37 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 >Bottom

Samsung Plasma Series 6 650 50inch (PS50B650S1R), Discuss this new plasma tv here.

daryl.k
post Mar 3 2010, 09:59 AM

467 posts

anyone experienced a sudden black & white phenomenon on this tv before?yesterday was the second time it happened to me..the first was during initial breaking in of the tv..i was running the break in disc before i go to sleep one night and bout 6hrs later when i wake & check on it, the display turned b&w

the second time, last night, it was in b&w as i switched the tv on..but both time, i switched the tv off & on again it came back to normal..not sure if its something i should be worried bout...but i anyone had similar experience do share..
temppei
post Mar 3 2010, 10:30 AM

264 posts

no such problem bro. smile.gif
DemonTweakZ
post Mar 3 2010, 12:22 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(daryl.k @ Mar 3 2010, 09:59 AM)
anyone experienced a sudden black & white phenomenon on this tv before?yesterday was the second time it happened to me..the first was during initial breaking in of the tv..i was running the break in disc before i go to sleep one night and bout 6hrs later when i wake & check on it, the display turned b&w

the second time, last night, it was in b&w as i switched the tv on..but both time, i switched the tv off & on again it came back to normal..not sure if its something i should be worried bout...but i anyone had similar experience do share..
Never happened before. Btw, what break in disc are you using? I just got mine last month and was wondering if it's neccessary to break in? I use it for Astro (SD), Blu-ray and Xbox. And yes, I game quite a lot. I saw some IR a few days ago and until now it's still there. What should I do? Will the screen scrolling help?
daryl.k
post Mar 4 2010, 04:27 PM

467 posts

i downloaded the break-in disc from avforums if not mistaken...cant remember now...basically the disc shows colors and slides from 1 color to another in about 3mins...it will be repeating like that...apparently it 'warms' up the phosphor...

but i find it quite a hassle going thru the break in process...cos this tv gets quite hot...i placed a small table fan & blast it full speed and have it pointed towards the back of the panel...but, what gets hot is not only the back of the panel...even the front also gets quite hot...

first couple of times, after leaving it running for 6-8 hours...the entire living hall feels the heat from the tv...the last time i did the break in, i had to leave the air-con on in the living hall overnight..

anyways...for me, the screen scrolling helps...sometimes, i will let the screen scroll for about 20-30mins before i switch it off. i have been quite careful with how i use the tv...even sub-titles got burn in...i normally switched between 16:9 & full screen (2x) every 20-30mins during a movie...so black bars & subtitles wont burn in...

temppei
post Mar 4 2010, 04:48 PM

264 posts

hey bro,

i think it's alright with the heat... it's meant to be like that i supposed. doubt it will damange the screen in anyway.

the burn in is normal, initial stage, it's very obvious but now it just leave traces unlike when it was new, and with the screen washing it goes off.

i do the washing every few days.

dont be overly worried man! mine is working like a charm.
daryl.k
post Mar 5 2010, 04:34 PM

467 posts

actually...after a few times being scared about seeing traces of images...i now not really bothered..cos i know its temporary only...

but still quite wary of playing movie with 2 black bars top & bottom....even subtitles which changes with every dialogue also stuck there...
temppei
post Mar 5 2010, 05:10 PM

264 posts

i dont have astro, but i have the typical channels namely rtm1, rtm2 and the rest.

my settings - 85 for contrast with dynamic contrast boost at low.

even with the ntv7 logo for an hour. the IR is not overly obvious.
do a wash and it dissapears.

not too sure if it's related to panels. but i notice my 2nd panel after swapping for a new one is less prone to IR tho.

daryl.k
post Mar 8 2010, 01:56 PM

467 posts

hey guys....the black & white thing seems to be happening more often now...i've now got it twice more since i posted here last week. both time immediately after 1 switched on the tv...

this morning again it happened...and this time i notice, the power on LED (red color) on the TV keeps blinking...and just like previous times, i switched it off & on and it came back normal...

now i'm beginning to worry...

how to connect the tv to my notebook so i can take a snapshot of it when it happens again?
aneip
post Mar 8 2010, 03:15 PM

2,466 posts

I think better directly consult samsung service center. Maybe they have idea what's happening.

Sound like hardware problem..
ronnt88
post Mar 8 2010, 03:18 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(daryl.k @ Mar 8 2010, 01:56 PM)
hey guys....the black & white thing seems to be happening more often now...i've now got it twice more since i posted here last week.  both time immediately after 1 switched on the tv...

this morning again it happened...and this time i notice, the power on LED (red color) on the TV keeps blinking...and just like previous times, i switched it off & on and it came back normal...

now i'm beginning to worry...

how to connect the tv to my notebook so i can take a snapshot of it when it happens again?
wat black & white thing?
daryl.k
post Mar 9 2010, 05:42 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Mar 8 2010, 03:18 PM)
wat black & white thing?
the screen itself...everything's in low contrast black & white..i will try to take a snapshot from my notebook if it happens again....

ronaldjoe
post Mar 9 2010, 08:41 PM

3,569 posts

Weird, we didn't encounter this.
Could it be your hdmi connection?
temppei
post Mar 10 2010, 09:57 AM

264 posts

bro,
u better call desa and ask them to swap ur tv man.
i got mine swapped for a new one without much hassle.

mine were stuck pixels and occasional flashing pixels. cant really proof it to them, but they took my word and swap one for me.

call me kiasu or wuteverlah. i'm mighty happy after the change biggrin.gif
de_lasoul
post Mar 10 2010, 01:58 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(temppei @ Mar 10 2010, 09:57 AM)
bro,

mine were stuck pixels and occasional flashing pixels. cant really proof it to them, but they took my word and swap one for me.

wah, samsung also provide good service ler... just replace u like that...

daryl.k
post Mar 10 2010, 03:07 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(temppei @ Mar 10 2010, 09:57 AM)
bro,

i might do that...anyway i got a 1 year all risk insurance...but the thing is, i kinda damaged the physical a little bit during the mounting of the TV onto the wall bracket...me being really dumb...so dunno if they still can replace the TV for me...

i'll wait for it to happen again...maybe will take a snap shot using phone so i can at least show to them...very difficult to explain using words...

another thing is...it took 3 person sweat.gif to mount the tv onto the wall mount bracket...taking it out is just as trouble some...so i'm trying to not do that as much as i can...

temppei
post Mar 11 2010, 10:02 AM

264 posts

de_lasoul,

i doubt samsung will swap, most prolly will just repair it. the shop swapped for me. smile.gif

bro,
u mounted it urself!? u my hero la. haha.. the installers installed for me. two of them. saw them struggling coz of the weight man..

but accidents do happen smile.gif. anyway i think u shld call the shop and tell them the prob. i didn't prove much to them, after telling my sales agent the prob, he said he will reserve a new set for me.

showed the guy who came a few of those stuck pixels (darn difficult to see and find), he looked puzzled and just swapped.

i did ask him if anyone has swapped for this matter, he said sheepishly - ur the first one. smile.gif i'm rather particular i guess.

anyway they swapped with a new set. checked in service screen.
welwitchia
post Mar 11 2010, 10:11 AM

1,219 posts

^ Temppei, you got your TV from Desa HT? If so, which branch? I'm on the look out for Sammy's 2010 Plasmas when they get released and I wouldn't mine paying a little bit more if the services are good.
Thx!
temppei
post Mar 11 2010, 10:32 AM

264 posts

welwitchia,

i'm not sure if my case is an isolated case or not, but i bought mine from desa kepong.

That guy who serviced me is not exceptionally knowledgeable but adequate for me. Most importantly, he's friendly, patient and accomodating.

welwitchia
post Mar 11 2010, 11:47 AM

1,219 posts

^ Thx.. I bought my Yamaha RX-V1900 from them last year. I'll visit them when the new Sammy Plasmas are available.
daryl.k
post Mar 16 2010, 05:35 PM

467 posts

hi guys, the B&W thing happened again yesterday...i managed to snap a shot using my phone...it may not be as clear, but the best thing i have at that time was my phone...

the effect is quite similar to if u tuned the contrast low and brighten up the brightness level...everything in B&W...and quite simply, switch it off, and on again, and it's ok...

quite puzzled with this...what u guys think i should do? contact Samsung or Desa HT?

37 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 >Top

0.0272sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:06 PM