Humanities Human emotions, Bringing out the best in emotions
Shadow Kun
Jul 31 2009, 04:06 PM
i think emotions is what drives humans to progress. the desire to get a certain something. take your example of making planes to travel faster for instance. what drives people to want to travel that far and fast in the first place? i don't think traveling a long distances is a key need for survival. it's the emotions that motivates the invention.
Shadow Kun
Aug 3 2009, 02:47 PM
After thinking about your posts, i think i can agree that humans can still live and progress without emotions.
But i don't think living without emotions will be any better than with emotions in terms of quality of life. I believe things like war and murder or damaging the environment will still happen even without emotions. just because we humans can still make mistakes.
And i think emotions is what spice things up in life. It's like a difference between eating a cheese burger and eating a nutrient pill that have the same amount of nutrients as a cheeseburger. Both can fill you up and enrich you, but you enjoy the cheeseburger more.
Shadow Kun
Aug 4 2009, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(Tak3shi @ Aug 4 2009, 01:02 AM) Humans without emotions, would lead to no crime, no strife, no conflict, a higher level of competency and efficiency but that would also make us robots. Of course the human race would probably go extinct as we won't feel the need to love and procreate and life would be meaningless. I disagree. I think crime, strife and conflicts will still happen. Level of competency won't be higher because I think emotions do a better job at driving you to compete. Efficiency however, is something I think can be improved without emotions as we can focus only at things that matter.
Shadow Kun
Aug 5 2009, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(Thinkingfox @ Aug 4 2009, 04:17 PM) I'm not too sure if there will be no crime, strife or conflict but I logically it will be less than if it involves beings with emotions, because emotion is the cause of many fight and wars. true to that, but emotions are also things that prevented potential crime, wars and conflicts. positive emotions such as pity, mercy, love etc. without them people will be less/not hesitant to use the most inhumane methods to solve problems such as simply killing your opposition to reduce competition. This post has been edited by Shadow Kun: Aug 5 2009, 08:33 AM