126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

The Bright Side V2, Night! Lights! Action!

TSNightstalker1993
post Aug 21 2009, 02:03 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Ti weighs about the same, if not lighter, than alu. Reason why they use it in aircraft is coz though its light, its pretty darn strong!
justin78
post Aug 21 2009, 09:24 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Aug 21 2009, 01:38 AM)
Could be also because of the light engine, the sapphire lens and all that. It's much more solid than any other light I have. Plus, do remember it has to be just as tough, or tougher than the other Ra Lights.
Put the weight factor aside, I am sure this Ti Ra Clicky will impress you and sure it will impress the other.
Talk about impress, hey bro, when can we come out to have a TT session and then you may show me your new toy? brows.gif
Zen|th
post Aug 21 2009, 09:33 AM

Hey Justin78,

Im no sir... Haha. Actually I didnt mod the mag myself. Its from user surefire v LED.

If im not mistaken it is the Edison KLC8 or Michael Jordan. But I heard it was pretty easy. Just swap it in and will give ya 100 lumens for about 4 hrs...

Not as bright as eagletacs or fenixes but hey, it's american made! haha
polkiuj
post Aug 21 2009, 09:49 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(ray2ray @ Aug 20 2009, 02:56 PM)
wow, discussion on other non-sf topics get a couple responses in a day or more. start one on sf & we get dozens of posts in hours! i shud 'batu api' more sf topics eh? haha, jus kidding.

fwiw, i do not doubt sf build quality. i own a 6p & love it to bits. i doubt i'll get an m6 bcos its too expensive (bloke gear says rm1500+) & can probably get a similar throw performance from a dbs, tiablo or ET. once again, this is my opinion only...ymmv

+ 1 armorFiend

the argument for/against AA's vs CR123 has been discussed on cpf, go look it up. it basically boils down to personal preference imho. as a newbie im currently on AA's its more easily accessible, even tho im planning to try out rechargeables for the always topped-up cells option (turbo high on all the time no issues haha).

btw, i have an E01 (sorry walter, i broke my promise lol, couldn't resist) as well & i love it . purple beam aside, its small, light, long-running & good enough for most situations, as a soldier attests on the cpf thread.
Tsk tsk Ray... =D

QUOTE(refnulf @ Aug 20 2009, 06:21 PM)
Titanium Ra Clicky arrived today. It's gorgeous!
Oh gosh! I gotta see it!!!!!!!!!!!

QUOTE(z-b-i @ Aug 20 2009, 06:25 PM)
Enjoy it!

Please compare it to your Lummis, and post some pictures...
QUOTE(refnulf @ Aug 20 2009, 06:41 PM)
I don't have any Lummis.
Haha! Erm.. Sorry. Din mean to laugh out loud...

QUOTE(justin78 @ Aug 21 2009, 12:02 AM)
Eiks, this is rather strange, because Titanium is consider the lighter metal as they are used to built the Airplan because of the lighter characteristic.
Even my titanium watch are much much more lighter the my stainless steel watch.
Maybe the technology that Ra Clicky used to built the flashlight is very much different than the other?  wink.gif
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 21 2009, 02:03 AM)
Ti weighs about the same, if not lighter, than alu. Reason why they use it in aircraft is coz though its light, its pretty darn strong!
Here is where I correct you guys!! Mwahaha!!

Pure titanium is over 60% more dense than pure aluminum. That means that for the same amount of material, Ti is over 60% heavier!! So please clear the misconception that Ti is lighter. But it is around twice as strong.

The Ti and Alu used in flashlights are not pure. They are an alloy. Commonly called "aircraft grade" Usually the Alu used is either 6061 (alloyed with mainly silicon and magnesium, easier to machine) or 7075 (alloyed with mainly zinc, stronger). Ti would usually be 3Al-2.5V (alloyed mainly with 3%alu, 2.5% vanadium) or 6Al-4V (alloyed with mainly 3%alu, 2.5% vanadium).

Ti alloy is usually as strong as SS but half the weight. It is also usually twice as strong as Alu alloys but double the weight.
rclxub.gif

RookieDaddy
post Aug 21 2009, 10:12 AM

160 posts

haha... polkiuj, thanks... that does "clear" things up a bit... rclxub.gif now where is my panadol... sweat.gif

btw, any new development on 4Sevens' MC-E?

This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: Aug 21 2009, 10:16 AM
refnulf
post Aug 21 2009, 10:37 AM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

QUOTE(justin78 @ Aug 21 2009, 09:24 AM)
Put the weight factor aside, I am sure this Ti Ra Clicky will impress you and sure it will impress the other.
Talk about impress, hey bro, when can we come out to have a TT session and then you may show me your new toy?  brows.gif
Sure Justin, I'll call you!

Philightsophy
post Aug 21 2009, 12:46 PM

QUOTE(refnulf @ Aug 21 2009, 01:38 AM)
Could be also because of the light engine, the sapphire lens and all that. It's much more solid than any other light I have. Plus, do remember it has to be just as tough, or tougher than the other Ra Lights.
Man, that's one sexy light smile.gif
I am assuming that is will be tougher than the standard lights (as if they need more toughness tongue.gif ).
I will be looking forward to your light, but not that soon because my left forefoot is sprained. I am supposed to be in PJ now but I am resting at home instead whistling.gif
refnulf
post Aug 21 2009, 01:17 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

QUOTE(Philightsophy @ Aug 21 2009, 12:46 PM)
Man, that's one sexy light  smile.gif
I am assuming that is will be tougher than the standard lights (as if they need more toughness  tongue.gif ).
I will be looking forward to your light, but not that soon because my left forefoot is sprained. I am supposed to be in PJ now but I am resting at home instead  whistling.gif
Yeah, we could have met up or something if you came down (gathering!) but we'll wait for you to fully recover.

It is a nice light. Best thing is that it's upgradable.

ArmorFiend
post Aug 21 2009, 11:01 PM

676 posts

QUOTE(NtahX @ Aug 20 2009, 04:32 PM)
anyone know where i can find this

1 WATT AA MAGLITE LED BULB and IQ SWITCH by NITE IZE

mini maglite upgrade kit in MY? anybody selling besides ebay.. or any other upgrade available for Mini Mag AA?

advice are welcomed - Thanks smile.gif
Hi bro,
I dunno how much is the maglite LED bulb, but i think it's not worth investing in coz i have the 3xAAA LED Mini Mag and seriously, its kinda disappointing.... i would suggest u to get other brand of LED light...

And btw, i have a LED by Nite Ize for 2xAA mini mag..and it's jst as bright as Energizer's keychain LED...nothing to should about..and considering i purchase them from Ebay US, it's kinda pricey and not worth while... In fact, i bought 2 pairs..with one still in it's sealed blister. If you're interested, i could sell them to you, hehee...though seriously, i dont recommend them.. It s not bright enough to be useful...
zainalklj
post Aug 22 2009, 10:26 PM

17 posts

wah no new post for almost 24hours. Everybody is puasa and keeping quiet, sleeping!!!

Where can we get holder for 18650 and RCR123 battery for safe storage and transporation. If I balik kampung, normally I carry all my rechargeable batterries with me, and keep them inside my backpack. I am not sure it is safe doing that with all those close to a dozen 18650 Lithium-ion and another half dozen RCR123. I do believe Renulf with 1 dozen of 18650 for the Kong alone might have a better solution for storage.

This post has been edited by zainalklj: Aug 22 2009, 10:53 PM
RookieDaddy
post Aug 22 2009, 10:57 PM

160 posts

not sure about 18650 as I carry them either in lights or plastic zipper bag, but for CR123A/RCR123 there are a couple of safe options:
- Surefire SC1
- Get the Eagletac battery magazine from our local EagleTac man... Philightsophy
- Get the Lock&Lock storage box
- store in Dequadin tube (this tips learn from one cpfer... from SG I think... )

For AAs, you can get the Uniross 4-cells battery case from Best Denki (I got mine from 1U), or, use the protective case that comes with Eneloop.

EDIT: found the thread from cpf... How do you carry spare batteries
I think Pelican case with pre-cut foam for the battery is best... but price is high... (ya... ya... i know the Surefire SC1 is more expensive, i must be high on Lithium battery poison when buying it... doh.gif )

This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: Aug 22 2009, 11:21 PM
justin78
post Aug 22 2009, 11:18 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(zainalklj @ Aug 22 2009, 10:26 PM)
wah no new post for almost 24hours. Everybody is puasa and keeping quiet, sleeping!!!

Where can we get holder for 18650 and RCR123 battery for safe storage and transporation. If I balik kampung, normally I carry all my rechargeable batterries with me, and keep them inside my backpack. I am not sure it is safe doing that with all those close to a dozen 18650 Lithium-ion and another half dozen RCR123. I do believe Renulf with 1 dozen of 18650 for the Kong alone might have a better solution for storage.
Yoh bro, just go to the supermarket store to buy yourself a tupperware, brands such as the locknlock produce quality plastic tupperware, I personally put my batteries there.
Some more, you can choose the size that you like. icon_rolleyes.gif

You may put some sponge into the tupperware to prevent those batteries rolling when traveling.

This post has been edited by justin78: Aug 22 2009, 11:20 PM
refnulf
post Aug 22 2009, 11:29 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

Right now I've got 27 x 18650 batteries. If I travel with them, I keep 12 of the batteries in the Kong. The other 3 in the Maglite and 4 in the Ellie 2. I have another 8 which I install into 2 extra battery holder for the Ellie 2 (which keeps them apart). Other alternatives are plastic cases which fit the 18650. You can ask Justin to confirm which ones he uses. He has hundreds of those batteries all kept for sale, etc.

If I'm at home, I just stand the batteries up in the cupboard next to the light. I don't leave them in, I'm afraid they might blow up or something.

EDIT: Too late, Justin already answered tongue.gif Haha.

This post has been edited by refnulf: Aug 22 2009, 11:30 PM
ray2ray
post Aug 22 2009, 11:38 PM

QUOTE(zainalklj @ Aug 22 2009, 11:26 PM)

thinking wat flashlight to buy next... hmm.gif
refnulf
post Aug 22 2009, 11:47 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

I know I've said this before, but if I plan to buy anymore lights. Please stop me!

andrewlim8
post Aug 23 2009, 12:01 AM

29 posts

hi all sifu here,

i am new to led torch, if my budget is below RM200, and i want a torch which can give the most throw n brightness, which one will u all suggest?

thanks!
RookieDaddy
post Aug 23 2009, 02:49 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(andrewlim8 @ Aug 23 2009, 12:01 AM)
if my budget is below RM200, and i want a torch which can give the most throw n brightness
EagleTac T100C2 MKII. Get it from Philightsophy here in LYN. page 1 of this thread has his information you need.

QUOTE(refnulf @ Aug 22 2009, 11:47 PM)
I know I've said this before, but if I plan to buy anymore lights. Please stop me!
Yep... you should stop buying anymore LED lights, and start planning for upgrades:
- bug Wayne for SST-90 or CSM-360 upgrade
- Ti Ra could really use more XP-G power!
Now... about that HID light... ... ... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: Aug 23 2009, 03:31 AM
refnulf
post Aug 23 2009, 10:51 AM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Aug 23 2009, 02:49 AM)
EagleTac T100C2 MKII. Get it from Philightsophy here in LYN. page 1 of this thread has his information you need.
Yep... you should stop buying anymore LED lights, and start planning for upgrades:
- bug Wayne for SST-90 or CSM-360 upgrade
- Ti Ra could really use more XP-G power!
Now... about that HID light... ... ...  sweat.gif
Nah man, that's enough. Nothing needs upgrades. The Ras' use the current emitter because its alot more efficient than any other emitter out there for what it wants.

nexro
post Aug 23 2009, 11:27 PM

Bright Lights
2,705 posts

you can use another light to carry the spare cell.
that way, not only you have spare batteries, you also have a backup light smile.gif

you can also get the pelican 1010 or larger case with pick n pluck foam.
andrewlim8
post Aug 23 2009, 11:28 PM

29 posts

[quote=RookieDaddy,Aug 23 2009, 02:49 AM]

thanks for your info !

126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:26 PM