Line6 POD Studio™GX or X-Fi Surround 5.1 USB, which 1 better for my usage?

TSxeNOS
post Jul 26 2009, 03:27 AM, updated 17y ago

.:floccinaucinihilipilification:.
1,194 posts

to all guitar sifus out there, i just got my 1st electric guitar and i discovered that there are numerous amp modelling software out there (like the amplitube Live) to model amps for playing.

well, my need is simple i just need to be able to play my guitar at home connected to my PC and i dont do editing/recording and using (amp modelling software) currently the output is ok, but i guess it can still be imrpoved as im just using my onboard soundcard to process the sound. i did some research and came across these 2 products:

1) Line6 POD Studio GX RM370++
2) Creative X-Fi surround 5.1 USB RM230++

both of these hardware offers ASIO 2.0 capability and also high SNR.

well, im aware that POD Studio GX is a dedicated guitar interface offering virtual amp models and effects pedals mayb the price is abit higher too cos of the included softwares. So my question is, are both of these products posses the same hardware capable of delivering the same result ?apart from the difference in the software bundled?

if the hardware is almost similiar then the price would be the deciding factor here. Hope to hear some opinios from you sifus out there. thx !

(Considering that i have the Amplitube Live software)

This post has been edited by xeNOS: Jul 26 2009, 03:30 AM
had_hc
post Jul 26 2009, 03:34 AM

26 posts

Line6 POD Studio GX is the way to go bro! it included free with POD farm software which includes numbers of amp modellings, cabinets and effects.
and also its built for guitar unlike the Creative's one.

I have the old version one (toneport GX) which practically is the same thing. Go to CK Music at Jalan Imbi for testing the Line6 POD studio.

EDIT: and another thing about Line6's is that it has pre-amp already inside it.

This post has been edited by had_hc: Jul 26 2009, 03:35 AM
blacktrix
post Jul 26 2009, 05:34 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

One is a soundcard made for gaming.
The other is a soundcard for guitars.

if you want to plug in a guitar, it's pretty obvious which you need.......
TSxeNOS
post Jul 26 2009, 11:40 AM

1,194 posts

ok... so u guys what is the cheapest price for the line 6? thx !
Rossie
post Jul 26 2009, 12:47 PM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

Just to show you what the LINE 6 can sound like:
http://www.4shared.com/account/dir/2255471...ing.html?rnd=59

Although I used a LINE 6 PODxt LIVE to record the clips above, it uses the same algorithm to process the signal... So it should sound about the same thumbup.gif
TSxeNOS
post Jul 26 2009, 01:13 PM

1,194 posts

wow great playing there, sounds excellent ! meaning u recorded this using line6 products without an actual amp ? soory noob Q, im still new in this kinda stuff smile.gif
Rossie
post Jul 26 2009, 01:27 PM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

Thanks...

Yup... Directly from my LINE 6 PODxt LIVE into my sound card...
TSxeNOS
post Jul 26 2009, 02:58 PM

1,194 posts

QUOTE(Rossie @ Jul 26 2009, 01:27 PM)
Thanks...

Yup... Directly from my LINE 6 PODxt LIVE into my sound card...
ic.. so wat type of soundcard are u using ?
Rossie
post Jul 26 2009, 07:03 PM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

M-Audio Fast Track Pro...
lordie
post Jul 26 2009, 07:09 PM

942 posts

M-Audio Fast Track Pro is very nice, the price is also very nice smile.gif)

as for guitar into PC. u need a line balance input or it will sound funny. better get a decent audio interface and if u more guitar oriented line 6 guitarport or ux1/ux2 will works nicely.

and not forgetting a good pair of headphones or monitoring speakers
TSxeNOS
post Aug 1 2009, 03:51 PM

1,194 posts

hi thx for the info, how much for a pair of good monitoring speakers?
lordie
post Aug 1 2009, 04:01 PM

942 posts

a good one eh ;p around 1.6k? i think can find 2nd hand around 1.2k?

alternatively i am was wondering does Edifier R1900T3 tune by phil jones would be decent for bedroom speakers
TSxeNOS
post Aug 1 2009, 04:11 PM

1,194 posts

wow... expensive man.. any cheaper ones? but sounds decent lo...i just need it for practice smile.gif
ajay67
post Aug 1 2009, 08:36 PM

2,960 posts

for practice, get a decent quality headphone. it's much better sound than most common pc speakers. it won't disturb your neighbours, btw wink.gif. mine is a cheap audio technica ATH-T22 which i bought for 50 bucks
lordie
post Aug 2 2009, 04:18 PM

942 posts

yeah headphones are good especially thse monitoring headphones.

0.0181sec    1.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:14 PM