Dell Studio 15 Fans Club V4., Now with ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5470

Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 2 2009, 04:37 PM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

QUOTE(sawengchuan @ Nov 2 2009, 01:25 PM)
Thanks guys for the reply.  rclxms.gif

I discovered price drop RM150 for Dell Studio 15, good news for me

Wonder why still using HD 4570?  hmm.gif

Very tempt to buy now biggrin.gif  but still hoping more price drop ...
IMO the next refresh would see it with a mainstream ATI 5000 series card. That would probably happen at the end of Q2/10 or somewhere along Q3/10.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 4 2009, 01:41 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 4 2009, 01:25 AM)
I am formatting my machine to pass to my sister. Anyone can advise how to return it all to factory default settings? Please guide. Thank you.
Consult your manual. I think there should be a step by step guide to restore your Studio 15 to stock settings with the hidden reformat partition provided by Dell.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 4 2009, 04:59 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(ronaldet @ Nov 4 2009, 10:35 AM)
bro...i bought my studio at rm3708 few mths ago... i dun think it can last till end of nex year lo tongue.gif
even now oso Dell is offerin better specs d with the same price... kinda regret to buy b4 they launch the Full HD LCD act....now my studio is only worth around 3 k... damn sad -.- ....
Full HD on a 15.6" surface area is a lil' meh IMO. Squint much?
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 9 2009, 10:57 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Xehanort @ Nov 9 2009, 08:12 PM)
my gpu can exceed 100C in about 15 minutes.....do u guys think my gpu have problem?
That is abnormally high...
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 12 2009, 12:10 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 12 2009, 12:05 AM)
Lazy to read the manual, anyone might be able to quickly guide me on how do I reset my entire Dell Studio 15 to factory settings so I can give this laptop to my sister?
When your PC is booting and you see the blue Dell header, hit <Ctrl+F11> to enable system restore then just follow the foolproof instruction/s.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 13 2009, 12:15 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(LSYuan @ Nov 13 2009, 09:08 AM)
guys...if my power plan always in high performane setting...is it ok ??
coz im operating my laptop fr morning till nite....lol
Shouldn't be too much of a problem. Though if you are interested in saving a couple of bucks on your electricity bill, then look into configuring a power profile that keeps your computer from hibernating or going into standby and turns of your screen at the same time.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 17 2009, 09:33 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Jt2020 @ Nov 17 2009, 09:25 PM)
Hi.
I am planning to buy a studio 15 for next year because from beginning of next year i need to always travel for work..

Should i buy it next month (december) or next year (january)

What i mean is,
Next month (december) will be having pc fair, will dell give more free upgrade to attract more customers

or

Next year (january) will dell suddenly change new specs for the laptop since its a new year 2010...

Thx
Perhaps in Q1 you might see an Arrandale refresh take place. But like the current Calpella, expect to pay a premium for the newer tech.

Based on my personal experience, Dell doesn't really give any better promotions during the PC Fair, though you could always call them up and inquire.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 18 2009, 10:33 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Nov 18 2009, 10:29 PM)
10 days is fast considering assembling and shipment from China.
That isn't entirely correct. While Dell has a plant in China, I'm pretty sure the units being sold in Malaysia are manufactured locally at their Penang plant.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 18 2009, 10:43 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Nov 18 2009, 10:36 PM)
Oh really? I read news that Dell move their assembly plant from Penang to China.
Nope. Their Penang plant is still up and running. Heck, some Dell components being sold here in the States even carry the made in Malaysia tag. Mostly peripherals such as cables and the like.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 19 2009, 03:43 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(fitzhex @ Nov 19 2009, 01:54 AM)
lower the voltage?? mean have to mess with the bios?? my temp is quite high when playing game.. can shoot to 70-85c when playing game... then can feel the fps dropping.. n the game slowinnggg.. my fren nvdia g105 only 60++C when playing game without cooler... shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif .
You cannot compare a integrated solution like nVidia's G105M with a discrete GPU like the HD4570. Integrated solutions tend to have pretty low TDP values, meaning they run cooler at the expense of overall performance.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 19 2009, 01:19 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Nov 19 2009, 11:37 AM)
Well, laptop are not build for gaming at first actually. If you wanted to gaming on laptop, make sure you prepare the measure such as get a decent cooler and avoid playing it in a room where the air flow is not that good. Heat issue is common on laptop, even the good one also faced the same issue.
Higher end laptops may beg to differ. Besides, laptops that are tailor made for gaming usually have a much more robust chassis which allows for better airflow and cooling. Sager and Alienware come to mind
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 20 2009, 01:33 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Ahead @ Nov 20 2009, 01:27 AM)
however, if anyone knew which store can get rm2699 of preloaded win7+t6600+free upgrade+freebies, pls kindly suggest me thumbup.gif otherwise i would be rather getting it from dell  nod.gif
Dell's Online Store. Call them to order for the freebies.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 24 2009, 05:39 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(amzar_82 @ Nov 24 2009, 03:43 PM)
do you buy cash/0% installment?sound interesting..i know will get lots of goodies if buy from lowyat..
Usually those goodies are crap or not as useful as they should be. You can even get the same kinda stuff from Dell, or perhaps a nice discount, if your bargaining skills are sharper than a surgeon's blade. Just call them and try your luck

0.0436sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:45 AM