SVC Vs DVC and what is double magnet?, car sub woofer [WTA]

zennn
post Aug 6 2009, 01:39 PM

QUOTE(thunder_kiat @ Aug 6 2009, 11:03 AM)
1. SVC Vs DVC? pros n cons
svc = single voice coil = got only 1 pair of +ve -ve terminal
dvc = double voice coil = got 2 pairs of +ve -ve terminals
dvc pros allows you to feed it more power from your amp by lowering impedance (ohm value) by wiring it in parallel. cons is, u need a suitable amp that is stable at the lowered ohm value.

2. what is single magnet and double magnet? izit related to SVC or DVC?
this is just the number of magnets that u can see at the bottom of the sub, usually higher number of magnet needs higher power to run, not related to the voicecoils.

3. how to determine the good specification of a woofer?
do your research, read reviews, go to TT, ask other users opinions, etc...read specs only no use, manufacturer can always goreng....

4. how to match amp with proper specification of a woofer? eg: impedence, rms
just match rms of the woofer to the amp, vice versa. if its svc 4ohm sub then read the 4ohm mono rating of the amp. if its dvc 4ohm sub then look for the 2ohm mono rating of the sub. usually safe to get amp rating up to 50% higher than sub's rating.
eg) if sub is dvc 4ohm 400W, look for an amp that can go mono 2ohm with 400-600W
if sub is 400W svc, then look for amp that is 4ohm mono with 400-600W

5. how to fully optimize woofer performance?
besides feeding it enuff power, u need a strong and rigid box, according to the size recommended by the manufacturer.  dont buy ready made cheap boxes..

This post has been edited by zennn: Aug 6 2009, 01:40 PM
zennn
post Aug 9 2009, 01:29 AM

QUOTE(thunder_kiat @ Aug 7 2009, 06:08 PM)
1. ur statement "u need a suitable amp that is stable at the lowered ohm value." usually amp ohm value is at 4ohm, u mean some amp's ohm not stable? going up n down?

amp manufacturer will state in their specs how low their amp is stable down to. if youre using single voice coil 4ohm sub, then no problem, most amps are stable at 4ohm mono. if u have a double voice coil 4ohm sub, u will need an amp stable down to 2ohm mono. thats why have to check your amp suitable or not

2. SVC or DVC can hv double magnet as well?

yes svc can have double magnet also

3. if a sub woofer with double magnet required more power and if my amp not good enough (in rms), then also no use rite? for this case, i better buy single magnet woofer?
all u need to do is check the rms of the sub and rms of the amp, doesnt matter how many magnet. get an amp with rms a bit more than rms of the sub. even up to 50% more also ok. less is not ok....but still got sound la. just not as cun
zennn
post Aug 11 2009, 01:26 PM

good shops will quote u around 250 for a good sealed box. kl/pj all same la. go to good shops please.
zennn
post Aug 13 2009, 04:09 PM

QUOTE(thunder_kiat @ Aug 11 2009, 01:55 PM)
u suggesting the sealed box is better than the ported box? i nvr had any sealed box with woofer to try on. really would like to hear the FACT.
sealed box gives a comparitively flat response or more uniform response (throughout the frequency range) as compared to ported box. thats why used in SQ more, easier to tune (with xover or eq)

ported box will give a high response at certain frequency range only (hence the term tuned ported box), thats why used more in SPL or street bass systems. size of box and size of port will give different frequency responses...

Added on August 13, 2009, 4:14 pm
QUOTE(Conroe @ Aug 11 2009, 10:59 PM)
Izit possible to wire 2 2ohm 300w rms subs with 4ohm 300w rms amp?
2 units dvc 2 ohm subs? wired in series-parallel gives u 2ohm, wired in parallel-series gives u 2ohm also. if your amp is stable at 2 ohm mono then can la. if it makes 600W at 2ohm, then each sub gets 300W, so its ok. just check the amp specs...

This post has been edited by zennn: Aug 13 2009, 04:14 PM
zennn
post Nov 6 2009, 01:01 PM

go take a proper look at the sub la, dont just see the pics...
zennn
post Nov 12 2009, 01:50 PM

why dont u get a simple system, one HU, one 4ch amp, one comp set, one sub, kautim...

no need to get many-2 stuff, in the end u end up everything cap ayam and wires running everywhere, sure to get aeroplane sound

save up your money, buy good branded 2nd hand products, better for long run.

u can always buy a single din pocket to put small-2 stuff inside, under your HU, cost like Rm20 only
zennn
post Nov 13 2009, 03:15 PM

no need capacitor lah, youre not running a high power system...

also no need rear midbass lah, buy one sub enuff already, can run from same 4ch amp. if u stil want rear speakers, can use back ori speaker and use the head unit's internal power. and no, no need pre amp, stay away....just say no!

i think the kenwood player has more features

tell me something, what exactly is your budget for the whole system and which area are u from?

This post has been edited by zennn: Nov 13 2009, 03:17 PM

0.0183sec    1.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:17 AM