4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Training, Pictures and Progress Thread V2, Show Pictures to prove yourself!

ken86
post Nov 17 2009, 10:05 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Nov 17 2009, 10:00 AM)
just as breakfast bro
let me tell you a SECRET I learnt and why the scale is not moving and you still look the same

If there is a real "secret" out there, it’s simply this: A great body results from the consistent application of smart training and proper eating. It’s a four step process: 1) train hard, 2) eat right, 3) use supplementation when necessary, and 4) repeat for many, many years. Too many times people screw item no 2.

ken86
post Nov 18 2009, 06:37 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Nov 18 2009, 05:25 PM)
[

please rate my progress. I know i'm fat sad.gif

just realised i did the same pose for both shots
8 days is too short to see any difference. 8 weeks is more likely to see some changes. The body is a dynamic organism. The changes to your body can be very gradual, some weeks you progress, some weeks you regress. you need to keep on keepin on as they say. Take pictures every week and you will see changes.

However, you need train hard & smart and eat right and supplement when necessary. Refer to my SECRET post.

for a more successful transformation please practice these quick tips

1. Eat more frequently
2. Eat complete (containing all the essential amino acids), lean protein with each meal.
3. Eat fruits and/or vegetables with each food meal.
4. Ensure that your carbohydrate intake comes from fruits and vegetables. Exception: workout and post-workout drinks and meals.
5. Ensure that 25-35% of your energy intake comes from fat, with your fat intake split equally between saturates (e.g. animal fat), monounsaturates (e.g., olive oil), and polyunsaturates (e.g. flax oil, salmon oil).
6. Drink only non-calorie containing beverages, the best choices being water and green tea and black coffee without anything except the coffee powder of course !
7. Eat mostly whole foods (except workout and post-workout drinks). like what they say GO paleo, but please don't be too anal bout the paleo stufffs.

Mc donalds definitely don't fit into that equation.

good luck see you in 8 weeks time
ken86
post Nov 18 2009, 10:28 PM

406 posts

ok yeah_guyz, I don't wanna sound like the ******* here and I hate to tell u these. But I don;t see any difference between a year ago and now. besides slightly bigger arms in your after pics.

This is for motivation purposes and keep pounding the weights and lift the fork wisely!!

david - I find men's health abominable unless it has stuffs written by tony gentilcore, eric cressey, alwyn cosgrove, robert ros remedios & alan aragon

This post has been edited by ken86: Nov 18 2009, 10:29 PM
ken86
post Nov 19 2009, 09:06 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Nov 18 2009, 11:20 PM)
yeah, but if you looks closely to the 1st pic, my shoulder is kinda small, i've packed quite some meat(ya big potion of fat too)
i always stick to basic. it have been one year of inconsistent training. Construction life is sucks. sometime i have to work so late and missed the gym
just like pizzaboy said: it popped out again..! yawn.gif
i am not really bulking now, i just cant clean up my diet lol.
will probably start a cutting by next month and do more cardio.
yeah guyz - your waistline is expanding with your shoulder width. No good. Like you, I am pure endomorph as well, few months ago from now I was fat and out of shape despite the fact I lifted weights. I took the plunge, have some pictures taken, and some SUPER HONEST feedback from my training partner (can't thank him enough, that guy is a monster (strong,fast and fairly lean)).

The fact that most Former Fat Boys (FFB) or skinny-fat guys need to lose the fat first through a good diet and weight training. (If they choose to bulk first, then they typically add tons of fat, develop bad dietary habits they can't kick, and really don't build any more muscle than a clean mass plan would have achieved.) The first goal is fat loss and muscle preservation

Why can't clean your diet now ? why a month later ? I used to be like that I realize I was fat and instead of looking at my poor diet and lack of exercise, I tried to find a way to rationalize and explain my fatness. "I am too busy" , "Shopping for food and cooking is gay"

Yes, people like this are pretty good at lying to others, but they're immensely gifted at lying to themselves. Hey, you can talk all you want about getting into shape, but your sagging gut isn't getting any smaller is it? Sorry, chubby, but running your mouth isn't enough exercise to make that fat ass of yours any smaller or those puny arms any bigger.

You need to display adaptability and start now not tomorrow. not later.

Please serve this a point of motivation not a personal attack. Endomorphs let's unite and rule the world lol

David - ARE U KIDDING ME ? 2 wholemeal buns and 1 fried egg is a good meal. 1. The lack of protein 2. and they use wholemeal muffins now ? (sorry no idea , haven't been to mcdonalds for years now but they still suck)

how bout these - 4 scrambled eggs with one wholegrain toast and garnished with some cracked black peppers and salsa as condiments. Not that you gonna heed it but at least I tried huh.

ken86
post Nov 19 2009, 10:32 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Nov 19 2009, 09:17 AM)
yeah, you are right! will try to tweak my diet. it is so hard to cut teh ice and nescafe from my diet lol. what i mean next month is changing my program, more cardio and high intensity cross training. but if i succeed to get a project next month, it gotta be nightmare to me. Construction life is sucks. i don't know why i am in this firm. i've no personal time when the work task came.
You are justifying your procrastination again. You have the knowledge yeah_guyz just bout mastering the mental aspect of it now.

Owned up to your mistakes and confessed your sins, it's time to tackle step two. This involves simply not making any more excuses. The word "but" is a sign you're about to make an excuse. Make no mistake about it, failure begins with the word but.

"I need to lose weight, but. . ."

"I'd like to add some muscle, but. . ."

"My bench press is weak, but. . ."

Get the idea?

Step three is to display adaptability. How you do this is up to you and specific to your situation. The key is to get into the habit of immediately trying to solve the problem. Doing this quickly is crucial.

Fact: You can't solve problems and make excuses at the same time! One action shorts out the other.

So get into the habit of adapting and evolving to situations before the excuses have a chance to pop into your head. Make a conscious effort to think "Display adaptability!" whenever a problem comes up.

I was a electrical and computer system engineer majoring in bio-medicine - specifically biomechanics in human musculo-skeletal system but I ended up working part time in a M&E consultant firm now (also construction) while pursuing my master's degree in electrical engineering. We never know where will life bring us, is all bout owning it up and solving the F***ing problem now, not RATIONALIZING.
ken86
post Nov 19 2009, 11:31 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Nov 19 2009, 11:20 AM)
Allright! Mental, yeah! i know it gotta tough to me lol. but i will make it.
thank for the motivation
WTF ! but again

admit it

"I'm fat. I'm fat because I let myself get fat. I caused this. My diet sucks. I don't train regularly. I look for quick fixes instead of working hard. I even purchased an ab gadget I saw on TV. I'm so ashamed. I feel like shit and I look like shit and it's all my fault."

rephrase it

I know I am gonna pull through by displaying adaptability and not justifying my procrastination, I will make it happen.

This post has been edited by ken86: Nov 19 2009, 11:31 AM
ken86
post Nov 19 2009, 01:56 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(zaxxshoxx @ Nov 19 2009, 03:21 AM)
ok now my picture .
month plus tak pegi gym,  cry.gif  today will try OHM, B Beruang.
you have a slightly crooked thoracic spine, showing a shallow C shape. Might be a posing problem, the way u flex your wrist. I highly recommend to get someone to look at it, e.g pizzaboy.

ken86
post Nov 23 2009, 10:44 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Muffins @ Nov 23 2009, 10:33 PM)
Woops sorry, other things were enlarging. (Photobucket acting childish today). Edited original post with new image hosting.

1 picture 1 month. Its captioned on the pic... if you can see the large version that is smile.gif
keep it up muffins.
ken86
post Dec 2 2009, 09:15 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Dec 2 2009, 07:10 AM)

Nothing much,back from my morning staircase run,off to exams in a while!
your lower back improved significantly. keep up the good work mate, how long have you been 'cutting' ?
ken86
post Dec 2 2009, 10:45 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Kmaru @ Dec 2 2009, 05:27 PM)
nope.. is straight not incline as you can see the chair is fully up.. and I can personally invite you to try the chair and Ill upload chest training DB incline position
you shouldn't even bother replying or inviting him biggrin.gif How much you wanna bet he can't lift those DBs

shanecross - w00ts, 200kgs x 3 , that's beastly !! very beastly . I am not worthy sad.gif

ken86
post Dec 2 2009, 10:50 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 2 2009, 10:47 PM)
Except you pull 220.
Which reminds me, I've gotta get my deadlifts back up to 200KG. It's equal to my back squat right now. Awesome eh? tongue.gif
useless 220kgs deadlift . my idea was squat = deadlift poundages. LOOOOnnnggggg way to go for squats. How tall are you pizzaboy ? U looked tall when we last met smile.gif
besides that some simple math

200 x 3 / 30 + 200 = 220 kgs predicted 1RM SQUAT shocking.gif this formula is pretty accurate

This post has been edited by ken86: Dec 2 2009, 10:56 PM
ken86
post Dec 3 2009, 08:57 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Dec 2 2009, 11:49 PM)
I sorta got a 200kg squat 4 weeks back before i reached KL, but I had a little descend while going up. So i dont consider it a legal one. whats more it was pretty slow and depth wise was 50/50.

As for me, I try to avoid dive bomb squats eventhough Robert Wilks trains his boys and girls to dive bomb squat. But with the new APT strangulators and a decent suit, I should be able to have some speed descending in a comp. I weigh about 71kilos in the morning, evening about 75-76ish. Once Iget 220 squat, I'll buy myself a new adistar..woweeee...hahahhaha...

I was referring to the deadlifts for 200 x 3. If I can get 200 x 3 this friday, its a good sign. However my concern is when repping the first and last rep are the REAL reps. First rep all about breaking off the ground nice and tight, last rep about having the mental power to not hitch and have a good clean lockout. I have to make sure the reps are nice touch and go's and not bouncing reps. ALOT OF DIFFERENCE. If I dont get a 200 x 3, then there will also be a good outcome from that. I'll be able to address my weakness, either way round its good both ways.

Since I arrived in KL , I have not trained equipped yet. I've been training raw for quite sometime, straps down, no wraps, WL shoes, belt. As for deads, I train barefooted , belt, straps down. But then again my suit isn't a super suit that would give you heaps of poundages, its more like a training suit, more forgiving, but then when the straps are down, not much of help. I just want to get used to putting on a suit regularly. I hope to save up for a good centurion or something. hhhhmmmmmm.....

I like to look at training in a positive standpoint . I always look at what I did right and then try to fix it not being hard on myself on how dodgy my setup was etc and then not getting anything out of it.
And so my bench is still years behind my other 2 lifts.....
that's alot of weight fluctuation. you must consume and inhale copious amount of food biggrin.gif.

where can I get those adistar ? been looking around closest I saw was the zhang Kong WL shoes in australia.

hitching is bad for your health and the other gymgoers might thing you are humping the air looking from behind smile.gif

i tried my suit the other day, I was 210 lbs back then with 36 inches waist , sadly it doesn't fit anymore. I know the suit you are refering to, not those ACE or METAL PRO kind. Just a nice "borat" looking fluoroscent suit without the thigh part cut off of course.
ken86
post Dec 3 2009, 09:59 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 3 2009, 09:21 AM)
Borat kind lol!
I think I can get some Adistars from a friend of mine in the US. Problem is, they are fcuking expensive, nearly the price or in fact now over the price of Romaleos. About USD200 per pair. Brr.....
why weightlifting shoes ?
http://www.dynamic-eleiko.com/sportivny/li...rticles015.html

weightlifting porn
ken86
post Dec 4 2009, 09:09 AM

406 posts

why do so many exercises for back ?

your foundation is weak. Focus and master fewer movements. The reps are low for BW exercises ?

emphasize on big, multi joint exercises .

two pulldown exercises and two rowing exercises ? is that really necessary and additional back machine exercises for ?!!?!

My back

All I did was
Deadlifts
Pullups (weighted and for reps alternating , depends)
Chinups (weighted and reps alternating)
High rep 1-arm DB rows / Kroc Rows / Harry Rows = Take the heaviest DB and rep it out, slight momentum is encouraged but don;t be half rep MCgee. rep range = 15 - 30 reps, Your grip will hurt , you will leave some skin in the gym, you will build a stronger upper back, you will feel better and you can ditch the myriad of back exercises you are doing now.

focus on less exercises for a better foundation/base.

PS- I know you guys gonna google what kroc row is, is all over youtube. if you don't know matt kroc, you don't know strong

ken86
post Dec 4 2009, 12:03 PM

406 posts

I am perplexed why do you guys even bother replying his posts.
1. his opinion don't matter
2. he does squads - nice one pizza
3. he probably doesn't even looked like he lift weights
ken86
post Dec 5 2009, 08:34 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Dec 4 2009, 09:58 PM)
So I got the 200 up to my knees and I was shaking, lost control and I failed the whole set.

I think everyone should take a minute of watching your porn/tv shows and read what I have to say.

It is important to understand that doing more squats/bench/deadlift does improve your squats/bench/deadlifts BUT only to a certain degree. This is where other accessory workouts are important eg; DB rows, BB rows etc etc.

Last week I got a 195kg x 5 RAW. I lift with straps most of the time unless I am attempting a true 1RM. There is an argument about pulling mixed grip all the time because you might experience some imbalance and might just affect the progression of your bench ( I wouldnt want to make my bench worse, for the fact that it is already progressing at turtle speed). I also believe in having nice looking palms smile.gif.

The 195kg x 5 that I pulled last week was an OK lift, the 5th rep witnessed a hitch but I tried to remain composed and managed a fine lockout. That would be a 50/50 decision in terms of technique. Although I believe that my failure this session was due to the lack of upper body mass, I also believe that I wasn't mentally prepared. Being able to pull 200kg x 5 RAW at 72kg is a big achievement in my book. I have been training with a coach for 3 months. Now I am on vacation, 3 months on my own and when I get back, its time to get totally serious, get in the top 10 or something. But thats not what I'm trying to convey here.

I faced the similar situation when I was moving my squats from 145kg x 5 to 150 x 5. Although it was only a 5kg transition, the fact that it was a 150 shook me up a little bit, making it similar to what I'm facing right now deadlifting 195kg and moving up to 200kg for 5 reps. I have to admit that I was disgustingly intimidated when I had 4x20kg plates and 1x10kg plate on each side. I went all psyched up ,took too long to setup, broke off the ground up to my knees and loss my tightness , BAM ! down the ground. I always believe that if you fail that set, don't bother attempting it again. Chances are that you will fail, very high.

I am a powerlifter wannabe, I have not competed yet, preparing myself for a big 2010, hopefully make through comps decently. There is also no excuses for my failure today, but I always believe in looking what I did right , THEN only look on what I did wrong. Today, there was some physical flaws that I must fix, not forgetting to prepare myself for a 2nd attempt hopefully next week or the week after.

I think everyone in this forum might benefit from whatever I've written a little bit here and there. No matter how experienced a lifter you are, sometimes we get drifted away and forget the basics.
http://asp.elitefts.com/qa/training-logs.asp?qid=109860&tid=

Expectations and Athletic Achievement - great article that you can relate to. about lifting with like minded individuals or individuals stronger than you. overcoming the mental barriers when lifting heavy shit.

How far are you from comp ? Why not try gaining some mass and diet it away ? I noticed two individuals at the same weight, the one with more muscle (lower BF%) is GENERALLY stronger.
ken86
post Dec 5 2009, 12:38 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 5 2009, 12:20 PM)
I sent you a food guide to your email. It's by J.B. It explains why the food is good for you, the contents, how to cook it well, how to use the knife even. There's a guide about protein powders as well. Solid almost 200 pages of good detail. Ken pm me your email. I'll pass it to you too.  thumbup.gif
are u talking bout gourmet nutrition biggrin.gif ? to be honest , I have a really huge library of stuffs (DVD, books) for instance the whole eliteFTS e-book collection ;D let me know. I do trading or share if your are nice drool.gif also stuffs like never enough DVD, all westside secrets DVD just to name a few smile.gif

PMed u my email smile.gif
ken86
post Dec 5 2009, 12:47 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 5 2009, 12:44 PM)
Sent! You Chinaman. Yeah gourmet nutrition.
seriously, we chinaman are like roadside dvd sellers. everything pirated. smile.gif

thanks pizza. I actually have the whole precision nutrition set V2 (not V3) and the DVDs but it;s too huge to send via email. Let me know when u visit next time. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ken86: Dec 5 2009, 12:48 PM
ken86
post Dec 6 2009, 10:36 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Dec 6 2009, 08:00 PM)
*quickly dials the authorities*
please don't lol . biggrin.gif I had a good laugh after a long ass day ! THANKS
ken86
post Dec 6 2009, 11:07 PM

406 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1224847 this what u are looking for max biggrin.gif

U r quite tall , I am 185 cm myself . We need to lift the fork seriously to gain some quality mass !

whey protein is not a cure-all for muscle gain, you need good whole foods
1.(Chicken , beef, lamb , turkey )
2. Every vegetables put on the table
3. some nuts

and train hard.

Whey protein is not magic, is good for convenience sake to replace your food. bed time zzz

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0469sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:33 PM