Hardware GPU discussion

Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 1 2009, 11:18 PM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

QUOTE(E18 @ Oct 1 2009, 11:01 PM)
how's the graphic 1GB of ATI HD4670 for Dell XPS16? Does anyone own it?

You can look here for comparisons between the HD 4670 and the GT 130. It seems that the ATI will outperform the GT 130 by perhaps 20-30% or thereabouts.

If I were you, I'd wait for the Clarksfield processors to hit the SXPS 16 before pulling the trigger. They will definitely outperform any Montevina based dual-cores that are currently being used by that laptop.

Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 2 2009, 04:18 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Oct 2 2009, 02:59 AM)
then again, since the G130m is like the 9650m GT, then you have to watch out for the RAM type, cause it really determines the performance. if its GDDR3 i don't really see the problem, my card still handling games like mini ninja, section 8,nfs:s fine....
Perhaps for now. But if I was shelling out thousands of dollars for a new laptop, I'd go for the card that can future proof it better.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 2 2009, 11:29 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Oct 2 2009, 07:39 AM)
Yup, better wait and get a much more powerful card that can be use in future..but really, tha RAM type also played a big part in choosing the GC...just like BenQ S42 9600M GT GDDR3 outperformed Asus N50Vn 9650M GT DDR2 nod.gif...
Dell generally uses GDDR3 in all their laptop GPUs. I have yet to see one running DDR2 VRAM.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 6 2009, 10:21 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 6 2009, 10:19 PM)
depends on how well the game is optimized...
Also if the 4870x2 comes with GDDR5 VRAM then you can expect it to have the upper hand in most games, except perhaps those optimised for a nVidia card. Think Crysis.

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Oct 6 2009, 10:20 PM)
DDR-5 memory will defeat Sli of GTX280M with DDR-3 Memory(in theory). nobody know untill somebody bought it
Most likely the theory would be proven true, as GDDR5 VRAM quadruples the nominal memory clock, does it not? And since benchmarks on a 4870x2 with GDDR3 VRAM place it on par with the GTX 280 SLI, theoretically speaking the higher clock rate would boost the performance of the former past that of the latter.

This post has been edited by Loki[D.d.G]: Oct 6 2009, 10:24 PM
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 14 2009, 07:07 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Oct 14 2009, 06:22 PM)
no it isn't. it is DDR-5.

go recheck yourself for conformation.
The only prior laptop sporting XFired 4870s is the now discontinued Asus W90p. As far as I know, all the models shipped with GDDR3 versions of that card and hence no benchmarks on notebookcheck.net will accurately reflect the 4870x2 in the Alienware. If memory serves me right, then the m17x is the first laptop in the world to offer the 4870x2 in GDDR5 flavor.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 25 2009, 02:34 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(GreaseMonkey90 @ Oct 25 2009, 10:50 AM)
strange.....notebook reviews said m15x surpass m17x in benchmarking.
Links? It's probably the i7 though, with its HT capabilities and all that.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 28 2009, 10:39 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Oct 28 2009, 09:02 PM)
Well seems like 9800m gtx sli is still staying strong as even 280m gtx sli can only come close to my posted score and mines at stock setting. Taken out the cpu score in comparison, 9800m gtx sli scores ahead of 280m gtx sli even more.
And I wouldn't hedge my bets based on a synthetic benchmark. They have the propensity to be highly un-reflective of real world performance. And your score would only be as good as your system is optimized for that particular benchmark.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 29 2009, 05:43 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Oct 29 2009, 04:14 PM)
any benchmark from alienware M15 ??
I with 240M GT anf 260M GTX ?? I wanna recommend one unit for my friend.
Not exactly what you requested, but you can check here for GT240 benchmarks and here for the GTX280. The m15x should perform more or less similarly with those systems as the biggest bottleneck in most cases tends to be the GPU, not the CPU.

Just a note though. If your friend is already willing to fork out so much money for a laptop, I'd advise him to take the second m15x configuration priced at RM6.6k. Getting the GT240 for a high end gaming laptop is a waste of money and I can foresee regret over that purchase, should it be made.

Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 14 2009, 01:39 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Nov 14 2009, 01:30 PM)
just wondering, when is the arrival of GTX300M Series or ATi HD5000 Series?
The HD5000 mobile series should be introduced in the first quarter of 2010. As for when OEMs would implement it in their notebooks is another matter altogether.
Source: Fudzilla.

There isn't any word on the mobile GT300 yet, but if I had to hazard a guess I'd say it'll be out in Q2/2010 at the earliest. The reasoning behind this is that nVidia has yet to even showcase their next gen desktop series GPUs.

But when you take into consideration most notebook OEMs do a refresh around late summer/early autumn, both the GT300 and HD5000 could appear in notebooks simultaneously. Just a guesstimate.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 19 2009, 03:32 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 19 2009, 12:00 AM)
which mean HD5000 can actually perform more than it performing now?
Not really. What he meant is that the fabrication plant for 40nm GPU wafers has a very poor yield. No wafers means no GPU.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 19 2009, 05:31 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 19 2009, 03:38 PM)
this wor...
Yeah that. TSMC is the one of the fabrication outfits that ATI/AMD rely on for their GPU wafers. Since they have such a low yield, ATI is currently facing a huge wafer shortage and thus even desktop GPUs are hard to come by. Maybe not in Malaysia, but in the States, the shortage is painfully apparent.

Loki[D.d.G]
post Dec 18 2009, 11:33 PM

3,648 posts

This may not be the right thread, but I stumbled upon news of the first Mobility Radeon in the wild to be tested. Read about it here

Credits to Fudzilla
Loki[D.d.G]
post Dec 18 2009, 11:49 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Dec 18 2009, 11:45 PM)
performance slightly better than 4670...
Bear in mind it is a mid range card and is using beta drivers. I would expect the final release to perform somewhat better.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Dec 22 2009, 04:31 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Dec 22 2009, 09:05 AM)
What not good? New Arrandale Core i7 only two cores with 4 Threads..(Which Intel says if app nid more than 2 cores, it will pretend to have 4 cores using the threads? ) at least it is clocked higher than the current 720-QM or 820QM(failures i think)..
Unfortunately, you have a woefully misconstrued understanding of Intel's Hyper Threading technology. The only applications that will be able to make use of all logical cores, i.e. all the threads on each core, would be those that are specifically written to take advantage of Hyper Threading. If it isn't, then even if you run a game such as GTA IV, which is really happy with quad cores, Arrandale processors would still be running as duals.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Jan 20 2010, 03:57 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Jan 20 2010, 08:53 AM)
i wandering if 56xx card used in P series, will the performance being drag down ??
That depends on which processor you are referring to.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Jan 26 2010, 03:29 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Jan 25 2010, 10:40 PM)
cos there is this particular hp dm3 runs on G105m but GPU is GT210??
What on earth is that supposed to mean? One laptop running two different GPUs?
Loki[D.d.G]
post Feb 3 2010, 03:21 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 3 2010, 02:25 PM)
Well, most of the games out there support dual-core processing nod.gif which by means most of them are not quad-core smile.gif....
But with the increasing number of console ports, there has been a slight shift in the whole dual vs quad core thing.

One thing remains though, games seem absolutely partial to high clocks
Loki[D.d.G]
post Feb 5 2010, 07:19 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2010, 09:48 PM)
dun forget, a GPU has 8-128 processors for NV and 40-1600 processors for ATi...
Actually the number of shader cores/stream processors for both are similar. But ATI and nVidia just do the math differently.

If you divide the number of shader cores in an ATI card by five, you'll get the nVidia equivalent and vice versa

This post has been edited by Loki[D.d.G]: Feb 5 2010, 07:20 AM

0.0212sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:12 PM