116 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Bottom

Bluray Players ~ V2, Profile 1.1 ~ 2.0 ~ BD-Live ~ Mutimedia

ronaldkwok
post Oct 1 2011, 08:58 PM

656 posts

This Sony BDP-S380 at RM299 must be the best buy for a BD player now. The advantage of this over other brands is that the DVD part is not region locked so you can play Region 1 DVD that comes with your Region A BD if you purchase from Amazon USA. Other BD players are locked to Region 3 for DVD. The BD part is still locked to Region A though, just like the rest. If you are looking for an entry level BD player, look no further. thumbup.gif
47ronin
post Oct 2 2011, 08:40 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(Pok Leh @ Oct 1 2011, 11:47 AM)
Was at the shop just now..i bought the 12th unit..11 more to go till tomorrow..

Added on October 1, 2011, 8:05 pm

no problem with 1080p mkv..at all..

too bad it's not a media server..
yes, no DLNA, that's the weakness against S370.

Added on October 2, 2011, 8:45 am
QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 1 2011, 10:33 AM)
Can Read Fat32 and NTFS, but what Video or Audio format can it play? MP3 . Xvid only ?
read manual page 25 for your answer:-

http://www.docs.sony.com/release/BDPS380.pdf

read this:-

http://www.avforums.com/forums/blu-ray-dvd...s-over-usb.html

CODE
I have now tested it and the USB ports (both of them) now support NTFS.
Played a couple of 8GB MKV files with DTS and DTSHD and both worked fine from a 1TB attached USB disk. Even got sound from the TV with no home cinema system.
No mention is made of NTFS support in any of the manuals so I wasn't expecting it to work.

This post has been edited by 47ronin: Oct 2 2011, 08:45 AM
Evoque
post Oct 2 2011, 12:09 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(aavth65 @ Sep 30 2011, 10:52 AM)
I just bought a Sony BDP-S380 at RM299 from Sony Centre @ Gardens.

They are having a re-opening promotion for 1st 20 customers from today to Sunday.

Also on sale for 1st 20 customers is the Bravia KDL-40CX520 40" LCD TV at RM1699.
Bro, thanks for ur info. I bought 3 units just now in the Garden. As of I left on 11am, they left
With 4 units. They hv balance of 7 units from yesterday.
Skylinestar
post Oct 2 2011, 12:27 PM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

I just bought one. Balance is 1.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Oct 2 2011, 12:28 PM
Evoque
post Oct 2 2011, 01:30 PM

20 posts

This model not bad as I can see better picture quality from DVD disc on my hd plasma tv. My next would be getting a 50 inch plasma full hd.
sdcc
post Oct 2 2011, 01:48 PM

wow!!, that was fast, i was there at 1030 hrs today, they only left 4 units.!!!!

aavth65
post Oct 2 2011, 03:45 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Evoque @ Oct 2 2011, 12:09 PM)
Bro, thanks for ur info. I bought 3 units just now in the Garden. As of I left on 11am, they left
With 4 units. They hv balance of 7 units from yesterday.
Very glad to hear from all those who bought and benefited from the offer.

Enjoy your purchase.
jimbet1337
post Oct 2 2011, 05:21 PM

meh
2,672 posts

Anyone here using Panasonic DMP-BD75? How does it fare with Sony BDP-S380 in terms of Blu-ray playback? both PQ & AQ?

I don't mind about playing media files (divx, mkv etc) or DVD playback.

Only Blu-ray.
Pok Leh
post Oct 2 2011, 06:14 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(47ronin @ Oct 2 2011, 08:40 AM)

S370 can play video(mkv) via home network?

ps: I now have to look for external HDD with network capability..

Added on October 2, 2011, 6:22 pm
QUOTE(Evoque @ Oct 2 2011, 01:30 PM)
This model not bad as I can see better picture quality from DVD disc on my hd plasma tv. My next would be getting a 50 inch plasma full hd.
yeah..for a RM299, you can't complaint much..
I hv a PS3..if you are really into PQ and AQ..get the PS3..
both player tested using 40" full HD LED and 50" full HD plasma..

This post has been edited by Pok Leh: Oct 2 2011, 06:22 PM
Evoque
post Oct 2 2011, 10:42 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(sdcc @ Oct 2 2011, 01:48 PM)
wow!!, that was fast, i was there at 1030 hrs today, they only left 4 units.!!!!
Oops, that's was me. I was told to be 'Always grab the 1st opportunity'..

Added on October 2, 2011, 10:45 pm
QUOTE(Pok Leh @ Oct 2 2011, 06:14 PM)

Thanks man, but I m not complaining but delighted with the results as I was told before
No point getting blu-ray player if I hv no blu-ray disc & full hd tv. Now I can see the improvement
Which make me happy lot..

This post has been edited by Evoque: Oct 2 2011, 10:45 PM
Pok Leh
post Oct 3 2011, 12:44 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(Evoque @ Oct 2 2011, 10:42 PM)
Oops, that's was me. I was told to be 'Always grab the 1st opportunity'..

Added on October 2, 2011, 10:45 pm
Thanks man, but I m not complaining but delighted with the results as I was told before
No point getting blu-ray player if I hv no blu-ray disc & full hd tv. Now I can see the improvement
Which make me happy lot..
glad that make you happy...now, how about a home theater to support all that DTS HD MA and DD True HD on that blu ray content..I'll bet it will make you happier thumbup.gif
jimbet1337
post Oct 3 2011, 01:02 PM

meh
2,672 posts

PS3 is better in terms of PQ/AQ? Hmm. That makes me think twice whether to get S380.

But I don't play games. unsure.gif
betaiso
post Oct 3 2011, 01:23 PM

110 posts

miss the S380 boat, anywhere else sell good price?

RM399 also can, local klang valley store, don't want the melaka one

Evoque
post Oct 3 2011, 02:35 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Pok Leh @ Oct 3 2011, 12:44 AM)
glad that make you happy...now, how about a home theater to support all that DTS HD MA and DD True HD on that blu ray content..I'll bet it will make you happier  thumbup.gif
It sure will if I can get a room to be converted into a AV Room. rclxm9.gif But now tidak boleh, rumah kecil. sweat.gif

mnsnazri
post Oct 3 2011, 05:21 PM

99 posts

hello sifus
i just bought samsung BD-D5100 samsung 4 days ago....really satisfied with it...low cost BD player...

47ronin
post Oct 5 2011, 07:19 PM

365 posts

yes, use serviio media server via transcoding.

Ngto
post Oct 6 2011, 09:51 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(47ronin @ Oct 2 2011, 08:40 AM)

Added on October 2, 2011, 8:45 am

read manual page 25 for your answer:-

http://www.docs.sony.com/release/BDPS380.pdf

read this:-

http://www.avforums.com/forums/blu-ray-dvd...s-over-usb.html

CODE
I have now tested it and the USB ports (both of them) now support NTFS.
Played a couple of 8GB MKV files with DTS and DTSHD and both worked fine from a 1TB attached USB disk. Even got sound from the TV with no home cinema system.
No mention is made of NTFS support in any of the manuals so I wasn't expecting it to work.

What about TrueHD from MKV ? Have you tried yet? Does it work, can pls share ?

This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 6 2011, 09:52 PM
toffeeman
post Oct 7 2011, 09:08 AM

230 posts

Anyone has any feedback on Samsung BD-D6900 against BD-D6500. Whats the difference between the two?
kevloke
post Oct 7 2011, 05:16 PM

76 posts

Another blu ray player on sale @ $199 Philips BDP2700 at Courts Mammoth Mutiara Damansara start today.
iguana_dude_619
post Oct 8 2011, 02:40 PM

Xbox GT, PSN & Steam ID: iguanadude626
1,141 posts

can anybody recommend me good 3D blu ray player?? budget less than RM700
if more than RM700 better buy a PS3 tongue.gif

116 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:19 AM