Addin external fans!

TSbakry
post Aug 4 2009, 01:36 PM, updated 17y ago

385 posts

Guys,

A question! I am planning to add 2 or 3 external cpu fans to suck/blow air from/into the xbox.
What i wanna know is how do i power it using an external plug? And, the current fans at the back of the xbox 360, is it sucking air or blowing air in? I havent played my xbox for a while since its broken. Getting it fixed soon.

And another thing, which is better? to suck the hot air out? or to blow the air in?
' or 1=1 --
post Aug 4 2009, 01:46 PM

ayam sadding
1,443 posts

as far as i know i think it blows air out.
TSbakry
post Aug 4 2009, 01:54 PM

385 posts

Thanks! Any idea how i can power my fans? I dont wanna use batteries. sad.gif damn project sekolah if i do
xxboxx
post Aug 4 2009, 06:18 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Aug 4 2009, 01:36 PM)
Guys,

A question! I am planning to add 2 or 3 external cpu fans to suck/blow air from/into the xbox.
What i wanna know is how do i power it using an external plug? And, the current fans at the back of the xbox 360, is it sucking air or blowing air in? I havent played my xbox for a while since its broken. Getting it fixed soon.

And another thing, which is better? to suck the hot air out? or to blow the air in?

just buy a DC adapter and connect the wires to the fans.

why limit suck or blow? do both! add extra fans on the back to suck and extra fans on the side to blow.
TSbakry
post Aug 5 2009, 01:51 AM

385 posts

Hey,

I did think about getting the DC adapter, but someone told me takut the power too strong and will spoil my fans..how?
dark lenanza
post Aug 5 2009, 08:58 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

then dont do it

TSbakry
post Aug 5 2009, 09:18 AM

385 posts

I want to do it, just need confirmation la!
If you guys say the fan can tahan, then i will do it. if not, then i wont. I dont have any expertise in this. And i dun really trust my friends level of knowledge in this.

Edit: and where can i buy the DC adapter? I assume its a 12v adapter.. malaysia ada radioshack?

This post has been edited by bakry: Aug 5 2009, 11:55 AM
dark lenanza
post Aug 5 2009, 12:15 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

every electronic thingy had a lifetime
they wont last long

navigator
post Aug 5 2009, 01:59 PM

375 posts

I used to have such DIY fans

but I took them out after i realized they're of no use to help the 3RRoD problem.

The fan is still here if u want it. hahahahaha
TSbakry
post Aug 5 2009, 02:11 PM

385 posts

So totally no use? what if i blow directly on the heatsink? also no use?
xxboxx
post Aug 5 2009, 10:45 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Aug 5 2009, 01:51 AM)
Hey,

I did think about getting the DC adapter, but someone told me takut the power too strong and will spoil my fans..how?
buy the DC adapter that can adjust the output voltage. because PC fans need 12v, if you buy 5v adapter the fans won't spin fast enough. and make sure to get a 1000mA adapter. i use a 500mA before, the adapter inside melted! laugh.gif

i don't think that adding fans is useless. it did help to have better air circulation and blow out the hot air.
navigator
post Aug 7 2009, 02:50 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Aug 5 2009, 02:11 PM)
So totally no use? what if i blow directly on the heatsink? also no use?
To preserve the machine that you can't do anything? no....

These fans will only increase fan noise & vibration.

Like I said I used to install one and it's off from the system now. Still no difference--Hot spot is still same ol' hot, system will still running....

This post has been edited by navigator: Aug 7 2009, 02:54 PM

0.0169sec    0.99    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:06 PM