The Bright Side V2, Night! Lights! Action!

polkiuj
post Nov 29 2009, 12:26 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Nov 27 2009, 10:42 PM)
yup, it's interchangeable. not only the tail cap is bigger (better and more solid grip), but mid-section body is also thicker. Overall, it feels more solid than any previous Quark release.  smile.gif
but unlike previous Quark release, this Turbo tail thread is anodized...  hmm.gif
I'm so happy. The Turbo feels GOOD in the hand! Haha! Yes, I like solidly built lights. =D
BTW, only the 1st batches of Quark tailcaps are not anodized. The later batches are all anodized.

The Turbo's reflector is really something. I tried using an optic (magnifying glass) to focus the die and this light throws FURTHER or about the same as the projected die! Either the reflector is really crazy or the X-PG's surface brightness is nowhere near the X-R/PE

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Nov 28 2009, 12:58 AM)
Wow, so it's really better than the original Quarks huh, good news  thumbup.gif

Btw Polkiuj, did the PREONS arrived together?  vmad.gif tongue.gif

Turbo's brighter coz it's an XPG LED. Better efficiency as it requires lesser vf (forward voltage), but drawing the same amount of current, the XPG gives more light than XPE. It also has a smooth reflector, so the hotspot may be abit more intense lor. David said it's only 5%, but sounds like it's more than the eye could compare biggrin.gif
It's not really "better" but serves a different purpose. Now I'm wondering how's the Mealstrom is different from the Turbo. My guess is that it is driven harder!! Woot woot!!

Only the Ti Preons are here. Alu's on the way. Black will ship soon. =(

BTW, the Preons are really nice!!!! Sorry, I really like them!! Hehe!

QUOTE(strinq @ Nov 28 2009, 03:56 PM)
mmm, what do u guys think the maelstrom's price will be?

Me:

MC-e - USD85
XP-G - USD80

I would choose the flooder as i already have nice throw lights.
I just hope they can max the output to at least 500 lumens. But probably ~400 i guess.
90? Lol. I dunno which to choose!!!! =(
I'm guessing over 600 lumens for the MC-E. It is 18650 after all.
polkiuj
post Nov 30 2009, 05:18 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(surefire v LED @ Nov 30 2009, 04:04 PM)
My Turbo Quark is fxxx  vmad.gif
Dirty inside the lens and the circuit is loose  vmad.gif
This one is going back to 4sevens  vmad.gif
I hope this is not on going quality issue from the Quark series  grumble.gif
But the beam is ok (still not satisfied) very bright on 2AA/1x14500/1x17670.
So sorry to hear about that man. But I'm sure 47's will make it all right with you. The Turbo's which I have received were OK.

QUOTE(surefire v LED @ Nov 30 2009, 04:14 PM)
no need E2DL,this one (Quark Turbo ) really pump out more than 200lumens OTF biggrin.gif
The only direct competitor that can match the Quark Turbo in term of brightness is the L-Mini with Turbo head smile.gif

Haha! E2DL has a bigger hotspot (I think). These things should pump out a minimum of 230 lumens OTF. If we follow CREE's specs (and if 47's did not underrate them), output of these should be 230 - 245 lumens OTF.

A Quark Ti was recently tested 240 OTF.

But there is one which is greater than these though. Eagletac T10 series pumps out in excess of 250 lumens OTF.

Now we wait for the Maelstrom. =D

On a side note, I've noticed something interesting. There is no real donut hole. When I check with a digital color meter of your beamshot, everything is even on the Turbo! Could it be our eyes playing tricks??

BTW, rookiedaddy is right! The tailcap threads is anodized!! O.o!! The ones on the body. That means no changing positions of the clip unless you want a 1 mode light. =D

This post has been edited by polkiuj: Nov 30 2009, 05:22 PM
polkiuj
post Dec 2 2009, 01:29 PM

337 posts

SST-50 should be a worse thrower than XP-G since it has a huge die after all. But the lumens it juices out... drool.gif

Gah! Shoot!! Why am I poor... =(
polkiuj
post Dec 3 2009, 10:30 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(ApPLePiNe @ Dec 2 2009, 06:21 PM)

Added on December 2, 2009, 7:14 pmHey they only have the 30mw ones.. and selling for rm90 ++ kinda costly.. biggrin.gif
They have a 50 mW one powered by 18650. It's kinda scary but probably not as scary as the 100mW you were planning, if it's really 100mW. =D

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Dec 3 2009, 09:00 AM)
Maelstrom News!!

QUOTE(4sevens)
Hi everybody

Due to various reasons, we have decided to move the entire Maelstrom line to be released at the Shot Show in 2010 (January 19-22). One of the main reasons is that we felt that further testing and validation of the products are needed to ensure they perform above and beyond in extreme and tactical environments. We felt that releasing it at the shot show is more appropriate and it also saves us from rushing a product without all the thorough testing that requires lots of time.

I apologize to those who were anticipating these lights for holiday season - at least now you're not waiting in anticipation.

The last two releases have been set for the last day of the year - we may release them a few days earlier depending on when the product will roll in.

Since it's the end of one year and the beginning of a new year we wanted to try something new - release a product when have it on hand and ready to ship

I will not say anything else about these two releases until then - please don't ask 
http://www.cpfmarketplace.com/mp/showthread.php?t=206401

Well, better to have a properly tested and designed product eh.
Nooooooo... So far away!! Oh wee. At least dun need to be worried about shipping during christmas. =D Hopefully it'll be beyond expectations or it will really be sad. =D

By the way the Turbo looks and feels, I think it will be beyond expectations. =D
polkiuj
post Dec 3 2009, 11:08 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Dec 3 2009, 10:55 AM)
speaking of dead of light....my brand new [ never even used it before ] EagleTac T20C2 die premature.. mad.gif  doh.gif after changing the reflector....send to my sifu, Dannie also can't revive it.....no choice but have to send it back to ET.....no more ET for me  vmad.gif
yes sir... nod.gif
This is one of the reasons I dun like un-potted lights. Too easy to kill it.

ET's earlier lights have been really good though (after they fixed all issues). =D

polkiuj
post Dec 3 2009, 02:07 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(susuman @ Dec 3 2009, 11:45 AM)
What you mean by un-potted?

btw, have a good news to you, I had removed the scratches from the Qaurk 123 Ti, hehe, using the metal polish I told you (Autosol Metal Polish, about RM8 from hardware store), I can easily remove them in just few minutes. drool.gif

The preon also easily get scratches (why ah, I tot Titanium is very hard), I got some scratches already 1-2 hours in my pocket (with a pen). But it can be removed again, with the polish I use.

But the worse part is the clip, it scratch the body when I turn it, there are some marks that are too "deep" can be felt by the touch can not be removed cry:  . So I open the clip, to bend it a bit, so it won't touch the body any more.
Un-potted means not sealed. Where you can open the head and access the bare LED and/or reflector and/or driver. It's good in a way but bad in most ways. Eg. Dust get in easily, almost impossible to remove completely without tools.

Ti is hard but not like Diamond, Sapphire crystal or Type III anodizing. And not to mention, it's polished to mirror finish so it shows it's scratches easily.

I use Meguiar's metal polish exclusively cos it smells awesome and works great.

Dun need to ben it. just make the scratch the whole round so it looks like part of the light. Then dunnit to worry anymore. =D

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Dec 3 2009, 11:52 AM)
using hand to polish or a drill...? will it be better using polishing compound?
Use hand mostly. Drill only if you're trying to create a new surface. Best to use the least abrasive compound. Takes longer but saves you metal.

QUOTE(susuman @ Dec 3 2009, 12:05 PM)
Using hand, oh, mush use a soft cloth (dont use toilet paper or tissue paper, it will scratch even more), put some polishing compound (the Autosol Metal Polish), and polish it, can use a bit force but not too much, try to feel it.

Soft cloth I use is old T-shirt.

pikachu told me all Quark Ti has the scratch mark near the head/ the laser engraving of the serial number, this one can removed with above method in just few minutes.

so pikachu, should let the buyer of your Quark to use it, and the brand you bought in ACE is what liao, I forgot, that one maybe not suitable for Titanium??

Superman save the Ti, ooops Susuman actually.
Not all, just all the 123^2 that I've received. Others not like that. =(

polkiuj
post Dec 3 2009, 05:12 PM

337 posts

Wow! You guys are crazily awesome!

QUOTE(susuman @ Dec 3 2009, 03:46 PM)
Good idea wor,  rclxms.gif I wonder anyone actually do that?
Got. I got the idea from CPF hahaha!
polkiuj
post Dec 4 2009, 09:30 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Dec 3 2009, 06:56 PM)
You're in the list smile.gif What lights will you be bringing Chieftat?
Btw, this Saturday 5th Dec, I plan to go to KD Trail and check the place out, analyze the location and condition. Anyone wanna go with me?

If I have company we can go at night brows.gif If I'm alone, I'll go there in the evening then. Reply yeah smile.gif
I wanna go!! What time you think is OK?

Let me know. Hehe. Hope I can make it. =D

Congrats on the GB!! I see Gwen got new toy soon! =D Yay!!

This post has been edited by polkiuj: Dec 4 2009, 09:39 AM
polkiuj
post Dec 4 2009, 10:03 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Dec 4 2009, 09:58 AM)
Ahh good good, since you are familiar with the place. Wanna go at night? brows.gif Dinner together, 8.30-9pm? We can probably go together, you're in Subang right? Or meet you there also can.
Of course at night. Evening would be boring. Bring 1 *ehem* "tactical light" just in case yea?. =D

Meet there better. I'm in Sri Damansara on weekends but dunno where I'll be la. Lol. I'll confirm with you whether I can or not tomorrow k? =D =D =D

Hope my new light arrives and works properly whistling.gif

This post has been edited by polkiuj: Dec 4 2009, 10:05 AM

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0197sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:57 PM