Tenancy agreement stamping and registration..
Jul 28 2009, 11:50 AM, updated 17y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
116 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
now need to fill up pds 1 and blue form is it? Is this SOP? since when did they started this, wasting my time going all the way to LHDN
Jul 28 2009, 12:24 PM
1,382 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Borrow your thread,
May I know what is the reason to stamp the tenancy agreement ? Compulsory for every company ? |
Jul 28 2009, 02:42 PM
1,743 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jul 28 2009, 02:43 PM
482 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Jul 28 2009, 02:44 PM
Jul 28 2009, 06:57 PM
730 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
no stamping means ur document is not legal in d terms of law
Jul 28 2009, 11:09 PM
Jul 29 2009, 11:55 PM
11,400 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Blue form? What blue form? The next time we send our despatch, is he going to come back with this blue form, thus requiring an extra trip?
If you don't stamp the tenancy, it is not valid. Neither the landlord nor the tenant can sue each other. But you can still stamp it then, even if it's late. But IINM if it's more than 1 month past the agreement date or tenancy date, they'll impose a fine. Yes, it's true you can save a bit of money by not stamping them until you absolutely need them. We've always stamped all our tenancy agreements. Hundreds of them over the years. It must have amounted to tens of thousands of $. Only in one instance was there a court case, an in that instance, we were the one getting sued. |
Jul 31 2009, 02:40 PM
439 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
It's not true that a document is not legal if it is not stamp duty paid. It is still legal but you will get hefty fine by LHDN if you use it in court for not paying it and LHDN found it out. It is governed under stamp duty act and it carries penalty if you dun stamp your document. Governemnt also need money mar. Dun because of this small money and make a big lost later.
To cut the hassle, get a runner to stamp it for you. I never fill in any form when I use runner but not when I do it on my own. It is wasting our time just to send 1 document for stamping. Get a lawyer clerk friend, real estate agent etc to help you. There is a small charge but worth the price. This post has been edited by ch_leong: Jul 31 2009, 02:42 PM |
Jul 31 2009, 03:26 PM
81 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: PJ |
I do believe stamping is required to make the document legal
as well as a form of tax income from the government ![]() www.shchoy.com |
Aug 1 2009, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(ch_leong @ Jul 31 2009, 02:40 PM) It's not true that a document is not legal if it is not stamp duty paid. It is still legal but you will get hefty fine by LHDN if you use it in court for not paying it and LHDN found it out. It is governed under stamp duty act and it carries penalty if you dun stamp your document. Governemnt also need money mar. Dun because of this small money and make a big lost later. if you are the landlord and not the tenant, why risk it?To cut the hassle, get a runner to stamp it for you. I never fill in any form when I use runner but not when I do it on my own. It is wasting our time just to send 1 document for stamping. Get a lawyer clerk friend, real estate agent etc to help you. There is a small charge but worth the price. tenancy agreement is like insurance. you dont want to take it out for "use". but when you need it .....you will NEED it. |
| Change to: | 0.0200sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:22 PM |