SST-50/90.
can't seems to find his thread anymore, everytime I click the searched results, it returns with "No Thread specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator"...  shakehead.gif
just chat with Neo few hrs back..the sst-50 will be driven at 4-4.5A so basically a 1000+ lumens at the emmitter. the sst-90 will be driven at 7A and uses different head from the current Legion II. Price for the sst-50 will be US$248 + US$11 ems to Malaysia. For current user the price will be lower..
pseudoblue
post Aug 27 2009, 04:59 PM

i dont use my lights to whack something..hee..hee. rclxub.gif also have not drop it yet. The build quality is actually very good. the UI control ring makes you wonder why bother with clicky anymore.. the beam is so bright with little artifacts compare to my other MCE/P7 lights. and the best part is you won't feel that much heat after more than 30 mins on high..

by the way if look closer at my pics.. you can see my beater light... battle scar black 3D p7 running on Accupower evolution LSD batts. this thing can last for hrs on high..
Can't see ur pic from here, have to go back and see again smile.gif Saw the review in CPF already, the Legion II is simply superb drool.gif

and the best part is you won't feel that much heat after more than 30 mins on high..

So he was telling the truth in the specs: Ultimate Thermal Management thumbup.gif

Yours is limited or standard? It does looks like the perfect light.. dang
TSNightstalker1993
post Aug 27 2009, 05:35 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Aug 27 2009, 03:53 PM)
"claimed that 245 lumens, is it true?" It's probably true, to a point. It might mean that it makes 245 lumens, maximum (or minimum or average) at the emitter. Different manufacturers state brightness differently. The best spec is "minimum or average out the front lumens".

I've never tried this particular light so I dunno but most ultrafires is like a really cheap Fenix or Eagletac. It's made lousier and it can't take water. The plus points are it is easily modded, you can mod it to take water. But modding = cash icon_idea.gif

My personal suggestion: Get an Eagletac P100A2 or P100C2. The awesomest of cheap(ish) lights!!
speaking of p100a2, mine broke. haha

in CC now, home internet got problem, can't post any photos.

i think philightsophy got some photos, i'll wait for him to post.

got into a quarrel with my bro, got mad and threw the p100a2 full force onto the ground and the head snapped off.

no worries, according to phil, i'm getting a new head unit under warranty rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

he told eagletac that i dropped it from 4th floor, yet still can claim warranty. sweat.gif

the part that snapped off is kinda a weak point, once you see the photos, you'll understand.

now i understood why ET made a MkII for the T100c2 with the thicker head unit.

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Aug 27 2009, 05:37 PM
strinq
post Aug 27 2009, 05:39 PM

602 posts

i think the mkII only has a thicker bezel or the bezel teeth.
TSNightstalker1993
post Aug 27 2009, 05:43 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

ah yeah, thats the word. bezel.

kept using 'head unit' instead sweat.gif
icaruz76
post Aug 27 2009, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Aug 27 2009, 04:59 PM)
Can't see ur pic from here, have to go back and see again smile.gif Saw the review in CPF already, the Legion II is simply superb drool.gif
So he was telling the truth in the specs: Ultimate Thermal Management  thumbup.gif

Yours is limited or standard? It does looks like the perfect light.. dang
mine is standard..the premium is a failure because of the 7075 Al body..
damonlbs
post Aug 27 2009, 05:48 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 27 2009, 05:35 PM)
speaking of p100a2, mine broke. haha

in CC now, home internet got problem, can't post any photos.

i think philightsophy got some photos, i'll wait for him to post.

got into a quarrel with my bro, got mad and threw the p100a2 full force onto the ground and the head snapped off.

who told you to throw it on the floor?, ur suppose to throw ur eagletac at him laugh.gif

strinq
post Aug 27 2009, 06:29 PM

602 posts

actually yeah...i'm picturing you throwing the light on the floor and it doesn't look right...
TSNightstalker1993
post Aug 27 2009, 06:30 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

oh well, thank god my diffuser cap was on the light, else it'll damage the floor tiles. if that happens, my mom's gonna kill me laugh.gif
RookieDaddy
post Aug 27 2009, 07:40 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 27 2009, 06:30 PM)
if that happens, my mom's gonna kill me laugh.gif
errrrr... with what? M2X-'C4'? brows.gif
Philightsophy
post Aug 27 2009, 09:41 PM

Hi andrewlim8,

If you prefer a light which is programmable and offer good quality, you can try out Quarks too. Speak to polkiuj about it, he will be able to assist you smile.gif .There are other brands too, but I do not have personal experience with them.
What is important is that you purchase a light that you prefer or like. We are quite fortunate to have various brands available to us to choose, so getting a favorite light is easier smile.gif

Added on August 27, 2009, 9:43 pm
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 27 2009, 06:30 PM)
oh well, thank god my diffuser cap was on the light, else it'll damage the floor tiles. if that happens, my mom's gonna kill me laugh.gif
Your mum might not kill you, but I will! Haha!
The "temporary head" is on its way tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Philightsophy: Aug 27 2009, 09:43 PM
sniper69
post Aug 27 2009, 10:50 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

another member came into my flashlight family blush.gif

Tiablo A10-G

126 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:11 PM