AS1M, ASM, ASW, ASB V2, PNB fund

vergas
post Aug 7 2009, 04:51 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(lowyatben @ Aug 7 2009, 04:48 PM)
Yea, was wondering the same thing too... Why ah?
I think its the best investment for housewife, old folks....
vergas
post Aug 13 2009, 03:52 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 12 2009, 03:42 PM)
Based on the statistic given by PNB chairman, 1.5bil of 1.6bil sold unit are subsribed by chinese, means 94% of AS1M fund are held by chinese as at to date?????
I shouldn't be surprise about this.
vergas
post Aug 20 2009, 01:09 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(lowyatben @ Aug 20 2009, 09:59 AM)
2009 – 6.30% + bonus 1.70% confirmed?
Confirm not true. smile.gif
vergas
post Sep 1 2009, 12:02 PM

1,488 posts

Its under Program Pembangunan Raknyat Termiskin (PPRT) example on ASB

CODE
During the NDP period, the Development Programme for the Hardcore Poor or Program Pembangunan
Rakyat Termiskin (PPRT), was introduced to assist the hardcore poor. The programme established
a register on the profile of hardcore poor households and contained a package of projects tailored
to meet their specific needs, such as increasing their employability and income, better housing, food
supplements for children and educational assistance. Direct assistance was given to the hardcore poor
who are disabled and aged. In addition, the hardcore poor were provided with interest-free loans to
purchase shares in a unit trust scheme (ASB-PPRT) so that the dividends can supplement their
income.

http://www.epu.gov.my/html/themes/epu/imag..._cont_chap4.pdf
vergas
post Sep 1 2009, 04:38 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(ayumiya @ Sep 1 2009, 01:44 PM)
Ermm?? It's ASW? The newspaper certainly mentions "Amanah Saham Shares" but not specific enough abt which shares they're giving. I thought it's most likely refer to AS1M? Well, we will see more detail from the coming news....

Anyway, thanks for your info too.
My guess it will be AS1M, and not ASW. Its Najib era now. smile.gif
vergas
post Sep 2 2009, 03:18 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(plankton @ Sep 2 2009, 09:51 AM)
hi guys, going a bit out of the current discussion.

This is my situation,I was born outside malaysia. I opened an ASB account once. then it was rejected and the money was refunded, something about my birthplace not being malaysia (cant remember the exact contents of the letter, was  a while back). Mom and dad are malaysian, Malaysian IC and birth cert,

So im wondering if anyone who has encountered this can advise me on what to do to get my ASB account. Hope to get more info here before actually going  to the ASB office.

thx in advance
I got friends, at least 2 who are born outside Malaysia and have ASB account.

Here is the link to eligibility:
http://www.asnb.com.my/english/eligibility.htm

This post has been edited by vergas: Sep 2 2009, 03:24 PM
vergas
post Aug 24 2010, 12:35 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 24 2010, 12:08 PM)
i dont think so, once u hit the 200K max, only the reinvested dividend can be added on
Once you hit, 200k, ask the teller to check how much left you can invest. The system actually separate between capital, dividend and bonus. Tha cap 200k is for Capital only. So you may still able to invest more if you hit 200k. Just beware, lots of bank teller may be lazy to properly check the system and just answer mak 200k. I kena before.
vergas
post Sep 23 2010, 03:18 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(amalthea @ Sep 23 2010, 02:28 PM)
cookie monster, i do not mean to be rude but your blutant comments and over confidence without checking properly only show stupidity
http://www.icicibank.com/interest-rates.html
check this it is 7.5% p.a for 990 days
just like the local bank FDs they have different rate based on how long you wanna keep them but all interests are p.a.
You can't compare returns in different currencies just like that. That's in India. At least convert it using forward rate. Then adjust country risk etc...

This post has been edited by vergas: Sep 23 2010, 03:19 PM
vergas
post Sep 26 2010, 11:24 AM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(amalthea @ Sep 23 2010, 09:15 PM)
you are totally right, but guess what, i was not comparing apple to apple either, that is why i posted so we can discuss smile.gif
but the earlier poster did not read properly and thought it was 6.x for 990 days instead of 6.x p.a. for a 990 days placement
that was what i was clarifying
what are you thoughts on this?
If you have a physical presence in India or maybe future interest, eg you are studying there or plan to study there, then maybe it can be considered, since you foresee your future cashflow needed there, but it most of your future expenses in in Malaysia then it makes less sense. At the normal amount that people invest in the AS1M, ASB ie normally less than RM1 million, evaluating investment overseas may be less worth it considering the expenses, foreign risk etc. (however, expenses are going down due to development of internet banking etc). For large amount of money, eg big companies with millions idle, then surely this is something that they need to consider.

Added on September 26, 2010, 11:25 am
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 26 2010, 12:40 AM)
I think all Bumiputra in Malaysia will make sure their ASB is full first before considering other ASNB funds  biggrin.gif

Anyway, there really were many Bumiputra selling their ASW2020 in the last few weeks. So i kind of doubt ASW2020 is still sold out now for the Bumiputra portion.
Could it be they are selling for raya? or putting to AS1M and thinking that they can get more dividend?

Added on September 26, 2010, 11:27 am
QUOTE(eyan @ Sep 24 2010, 10:45 PM)
anyone know about AMB FUND?
Eespcially for Amanah value trust fund, is it open for all races or only bumi?

Try their webpage, but seems down now...

www.ambmutual.com.my

This post has been edited by vergas: Sep 26 2010, 11:27 AM
vergas
post Sep 29 2010, 08:33 AM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 29 2010, 07:35 AM)
Hi, does any Bumi do what I say as in the below posting ?

Miles, good explanations there.

Hmm, looks like it's a good way to place cash inside PNB Funds as Emergency Funds. Good liquidity, and good dividend for the Fixed Price Funds. Can withdraw for, say, medical emergencies.
I think many people use this, because of its liquidity, the best place for emergency funds.

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 29 2010, 07:35 AM)
Then, for Daily Expenses - another creative way. Meaning : a Fixed Price Fund unitholder will only need to travel to any bank to selloff some units at every month-end, and use the money for the rest of the month. Then comes another month-end, do the same thing again.

The calculation must be good - the total units sold away, being equal to the total amount withdrawn for monthly expenses; -> when totalled up for the whole year must be equal to the total amount of divdend earned in the previous year to keep the principal constant, and therefore, be able to generate the same "expenses amount" again for the following year.

One must be careful not to withdraw more than what one earns as dividend at the preceding year.

In this way, so long as the dividend yield remains constant year in and year out, there will be income earned consistently for spending.

Have I missed anything ?
Really good idea. At say RM200k dividend say 7% gives you RM14,000 per year, say you took out RM1 per month, that's RM12k per year left with another RM2k not withdrawn for the year. Is RM1k sufficient? Well still something. Its like a pension for the future then.

This post has been edited by vergas: Sep 29 2010, 08:34 AM
vergas
post Oct 5 2010, 12:23 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 5 2010, 12:17 PM)
Sorry it is 6.38%*(12/13.87)=5.52% per annum.

If you put in rm100,000 on 1/10/09 (for 12 months) your return is only RM5520.

if you put in rm100,000 on 5/8/09 (for 13.87months) only than your return is rm6380.

Sorry miscalculate.

Added on October 5, 2010, 12:22 pmsoul2soul I am no private mutual fund agent. Dont be so quick to judge. Was taken aback by your response which u have amended. It was my mistake that I miscalculate. Thank you for jolting me into recalculating the return. I am more happy now knowing the return is now better ie 5.52%/year.
Have you updated your account, can you show the printout? I would like to test the calculations.

This post has been edited by vergas: Oct 5 2010, 12:23 PM
vergas
post Oct 5 2010, 03:26 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Oct 5 2010, 12:49 PM)
hmm... true also. Thanks for highlighting.

Just realize tahun kewangan berakhir 30 september 2010. Which means.. we only paid 6.38% for 13 months = 5.88% per annum.

Let's see how this fund perform next year.

Sniff does this mean PNB fund is getting worse in their performance??
Ah I see, so they have the money for more than 1 year, since it collect money early from the real start of the financial year. Thanks for highlighting.
vergas
post Dec 24 2010, 09:26 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(prototype @ Dec 24 2010, 03:57 PM)
can someone explain this please? i also would like to know..
Bonus is calculated based on average 10 years minimum monthly balance.

Say min monthly balance

Jan 2000 RM1000
Feb 2000 RM1000
till
Nov 2010 RM1000
Dec 2010 RM1000
(assuming no additional investment and you withdraw all bonus and dividend every year)
Then total RM1000 x 12 months x 10years = RM120,000.
Divide by 120 = RM1,000

Then times the bonus rate 1.25%.

Its not significant if you just invested, but if you have invested long time ago, it makes a lot of difference. Bonus was design to reward long term unitholders.

vergas
post Jan 18 2011, 10:56 AM

1,488 posts

For bonus calculation:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry38789554

Added on January 18, 2011, 10:57 am@cybermaster98, may we know your bonus and dividend split?

This post has been edited by vergas: Jan 18 2011, 10:57 AM
vergas
post Mar 17 2011, 03:33 PM

1,488 posts

Wah now all want to give nice number..... 6.38
vergas
post Apr 4 2011, 09:20 AM

1,488 posts

AS1M for Chinese is full.
vergas
post Sep 22 2011, 10:00 AM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 22 2011, 09:54 AM)
Another 8 days to FYE of AS1M and they have yet to annouce the divident.
It will be announce today.

This post has been edited by vergas: Sep 22 2011, 10:00 AM
vergas
post Oct 21 2011, 03:57 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(da drummer @ Oct 21 2011, 10:32 AM)
hye...simple question..can i transfer from bank to asb acc using on9?
thnx
cimbclick and maybank2u can.
vergas
post Dec 19 2011, 03:03 PM

1,488 posts

ASB Dividend 7.65%, Bonus 1.15%.
vergas
post Dec 21 2011, 11:05 AM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(justin_5 @ Dec 21 2011, 01:48 AM)
u have the ability to earn and put 180k in ur ASB but cant count what is 8.8% of 180k?  doh.gif
Its not that simple.

Dividend is based on average lowest monthly balance for the year 2011.

Bonus is based on average lowest monthly balance for the last 10 years.

So you really need to know the lowest monthly balance, not just the year end balance.

My previous post on calculations

This post has been edited by vergas: Dec 21 2011, 11:14 AM

0.0471sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:53 PM