<-<- Sugar Gliders V13 ->->

izzjml
post Aug 4 2009, 12:35 AM

14 posts

Hey,
Im very new in being a suggie owner as I got my first suggies last sat. Why does my sugar glider do A LOT of crabbing when she is inside the bonding pouch? And sometimes I feel like she wants to get out of the pouch eventhough she was only in there for about 15mins, why is that?
izzjml
post Aug 4 2009, 01:12 AM

14 posts

hey,
yup for one whole week before i got her ive research alot but when u actually experiencing in doing it, reading sometimes doesnt come in handy much. =P I know that she crabs because she is scared but is normal to crab sooo much? Im just worried about her..
izzjml
post Aug 4 2009, 01:19 AM

14 posts

thank you soo much for the tips!! =D
i baru je bagi dia apple guna tangan and she starts to smell my fingers and start eating the apple while im holding it, i love the feeling! hehe
izzjml
post Aug 4 2009, 05:04 PM

14 posts

hey,
another que here, if i want to give yogurt to my suggie what type should i give?
is it ok if i give her the yogurt sold at supermarket for example, anlene strawberry yogurt?
izzjml
post Aug 4 2009, 05:11 PM

14 posts

thank you, and its ok if i gave it to her twice a week right?
izzjml
post Aug 4 2009, 05:16 PM

14 posts

oh and is the yogurt can only be given as a treat?
izzjml
post Aug 6 2009, 01:13 PM

14 posts

for the tent time, when is it the best time to do it? day/night?
izzjml
post Aug 6 2009, 02:09 PM

14 posts

my suggie usually wake up around 12am-1pm so is it ok for me to just bring her to the tent around 10/11pm and stop playing 1/2am?
or may what do you guys usually do when it comes to tent time?

This post has been edited by izzjml: Aug 6 2009, 02:13 PM
izzjml
post Aug 6 2009, 02:33 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(yaniena @ Aug 6 2009, 02:27 PM)
my mulan also like that,once i back from work around 7pm till 8 or 9,she awake.eat play kejap,then sleep..around 12mdnight till 2am,she's wake up again n want to play..sape nak layan!! i'm sleepy..

yawn.gif
tu la! i keep it kat rumah my bf so dia la kena layan haha but i usually lepak rumah dia becoz nak main dgn Gladys so sometimes i tunggu sampai 1am pun dia still belum bangun =(

Added on August 6, 2009, 2:36 pm
QUOTE(loritanah @ Aug 6 2009, 02:29 PM)
rclxm9.gif welcome to the world of nocturnal's rclxm9.gif
i once accidentally left my suggie at office..huh..
then what happened? u letak dia kat mana?

This post has been edited by izzjml: Aug 6 2009, 02:36 PM
izzjml
post Aug 6 2009, 02:47 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(loritanah @ Aug 6 2009, 02:40 PM)
letak dalam sleeping pouch at my workstation.... sweat.gif

lucky she went nowhere..just her face look like 'bengang' abit..

can click my siggie for further details
read your blog! very funny! keep it up! rclxms.gif

Added on August 6, 2009, 2:50 pm
QUOTE(yaniena @ Aug 6 2009, 02:43 PM)
haha..klaka la..cmane bleh ttggal?? hmm..hope never happen to me..coz i put my mulan also under my pc table n let her sleep for the whole days.. tongue.gif .

lori advise me to put her on cage went i back from work n feed her some food..let her play by herself..then around 12midnigt-2am we spent time to play with them..but now i change the schedule..ehe.. brows.gif  i wont let her sleep around 7 till 9 or 10pm..bia die main puas2 sampai dah xlarat..kah3..then baru letak dlm cage..tutup ngn kain baju yg dah pakai,bia die x merengek,then kite pun tido la..coz i xbole la nak bgun memalam bute semate2 nak layan die..ngntok..nnt hidup huru hara xckup tido..kan kan kan... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
btw is it ok for two people to be in that tent or one people je boleh?

This post has been edited by izzjml: Aug 6 2009, 02:50 PM
izzjml
post Aug 6 2009, 03:06 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(yaniena @ Aug 6 2009, 03:03 PM)
sorg pun bole..aritu i bia jer die dlm tent main sorg2 sementara i gosok baju,mkn n mandi..then after that i masuk dlm tent die jump2 happy n trus jump kat my face..habis caklar balar..hish.. mad.gif
wah okay x muka u?

well nak masuk dua orang because me n my bf nak main ngan dia but nanti i takut crowded pulak for her ke or is it going to be ok?
izzjml
post Aug 6 2009, 03:29 PM

14 posts

Added on August 6, 2009, 3:09 pm
xlah,,,she's ok..nak masuk 1 kampung pun xpe..lagi die suke coz ade yg melayan..then standby jer for their free poo/pee everywhere inside the tent....yeeehaaa.. rclxms.gif kalo sorg kan senang sket nak elak..kalo dah crowded dlm tuh..hmm tadah jer laa

[/quote]

haha okay, jangan nanti dia buat machine gun poop dia kat kitaorg sudah tongue.gif

Added on August 6, 2009, 3:31 pm
QUOTE(yueyi5730 @ Aug 6 2009, 03:10 PM)
@yaniena
aiyo dia tau act cute ask u forgive it..haha...cant wait for mine..
saya ingat itu tent untuk 4 orang punya bukan ar?
yueyi, when r u getting yours?

This post has been edited by izzjml: Aug 6 2009, 03:31 PM
izzjml
post Aug 8 2009, 06:51 PM

14 posts

hey, im trying to do the tent time tonite, but how should i carry my suggie to the tent? if start holding her she starts to bite me, when i touch her sleeping pouch she crabs and sometimes try to go up and bite also. so what do you suggest?
izzjml
post Aug 8 2009, 08:50 PM

14 posts

okay will try it, thx!
izzjml
post Aug 9 2009, 02:22 AM

14 posts

hey, just did my first tent time and i think its going well. She was soo hyperactive! But i had a prob when i want to put her back to her cage. Ive been with playing with her for about 2 1/2 hour in the tent n i am pretty much tired so i was trying figure out how in the world i want to put her back in the cage. I offfer her the sleeping pouch and the bonding pouch but she doesnt want to go in, i even lure her with treats but still no use so in the end i just grab her with a cloth and she start biting hard and so many times! When ive put her in the cage, I feel guilty cause Im scared I've hurt her but I didnt grab her hard la, just good enough to hold her. Is there any other way for me to do it or just keep doing it until she used to it?
izzjml
post Aug 9 2009, 10:31 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(malowie @ Aug 9 2009, 08:01 PM)
ask your friend to get a bonding pouch and put nothing else but the bonding pouch in the cage. then in the morning, zip the bonding pouch and ask your friend to bring it every he goes in the morning. that way the glider will get used to his scent, sounds, sights etc.

also he can put his unwashed shirt over the cage covering it so that the glider can get used to the scent of it.  biggrin.gif
ive tried doing that but my sugar glider crabs non-stop and tries to get out, what should i do?
izzjml
post Aug 10 2009, 12:01 AM

14 posts

I gave my suggie solid food + HPW in the morn (just like a snack cause I dont want her to go hungry when Im away for class) and at night fruits that ive blended.
NOW I feel like changing it and give her staple food for the morn (i saw one at petshack - Premium Glider Diet 8oz, betul kan staple food?) and at night blended fruits/vege + HPW but looking at both (Premium Glider Diet + HPW) , Im scared that the protein level will be too high. (Or is it ok?)
The reason I want to give her staple food is because in the morn i only cut a few cubes then when nak simpan the fruit, it will change color n not fresh. So is it ok if I change it?
izzjml
post Aug 10 2009, 12:29 AM

14 posts

great! thx smile.gif
oh yeah and another que here :

QUOTE(malowie @ Aug 9 2009, 08:01 PM)
ask your friend to get a bonding pouch and put nothing else but the bonding pouch in the cage. then in the morning, zip the bonding pouch and ask your friend to bring it every he goes in the morning. that way the glider will get used to his scent, sounds, sights etc.

also he can put his unwashed shirt over the cage covering it so that the glider can get used to the scent of it. biggrin.gif

ive tried doing that but my sugar glider crabs non-stop and tries to get out, what should i do?
but ive hand feed her and she's ok with it as sometimes she will hold my hand or sit on it (in the cage) but somehow she still refuse to stay in the bonding pouch...

This post has been edited by izzjml: Aug 10 2009, 12:30 AM
izzjml
post Aug 10 2009, 01:06 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ Aug 10 2009, 12:43 AM)
How long did u keep ur glider already?

Some glider who never use bonding pouch before will feel insecure and frightened when they are 'locked' in the pouch...

Again, i hav to highlight this.. crabbing and biting is a very common ways of gliders (tamed, bonded or unbonded) to deliver their feelings and emotions.

Jus like human, when we were baby, we cries whole day long becoz we scare or we hungry or etc. But, even now we are adult, we will still cry if experiences something bad.

Gliders are differs from human, we cant communicate using language becoz we use different language. So, try to put urself into ur glider's shoe, understand and approach his/her feelings.

If she is still not familiar with u that's why she is scare, then give her more time and patience to slowly accept u.

If she is very familiar with u, then figure out what is the main reason or underlying hidden factors that make her so scare... could it be other pets? perfume smell? u jus change shower cream? u change ur shampoo smell? u change ur washing detergent brand???

Every small small fine thing could be the reason... go trace it and understand ur glider more.
baru 10 days je, but first day in the bonding pouch she was ok, 2nd time she acted like that.
im giving her alot of space and also talk to her every night and hand feed her fruits.
will try and look on everything u suggest!
thx eric! ur like my suggie sifu! notworthy.gif
izzjml
post Aug 11 2009, 09:49 PM

14 posts

i wnt to trim my suggie's nail but xtau la macam mana nak buat, quite scared nak trim it coz takut TER-hurt her...

0.0647sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:31 PM