QUOTE(pgf501 @ Jul 30 2009, 01:05 PM)
ps3 can play dts hd or not?
yes
it'll decode those HD tracks and send to avr as LPCM

pgf501
post Jul 30 2009, 01:29 PM

154 posts

my housemate just planning to buy hd receiver and use my ps3 as bd source. my bd collection now only have dolby digital and pcm sound. if ps3 can decode dts hd then i'll stick with it
TSecyc1984
post Jul 30 2009, 03:46 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(xrossf1re @ Jul 30 2009, 12:36 PM)
wtf!!!
World Trust Fund! biggrin.gif

s6xs9x
post Jul 30 2009, 08:04 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 30 2009, 12:19 PM)
which part of you feels "small"?  tongue.gif
QUOTE(kianwee @ Jul 30 2009, 12:25 PM)
I'll give you the answer you're looking for - the genitalia part.  drool.gif
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 30 2009, 12:29 PM)
argh! my eyes!! my eyes!!
QUOTE(arremie @ Jul 30 2009, 12:35 PM)
no a prob...just get HD porn tongue.gif
Haven't you guys heard of UPSCALING????!! rclxm9.gif
Ngto
post Jul 30 2009, 08:15 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(pgf501 @ Jul 30 2009, 01:29 PM)
my housemate just planning to buy hd receiver and use my ps3 as bd source. my bd collection now only have dolby digital and pcm sound. if ps3 can decode dts hd then i'll stick with it
Make sure your housemate buys HD receiver which has HDMI which can also input LPCM sound. Some old receivers has HDMI but only passthrough. So your PS3 will not be able to play HD audio on these sets.

pgf501
post Jul 31 2009, 01:12 AM

154 posts

my current av receiver just have optical and coaxial input only.

wondering what is the cheapest hd receiver that can support dolby true hd and dts hd.

any idea?
TSecyc1984
post Jul 31 2009, 09:31 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jul 30 2009, 12:35 PM)
no a prob...just get HD porn tongue.gif
laa...HD porn outdated already,,,people must go for Imax Porn 3D shocking.gif

arremie
post Jul 31 2009, 09:38 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Jul 30 2009, 08:04 PM)
Haven't you guys heard of UPSCALING????!!  rclxm9.gif
tak main la upscale tongue.gif

QUOTE(ecyc1984 @ Jul 31 2009, 09:31 AM)
laa...HD porn outdated already,,,people must go for Imax Porn 3D  shocking.gif
why u gay? laugh.gif
YoNgZ
post Jul 31 2009, 09:53 AM

320 posts

where i can get imax porn 3d LOL!
Ngto
post Jul 31 2009, 08:22 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(pgf501 @ Jul 31 2009, 01:12 AM)
my current av receiver just have optical and coaxial input only.

wondering what is the cheapest hd receiver that can support dolby true hd and dts hd.

any idea?
Pioneer Vsx-519.

It doesn't have HD Audio decoding but it can input Multi Channel LPCM from PS3. Price is around RM1,2xx. Maybe can still negotiate.

Even if you buy a stand alone Blu-ray player, a lot of them got onboard HD audio decoding, so your AV receiver don't need the decoder. It just need to be able to input decoded HD sound (LPCM) from the Blu-ray player through the HDMI input which the Pioneer 519 can do.

Don't buy the Pioneer 818. It has HDMI but only acts as passthrough. It can't input the LPCM HD sound.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Jul 31 2009, 08:32 PM
mikapoh
post Jul 31 2009, 11:47 PM

1,263 posts

Guys,

What is the improvement you get for high-end BD players compare to Panny RM900 one?? Which is the best value for money BD player to own now?

Lone*Wolf
post Jul 31 2009, 11:59 PM

1,442 posts

Just dun BOTher about it and it will go away ...
piscesguy
post Aug 1 2009, 07:38 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Jul 31 2009, 11:47 PM)
Guys,

What is the improvement you get for high-end BD players compare to Panny RM900 one?? Which is the best value for money BD player to own now?
If wanna get high-end BD players..check if they have features that are not available on BD60..

You wouldn't wanna get a high-end player and ended up losing features to a budget player. wink.gif

Remember that features are objective..whereas PQ/SQ are subjective..
pgf501
post Aug 1 2009, 06:04 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Jul 31 2009, 08:22 PM)
Pioneer Vsx-519.

It doesn't have HD Audio decoding but it can input Multi Channel LPCM from PS3.  Price is around RM1,2xx. Maybe can still negotiate.

Even if you buy a stand alone Blu-ray player, a lot of them  got onboard HD audio decoding, so your AV receiver don't need the decoder. It just need to be able to input decoded HD sound (LPCM) from the Blu-ray player  through the HDMI input which the Pioneer 519 can do.

Don't buy the Pioneer 818. It has HDMI but only acts as passthrough. It can't input the LPCM HD sound.
thanks for your opinion. will think about that.

btw, my housemate already got his receiver but not sure which brand and model.
aiman04
post Aug 1 2009, 06:26 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Aug 1 2009, 07:38 AM)
If wanna get high-end BD players..check if they have features that are not available on BD60..

You wouldn't wanna get a high-end player and ended up losing features to a budget player. wink.gif

Remember that features are objective..whereas PQ/SQ are subjective..
Agreed. Those supposedly high-end players cost so much because of all the gold it has. If you scrape all the gold-plated connectors you could make yourself a nice gold ring. tongue.gif

Just kidding. laugh.gif
pgf501
post Aug 1 2009, 06:35 PM

154 posts

bro aiman04,

saw in your signature that you are using "DVE: HD Basics Blu-ray Edition" for tuning and calibration. is it included with sound calibration?
aiman04
post Aug 2 2009, 08:38 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(pgf501 @ Aug 1 2009, 06:35 PM)
bro aiman04,

saw in your signature that you are using "DVE: HD Basics Blu-ray Edition" for tuning and calibration. is it included with sound calibration?
It's more to HD video instead of audio, but it does include these:

Full Bandwidth Pink Noise - Stereo
Frequency Sweep, 15 Hz to 11 kHz
Band Limited Pink Noise - Stereo
440 Hz Calibration Tone
Subwoofer Phase Check
Multi-Channel Levels & Balance
Pan Around the Room
Buzz & Rattle Check

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 2 2009, 08:39 PM
pgf501
post Aug 3 2009, 10:08 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 2 2009, 08:38 PM)
It's more to HD video instead of audio, but it does include these:

Full Bandwidth Pink Noise - Stereo
Frequency Sweep, 15 Hz to 11 kHz
Band Limited Pink Noise - Stereo
440 Hz Calibration Tone
Subwoofer Phase Check
Multi-Channel Levels & Balance
Pan Around the Room
Buzz & Rattle Check
tq. really need an advice from all sifu in here about ht setup but i'm still waiting for my new receiver.

0.0239sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:07 AM