LYN Proton Wira Club (LYN-PWC) v21, Come in & let's discuss about Wira

Aeon_Clock
post Aug 3 2009, 11:35 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

I got Shell, Top Gear, and F1 Sepang car sticker tongue.gif

btw, I have two problems with my Wira...one is the left front brake. When hard braking, I can hear a sound from it. Difficult explain what kind of sound, but it happens when the car is about to come to a halt. When the road is wet, that tyre will lockup. Does anyone know why?

secondly, my remote is dead...almost. You have to spend half an hour pressing the button before it decides to release the lock for you. I'm using the spare now but that's also in bad condition. I hear from my colleague that you can change the whole remote at some shops. Mostly those shoe cobblers at shopping malls. Is it safe to do this? Can anyone recommend a reliable shop?

Thanks smile.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 3 2009, 12:10 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Aug 3 2009, 11:48 AM)
do u service ur car regularly? ... got check brake pads b4? ... better take and check, might be brake pads, might be brake calipers stuck or something ... dangerous  shakehead.gif

remote, have u tried changing the battery, might be the battery weak d ...
yes u can change, bring to any car accesory shop also can ... or change the whole alarm system for better security ...
of coz got service car regularly. But last I skimmed and change the brake pads was about 2 years ago. Brakes work fine, just got the noise from one side.

as for the remote battery...its still good. Can see the light shine brightly...but not all the time. I feel like the connector is rusted or something. No budget to change whole alarm system lar...
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 4 2009, 10:16 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Aug 3 2009, 01:55 PM)
calipers? ... anyway, wat is the sound like? .. eeeeeeee (high pitch sound?) ...
not high pitch sound. more like heavy metal sound. And you can feel it a bit on the brake pad during hard braking.

QUOTE(masao343 @ Aug 3 2009, 02:37 PM)
get your brake pads checked for irregular bites (got makan one side, etc). from here it's easier to assess your real problem. maybe its your calipers. u try braking while your car moving in a straight line, let loose your steering a bit, got turn one side?

as for the remote, sounds like just a dead battery la, no need change whole alarm system.
go to kedai kunci, usually they got service them one. if it is not the battery, then usually is the tactile button contacts problem already, if this is the case, ask them reprogram your remote to a new set la, not too expensive la.
steering ok wor...it goes straight when braking. Doesn't turn left/right.
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 4 2009, 10:44 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

I know check brake...I just want to know check for wat. Otherwise those bloody mechanics will charge me a few thousand and still don't get it right. Kena before man!
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 4 2009, 11:06 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

yea yea...it does sound a bit like "grrroookkk"...a short but kinda loud 'grok'. At first I thought it was something wrong with the suspension, coz my suspension is old and probably broken...making little banging noise as you drive even on a straight road.

so, should I change the brake pads? or...something else?

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Aug 4 2009, 11:07 AM
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 4 2009, 11:27 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

no, the sound only comes when I press MORE (hard braking). If I brake like normal Sunday morning drive...no problem.
I tot it will grok both sides if the brake pads worn out?
btw, using Bosch brake pads here...

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Aug 4 2009, 11:28 AM
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 4 2009, 12:07 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

brake pads less than 2 years old...
but I went for servicing at Eneos 3 weeks ago...they didn't mention that the brake pads were out...

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Aug 4 2009, 12:08 PM
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 4 2009, 12:52 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

I get white smoke when starting my car on Mondays...coz I dun use my car on weekends much. It got a little more smoky after I removed the catalytic converter.
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 4 2009, 04:51 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

how long are standard brakes suppose to last?
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 4 2009, 05:13 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

I ride the brakes quite a bit...almost as much as auto trannie users. Me driving manual but like to go neutral gear when downhill tongue.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 5 2009, 12:57 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(masao343 @ Aug 4 2009, 05:24 PM)
everyone got their own style la, but free gear at downhill is dangerous la bro...
if u drive downhill genting, unless your pads are racing type (high temp) i think before reaching the police post, your brakes will fail liao?
usually it's gear 2 for me, with the gas pedal to control my speed. prefer not to overheat my brakes.
I dun mean that kind of downhill la tongue.gif
steep downhills I dun free gear (like BSC there)...minor ones only (the road in front of Kelana Jaya LRT station) which I keep on the slow lane and free gear. Most of the time these drivers hog up the fast lane anyway so I just free gear and glide slowly to the next corner. Sometimes free gear also can overtake them...funny 9 9.

QUOTE(alvinz @ Aug 4 2009, 05:32 PM)
see lo .. if downhill free gear and brake still ok la ... those can expect ma ..
but some drivers using manual tend to brake offen on a straight road to slow down ... and all i did was just lift my right foot ...
worst of all, it alerted me and i follow brake coz i scared the driver wanted to sudden brake ...
i am like wtf, brake for wat ....

gtg liao .. bye bye ... it's 5.30pm ... yay ~~ rclxm9.gif
I rarely use the brakes actually. Used to drive all the way home from college without touching the brakes until I reached the traffic lights at my house. When I say I ride the brakes...what I meant was when braking for traffic light or sth...I free gear and brake. Dun use the gear to slow me down. So in a way it wears out the brakes a bit more but won't eat up much fuel.

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Aug 4 2009, 06:26 PM)
u mean the disc??... brake pads??.... or the calipers??...
brake pad smile.gif
but since you asked...calipers also tongue.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 5 2009, 10:29 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(masao343 @ Aug 5 2009, 08:35 AM)
oh u mean down slopes ah? phew* actually it is normal in free gear for a car to roll much faster than another car engaged in gear.
that is why it can get dangerous in places like genting downhills lor. more stress on the brakes when you apply it too.
wah, so your style of driving dont use engine braking very much... your fuel consumption must be very good?  hmm.gif
yep, minor slopes only I free gear. Seldom use engine braking. But my FC not that good also....17cents per km no matter how slow/fast I drive. If I'm not mistaken, the others here like Killerz is getting 15 cents/km
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 5 2009, 03:40 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Killerz622 @ Aug 5 2009, 11:07 AM)
but its evo 3 rs wor,not gsr rs tongue.gif
last time i got 13cent/km... now no more,fc increased due to havent change my engine oil and spark plug cry.gif
I change my engine oil also same thing bro tongue.gif
will be changing spark plug soon.

0.0418sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:52 AM