MSI Users

wongpeter
post Jul 24 2010, 05:45 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(kentoh @ Jul 13 2010, 10:18 AM)
any using cx420x ?? hows the commend ?
Just bought the CX420 about a week ago. The build quality is very good. Feels very solid and I like the looks of the 'Color film Print Technology'. I just do alot of surfing and dont play games much so it runs very quiet and cool (in low power setting). Probably can get around 2-3 hours on the battery.

I feel its value for money as the specs are quite decent for the money I paid:
CPU: Intel Core i5-430M
VGA: ATI Radeon HD5470 with 1GB DDR3 VRAM
LED Panel: 14" HD 1366x768 (Glare Type)
RAM: DDRIII 2GB*1
HDD: 320GB
RF: 802.11b/g/n
BlueTooth
Chiclet Keyboard

QUOTE(devil94)
hi~msi user i would like to ask about this laptop ~
how was the quality ?
CR400 seem attractive worth it ?
any cons about MSI ?
TQ

I found there was a lot of flex and give when typing on the keyboard. I didn't like that cos if you type a bit hard you can see the keyboard area being depressed. The build quality of the CR400 doesn't seem as solid as the CX420. I recommend you take the CX420 instead. Far better build quality and specs for just a little bit more money.

QUOTE(steven11)
sorry, not sure it's the correct place to ask or not, i just want to know where can i find MSI notebook price list? and which shop in KL or PJ got MSI notebooks display for look and feel?

Thankds in advance.

You can try Octavo Marketing & Services at Digital Mall, Lot1-10(1st Floor) in PJ Sec 14.
wongpeter
post Aug 4 2010, 01:38 PM

973 posts

I made a mistake about the CX420s' sound cos I was listening to a very soft video clip. The sound volume is definitely acceptable.

Yes, can upgrade to 4GB RAM (price is approx RM150).

Free gifts includes MSI bag, cooling pad, mouse + mouse pad, cleaning kit, kensington locking cable.

Pay by credit card in one lump sum is additional 2%. Credit card installment package is additional 5% (I think).

The price of the MSI CX420 has now dropped to RM2099 at amega.com.my. Go to Octavo at Digital Mall and use this info to bargain for a lower price than this.

Good luck. rclxms.gif

wongpeter
post Aug 4 2010, 08:19 PM

973 posts

It is NOT cheap! It is inexpensive. Cheap means lousy and this laptop is NOT lousy! tongue.gif This CX420 is inexpensive cos for the money you pay you are getting specs & performance level comparable to other brands costing up to 30% more! rclxms.gif

Give MSi another year or so. It seems they are now hitting the market(Malaysian and International) very aggressively.

Latest MSI Laptops Take Market by Storm
Highly Recommended by World Media

During the world’s three major computer exhibitions held during the first half of the year, MSI unveiled a strong array of 30 notebook computers. Now that the laptops are hitting the market, media around the world have had some highly positive write ups about them. The GX740, for example, is a gamers’ dream machine which has been awarded Editor’s Choice several times and is being oohed and aahed for its awesome presence and performance. The stylish design and extended battery life of the thin and light X-Slim X350 laptop and the Wind U160 netbook have also made them Editor’s Choice. The Wind U160 has been extolled as the best netbook on the market.

30 models hitting market: In order to realize its goal of becoming one of the top ten global names in laptops in 2010, MSI rolled out 30 NB models at the world’s three biggest computer shows during the first half of the year. These exhibitions included CES in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA; CeBIT in Hanover, Germany; and Computex in Taipei, Taiwan. These NB computer series caught the attention of the global media at the shows and have been snatching one award after another ever since. The Wind U160 and X-Slim X620, for instance, received Germany’s iF Product Design Award for 2010—the design world’s equivalent of an Oscar, and the X-Slim X360 was named Buyers’ Choice at Computex. These NBs have been receiving rave reviews by the world media almost as soon as they hit the market.

Ultimate performance

GX740 gaming notebook: Right after hitting the market, editors of many internationally renowned high tech mags, such as I4U, are not only recommending the GX740, they were unanimous in their praise of the GX740’s exceptional performance. Superior multimedia makes the GX740 more than just a gaming machine, it makes it MSI’s flagship for performance and multimedia. The editor of Tweak Town put it this way, “I really like the MSI GX740 gaming notebook… for the price, it performs very well. This machine is also very adept at multimedia.”

Leading the pack

Wind U160: The British media had nothing but good things to say about MSI’s U160 which received Germany’s iF Product Design Award for 2010. It stands above the rest in terms of performance and stylishly innovative design and it has the longest battery life of any netbook on the market. After testing it, Hexus said MSI’s U160 is the “thinnest-ever netbook in our review sample - equipped with a useful six-cell battery - weighs just 1.2kg, making it small, ultra-thin, ultra-light and suitably portable in every sense.”

Read more here

. rclxm9.gif
wongpeter
post Aug 6 2010, 08:43 PM

973 posts

Isn't it better if you have the option of choosing whatever OS you want to install on your laptop? There could be substantial cost savings if you install Linux or even MAC OS if you so choose. I am not sure about the MAC OS, pls consult some sifus here if this MSI could support MAC OS.

The sticker on my laptop reads CX420 and it came with Freedos. Don't know what you mean by CX420X.

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Aug 6 2010, 08:46 PM
wongpeter
post Aug 8 2010, 01:38 AM

973 posts

adz83, a bit of trivia for you. Back in the early 80's when the clone IBM's came on the Malaysian scene, the original IBM desktops & notebooks was the king of the hill. The price was rather exorbitant so not many people could afford them. The most saleable notebook then, that the above average man-in-the-street could afford, was the NEC. It was as much a status symbol as the Motorola brick. In those early days of the Malaysian notebook scene nobody would touch an Acer with a 10 foot pole. Their reputation was that bad! Acer persisted and they got their volume going so everybody talks about Acer since they have significant market share.

MSI was for a very long time OEM manufacturers of laptops whilst concentrating on building their reputation with their motherboards. When they noticed how good the demand was for their netbooks that they were making for others they decided to try their hand at marketing it under their own MSI brand. They are now very aggressively marketing their notebooks globally and some of the models have been receiving rave reviews all over the world. People are only now beginning to take notice of MSI notebooks cos for a long time they did not have any significant market share because they were not really into selling notebooks, only motherboards and being OEM manufacturers. Quantity and quality are two entirely different things. You see many Proton Kancils on the roads. That doesnt mean its a better car than Porsche that you don't see too many of. tongue.gif

Go and see the CX420 for yourself. It is solidly built. The specs you are getting for the money you pay is good value for money. Not only that but I find the CX420 aesthetically stunning. It will turn heads.

I am not in anyway associated with MSI. I just happen to love their products. Two weeks after I bought the CX420 I also bought the MSI Wind U140 netbook that is now on promotion at Courts for RM989. Check out that netbook at Courts. It will give you an idea of MSI quality.

Good luck! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Aug 8 2010, 01:49 AM
wongpeter
post Aug 8 2010, 01:47 AM

973 posts

Maybe it was the MSI quality..... smile.gif
wongpeter
post Aug 9 2010, 08:26 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(adz83 @ Aug 9 2010, 02:42 PM)
thanks wongpeter for the explaination.  rclxms.gif so, by this i can conclude that MSI was just as ggod as other brands, rite? and i see the only main factor for the inpopularity is the only fact that they doesn't have a service center here. rite? warranty does a plays a big part huh?
I had the same reservations back then as you have now. Before I bought the CX420 last month I was doing a lot of legwork going here and there to check out the different brands. Having seen the CX420 I still needed to check out about the service part. I also wanted to know if accessories esp the battery was easy to purchase. I made a query regarding the availability of spare batteries on MSI website and they replied very promptly that I could go to their service center @

MSI Service center-Acacia IT Service Center
(Total 22 repair centers in Malaysia)
No:100, Grd & 1sf Floor, SS14/1 Subang Jaya,47500 Petaling Jaya,Selangor Darul Ehsan
Tel:603-5635-2600

If a product is well built you don't have to worry about the warranty. If it is poor quality even a 3 year warranty is useless cos your laptop will be spending more time at the service center than in your home!

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Aug 9 2010, 08:37 PM
wongpeter
post Aug 10 2010, 07:06 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(adz83 @ Aug 10 2010, 02:58 PM)
well said  rclxms.gif  so now u're running win7 izzit? all the drivers corresponds well i presumed? btw, uf i'm not mistaken u just review on the built of CX420. how's the other parts, like batt life, screen clarities? and is there any significant different when swapping the gpu?  flex.gif
wahlaueh, swapping the gpu?! I don't play games wan, only surf the net whole day in the integrated Intel graphics mode (actually not whole day lar, only 10 hours or so and then watch a lil porn!) kakaka. Anyway I watch movies in this mode is still ok, smooth, no need to switch to HD5470.

Seriously though, I am running win7 ultimate 32bits (somebody told me that most programs are written for 32bit and if install 64bit win7 may have lotsa problems with applications in future). I just put in the cd and win7 ultimate installed everything by itself. Only thing is I had to go look for the dial-up modem driver on MSI website. I installed that too..... not sure if there is a 56k modem built in. (just in case the wi-fi ko and I can still dialup for email). All the drivers worked perfectly 'out of the box', wi-fi, bluetooth, sound etc.

Battery life is 2.5 to 3 hours or so. I am using Intel graphics mode and not the discrete Radeon HD5470 gpu. It is switchable graphics mode. If you play games then can switch to higher gear using the HD5470.

The screen is ok for me but the angle of view is critical. So if you look at the screen at a greater or lesser angle will be less sharp. I think there is a term for this type of screen. (maybe its nematic, not sure) The screen must be tilted to correct angle for sharpest display.

wongpeter
post Aug 11 2010, 10:51 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(adz83 @ Aug 11 2010, 05:49 PM)
so dat means the screen must be moved every time u chage ur position. izzit dat noticable in clarity?
I am talking about the vertical height of the head in relation to the display. I can't imagine anyone using a laptop and bobbing his head up and down! Why would anyone do that?! Most laptop displays are like that, there is an optimum angle, give or take a couple of degrees, where the display is at its clearest. You will have to check it out 1st hand cos its almost impossible to describe. Just go look at a couple of different brand's displays and vary the angle of view. You'll get the idea soon enough.
wongpeter
post Aug 23 2010, 11:10 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(noosaza @ Aug 21 2010, 10:20 PM)
msi is a good notebook brand or not? the price for msi quite cheap.. is after sales service good? i mean, during warranty period, msi provide nice service not??

my acer kaput after 3 years. hope msi can last longer than that.. interested with msi cr420 i-3
oh! this MSI CR420 won a few awards! rclxms.gif

Added on August 23, 2010, 11:13 am
QUOTE(mikelanding @ Aug 22 2010, 10:08 PM)
Anyone know where to find 10.1" LCD screen for MSI Wind U100plus. Wife drop it and the screen crack. sad.gif
Why not try the MSI service centre at Plaza Low Yat. I think its Lot 215. Also can try the one in Subang Jaya at :
Service center-Acacia
No:100, Grd & 1sf Floor, SS14/1 Subang Jaya,47500 Petaling Jaya,Selangor Darul Ehsan

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Aug 23 2010, 11:32 AM

0.0259sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:28 PM