> My iPhone 3GS is missing

rockccf
post Aug 5 2009, 10:03 AM

215 posts

Hi TS,
sorry to hijack this thread.

Everyone,
My iphone 3gs oso kena rompak in kepong area.
Now the thief got caught according to police and police department is holding my phone as evidence.
How can i get it back? Wait until the case closes first? i heard that there's a form to retrieve my stuffs back, is that correct?
I am really frustrating now.
Any good suggestions will be appreciated greatly.

This post has been edited by rockccf: Aug 5 2009, 10:20 AM
rockccf
post Aug 7 2009, 03:57 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(havocx @ Aug 7 2009, 10:16 AM)

Let me help you out with that, my wife's phone also got robbed once, she was speaking on her phone in Mentari park and someone came from behind while she was entering her car and snatched the phone away. Gutsy lady she was she ran after him, he was already on the bike behind her car ready to run away and she did well..if you watch wrestling and know who's Edge, she did a spear on him and got him off his bike.

She shouted for help and was holding the guy down. All this while I was on the phone with her. Anyway that's another story. She got help allright, there was 2 restaurants at each side and folks in there rushed out, whacked the thief and held him till the police came.

I came much later to the police station, my wife was there earlier. The phone was held as evidence. Itll be used in court later. They held on to the phone for 3 days after which it was released with a form in which it mentions that my wife must attend to court in a maximum of 3 months from the date, of which the phone must not change its nature of outlook and of use. That means if you are using a scratched up Nokia with a Maxis number, it will still have to be same scratched up phone ( no changing of covers, even adding on protection of any sort ) and still must show in effect a Maxis number.

Called 2 months later, she didnt have to give testimony, her phone however was used as evidence and the culprit got 9 years jail with 2 whips a day. Pretty harsh, but hers wasnt the first phone stolen by the guy, when they caught him, he already had 5 phones and 8 different purse stolen and he's a repeat offender.

So thats it. You can get the phone back provided you promise nothing changes till the case is called.

Thanks for your comment!!!

The inspector just keeps telling me to wait and wait and wait...i am not sure if he's really doing something about my case, he even took my ic and driving license as evidence, i mean can he actually do that?

I am really upset...but after knowing your's wife case, i feel lighter now. However, you were saying that they held on to the phone for 3 days which means 3 days in court or totally they held the phone in police station for 3 days? For my case, it's more than 3 days already and i think it's still held in the police station.
Do you still remember what that form is called? I think it's called form 413 right?

Added on August 7, 2009, 4:18 pm
QUOTE(NelsonBoy @ Aug 5 2009, 07:57 PM)
ur 1 lucky man.
Hmm....not really...
I used that phone for less than 2 days.
Now it's being held by the police, not sure if they will give it back to me....soon...

This post has been edited by rockccf: Aug 7 2009, 04:18 PM
rockccf
post Aug 12 2009, 12:03 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(havocx @ Aug 11 2009, 07:45 PM)
Sorry, didnt check the forums for quite a while been preety busy.
Yep 3 days in the police possesion. And also yes correct form 413.
In court it was just 30 minutes brought in as evidence although you also need to be present.

As police he has a right to demand your IC and Driving License but then again, he should at least
give you something to show he has them ie receipt or something like that, as in what if suddenly you get caught jaywalking and someone thought you came from some weird country smile.gif
Ic...Now my iphone is being held by the police, shouldn't they give me a receipt or something? to prove that they actually have my staff with them?

This post has been edited by rockccf: Aug 12 2009, 12:03 AM
rockccf
post Aug 12 2009, 05:28 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(havocx @ Aug 12 2009, 04:44 PM)

Yes they have to. Evidence or not, that item belongs to you and must be returned to you in the end as the rightful owner. Ask for an acknowledgement slip or something like which shows its in their possesion. If you leave it at that the iphone will be 'lost' in the system.

In short, you wont get anything back. Pretty much would have been better to have lost in to the thief in the first place if its going to go to another thief anyway right ?  nod.gif  So go, its your right to bug them and to get that acknowledgement slip, the item is yours to begin with, they only should hold on to it as evidence and not for their use.

I did ask actually.
Now the police only gives me back my ic and license, however when I ask that police whether i should sign something like "receipt" or not...the inspector said "tak payah"~~~

And when i wanted to get back the phone, he said it's evidence, can only be released after the case is "closed"!
When i asked him about the form 413, he said no such thing at first, he even asked me who says got such form called form 413...
Afterwards, when i asked again, he said "kalau saya serah handphone itu kepada kamu, boleh kamu tanggungjawab tak? jika kamu kena rompak lagi, hilang atau apa-apa, boleh kamu tanggung tak?"...and i answered him "boleh"...he still dun wan give me back.
hai...really getting frustrated with this inspector.
What should i do? Wait???
rockccf
post Aug 16 2009, 03:18 AM

215 posts

The inspector told me that the case is going to last for 1 or 2 years....damn...i wont speak to him again, i will speak to someone else.....at first, he told me that the he can submit pictures of that phone, but now he telling me diff story...he said small portable devices cannot submit picture, only cars can.....I am so sicked!!! He's changing so fast...I dunno what his intention is....trying to own that phone or? whatever it is, i will go for someone else...
rockccf
post Aug 18 2009, 03:50 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(annariana @ Aug 17 2009, 11:40 AM)
i think he is trying to own the phone la brother. =/

you know what, go for his superiors. take note of his name, etc. cos as far as i know, things like 'are you responsible enough to take care of your stuff?' does not arise in robbing matters like this. the police only holds yr things if it is made to be evidences in court.

police nowadays are so corrupt. man, i feel sorry for my own country -.-
Ya, according to him, the phone will become evidence~~~But it just does not make sense if my phone is held by police for 1 or 2 years.

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Aug 18 2009, 10:06 AM)
This is totally insane.. which balai u report huh? mad.gif
I reported the case at Balai Kepong.

Added on August 18, 2009, 3:52 pm
QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Aug 18 2009, 02:43 PM)
should write a letter to the press also.

include copies of your police report.
Huh? will that work actually? Maybe i should go for mca?

This post has been edited by rockccf: Aug 18 2009, 03:52 PM
rockccf
post Aug 19 2009, 11:44 AM

215 posts

By the way, anyone knows how to lock down the iphone remotely in case i cant get back the phone? To make sure noone can use that phone as well...
Can maxis or apple do that for me?

This post has been edited by rockccf: Aug 19 2009, 11:47 AM
rockccf
post Aug 20 2009, 10:16 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Aug 19 2009, 04:01 PM)
erm . in my case when i m form 3 , my n-gage qd get stolen by some drug addictor , i m lucky the phone was founded and the people who stole it get caught and the case need to go to court ,
i can use the hp with few condition and regulation .
the hp cannot change it looks like what havox said ,
it cannot be missing before the case was not closed or else i will be fined rm800 ( the price that time i bought it )
it need one year to close the case . ( few time go to court when secondary school -.-'')
The case takes one year to close? I don't think that the criminal will be held in custody for one year until the case closes and the judge condemn how many years right?

Ya, at first, the inspector said can submit the pictures of the phone then release the phone to me, on the same conditions as you said, but next time i saw him, he changed his story, he said no such thing, he said small portable devices cannot submit pictures. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by rockccf: Aug 20 2009, 10:17 AM
rockccf
post Aug 26 2009, 06:29 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(calvingkf @ Aug 22 2009, 02:37 PM)
I advise u to go to ur district police station and bring along ur report and those evidence about ur phone keep by the inspector. Seek for help from sarjan rank above. Back to your case its damn nonsense. I once b4 met the same situation but i can take back oso in a week after the police confirm the item belongs to me. In condition of same like most other said, no changing outlook and my case about 6months went 3 times to court. Quite troublesome. U go mca i think they oso no choi u de lar.. lolx ur phone like keluar mulut buaya masuk mulut singa..
Ya...I actually think of that too...But honestly, i don't think it's that easy to see those higher rank police, even if i manage to see them, maybe they will say the same thing or just tell me to refer to THAT inspector.

Ya...i wish i've never found my phone back...because i really have wasted a lot of time on going to police station and this and that.
Thanks to our mighty police forces.

Added on August 26, 2009, 6:33 pm
QUOTE(havocx @ Aug 24 2009, 10:27 AM)

Depending on evidence as well as the case created against the culprit and the availability of the folks in the courts, yes it may take that long, it also depends on if the culprit decides to get a lawyer for himself and argue the cases, it might then drag even longer.

Nevertheless, that shouldnt all be a bother. Rockccf, you should be bothered by the fact that you cant get your phone back.
1. Its not a murder weapon.
2. Up to now, there's already 3 real life information that yes the phone can be taken back ( from myself, rockccf and calvingkf)
3. You have no proof that the phone is with the policeman. Leaving it longer might then just be your word against his. And if it comes down to it, who then would most people believe ? You or the perhaps corrupt cop ?

Maybe its now action time on your part rather than just delaying ? smile.gif Just an advise  wink.gif

I've been thinking of approaching the superior of that inspector...but I bet that they will be saying the same bullshit to me.
However, i don't even know who is the superior of that inspector and how should i approach...*sigh*

This post has been edited by rockccf: Aug 26 2009, 06:33 PM
rockccf
post Sep 15 2009, 11:03 AM

215 posts

Hi everyone,

i got back my phone already.

Finally i could talk to his superior and his superior tells him to return the phone to me.
However, he's still a sucker because he writes my phone market value as 5000 so if i lost the phone again, i have to pay 5000 to court.

Now i have to think twice first before carrying Iphone and going somewhere.

Thank you guys for sharing your experience especially Bro Havocx.

rockccf
post Sep 16 2009, 03:48 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(ramp @ Sep 16 2009, 05:15 AM)
Enjoy it, rclxm9.gif

but more carefull bos....

thumbup.gif
Ya, I will. Thanks smile.gif

QUOTE(double_7 @ Sep 16 2009, 07:49 AM)
what IF ur phone lost again? will u pay 5000? just asking..
Yup, need to pay 5k to court because considering now the phone actually belongs to court until the case closed. doh.gif

QUOTE(havocx @ Sep 16 2009, 09:28 AM)

Glad you got the phone back mate. Excellent stuff  rclxms.gif
About the value of the phone, dont worry too much on it, just use it like normal. Yes if you do lose it you'll have to pay RM5k to the courts but then again, say something bad happens, there's still a way to get out of the RM5k, but we'll discuss that should it happen, im hoping there's no need to work on that portion though.

For now dont worry so much about it. The value was probably written higher to ensure to ensure a harsher sentence later. The Nokia 8310 which my wife lost was valued at RM3500 at the time, a price almost unheard off for a Handphone then. So a 3GS where normal value is about RM2500 ? RM5k sounds valid.

Be careful out there buddy, and have a great week ahead !  biggrin.gif

Ya, hopefully that the case will be closed ASAP so I don't have to worry about that 5k anymore.
BTW, that cocky inspector did tell me the reason that he didn't want to surrender the phone to me in the 1st place, it's because he does not want to waste any time on going to court and this and that, and i think he writes the phone market value as 5k on purpose, because he told me that if he writes it as 300, he knows i won't care about the phone.
LOL.

0.0184sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:50 PM