Public Light Trails, Share you light trail pics here

TSHiroBoroi
post Aug 8 2009, 11:55 AM, updated 17y ago

1,319 posts

Here are mine. Comments appreciated. Love to see more. rclxm9.gif

The Time Machine
You ever ridden in a time machine before?

Sure you have. Whattaya' think this is?

A car?

Yer' lookin' at this thing backwards. This is a 20th century time machine. I'm the captain and you're the navigator.
Out there ... that's the future. Back there that's the past. If life's moving too slow and you wanna' project
yerself into the future, you step here on the gas. See? ... And if yer enjoyin' the moment yer' in,
well hell, just step on the brakes here and you can slow it down.

From the movie "A Perfect World" (1993)

The rest of my in car light trails:

p/s - Note to self. Wash car before take sum more pics shakehead.gif .

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Oct 16 2009, 12:13 PM
breaker84
post Aug 8 2009, 12:00 PM

\\//\\//\\//\\//
1,713 posts

wow...
really like the 1st one...
how to do like this huh???
phone camera can do this not??
TSHiroBoroi
post Aug 8 2009, 12:09 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(breaker84 @ Aug 8 2009, 12:00 PM)
wow...
really like the 1st one...
how to do like this huh???
phone camera can do this not??
Wow!! Within minutes of posting oledi got response. Pretty girls sum more shocking.gif . (<-- monkey shocked)

Well for light trail pics, you need to do long exposure. Probably about 15 seconds or more. In the first photo, I think my exposure was around 10 to 15 seconds. I took a few shots and combined using poto-matic. Shhhhh ....!! sweat.gif If your phone can control the shutter speed for long exposure, and you can secure phone to tripod or maybe tape to some railing, perhaps you can do also. I really dunno much about what handphone camera can do.
Onso
post Aug 8 2009, 03:46 PM

693 posts

nice mercs smile.gif Show us your tripod/mount setup!
TSHiroBoroi
post Aug 8 2009, 09:56 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(Onso @ Aug 8 2009, 03:46 PM)
nice mercs smile.gif Show us your tripod/mount setup!
Onso,

Thank you for the comments. Nothing special about the tripod. I have an old Manfrotto 190. Just spread the legs as best as I can and try to get it to support the camera. Tripod is placed at rear passenger side almost in the middle. Two legs located towards the leg area left and right side, one leg on the rear passenger seat smile.gif .
wKkaY
post Aug 8 2009, 10:42 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

At a campsite in Alice Springs, facing south.

ojan
post Aug 8 2009, 10:47 PM

118 posts

damn! wish i have a tripod.. can u pls provide camera settings..
go try 200kmh..hehehe
TSHiroBoroi
post Aug 8 2009, 10:52 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Aug 8 2009, 10:42 PM)

Holy crap shocking.gif !!! How long was the exposure? Nice!!! Nice!!! notworthy.gif

Added on August 8, 2009, 10:59 pm
QUOTE(ojan @ Aug 8 2009, 10:47 PM)
damn! wish i have a tripod.. can u pls provide camera settings..
go try 200kmh..hehehe
Camera setting later I will korek. No tripod no problem. Just duct tape your camera to front of kapcai. Use high beam like SB-900 flash oledi. biggrin.gif In order to drive my car to 200 kmh, must have Princess Leia beside me. Then only can jump into hyperspace blink.gif .

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Aug 8 2009, 10:59 PM
wKkaY
post Aug 8 2009, 11:34 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Aug 9 2009, 12:52 AM)
Holy crap  shocking.gif !!! How long was the exposure? Nice!!! Nice!!!  notworthy.gif

Think of those stars as the hour hand of a 24-hour clock. Calculating the exposure time is left as an exercise for the viewer.. biggrin.gif
ocz
post Aug 8 2009, 11:37 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Aug 8 2009, 11:34 PM)
Think of those stars as the hour hand of a 24-hour clock. Calculating the exposure time is left as an exercise for the viewer.. biggrin.gif
Bro,for that kind of shoot,do you used 2nd curtain?
ojan
post Aug 8 2009, 11:42 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Aug 8 2009, 11:34 PM)
2-3hours??? shocking.gif
alvenlkk
post Aug 9 2009, 12:27 AM

49 posts

Shoot at Penang Island, Jalan Brumah..

xcrue
post Aug 9 2009, 02:03 AM

xcrue
2,150 posts

nice shot alven! mind share how u shot this?? What kind of setting? biggrin.gif
FallInLov3
post Aug 9 2009, 07:38 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Aug 8 2009, 11:55 AM)
Here are mine. Comments appreciated. Love to see more.  rclxm9.gif

p/s - Note to self. Wash car before take sum more pics  shakehead.gif .
First one nice, the others because of the driving, seems like the light bump alot, alot bumper is it ? tongue.gif

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Aug 8 2009, 10:42 PM)
Man, this is nice, those stars just made a swirl tongue.gif

QUOTE(alvenlkk @ Aug 9 2009, 12:27 AM)
Nice !!!!

P/S : wonder when i can take light trails @@, you guyz don't poison me la ><(no tripod)
TSHiroBoroi
post Aug 9 2009, 09:47 AM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(alvenlkk @ Aug 9 2009, 12:27 AM)

Nice thumbup.gif . Lots of red color means you're not facing the traffic. But be careful not to stand too close to the road.

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Aug 9 2009, 01:57 PM
ch89
post Aug 9 2009, 05:15 PM

122 posts

Here is mine
TSHiroBoroi
post Aug 9 2009, 10:51 PM

1,319 posts

Blue

Camera Model - Nikon D90
Lens - AF Nikkor 28-70 mm F3.5-4.5D (old lens, not D90 kit lens)
Focal length - 28mm
Aperture - F/20
Shutter Speed - 20 seconds
ISO - 1EV under 200
Exposure - Shutter Priority
Metering - Matrix
Filter - No filter

khkhoo8
post Aug 9 2009, 11:30 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Aug 9 2009, 10:51 PM)
Blue

Camera Model - Nikon D90
Lens - AF Nikkor 28-70 mm F3.5-4.5D (old lens, not D90  kit lens)
Focal length - 28mm
Aperture - F/20
Shutter Speed - 20 seconds
ISO - 1EV under 200
Metering - Matrix
Filter - No filter

1 hand carry camera and another hand carry steeling?
TSHiroBoroi
post Aug 10 2009, 12:48 AM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(khkhoo8 @ Aug 9 2009, 11:30 PM)
1 hand carry camera and another hand carry steeling?
Can. If you want to try, I suggest try on Penang Bridge. Picture sure dramatic one. Drive down from Genting Higland also ok. biggrin.gif

Valley

Camera Model - Nikon D90
Lens - AF Nikkor 28-70 mm F3.5-4.5D (old non kit lens)
Focal length - 28mm
Aperture - F/13
Shutter Speed - 25 seconds
ISO - 1EV under 200
Metering - Matrix
Filter - No filter

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Aug 10 2009, 09:48 PM
Redcross
post Aug 10 2009, 05:30 PM

1,680 posts

Takes in Orchard Road Singapore few months back biggrin.gif

TSHiroBoroi
post Aug 10 2009, 09:49 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(Redcross @ Aug 10 2009, 05:30 PM)
Takes in Orchard Road Singapore few months back  biggrin.gif

What vehicle is that? So many different types of light. Pink, light blue, blue, green, yellow, red ... all got. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Aug 10 2009, 09:50 PM
Redcross
post Aug 12 2009, 10:29 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Aug 10 2009, 09:49 PM)
What vehicle is that? So many different types of light. Pink, light blue, blue, green, yellow, red ... all got.  rclxms.gif
sorry late reply sweat.gif
the vehicle is a purple bus
the exposure time was like at 1.3sec
i jus simply snap at that time and i was like happy with it laugh.gif
heLL[tuRt]
post Aug 13 2009, 09:22 PM

365 posts

in front of poleteknik

compo really bad,didn't bring tripod.....just put cam on divider

This post has been edited by heLL[tuRt]: Aug 13 2009, 09:22 PM
SUS99chan
post Aug 23 2009, 04:14 AM

99 posts

Midnight Club: Genting Hillroad Racing

noosaza
post Aug 23 2009, 11:46 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(99chan @ Aug 23 2009, 04:14 AM)

i wanna ask all of u..digital camera can be used to take this type of photo meh??
or this photo can be taken by dslr only??
i have a digital camera only..wish to take a photo like this
khkhoo8
post Aug 23 2009, 11:51 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(noosaza @ Aug 23 2009, 11:46 PM)
i wanna ask all of u..digital camera can be used to take this type of photo meh??
or this photo can be taken by dslr only??
i have a digital camera only..wish to take a photo like this
I has been using DC to snap... just switch to shutter mode...
jolipoli81
post Aug 24 2009, 02:03 AM

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Aug 10 2009, 12:48 AM)
Can. If you want to try, I suggest try on Penang Bridge. Picture sure dramatic one. Drive down from Genting Higland also ok.  biggrin.gif

Valley

Camera Model - Nikon D90
Lens - AF Nikkor 28-70 mm F3.5-4.5D (old non kit lens)
Focal length - 28mm
Aperture - F/13
Shutter Speed - 25 seconds
ISO - 1EV under 200
Metering - Matrix
Filter - No filter

old Mercedes aint it?
btw, the smart tag holder is a little distrated, over, great shot
TSHiroBoroi
post Aug 24 2009, 10:06 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(99chan @ Aug 23 2009, 04:14 AM)

Wow!!! Lovely. Nice curvy road. Too bad the traffic is light. If jam like MRR2 cry.gif , I'm sure the light trails will be nice biggrin.gif .

p/s - Is it safe to go night time photography at Genting? Always hear people being robbed on the way down shocking.gif .

Added on August 24, 2009, 10:08 pm
QUOTE(jolipoli81 @ Aug 24 2009, 02:03 AM)
old Mercedes aint it?
btw, the smart tag holder is a little distrated, over, great shot
Thank you for the nice comments. Yes cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif . The smart tag holder spoils everything. Maybe one of these days I will retake the shot with holder removed. I pray toll wont go up before then. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Aug 24 2009, 10:08 PM
kimurastanley
post Sep 26 2009, 11:35 PM

Freak
1,580 posts

Spam

Camera: Nikon D90
Exposure: 4"
Aperture: f/10.0
Focal Length: 18 mm
ISO Speed: 250
Exposure Bias: 0 EV
Flash: No Flash
bluebirdck2
post Sep 28 2009, 04:35 PM

76 posts

just share~ smile.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Sep 28 2009, 10:07 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Some old pics lol.

Panasonic LX3
angieong1983
post Sep 29 2009, 06:04 PM

hey, im also a nikon D90 user.. but im very new.. i have some questions for you.. not sure if u could help me out here?

Q1: is the metering on default mode? can we really adjust it? under what circumstances should we adjust it?

Q2: frm ur picture, u mentioned ISO: 1EV under 200 = does this mean +1EV?

Q3: u meantioned "filter = no" - may i know what is this?

Q4: wonder if i can be able to take these sort of pictures with the original lens? cos i just bought this camera.. wanting to learn the basics first..

hope u can help!! thanks!! smile.gif

btw, im referring to your 2nd picture.. it's GREAT...!!

This post has been edited by angieong1983: Sep 29 2009, 06:06 PM
TSHiroBoroi
post Sep 29 2009, 08:43 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(angieong1983 @ Sep 29 2009, 06:04 PM)
hey, im also a nikon D90 user.. but im very new.. i have some questions for you.. not sure if u could help me out here?

hope u can help!! thanks!! smile.gif

Congrats on getting the D90 rclxms.gif . I use that one too. thumbup.gif Wah ... so many questions. shocking.gif I try to answers all. sweat.gif

Q1 - Yes. I use the default which is "matrix" metering most of the time. You can change to spot metering or center weight metering. You can leave it at matrix most of the time and it will be fine. When to change? You can change anytime you like. Best to read up and understand what the different metering mode do, then you will know better when one is more appropriate than the other.

Q2 - The D90 does not have ISO 100. Lowest it goes is ISO 200. To go lower, they have this -1EV. Probably because when you push it lower, the sensor output will be degraded (I think ... less dynamic range?) hmm.gif .

EV = Exposure Value. I also blur blur and dun know everything. Can read more here (wikipedia).

Q3 - No filter meaning I remove the Hoya skylight filter that I have on my lens. Sometimes when you take pic of bright lights, the light is reflected from lens back towards the filter and then back again into the lens and sensor resulting in flares. So I removed the filter to prevent this. Got some flares/ghosting in the second pic. cry.gif

Q4 - The original D90 lens? That be the 18-105mm f3.5-5.6 G ED VR lens? That be one excellent lens. Very very sharp. Definitely can take these light trail pics. If you want to learn the basics, this lens will do just fine. nod.gif

If you have lots of questions, better post it here. A lot more people visit this thread than the gallery thread. So more people will be able to help you.

Added on September 29, 2009, 8:47 pm
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Sep 28 2009, 10:07 PM)
Some old pics lol.

Panasonic LX3
For nice light trial pics, should target roads with massive traffic jams. biggrin.gif Then gerenti get nice light trails. In KL ...massive jams should be easy to find.. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Sep 29 2009, 08:47 PM
angieong1983
post Sep 29 2009, 09:37 PM

hahaha... you're very cute.. well u dont have to sweat over my questions... LOL.. anyway thanks for your reply!! smile.gif only u replied to my questions so far!! haha...well i roughly get to understand the specs that u guys r discussing bout.. except the 'ghosting' part.. oh ya the thread that u gave me i thought it was for ppl who intend to buy n sell Nikon? i dont see anyone posting questions there..

one more question.. how to create the thumbnail for the topic i have just posted? please comment on them.. i need your advice.. smile.gif
TSHiroBoroi
post Sep 29 2009, 10:49 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(angieong1983 @ Sep 29 2009, 09:37 PM)
hahaha... you're very cute.. well u dont have to sweat over my questions... LOL.. anyway thanks for your reply!! smile.gif only u replied to my questions so far!! haha...well i roughly get to understand the specs that u guys r discussing bout.. except the 'ghosting' part.. oh ya the thread that u gave me i thought it was for ppl who intend to buy n sell Nikon? i dont see anyone posting questions there..

one more question.. how to create the thumbnail for the topic i have just posted? please comment on them.. i need your advice.. smile.gif
Huh ... the thread suppose to be discussion about D90 camera. But all the gearheads talk about is wat to buy. Buy buy buy. doh.gif One a while there will be some good discussion about photography. icon_idea.gif

How to create thumbnail? Only thread starter can do it. There is an entry for the thumbnail. So you gotta choose a pic and enter the link there. I tried a few pics. Some do not appear. Maybe there is a size restriction ... I dunno. hmm.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Sep 29 2009, 11:13 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(angieong1983 @ Sep 29 2009, 06:04 PM)

Q1: is the metering on default mode? can we really adjust it? under what circumstances should we adjust it?

Q2: frm ur picture, u mentioned ISO: 1EV under 200 = does this mean +1EV?

Q3: u meantioned "filter = no" - may i know what is this?

Q4: wonder if i can be able to take these sort of pictures with the original lens? cos i just bought this camera.. wanting to learn the basics first..

hope u can help!! thanks!!

You can take these kinda pictures with any lens lol. don't think sharpness will be your priority in these kinda pics, unless you plan to print it out REAL HUGE laugh.gif

recomend use full manual though. more control over stuff wink.gif

set aperture to smallest(f22 maybe?), and set the shutter speed REEEEEAAAAAAAL long

there you have it. super long light trails laugh.gif

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Sep 29 2009, 08:43 PM)
Congrats on getting the D90  . I use that one too.  Wah ... so many questions.  I try to answers all.  sweat.gif

Q1 - Yes. I use the default which is "matrix" metering most of the time. You can change to spot metering or center weight metering. You can leave it at matrix most of the time and it will be fine. When to change? You can change anytime you like. Best to read up and understand what the different metering mode do, then you will know better when one is more appropriate than the other.

Q2 - The D90 does not have ISO 100. Lowest it goes is ISO 200. To go lower, they have this -1EV. Probably because when you push it lower, the sensor output will be degraded (I think ... less dynamic range?)  .

EV = Exposure Value. I also blur blur and dun know everything. Can read more here (wikipedia).

Q3 - No filter meaning I remove the Hoya skylight filter that I have on my lens. Sometimes when you take pic of bright lights, the light is reflected from lens back towards the filter and then back again into the lens and sensor resulting in flares. So I removed the filter to prevent this. Got some flares/ghosting in the second pic.  cry.gif

Q4 - The original D90 lens? That be the 18-105mm f3.5-5.6 G ED VR lens? That be one excellent lens. Very very sharp. Definitely can take these light trail pics. If you want to learn the basics, this lens will do just fine.  nod.gif

If you have lots of questions, better post it here. A lot more people visit this thread than the gallery thread. So more people will be able to help you.

Added on September 29, 2009, 8:47 pm

For nice light trial pics, should target roads with massive traffic jams.  biggrin.gif Then gerenti get nice light trails. In KL ...massive jams should be easy to find.. rclxm9.gif
the reason i chose those locations coz its near to my place lol. cycled there to reach the spot i wanted laugh.gif

if want jam must go somewhere else edi lol.
lighter
post Oct 3 2009, 12:14 AM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

A busy night...

refugeez86
post Oct 3 2009, 07:48 PM

rules are made to be broken
1,591 posts

my noob shot for light trail hehehe tongue.gif
my first time tried to shoot light trail....
C&C are welcome smile.gif

camera model: Nikon D80
using fireworks as light source laugh.gif
s3r^ph
post Oct 4 2009, 02:43 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(lighter @ Oct 3 2009, 12:14 AM)
A busy night...

2nd pic is at mont kiara solaris right?? i tried there b4 but there weren't much cars to produce nice light trails.
lighter
post Oct 4 2009, 04:30 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(s3r^ph @ Oct 4 2009, 02:43 AM)
2nd pic is at mont kiara solaris right?? i tried there b4 but there weren't much cars to produce nice light trails.
Yeah.. shoot at solaris.. i shot at midnight so not many cars. i think shoot at 8pm will be more cars..
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Oct 5 2009, 05:15 PM

oro?
4,187 posts

Recommended time : 7-8pm (lots of car)
Might want to watch for : Homeless people / weird loitering characters laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Uzumaki NaruTo: Oct 5 2009, 05:16 PM
TSHiroBoroi
post Oct 5 2009, 05:20 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(lighter @ Oct 4 2009, 04:30 PM)
Yeah.. shoot at solaris.. i shot at midnight so not many cars. i think shoot at 8pm will be more cars..
Wow. That Solaris place has some nice road scenery. I will mark it down as a place to go someday. thumbup.gif

Added on October 5, 2009, 5:23 pm
QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Oct 5 2009, 05:15 PM)

Might want to watch for : Homeless people / weird loitering characters laugh.gif
shocking.gif shakehead.gif Dats the problem of taking pics at night. blink.gif Always worry about kena robbed or raped. cry.gif

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Oct 5 2009, 05:23 PM
FaezFarhan
post Oct 5 2009, 11:14 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

What's the recommended settings to snap Light Trails pics? I'm using Nikon D3000, and want to try it soon brows.gif
TSHiroBoroi
post Oct 6 2009, 08:10 AM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Oct 5 2009, 11:14 PM)
What's the recommended settings to snap Light Trails pics? I'm using Nikon D3000, and want to try it soon brows.gif
My recipe for nice light trails

- long shutter speed, the longer the better. More than 20 seconds.
- sturdy tripod.
- use low ISO setting and turn off noise reduction. (noise reduction in the D90 takes as long as the exposure.)
- use cable release/or remote IR release (to prevent vibrations). Mirror lockup also helps.
- use shutter priority to fix the needed long shutter speed and let the camera set the aperture. (M also can.)
- magic light moment (to get nice blue sky).
- location must have plenty of moving lights.
- remove filter to minimize flaring and ghosting.
- bracket the exposure.
- for pretty girl, bring tazer also. biggrin.gif

The cool part is light trails need not be from cars lights. Can be from stars, fireworks, lasers, cigarettes, torch lights etc etc.

Isepunye
post Oct 21 2009, 04:39 AM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

my noob lightrail can show show here tongue.gif
TSHiroBoroi
post Oct 21 2009, 09:23 AM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Oct 21 2009, 04:39 AM)
my noob lightrail can show show here tongue.gif

Sure can. The more the merrier. thumbup.gif This thread is open to all brands, even Diana Lomo I welcome. He he. tongue.gif No discrimination. Also one more thing. For nice light trails, I think you should try to take from a higher vantage point like pedestrian bridge. Then you will get nicer trails. Get to see some reds as well. hmm.gif
Isepunye
post Oct 21 2009, 12:45 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Oct 21 2009, 09:23 AM)
Sure can. The more the merrier.  thumbup.gif This thread is open to all brands, even Diana Lomo I welcome. He he.  tongue.gif No discrimination. Also one more thing. For nice light trails, I think you should try to take from a higher vantage point like pedestrian bridge. Then you will get nicer trails. Get to see some reds as well.  hmm.gif
perhaps u can arrange outing for us tongue.gif
mizivincible
post Oct 21 2009, 03:09 PM

"They'll be singing que sera sera"
1,633 posts

Browsing thru my flickr, I have one light trail too smile.gif

Boats, Danga Bay

201s|f/22|ISO100

This post has been edited by mizivincible: Oct 21 2009, 03:10 PM
TSHiroBoroi
post Oct 21 2009, 10:17 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Oct 21 2009, 03:09 PM)
Browsing thru my flickr, I have one light trail too  smile.gif

Boats, Danga Bay

201s|f/22|ISO100
Wow nice. thumbup.gif Danga Bay. I will note it down for places to visit. Thanks for sharing. 201 seconds? How do yo do so long exposure? hmm.gif

Added on October 21, 2009, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(Isepunye @ Oct 21 2009, 12:45 PM)
perhaps u can arrange outing for us tongue.gif
Wah ... manyak cantik. Unfortunately me just too lazy to babysit Ise la. shakehead.gif rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Oct 21 2009, 10:19 PM
mizivincible
post Oct 21 2009, 10:34 PM

"They'll be singing que sera sera"
1,633 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Oct 21 2009, 10:17 PM)
Wow nice.  thumbup.gif Danga Bay. I will note it down for places to visit. Thanks for sharing. 201 seconds? How do yo do so long exposure?  hmm.gif

Thanks mate. But personally I find the pic rather soft hehe, what can u expect at f22. Regarding the long exposure, I used remote. Last time I recall the phottix wired one is around RM40 while wireless around RM120. Very useful for night landscape and especially light trails lover like u smile.gif
lighter
post Oct 21 2009, 10:40 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Oct 5 2009, 05:15 PM)

Recommended time : 7-8pm (lots of car)
Looks like the white balance was off. Did you shoot RAW? Try to adjust your balance make it cooler.
Isepunye
post Oct 21 2009, 11:04 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Oct 21 2009, 10:17 PM)
Wow nice.  thumbup.gif Danga Bay. I will note it down for places to visit. Thanks for sharing. 201 seconds? How do yo do so long exposure?  hmm.gif

Added on October 21, 2009, 10:19 pm
Wah ... manyak cantik. Unfortunately me just too lazy to babysit Ise la.  shakehead.gif   rolleyes.gif
no nid babysit me... jz shoot togather2 only~! cool2.gif watch n learn process can help me i guess :lol

HDR + light trail~! dont feel any different...

This post has been edited by Isepunye: Oct 21 2009, 11:08 PM
Hexlord
post Oct 23 2009, 08:25 PM

991 posts

Here's mine:

Cheers ^^
Isepunye
post Oct 23 2009, 10:28 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

my 2nd attemp using my frenz D40 kit lens
was wondering why the headlamp trail not so nice like my D90... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Isepunye: Oct 23 2009, 10:29 PM
TSHiroBoroi
post Oct 23 2009, 11:49 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Oct 23 2009, 10:28 PM)
my 2nd attemp using my frenz D40 kit lens

was wondering why the headlamp trail not so nice like my D90...  rclxub.gif
The headlights portion looks overexposed. Maybe go down to ISO 100. Or reduced expososure to 20 seconds. I think this will improve the headlight portion. Or point your camera the other direction so that the busy side will be the red lights, and the not so busy side is the headlights. Then will balance it out a bit. hmm.gif

To improve the pitch black sky, try to time the shot with the sunset la. Find the magic light moment. icon_idea.gif

And always bracket exposure. Take a lot of shots with varying exposure and see what comes out. Sometimes you get nice pics. Sometimes nothing good at all. That's my experience. No magic setting. Just try try and try again. cry.gif

p/s - and finally ... dun blame the kit lens (even D40 one). I thought that was a big and painful lesson learned oledi biggrin.gif
Isepunye
post Oct 24 2009, 08:00 AM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Oct 23 2009, 11:49 PM)
The headlights portion looks overexposed. Maybe go down to ISO 100. Or reduced expososure to 20 seconds. I think this will improve the headlight portion. Or point your camera the other direction so that the busy side will be the red lights, and the not so busy side is the headlights. Then will balance it out a bit. hmm.gif

To improve the pitch black sky, try to time the shot with the sunset la. Find the magic light moment.  icon_idea.gif

And always bracket exposure. Take a lot of shots with varying exposure and see what comes out. Sometimes you get nice pics. Sometimes nothing good at all. That's my experience. No magic setting. Just try try and try again.  cry.gif

p/s - and finally ... dun blame the kit lens (even D40 one). I thought that was a big and painful lesson learned oledi biggrin.gif
lowest can go ISO200 for D40. no lower than that. i did try several speed shutter. from 5 sec - 30 sec. using bulb ade masalah sbb tripod murah + takde remote. the jejantas has too big advertisement both front and back so resulting i can choose either 2 angle which is another one is more weight on building... the magic moment blew off as its raining by 6.45 - 7.30 PM...
i dont blame but im asking why... i already tot about the angle coz i realize the headlamp quite direct to the lens too. 2nd i tot because the rain make the reflection more... 3rd i guess since im not familiar with D40 function and button, i might missed some setting... but overall have fun playing with D40~! thumbup.gif small, compact yet powerful tongue.gif

Added on October 24, 2009, 8:12 am
QUOTE(Hexlord @ Oct 23 2009, 08:25 PM)
Here's mine:

Cheers ^^
bro, mind to share me the exif and the lense? do u use special filter to reduce the over burn color? some1 told me dat... im in love with this photo

This post has been edited by Isepunye: Oct 24 2009, 08:15 AM
sgojita4
post Oct 25 2009, 11:27 PM

60 posts

wow...interestin...

juz try this from my house..
1st timer..
c&c appreciated..

Hexlord
post Oct 26 2009, 06:57 AM

991 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Oct 24 2009, 08:00 AM)

bro, mind to share me the exif and the lense? do u use special filter to reduce the over burn color? some1 told me dat... im in love with this photo
Hi there, the settings are:

Exposure: 30s
Aperture: f/16.0
Focal Length: 11 mm

I was using the Tokina 11-16mm lens and my ISO is at 200, just did some Levels adjustment and sharpening ^^
kikco
post Nov 19 2009, 12:48 AM

47 posts

FaezFarhan
post Nov 19 2009, 01:44 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(kikco @ Nov 19 2009, 12:48 AM)

The light trails is too little.. You edit the pics using Focal B&W in Picasa? biggrin.gif
TSHiroBoroi
post Nov 19 2009, 08:05 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(kikco @ Nov 19 2009, 12:48 AM)

Light trails and black&white. Now that's interesting. hmm.gif Now only need to figure out how to combine with IR as well. biggrin.gif

Added on November 20, 2009, 10:35 amAnother one ... this one is a bit harsh with blown highlights. doh.gif

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Nov 20 2009, 10:35 AM
lighter
post Nov 25 2009, 12:04 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

I'm back!!

Focal length: 11mm, 13 seconds f/20 ISO-100

C&C are welcome!

This post has been edited by lighter: Nov 25 2009, 12:07 PM
TSHiroBoroi
post Nov 26 2009, 12:53 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(lighter @ Nov 25 2009, 12:04 PM)
I'm back!!

Focal length: 11mm, 13 seconds f/20 ISO-100

C&C are welcome!
Cool!! cool2.gif
Zen-X
post Nov 28 2009, 09:27 PM

1,238 posts

can use bulb setting to take light trails?
TSHiroBoroi
post Nov 30 2009, 04:39 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(Zen-X @ Nov 28 2009, 09:27 PM)
can use bulb setting to take light trails?
Yes. biggrin.gif

0.0509sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:06 AM