adz83
Aug 7 2010, 06:26 PM
hi guys. Just stumbled here by chance n got interested with msi brand. Previously i too being skeptical with msi. Most prolly bcuz it was in the shadow of other more popular brands like dell,acer,compaq n all. But being popular does not mean better at all,rite. So, does msi performance wise and durability is on par with other brands. I've read dat cx420 was nicely built n price wise too. Any one compare dis to a same specs laptops, like acer 4741 or compaqs cq42? Dun shoot me as im just a curious noob looking for a value buy.
adz83
Aug 9 2010, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(wongpeter @ Aug 8 2010, 01:38 AM) adz83, a bit of trivia for you. Back in the early 80's when the clone IBM's came on the Malaysian scene, the original IBM desktops & notebooks was the king of the hill. The price was rather exorbitant so not many people could afford them. The most saleable notebook then, that the above average man-in-the-street could afford, was the NEC. It was as much a status symbol as the Motorola brick. In those early days of the Malaysian notebook scene nobody would touch an Acer with a 10 foot pole. Their reputation was that bad! Acer persisted and they got their volume going so everybody talks about Acer since they have significant market share. MSI was for a very long time OEM manufacturers of laptops whilst concentrating on building their reputation with their motherboards. When they noticed how good the demand was for their netbooks that they were making for others they decided to try their hand at marketing it under their own MSI brand. They are now very aggressively marketing their notebooks globally and some of the models have been receiving rave reviews all over the world. People are only now beginning to take notice of MSI notebooks cos for a long time they did not have any significant market share because they were not really into selling notebooks, only motherboards and being OEM manufacturers. Quantity and quality are two entirely different things. You see many Proton Kancils on the roads. That doesnt mean its a better car than Porsche that you don't see too many of. Go and see the CX420 for yourself. It is solidly built. The specs you are getting for the money you pay is good value for money. Not only that but I find the CX420 aesthetically stunning. It will turn heads. I am not in anyway associated with MSI. I just happen to love their products. Two weeks after I bought the CX420 I also bought the MSI Wind U140 netbook that is now on promotion at Courts for RM989. Check out that netbook at Courts. It will give you an idea of MSI quality. Good luck!  thanks wongpeter for the explaination.  so, by this i can conclude that MSI was just as ggod as other brands, rite? and i see the only main factor for the inpopularity is the only fact that they doesn't have a service center here. rite? warranty does a plays a big part huh?
adz83
Aug 10 2010, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(wongpeter @ Aug 9 2010, 08:26 PM) If a product is well built you don't have to worry about the warranty. If it is poor quality even a 3 year warranty is useless cos your laptop will be spending more time at the service center than in your home! well said  so now u're running win7 izzit? all the drivers corresponds well i presumed? btw, uf i'm not mistaken u just review on the built of CX420. how's the other parts, like batt life, screen clarities? and is there any significant different when swapping the gpu?
adz83
Aug 11 2010, 05:49 PM
so dat means the screen must be moved every time u chage ur position. izzit dat noticable in clarity?