2009 Samsung LCD TV Series 6 B650, Play almost all movie file without PC?!

TSDarkNite
post Aug 7 2009, 08:58 PM, updated 17y ago

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

I went hunting for a LCD for my bedroom, actually my choice is a Panasonic but the salesman says Samsung now better?
Huh? hmm.gif
He says this LCD TV model LA32B650
1. with USB2.0 movies I can watch any movie files except RMVB, from thumbdrives or HDD (capacity of 500GB.)
2. can surf the internet with 'Internet@TV'
3. watch content from my PC ie wireless streaming.
Waah....all this true or not?
What's is the limitation?
Good or not to buy this samsung and how much should I pay?
What's the warranty period?

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Sep 11 2009, 08:43 AM
azbro
post Aug 7 2009, 09:44 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 7 2009, 08:58 PM)
I went hunting for a LCD for my bedroom, actually my choice is a Panasonic but the salesman says Samsung now better?
Huh? hmm.gif
1. with USB2.0 movies I can watch any movie files except RMVB, from thumbdrives or HDD (capacity of 500GB.)
I downloaded the manual book...gosh..it has everything except the kitchen sink!!...but the kitchen happens to be the USB wireless Adapter..

And it play MKV at FHD as well from an external HD that even doesn't require a separate power supply..

Feature wise...It ROCKS!!
ar188
post Aug 7 2009, 09:56 PM

9,206 posts

no dts decoding on MKVs.. tongue.gif
azbro
post Aug 7 2009, 10:03 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 7 2009, 09:56 PM)
no dts decoding on MKVs.. tongue.gif
can always dl Dolby stuff laugh.gif
TSDarkNite
post Aug 8 2009, 07:56 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Aug 7 2009, 09:44 PM)
I downloaded the manual book...gosh..it has everything except the kitchen sink!!...but the kitchen happens to be the USB wireless Adapter..

And it play MKV at FHD as well from an external HD that even doesn't require a separate power supply..

Feature wise...It ROCKS!!

That's the manual but really can do all that? Are you an owner of this model?
How about the price and picture quality?

PS - Don't mind can provide the link to dl the manual?
k8118k
post Aug 8 2009, 11:10 AM

3,658 posts

singapore selling 1399 free Ht system

nut they always piu nig price sgd 1599

commontan selling around 3k+-
azbro
post Aug 8 2009, 12:11 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 8 2009, 07:56 AM)
That's the manual but really can do all that? Are you an owner of this model?
How about the price and picture quality?

PS - Don't mind can provide the link to dl the manual?
No I'm not the owner...but if the manual book says can do, for a reputable brand...sure can do one..

But how well it can do it, I dunno, thats why I said 'Feature wise' it rocks....but real performance wise I dunno...I dun have one.

Links to the Manual Book

TSDarkNite
post Aug 8 2009, 04:44 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Aug 8 2009, 12:11 PM)

Links to the Manual Book

Ya, feature wise it really ROCKS, no need the blood sucking asstro laugh.gif
Internet TV here I come.
No worries, but thanks for this link better than the one I've got.

k8118k - ya commontan selling around less than 3k. I PMed him and waiting to see how long is the warranty?

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Aug 8 2009, 04:46 PM
ronnt88
post Aug 8 2009, 06:58 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 8 2009, 04:44 PM)
Ya, feature wise it really ROCKS, no need the blood sucking asstro laugh.gif
Internet TV here I come.
No worries, but thanks for this link better than the one I've got.

k8118k - ya commontan selling around less than 3k. I PMed him and waiting to see how long is the warranty?
Just thought u should know that commontan is a she tongue.gif
TSDarkNite
post Aug 8 2009, 07:05 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 8 2009, 06:58 PM)

Thanks for the heads up!
She has a shop that I can visit?

ronnt88
post Aug 8 2009, 07:27 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 8 2009, 07:05 PM)
Thanks for the heads up!
She has a shop that I can visit?
no prob.... well it's not exactly her shop, but yes.. the shop is in BM. Call her for directions.
ar188
post Aug 8 2009, 09:18 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 8 2009, 06:58 PM)
you bought from her ar? brows.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Aug 8 2009, 09:47 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 8 2009, 09:18 PM)
you bought from her ar?  brows.gif
No wonder he always want to upgrade TV la, BD Player la, DVD Player la, Washing Machine la ... hmm.gif

ronnt88
post Aug 8 2009, 09:47 PM

2,353 posts

wink.gif
ar188
post Aug 8 2009, 10:51 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Aug 8 2009, 09:47 PM)
No wonder he always want to upgrade TV la, BD Player la, DVD Player la, Washing Machine la ...  hmm.gif
maybe he bought a French Door Fridge also brows.gif

ms chua so famous..
ronnt88
post Aug 8 2009, 10:55 PM

2,353 posts

haha.... i'm not ms chua's type la.. tongue.gif
ar188
post Aug 8 2009, 11:08 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 8 2009, 10:55 PM)
haha.... i'm not ms chua's type la.. tongue.gif
you are whose type? ferringhi beach type? tongue.gif
redrum77
post Aug 9 2009, 05:08 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 7 2009, 08:58 PM)
Huh? hmm.gif
Yo bro,

Owner of LA32B650. Response to your notes:

True. Tested with my thumbdrive & my external h/d (120g) . Plays all my downloaded movies.

hmm at the moment i hv in the tv : youtube and weather widget only. So it is not literally surf the internet. Maybe with new firmware have more widgets.

True, I am using LAN instead of the wireless. Watch those d/l 720p (mkv). Fuyoo. Is amazing. Oh it is not just plug and play,you need to install Samsung software in your pc in order to view content from pc.
Take note if you want to use wireless then u need to purchase samsung wireless dongle thinggy. I think is about RM299 or something

I bought mine last mth RM3045 (12mths) installment, 1 yr warranty period and im using mainly with my xbox (classic) .

TSDarkNite
post Aug 9 2009, 05:16 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(redrum77 @ Aug 9 2009, 05:08 PM)
Yo bro,

thumbup.gif Ya thanks for the superb feedback. I've decided also not to buy a replacement DVD player.
HDD, internet and LA32B650 is the way to go!

Now any wireless dongle thinggy? or must it be samsung's wireless dongle? hmm.gif

redrum77
post Aug 9 2009, 05:31 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 9 2009, 05:16 PM)
thumbup.gif Ya thanks for the superb feedback. I've decided also not to buy a replacement DVD player.
HDD, internet and LA32B650 is the way to go!

Now any wireless dongle thinggy? or must it be samsung's wireless dongle? hmm.gif
If not mistaken you hv to use samsung's wireless dongle.
cosmicmeadow
post Aug 9 2009, 11:44 PM

223 posts

I'd rather stick with a HTPC.... it's future proof. eg. new version of codecs, etc... I don't think Samsung will keep updating their firmware, and even if they do, it will be slow and limited.
OlgaC4
post Aug 10 2009, 12:12 AM

5,296 posts

Samsung very suckky with their sound....
apexg2
post Aug 10 2009, 08:21 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

just go and buy the audio system la.....the important thing is the picture quality...rite?
TSDarkNite
post Aug 10 2009, 07:28 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Aug 10 2009, 12:12 AM)
Samsung very suckky with their sound....

Will it be better if hook up with a mini Home Theater system?

azbro
post Aug 10 2009, 09:06 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 10 2009, 07:28 PM)
Will it be better if hook up with a mini Home Theater system?
For that answer, we need to look at the manual book:

Audio outputs / sound processors:
Outputs:
1.The normal RCA
2.Digital Audio Out (OPTICAL)....good for 5.1 to the amp (provided the amp supports optical)

Processors:
Other than the normal audio, it supports Dolby as well, so if you are using the On Board Media player, download only those movie which has Dolby sound if you want it to sound from the TV speakers.
DTS stuff will not sound at all, but by using the Optical out connected to a amp that has DTS, there will be sound from the amp to external speakers.

But due to you are using it in the bedroom, well, its up to you to decide what is best.

Take note, for bedroom installation, it must be high and at the steep angle, if not you will have neck pains.
Also, make sure you have access to the main plug and the aerial plug to avoid getting strike by lightning when you are out.

This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 10 2009, 09:46 PM
OlgaC4
post Aug 10 2009, 11:11 PM

5,296 posts

How is astro PQ in this baby?
TSDarkNite
post Aug 11 2009, 08:07 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Aug 10 2009, 09:06 PM)

As always your feedback is very good and clear thumbup.gif
Ok will look for a amp with optical connection.
Thanks for the tip on the position and lightning.
cRazYee
post Aug 22 2009, 02:41 AM

2,642 posts

what's the best price you guys get?
i got pretty quite a good price for 46"
btfan
post Aug 22 2009, 02:51 AM

Lowyat.NET #1 Fan
1,292 posts

Good features indeed but not overpriced for a 32"? hmm.gif
de_lasoul
post Aug 22 2009, 01:14 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Aug 22 2009, 02:41 AM)
what's the best price you guys get?
i got pretty quite a good price for 46"
What is the price you got? B650 or B610?
cRazYee
post Aug 22 2009, 01:33 PM

2,642 posts

B650 for RM6599 ( as i dont wan free gift)
samkul
post Aug 23 2009, 07:20 AM

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Aug 22 2009, 01:33 PM)
B650 for RM6599 ( as i dont wan free gift)
where did you buy it @6599 ? Samsung store is offering at RM 6699....
cRazYee
post Aug 23 2009, 01:59 PM

2,642 posts

senq at penang loh

stormaker
post Sep 6 2009, 03:32 PM

3,130 posts

Hi ... this is model have optical digital audio output feature ? If yes, where is the optical audio out port located ? By looking at the connection panel (rear n side), i can't find the optical out port. Thanks !

TSDarkNite
post Sep 6 2009, 06:44 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Sep 6 2009, 03:32 PM)
Hi ... this is model have optical digital audio output feature ?

NO Have, which is why I opt for this 32" model for a small bedroom. It is not even hook up to any device. No any media player, no DVD/Bluray player, no asstro cable, no any cable/wires except the LCD power cord!
Next thing is to get that samsung wireless LAN adaptor to stream movies, music & pictures stored on the PC and access the internet.
Maybe the next model will get better features like optical digital output, DTS and RMVB playback hmm.gif

stormaker
post Sep 7 2009, 08:27 AM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Sep 6 2009, 06:44 PM)
NO Have, which is why I opt for this 32" model for a small bedroom. It is not even hook up to any device. No any media player, no DVD/Bluray player, no asstro cable, no any cable/wires except the LCD power cord!
Next thing is to get that samsung wireless LAN adaptor to stream movies, music & pictures stored on the PC and access the internet.
Maybe the next model will get better features like optical digital output, DTS and RMVB playback hmm.gif
thanks for ur info ... too bad then ... can't make use of my speaker with optical input ... sad.gif Any other 32" model have optical audio out ? ... where to get the wireless LAN adapter ? How much it cost ?
TSDarkNite
post Sep 7 2009, 09:30 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Sep 7 2009, 08:27 AM)
thanks for ur info ... too bad then ... can't make use of my speaker with optical input ...  sad.gif  Any other 32" model have optical audio out ? ... where to get the wireless LAN adapter ? How much it cost ?

I'm still a noobie here. So far I haven't seem any 32" with optical audio out.
The samsung wireless LAN adaptor is retailing for about RM250, check your samsung shop 1st.
hmm.gif If aesthetics is no a priority then consider LAN cable as the low cost approach and better stability.

stormaker
post Sep 7 2009, 09:42 AM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Sep 7 2009, 09:30 AM)
I'm still a noobie here. So far I haven't seem any 32" with optical audio out.
The samsung wireless LAN adaptor is retailing for about RM250, check your samsung shop 1st.
hmm.gif If aesthetics is no a priority then consider LAN cable as the low cost approach and better stability.
That's mean i need an amp to get my speaker connected to it ... sweat.gif yeah ... i'm ok with the LAN cable actually, just to reduce the risk of lightning strike .... hehehe ...
TSDarkNite
post Sep 7 2009, 10:42 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Sep 7 2009, 09:42 AM)
That's mean i need an amp to get my speaker connected to it ...  sweat.gif  yeah ... i'm ok with the LAN cable actually, just to reduce the risk of lightning strike .... hehehe ...

Sorry I'm still new at this PQ and SQ thing. I always think LCD is just for picture and its PQ. The home theater/AV Amp, is to provided the initial PQ source to the LCD/monitor and SQ to the speakers, pls correct me if I'm wrong.
For my bedroom situation I'm not expecting a high quality theater set up. Can't go blasting the TV in the middle of the night, now can we? laugh.gif
But if for the living room, I would get a better Plasma, like 42" and above, with a good home theater set up. brows.gif

stormaker
post Sep 7 2009, 11:53 AM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Sep 7 2009, 10:42 AM)
Sorry I'm still new at this PQ and SQ thing. I always think LCD is just for picture and its PQ. The home theater/AV Amp, is to provided the initial PQ source to the LCD/monitor and SQ to the speakers, pls correct me if I'm wrong.
For my bedroom situation I'm not expecting a high quality theater set up. Can't go blasting the TV in the middle of the night, now can we? laugh.gif
But if for the living room, I would get a better Plasma, like 42" and above, with a good home theater set up. brows.gif
I'm noob in these things also, i just wanna make use of my speaker which have optical audio in without buying amp ... my situation like urs ... im using it in bedroom only ... so not going to set up whole complete home entertainment system in there.

This post has been edited by stormaker: Sep 7 2009, 11:53 AM
Riddhy
post Sep 7 2009, 12:52 PM

1,956 posts

whats the price of b650 32 37 40 and 46 inch plz tell me soon guys.i really am interested dont care about rmvb or digital output but DTS i do.
stormaker
post Sep 7 2009, 01:07 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Sep 7 2009, 12:52 PM)
whats the price of b650 32 37 40 and 46 inch plz tell me soon guys.i really am interested dont care about rmvb or digital output but DTS i do.
yeah ... anybody know the current price ?

Added on September 7, 2009, 2:28 pm
QUOTE(stormaker @ Sep 7 2009, 01:07 PM)
yeah ... anybody know the current price ?
Just called commontan, her price for LA32B650 is RM2790 ...

This post has been edited by stormaker: Sep 7 2009, 02:28 PM
Riddhy
post Sep 7 2009, 11:37 PM

1,956 posts

what abt 37 inch ? 32 too low 40 abit high 37 inch perfect for my small room
stormaker
post Sep 8 2009, 08:02 AM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Sep 7 2009, 11:37 PM)
what abt 37 inch ? 32 too low 40 abit high 37 inch perfect for my small room
There's no 37" for series 6, only series 5 got. Just give her a call ... but she's from Penang ...
Riddhy
post Sep 8 2009, 08:09 AM

1,956 posts

there is 37 inch bro

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-LN37B650-37-...HHEDKNFM748F98Z
stormaker
post Sep 8 2009, 08:32 AM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Sep 8 2009, 08:09 AM)
don't look at foreign countries model / market bro ... check at the Samsung Malaysia Official website ... or just give her a call. I also have checked the local shops in Sarawak n the Samsung promotion brochure, 37" is no way to be found.

This post has been edited by stormaker: Sep 8 2009, 08:39 AM
redrum77
post Sep 14 2009, 09:30 AM

376 posts

hey guys,

Owner of B650, are you able to view mkv files above 2.9gig via Samsung Pc share manager? I cant get mine to work, it will restart.

Tested with usb h/d : OK
Tested with Tversity : OK

rizal77
post Nov 25 2009, 10:12 PM

164 posts

just ordered the tv hdtv above...im not making a mistakes right, all u proud owners???
jimmyteng18
post Nov 26 2009, 08:52 AM

669 posts

I'm considering the 46B650 as well. Anyone has it?
TSDarkNite
post Nov 26 2009, 11:26 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(rizal77 @ Nov 25 2009, 10:12 PM)
just ordered the tv hdtv above...im not making a mistakes right, all u proud owners???
So which size you have ordered?
If you are into download HD content then buy the largest HDD your budget can afford. laugh.gif
logicsensor
post Nov 26 2009, 11:36 AM

17 posts

where can i find samsung wireless dongle?
or i can use another brand of wireless dongle?
appreciate if someone can give some advice....
rizal77
post Nov 26 2009, 03:50 PM

164 posts

cool, yeah, im into donwload movies, ps3, pictures. all the shiit u know right.
but can only afford 32 inch...sob sob..can i still enjoy the good stuff at the fullest??
TSDarkNite
post Nov 26 2009, 04:33 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(rizal77 @ Nov 26 2009, 03:50 PM)
cool, yeah, im into donwload movies, ps3, pictures. all the shiit u know right.
but can only afford 32 inch...sob sob..can i still enjoy the good stuff at the fullest??
Ok la. I put my 32" in my bedroom so my viewing distance is closer, so no issue.
Do note, for DTS movies you will need to use your PC to convert the audio to AC3.
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showthread.php?tid=20887
temppei
post Dec 10 2009, 09:38 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(redrum77 @ Sep 14 2009, 09:30 AM)
hey guys,

Owner of B650, are you able to view mkv files above 2.9gig via Samsung Pc share manager? I cant get mine to work, it will restart.

Tested with usb h/d : OK
Tested with Tversity : OK
Hi Redrum77,

i had the same issue as well. Just update the firmware to the latest one from samsung website and everything shld work. smile.gif
aneip
post Dec 10 2009, 10:18 AM

2,466 posts

What about DTS a? can pass through to AVR already?
TSDarkNite
post Dec 10 2009, 06:35 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Dec 10 2009, 10:18 AM)
What about DTS a? can pass through to AVR already?

I don't see how when there is no other audio output other then for headphone.

aneip
post Dec 10 2009, 09:25 PM

2,466 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Dec 10 2009, 06:35 PM)
I don't see how when there is no other audio output other then for headphone.
MY no optical a? Only found UK version.. got optical output beside LAN port.

0.0303sec    1.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:38 AM