ENT Specialist, any suggestion?

LTSAudrey
post Jul 4 2013, 12:41 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(cedriccheah @ Dec 27 2012, 08:56 AM)
Just to share my case.

I have sinus problem since years back and getting worst day by day with included Nasal discharge backflow into throat and coughing non stop.

Went to Dr Gan Tong Nee@Sunmed, tried few types of sprays(Mar, Afrin, Nasonex) and it wont helps and he decided to do FESS(8k+) on me.
Did First time, after few weeks my problem and my problem back again.
Did CT scan, found that got infection and mucal tissues building up, and he did second time of FESS(7K+) on me.
Problem came back after few weeks again, this time he gave me antibiotics and ask me consider for Balloon sinuplasty which costing 12K++.
I keep telling him my throat is not feeling well but he just ignore it and keep focus on my nasal part.
I then gave up on him and stop visiting.

My backflow and coughing continues for next few months until my GP doc told me to try Dr Megat@ColumbiaAsia Puchong.
Dr Megat did some basic checks on my nasal and my throat and shown me some of the images.
The sinus points is good condition which thanks to FESS, no infections, no blockage except one side of it kinda narrow.

He gave me tried Nasacort & Nasonex but the result is not good too and he found my coughing problem was due to acid reflux.
Dr Megat refer me to Dr Jurina(Physician) to get second opinions.

Dr Jurina really damn good and she sent me to do few test and confirmed my problem was due to acid reflux.
She gave me controloc and few other medicine which I can feel the different after that but she told me that I need to control my stress level too which it did contribute to this problem.
Last few weeks, my problem getting serious, and she put me into ward.
She get Dr Yong Chun Woon to do stomach scoping to make sure everything is ok.
She get Dr Megat to continue treat my nasal part.
She put controloc into my body for 48 hours.

after 3D2N of treatment(7K++ included 3 specialist charges), now I feel better and my coughing is fixed!
and now I know what is the real problem.
Nasal discharge backflow can't be fix easily, that will need to depends on environment, weather but I'm a lot better now.
Acid reflux, Now I know how to handle it properly.

But once I over ate too much, then I can feel the relux again...LOL

Just to share my experiences , in case anyone of you having same problem as mine.
Hope everyone stay healthy smile.gif
I am currently having the same problem like you only thing is I dont have the cough issue, but please advise me should I go for the Dr. Gan FESS surgery?

LTSAudrey
post Jul 4 2013, 12:50 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Apr 22 2013, 08:54 AM)
don go to dr gan anymore. yes, he is nice and friendly but he can be very very pushy when wanna persuade people to go for FESS. he immediately told me to sign a form to book appointment without giving me time to consider.

never go back since then.

till now, i'm still looking for a good ENT. called dr khor's clinic to find out opening hours, but the nurses very fierce =_=

also went to Dr Bala in Tropicana....erm....so so only.
I when to dr.gan also, u r so right he is so pushy, he told me there will be no cure, unless i do surgery then he took out his appointment book until i stop him and say i need some time to c when will be the best time to do this surgery. By the way, y did u say dr. bala so so only?
LTSAudrey
post Jul 4 2013, 01:05 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 4 2013, 12:51 PM)
Dr Bala is nice to the patients, but not very patient as far as i can see. u can try. but for me, he is also so-so. i've yet to meet one friendly and not-pushy ENTs and i already visited 4 so far.
Oh thanks so much for your info. I am also going for my second opinion with Dr. Megat and third opinion with Dr. Yeo (prince medical) Hopefully I dont have to go through surgery. I dont want to go for FESS surgery if it does not cure me.
LTSAudrey
post Jul 4 2013, 05:19 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(mandyhoho99 @ Jul 4 2013, 01:37 PM)
Hi LTSAudrey,
You are right, don't go for FESS surgery, if your case is not a chronic sinusitis problem. When are you going for second opinion with Dr. Megat?? I would like to see him too. I did the FESS surgery too soon without seeking for second opinion and before I join this forum. After the 1st, I have to do the 2nd surgery because it is getting bad. After the 2nd I feel much better then after the 1st surgery. But still have some mucus coming down my nose and throat.
Hi, Mandy,

I am going for the second opinion on 13/7. I can only go on saturday and Dr. Megat does not work on the 1st and 3rd week of the saturday. Oh dear, it must be painful for. Which doctor did the FESS for you? Thank you so much Mandy for your advise in the FESS. Really glad i found this forum.
LTSAudrey
post Jul 4 2013, 05:21 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 4 2013, 01:30 PM)
i've consulted many GP friends, all of them don advise going for FESS because they said most of the time, it'll come back.
all the best and hope u can resolve ur issue soon. it can get pretty annoying.
Thank you for your advise. It is pretty annoying.
LTSAudrey
post Jul 5 2013, 11:41 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(mandyhoho99 @ Jul 4 2013, 06:13 PM)
But in their website it stated Dr Megat's clinic hours are  Monday - Friday: 8am - 4pm, Saturday: 8am - 11:30am ?? You called them ?
I went to Dr Gan, he is a nice doctor he said out of 10 patient, one will be the unlucky one, need to go for the 2nd time that is called Revise surgery.
So that's me, i went for the 2nd. But still have some backflow, mucus coming down my throat and nose, not as much as after the 1st surgery.
He said the 2nd surgery will rectify the problem. Now I need to wash my nose with Mar and use Nasonex nasal spray everyday hoping that it will get well.
Mandy, but dr. gan didnt say that to me, he only say, "i wont lie to u, doesn't mean after doing this surgery your sinusitis wont come back" He say it wont 100% solve the problem but at least 95% and he also say after surgery care is very important, if we didn't clean the wound properly for sure there will be some tissue blockage. Can you tell me how do u feel after 2nd surgery? how long for u to recover after the first surgery?

Yes, I call his nurse yesterday to fix an appointment.
LTSAudrey
post Jul 6 2013, 05:14 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(mandyhoho99 @ Jul 5 2013, 11:29 PM)
You called Dr Megat's nurse to fix appointment? Maybe I was too happy after the 1st surgery, feeling much better and didn't know that it will be back. I went out to public places like shopping mall, cinema and drives around. I think I shouldn't do that. Yes, after my 1st, I waited about 2 mths for it to recover fully. It did not, then he convinced me for the 2nd and I have no choice already, I can't stop just like that without full recovery. So I go for it and also claimed from my insurance.
After the 2nd, maybe i am more careful, cleaned it very often and took longer period of antibiotics which was adviced by doc. Now it is about a month after my 2nd surgery, I found it much better then the 1st, but just the backflow which make my voice like having a cold.
Yes i called them last week. Dr gan also told me after the surgery i should avoid all crowded area at least for a month or 2. Mandy how many nights u stay at sunway hospital? Is there any scar after the surgery?
LTSAudrey
post Jul 6 2013, 05:16 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(mandyhoho99 @ Jul 5 2013, 11:29 PM)
You called Dr Megat's nurse to fix appointment? Maybe I was too happy after the 1st surgery, feeling much better and didn't know that it will be back. I went out to public places like shopping mall, cinema and drives around. I think I shouldn't do that. Yes, after my 1st, I waited about 2 mths for it to recover fully. It did not, then he convinced me for the 2nd and I have no choice already, I can't stop just like that without full recovery. So I go for it and also claimed from my insurance.
After the 2nd, maybe i am more careful, cleaned it very often and took longer period of antibiotics which was adviced by doc. Now it is about a month after my 2nd surgery, I found it much better then the 1st, but just the backflow which make my voice like having a cold.
But if after i c dr. Megat and he say i nid to do surgery then no choice lor. Really hope i dont need to do surgery
LTSAudrey
post Jul 8 2013, 12:04 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(mandyhoho99 @ Jul 8 2013, 12:25 AM)
I stayed for 2 nights. I did the 2nd surgery because of scar tissues. I was on anesthetic for an hour too. My nose was not as painful as the 1st but I vomited out all clotted blood when awake. Terrible taste. It is the same as the 1st surgery when awake I feel like vomiting but I managed to control for the 1st.
Thanks Mandy for your information.
LTSAudrey
post Jul 9 2013, 03:39 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(mandyhoho99 @ Jul 8 2013, 08:15 PM)
Sorry I didn't mean to scare you. Anyway it is better now then not going through it.
He he he he nope you didnt scare, but you get me prepared ahead.

0.0376sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:04 AM