Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V4, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

dark_heart07
post Dec 18 2009, 12:06 PM

77 posts

any suggestion for ps3's cooling fan?
dark_heart07
post Dec 18 2009, 07:25 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(joejee @ Dec 18 2009, 07:02 PM)
hi,need some information here. Can i download demo games in PC then only transfer to PS3? Is the website reliable(no virus)? thank you
hurmm....i dont think we can dload any demo games from PC and transfer it later to ps3(correct me if i'm wrong). rclxub.gif
dark_heart07
post Dec 18 2009, 07:57 PM

77 posts

so,if we dload this how can we install it in ps3?need to create another acc following the game region?
dark_heart07
post Dec 19 2009, 06:13 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(sinchro @ Dec 19 2009, 04:26 PM)
i maybe planning to get a ps3 soon  tongue.gif

i don't own a HDTV, just a standard CRT tv only.

i understand that CRT is flexible is scaling resolutions.

i also understand that if i use composite the maximum resolution is 480 only due to the bandwidth right? (i think)

i also understand that component can support up to 1080p resolutions.

but my CRT tv has component input but no progressive scan, so can i use the 720 and 1080 resolutions if i use component input?
you can check at the back of ur tv (usually over the component slot).there u will see the resolution.usually is 480i
dark_heart07
post Dec 20 2009, 10:00 AM

77 posts

its all the same only the gold plated make it expensive....
dark_heart07
post Dec 20 2009, 02:42 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Dec 20 2009, 12:42 PM)
Correction about alot of people seems to get mistaken.
"Gold Plated" HDMI cables are nothing but a ploy.
They're not gold, they do not prevent corrosion (don't belive? dip the head in water and don't wipe it dry, store in contained area... check back a few days).

They're just simply painted as gold.
So don't play into all these gold plated crap, it doesn't do a damn thing at all (neither preventing corrosion or some "smartass" saying it gives you better PQ).
The marketing tricks are just stupid. rolleyes.gif
wtf?!it seems like the one who bought it looks like stupid....at my place,the game shop even sold it for almost rm500.they even promote it to me but wth am i gonna do with it since i dont have lcd tv in my room....lol
dark_heart07
post Dec 20 2009, 05:39 PM

77 posts

F@H is folding at home....also renamed to Life with Playstation.....i also try it but cant dload the proxy server since i cant make the account on that website.... -__-"
dark_heart07
post Dec 21 2009, 03:16 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Dec 21 2009, 09:47 AM)
Hi Guys, got a quick question. Can i use other headset besides Sony bluetooth headset?

What other brand that i can use? and what brand you guys recommend? THanks!
i only used regular wired headset.....u only need to buy the 3.5mm to USB converter.i'm too poor to buy wireless/bluetooth T_T
dark_heart07
post Jan 2 2010, 12:17 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(xanax @ Jan 1 2010, 07:46 PM)
i've recently hit a snage and i hope someone will help me. firstly i got a Streamyx wireless riger DB 108

2) the modem is situated upstairs
3) the wifi signal detected on my ps3 is around 50%-70+%
3) the ps3 could successfully connect to my wifi but during the network test it showed PlayStation network "failed"

what i dont understand is i could connect but i still cant go into Playstation station network.

can someone help me out here

thax in advance
hurmm...i also use this modem but no prob so far.before this i use the wired modem (db102) given by telekom and set the modem to bridge mode.and when i got the wireless modem,i just connect it to the new modem and set it up with smart config.

the result?i got NAT type 2 with wireless and NAT type 1 with wired.
dark_heart07
post Jan 2 2010, 11:01 AM

77 posts

did u have the wired modem db102?if u have i can put a tutorial for switching it to bridge mode.coz the defaylt setting for it was router.so,when u connect to the net ur port is not fully open....
dark_heart07
post Jan 2 2010, 08:59 PM

77 posts

so,the ps3 proxy only works for dloading patches and demos?how about the full game?
dark_heart07
post Jan 29 2010, 08:31 AM

77 posts

guys!wanna ask something.

i have multiple acc on my ps3.my main is MY acc.let say,i have cod5 and all the update@patch was dload using this acc meanwhile all the map packs was dloading using my another acc.if i delete my main@MY acc,did my map packs which was dload also deleted?since when we delete our acc our game data also will be gone too.

same with bf1943 unlock key which i buy using SG acc but the demo was dload using MY acc.never tried this be4 but curious to know more about this.smile.gif
dark_heart07
post Jan 29 2010, 02:51 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 29 2010, 09:44 AM)
if im not mistaken, if you delete the account, the stuff you downloaded will not be deleted, BUT you will not be able to access it anymore using any other account because of copyright laws.
thanks!

uh,one more question....can we transfer our back-up data from fat ps3 to slim?is it possible?
dark_heart07
post Jan 29 2010, 04:15 PM

77 posts

but the new fw will delete all the data from old one when it transfer.
dark_heart07
post Jan 29 2010, 07:16 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Jan 29 2010, 04:54 PM)
thats y its called migration

only backup thru usb hdd is the only way... can't have two ps3s with same data (sony's policy)
now i see the point....anyway,thanks for da info!
dark_heart07
post Jan 31 2010, 08:22 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(DWExia @ Jan 31 2010, 01:57 PM)
Hey guys, I just change my modem to a streamyx wireless modem.

Previosly i was using D-LINk router but kena fry by lightning ytday.

Now my connection quite unstable, easily i would sign out of PSN.

When playing online will dc half way also.

Anyone can help me? I know theres a way you can tamper with the IP thingy but I'm not sure how to.
i also using streamux wi-fi modem but nothing prob with it....i get NAT type 2 while using it and my dload speed is 1.5mb,upload speed 400+kbp/s.and when i used streamux wired modem i can get NAT type 1 and same speed as wi-fi.maybe u didnt setup it correcly....smile.gif

Added on January 31, 2010, 8:23 pm
QUOTE(mmusic08 @ Jan 31 2010, 07:45 PM)
just bought my ps3 sg set.. im wondering how to check is it genuine/used or new one..
or u can check it when u register it for warranty online at SG PSN website.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dark_heart07: Jan 31 2010, 08:23 PM
dark_heart07
post Jan 31 2010, 11:39 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(gajah44 @ Jan 31 2010, 10:44 PM)
ok. did that. tried using 576, 720, 1080i and they're  ok.
when i go to 1080p 60hz then screen keeps going blank

It seems if i set it to i080i, then everything is ok. Can anyone help? Why would full hd not work. Is it the hdmi?
its your screen that didnt support full hd....smile.gif
dark_heart07
post Feb 1 2010, 07:04 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(accab @ Feb 1 2010, 06:56 PM)
hello guyz i have 1 question to PS3 sifu.

how to copy all save game data to usb?

actually i wan to sell my PS3 but have many save game data.

i think when i want buy new PS3 i want paste back my old save game.

can some1 teach me please...
copy protected save files cannot be copied...

but if u already buy the new one,the new fw3.15 can enable u to transfer all the data to new ps3 by using ethernet cable:)i'm using back-up data method to transfer most of the save data except for copy protected.but remember that back-up method only copy ur save game and profile and not ur game data.so,map packs or DLC will not be copied....

This post has been edited by dark_heart07: Feb 1 2010, 07:06 PM
dark_heart07
post Feb 3 2010, 11:15 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(ExcelBoy @ Feb 3 2010, 06:55 PM)
Oh OK, Thanks, now need to find out how to split the files to 4GB.....
hjsplit?
dark_heart07
post Feb 4 2010, 06:44 PM

77 posts

ps3 already hv build in bluetooth for its controller....

0.0261sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:56 AM