Stock Market V37: Return of the Bull, Part V, Bull vs. Bear

danmooncake
post Aug 11 2009, 01:48 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Aug 11 2009, 01:24 AM)
I think it is circumstantial, relating those events to the fact after it had happened.
I mean, it is a bit like reading  yesterday's horoscope and said that yes, maybe the things written in the horoscope is right
because some things happened just like what the horoscope said it would. More like you read it and you find an event in your life that day that is the same as what the horoscope said.

The list shows some 4 events about the market crash in September. In the other years, surely there have been other months where market have crashed, wasn't it ? I believe that if one is to chart the time the market slides, one would know that the market can crash at any months, and that in the course of the decades, the months where the market could have crashed would be the same, whether it be September, or any other months smile.gif

That brings to mind, the great depression, 1924, did it start on September as well ?
I believe everything happens for a reason. If stock market bubble got too big, it will burst and deflate itself.
Perhaps they cycle in a semi-predictable range and as a result, the downturn almost always happen in the second half of year.

No, US depression didn't start in 1924. 1924 still booming. The stock market crashed in 1929 (October) but 6 months after that, they had false bear rally, big downturn followed by massive unemployment. Their economy didn't recover until after World War 2. War always seems to bring back recovery after massive destruction. If there is going to be another massive downturn, perhaps we need to see war, to completely destroy all wealth and world economy in order to see phoenix rise again.

Are you guys prepare for the worst? brows.gif

Update:
The bears came out and did some clawing.. All 3 indices closed red.
Hope to see more downturn towards the rest of the week. brows.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Aug 11 2009, 05:18 AM
mynewuser
post Aug 11 2009, 06:37 AM

2,549 posts

Only minibear.
jasontoh
post Aug 11 2009, 08:11 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 11 2009, 01:48 AM)
I believe everything happens for a reason.  If stock market bubble got too big, it will burst and deflate itself.
Perhaps they cycle in a semi-predictable range and as a result, the downturn almost always happen in the second half of year. 

No, US depression didn't start in 1924. 1924 still booming. The stock market crashed in 1929 (October) but 6 months after that, they had false bear rally, big downturn followed by massive unemployment. Their economy didn't recover until after World War 2.  War always seems to bring back recovery after massive destruction. If there is going to be another massive downturn, perhaps we need to see war, to completely destroy all wealth and world economy in order to see phoenix rise again. 

Are you guys prepare for the worst?  brows.gif
Update:
The bears came out and did some clawing..  All 3 indices closed red.
Hope to see more downturn towards the rest of the week.  brows.gif
Well, I'm prepared. Besides, I dun buy for contra or short term. So now waiting for correction so that at least I can accumulate. Else I can only see the stock price goes higher each day
SKY 1809
post Aug 11 2009, 08:21 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 11 2009, 01:48 AM)
I believe everything happens for a reason.  If stock market bubble got too big, it will burst and deflate itself.

No, US depression didn't start in 1924. 1924 still booming. The stock market crashed in 1929 (October) but 6 months after that, they had false bear rally, big downturn followed by massive unemployment. Their economy didn't recover until after World War 2.  War always seems to bring back recovery after massive destruction. If there is going to be another massive downturn, perhaps we need to see war, to completely destroy all wealth and world economy in order to see phoenix rise again. 

Are you guys prepare for the worst?  brows.gif
Update:
The bears came out and did some clawing..  All 3 indices closed red.
Hope to see more downturn towards the rest of the week.   brows.gif
Potential to be the next Nobel Prize Winner. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on August 11, 2009, 8:29 am" Prof Krugman, Nobel Laureate and professor of economics at Princeton University"

He is the man suggested the currency control way back in 1997. Now back in Malaysia. He makes a lot sense all this while. Highly respected person.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 11 2009, 08:34 AM
edwardlow
post Aug 11 2009, 08:39 AM

159 posts

Morning...Haha, juz found out the LYN's market rate for 1 set of Genting Voucher is RM50. Additional dividend from Genting / Resort..LOL
laugh.gif maybe one should spoil the market.. sell cheap @ RM 30.
btw chyaw, have u gotten ur vouchers??
danmooncake
post Aug 11 2009, 08:48 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 11 2009, 08:21 AM)

Added on August 11, 2009, 8:29 am" Prof Krugman, Nobel Laureate and professor of economics at Princeton University"
He is the man suggested the currency control way back in 1997. Now back in Malaysia. He makes a lot sense all this while. Highly respected person.
He did? I thought it was Mahathir's original idea... LOL!!

But, now he's saying that the world economy needs the second stimulus. hmm.gif

On the conspiracy minded side, I am suspecting he's part of PPT, employed by the secret US Dept of Treasury aka previously known as OWGMF (Obama Working Group on Financial Market). His job is to provide prophecy and publish books to cloud the world that the end is not near as long as you trust your govt and of course, read his book. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Aug 11 2009, 09:04 AM
SKY 1809
post Aug 11 2009, 08:54 AM

23,851 posts

Why Bursa in Orange ?

Added on August 11, 2009, 9:03 amfajar is Leng Chai today

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 11 2009, 09:03 AM
panasonic88
post Aug 11 2009, 09:03 AM

37,028 posts

what orange?
espree
post Aug 11 2009, 09:03 AM

1,214 posts

good morning..
! Love Money
post Aug 11 2009, 09:05 AM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

gbh updown like hell...
SKY 1809
post Aug 11 2009, 09:06 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Aug 11 2009, 09:03 AM)
what orange?
One hour suspension ?

Added on August 11, 2009, 9:08 am
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 11 2009, 08:48 AM)
He did? I thought it was Mahathir's original idea... LOL!!

But, now he's saying that the world economy needs the second stimulus.   hmm.gif

On the conspiracy minded side, I am suspecting he's part of PPT, employed by the secret US Dept of Treasury aka previously known as OWGMF (Obama Working Group on Financial Market). His job is to provide prophecy and publish books to cloud the world that the end is not near as long as you trust your govt and of course, read his book.   biggrin.gif
If he got magic to make CI to go up to 2000pts, I do not really mind.

Market is about Hope and Fear.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 11 2009, 09:10 AM
chyaw
post Aug 11 2009, 09:12 AM

7,176 posts

I don't think I'll ever get those vouchers...
And I'm lazy to call and listen to those office blah blah blah and end up still can't get the vouchers...

QUOTE(edwardlow @ Aug 11 2009, 08:39 AM)
Morning...Haha, juz found out the LYN's market rate for 1 set of Genting Voucher is RM50. Additional dividend from Genting / Resort..LOL
laugh.gif maybe one should spoil the market.. sell cheap @ RM 30.
btw chyaw, have u gotten ur vouchers??
SKY 1809
post Aug 11 2009, 09:15 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(chyaw @ Aug 11 2009, 09:12 AM)
I don't think I'll ever get those vouchers...
And I'm lazy to call and listen to those office blah blah blah and end up still can't get the vouchers...
Ya lah, it may spoil your mood to make 9k a day. icon_rolleyes.gif
dEviLs
post Aug 11 2009, 09:18 AM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

Bursa suspended biggrin.gif

11 Aug 2009
BURSA MALAYSIA, CME GROUP TO ESTABLISH STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIP IN DERIVATIVES MARKETS

KUALA LUMPUR 11 AUGUST/CHICAGO 10 AUGUST, 2009 - In line with the Prime Minister of Malaysia, Dato' Sri Najib Tun Abdul Razak's acknowledgement on Bursa Malaysia Berhad's (Bursa Malaysia) cooperative efforts with CME Group Inc (CME Group) to develop a robust derivatives market, the two exchanges announced today that they are working towards a collaboration involving trade matching services, product licensing and minor cross-equity investments. The CME Group equity stake will relate to Bursa Malaysia's derivatives business. Specific terms will be announced at a later date. Both parties announced that this initiative is subject to regulatory approval.

With this strategic partnership, CME Group will use Bursa Malaysia's RM-denominated CPO futures contract (FCPO) settlement prices, which will enable CME Group to develop a USD-denominated cash-settled CPO futures contract and its related options for listing on one of CME Group's US registered exchanges. This product is expected to be traded on CME Globex, which is CME Group's electronic trading platform.

Dato' Yusli Mohamed Yusoff, Chief Executive Officer of Bursa Malaysia, said, "The proposed collaboration is not only timely but also necessary as it would contribute to the overall growth of the Malaysian capital market. It is also aimed at globalising the Malaysian crude palm oil (CPO) futures market. Consequently, part of this proposed collaboration will enable Bursa Malaysia Derivatives to list its derivatives products on CME Globex. Through this collaboration, we expect the resulting expertise and knowledge transfer to further facilitate our goal for a robust derivatives exchange."

"This initiative, when implemented, will enable our customers from other markets to access Bursa Malaysia's derivatives markets and products on CME Globex, the leading and most widely distributed electronic trading platform in the world, further demonstrating our flexibility to operate in multiple jurisdictions for the benefit of customers worldwide," said Terry Duffy, Executive Chairman of CME Group.

"Our proposed strategic partnership with Bursa Malaysia will further enhance our globalisation efforts by facilitating our customers' efficient access to Bursa Malaysia's important markets," said Craig Donohue, Chief Executive Officer of CME Group. "This proposed partnership will allow us to continue to expand our transaction processing business opportunities, increase our presence in Asia as well as help our Malaysian partners grow their business."

This post has been edited by dEviLs: Aug 11 2009, 09:21 AM
chyaw
post Aug 11 2009, 09:19 AM

7,176 posts

I may get $9K paper gain a day and can also lose $10K paper gain a day. So, it is nothing to shout about. smile.gif

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 11 2009, 09:15 AM)
Ya lah, it may spoil your mood to make 9k a day. icon_rolleyes.gif
jacktai
post Aug 11 2009, 09:23 AM

339 posts

today not a good opening day... Hopefully afternoon all will become green... =.=
panasonic88
post Aug 11 2009, 09:28 AM

37,028 posts

oh Bursa trading halted.

anyway, my Sealink back to 80 sens rclxms.gif
zamans98
post Aug 11 2009, 09:28 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

Finally after many years. SEALINK back @ 0.80 level smile.gif

Added on August 11, 2009, 9:31 amsold half at 0.82 - my ABP.

dun see market recovering soon. With the cash, will reload at low

This post has been edited by zamans98: Aug 11 2009, 09:31 AM
panasonic88
post Aug 11 2009, 09:31 AM

37,028 posts

hehe so kua cheong, not that "many years" la tongue.gif

oh my! my slutty stock is kena goreng!
SKY 1809
post Aug 11 2009, 09:34 AM