Wii from US

TSfantus
post Aug 2 2009, 10:59 AM, updated 17y ago

41 posts

Did anyone get their wii from US via mail?? My brother was supposed to be back but cancelled the trip. He had already bought the wii and is thinking of shipping it back via airmail. Is it safe?? Any taxes involved??

gundamalpha
post Aug 2 2009, 11:03 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(fantus @ Aug 2 2009, 10:59 AM)
Did anyone get their wii from US via mail?? My brother was supposed to be back but cancelled the trip. He had already bought the wii and is thinking of shipping it back via airmail. Is it safe?? Any taxes involved??

It's not safe unless it's traceable and insured. And yes, there's a big risk kastam will get involved.

With all the costs involved you are better off getting an official local Wii, which are US versions as well. I don't think your brother would make any loss by selling the Wii there.
TSfantus
post Aug 2 2009, 11:30 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Aug 2 2009, 11:03 AM)
It's not safe unless it's traceable and insured. And yes, there's a big risk kastam will get involved.

With all the costs involved you are better off getting an official local Wii, which are US versions as well. I don't think your brother would make any loss by selling the Wii there.
If I get it here, I'll have to pay for it. If my bro sends it back, he'll bear all the cost tongue.gif .

Anyway, I think you are right. It's probably not worth the risk, not to mention the headache involved when dealing with the local customs.

viledante
post Aug 2 2009, 11:35 AM

414 posts

try fedex. i usually use that and kinda can skip customs, i think.
TSfantus
post Aug 2 2009, 11:47 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Aug 2 2009, 11:35 AM)
I just checked and Fedex is just too expensive. Don't think my bro will agree to that.

Is it true you can skip customs with Fedex??
ramz
post Aug 2 2009, 11:50 AM

21,340 posts

nothing can escape customs! unless u know people in customs. tax is about 20% of the wii. it will probably be the same price as getting it here after the tax. maybe a bit more coz u chosing fedex (expensive courier service). but since your brother paying, go ahead la. apa u rugi
greyshadow
post Aug 3 2009, 09:55 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Aug 2 2009, 11:03 AM)

AFAIK, local official Wii (from maxsoft) is already the UAE version, but it's still on NTSC/U firmware thou...

QUOTE(viledante @ Aug 2 2009, 11:35 AM)
If you're lucky... and for most of the time, those thing with value over RM400 is hard to escape the greedy custom

QUOTE(ramz @ Aug 2 2009, 11:50 AM)
nothing can escape customs! unless u know people in customs. tax is about 20% of the wii. it will probably be the same price as getting it here after the tax. maybe a bit more coz u chosing fedex (expensive courier service). but since your brother paying, go ahead la. apa u rugi
I once imported something worth RM800++ from US, using UPS next day delivery
Customs didn't kacau me thumbup.gif I was lucky then...
but my other fren who imported RM300 stuff also using UPS next day delivery wasn't so lucky, he kena tax 30% on his stuffs.

It's all base on luck actually
penman
post Aug 3 2009, 11:48 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 3 2009, 09:55 AM)
AFAIK, local official Wii (from maxsoft) is already the UAE version, but it's still on NTSC/U firmware thou...
If you're lucky... and for most of the time, those thing with value over RM400 is hard to escape the greedy custom
I once imported something worth RM800++ from US, using UPS next day delivery
Customs didn't kacau me thumbup.gif I was lucky then...
but my other fren who imported RM300 stuff also using UPS next day delivery wasn't so lucky, he kena tax 30% on his stuffs.

It's all base on luck actually
yes... Kastam is random... rclxub.gif

@TS: seriously... it's a risk to mail things back to MY via normal parcel/mail. Like many had posted here... use FedEX/DHL (with insurance, preferably... )

you should have get it locally... ask ur bro to sell it in US, then give u the $$ to get it locally. 'cos later got problem... your warranty will be an issue.

something to consider...

alex13
post Aug 5 2009, 02:08 PM

400 posts

For Local official Wii, you can get it in Jusco smile.gif It cost less than RM1.3k.

I think last time Sogo got that, but I am not sure now.

0.0169sec    0.96    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:08 PM