University/college in KL that can go2 Melbourne U, help needed

TS*~ChoC_CanDLe~*
post Jul 25 2009, 06:11 PM, updated 17y ago

Hi all, i'm seeking info abt university/college in KL that have degree programs that have credit transfer/twinning programs directly to the University of Melbourne. I need to know it as soon as possible as I need to decide which university to enter by next week already. Is there any university/college in KL that have such relation with University of Melbourne?

THANKS all for the help notworthy.gif
azarimy
post Jul 25 2009, 06:18 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

what course?
XterNalz
post Jul 25 2009, 06:18 PM

330 posts

Yes, Foundation of Science by Taylor's Uni College can lead you to Melbourne Uni.
limeuu
post Jul 25 2009, 07:31 PM

12,291 posts

ts was asking about degree programmes......

what's this obsession with uni of melbourne anyway.......?
tanjinjack
post Jul 25 2009, 09:19 PM

4,122 posts

IMU still has links with University of Melbourne?
I read somewhere in this forum that Uni Melb no longer takes in IMU students already.

It is to my knowledge that there is no twinning option for institutions in Malaysia with the University of Melbourne other than what I mention above (which is now an unknown whether the link is established or not).

If you just want to go Melbourne, Monash University is in Melbourne also.
KVReninem
post Jul 25 2009, 10:08 PM

IX
5,369 posts

Based on Melb Uni, it doesnt matter which college. As long you meet the criteria, you can go ahead.
mumeichan
post Jul 25 2009, 10:38 PM

4,152 posts

I think TS is looking for a twinning program with Melbourne U. 1+2 2+1 kind of thing.
limeuu
post Jul 25 2009, 11:27 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jul 25 2009, 09:19 PM)
IMU still has links with University of Melbourne?
I read somewhere in this forum that Uni Melb no longer takes in IMU students already.

It is to my knowledge that there is no twinning option for institutions in Malaysia with the University of Melbourne other than what I mention above (which is now an unknown whether the link is established or not).

If you just want to go Melbourne, Monash University is in Melbourne also.
melb is now graduate entry......but the pms arrangement still exist, but in a different format......u need to be in the graduate entry stream, finish an extra year for your b.med.sc, and then maybe get entry into 1st year of the new melb 4 year programme.......

taylors has qs and architecture diploma programmes which may allow some graduates to have advance standing in the 3rd year of melb's corresponding degree programmes.........subject to appropriately high enough preformance......
azarimy
post Jul 25 2009, 11:35 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 25 2009, 03:27 PM)
melb is now graduate entry......but the pms arrangement still exist, but in a different format......u need to be in the graduate entry stream, finish an extra year for your b.med.sc, and then maybe get entry into 1st year of the new melb 4 year programme.......

taylors has qs and architecture diploma programmes which may allow some graduates to have advance standing in the 3rd year of melb's corresponding degree programmes.........subject to appropriately high enough preformance......
the architecture diploma programme is being phased out last i heard.
TS*~ChoC_CanDLe~*
post Jul 26 2009, 03:30 AM

hi all..thx for all the comments and suggestions. i really appreciate them.

i had to enter melbourne uni no matter what (cuz my parents had forced me to), looking for business program. is there any foundation in business available in Taylor College that enables me to credit transfer/twining programs in degree level?hopefully twining programs, 2+1 those..

limeuu
post Jul 26 2009, 08:51 AM

12,291 posts

no twinning programmes....

business courses easy to get in, just go direct there for the 3 years lah...

please note if you only study 1 year there, you cannot stay back to work, if that's the intention.........
KVReninem
post Jul 26 2009, 09:58 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(*~ChoC_CanDLe~* @ Jul 26 2009, 04:30 AM)
hi all..thx for all the comments and suggestions. i really appreciate them.

i had to enter melbourne uni no matter what (cuz my parents had forced me to), looking for business program. is there any foundation in business available in Taylor College that enables me to credit transfer/twining programs in degree level?hopefully twining programs, 2+1 those..
tell your parents, its a first uni testing an new system. A guinea pig system.

Does a degree graduate from Uni MElb make any difference from a graduate from other uni?
TS*~ChoC_CanDLe~*
post Jul 26 2009, 12:17 PM

if i take foundation in arts in taylors den i need to go there for 3 yrs for degree?no other choices?i also dunno y they're so concerned abt pushing me into that U..juz bcuz it's the best U of australia ba..haih..no choice lo..they are the ones who are paying the fees..
limeuu
post Jul 26 2009, 01:14 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(*~ChoC_CanDLe~* @ Jul 26 2009, 12:17 PM)
if i take foundation in arts in taylors den i need to go there for 3 yrs for degree?no other choices?i also dunno y they're so concerned abt pushing me into that U..juz bcuz it's the best U of australia ba..haih..no choice lo..they are the ones who are paying the fees..
i think you need to tell your parents that currently, the highest rank university in oz is anu........NOT melbourne........

and no, if you look for work in oz, employers don't normally bother with which uni you come from.......

if you look for job in msia, most employers also only note you graduate from australia.......

also note that melb fees are the highest in oz for international students......up to 50% more than some other go8 unis......
TS*~ChoC_CanDLe~*
post Jul 26 2009, 04:10 PM

yea...i checked abt that and told them too..too bad they don't care abt the fees and they insist that i must enter melbourne u...haihz.
btw.thx alot for the info.
haya
post Jul 26 2009, 04:19 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

I would ask *~ChoC_CanDLe~*, what is your highest qualification? The only ones I seem to see is an unhealthy amount of knowledge of dresses, handbags et al (through if you find a Kinomoto Sakura figurine I might be interested).

Parents where money is no object, insisting on entering a university based on perceived notions, not happy with HELP university college?
rxy
post Jul 26 2009, 04:45 PM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

ANU is a research-based..If graduate course,will be more better..Heard from someone who studying in Australia.

Well,you have to judge your own qualifications..Melbourne Uni is very strict..Maybe u could take up SAM or A levels or something..If u have only money,without sufficient result,you might not be able to go in..
KVReninem
post Jul 26 2009, 06:35 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(*~ChoC_CanDLe~* @ Jul 26 2009, 01:17 PM)
there is monash, also good in business.

Added on July 26, 2009, 6:40 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 26 2009, 02:14 PM)
i think you need to tell your parents that currently, the highest rank university in oz is anu........NOT melbourne........

and no, if you look for work in oz, employers don't normally bother with which uni you come from.......

if you look for job in msia, most employers also only note you graduate from australia.......

also note that melb fees are the highest in oz for international students......up to 50% more than some other go8 unis......
yup, true. Its so overrated of UniMelb.

viceversa, when you graduate, you want to get to work with skills employer`s want to use for the company . what else, while for your parents; name. status..fame..isnt it?

you can go in unimelb, if you cant cope with the standards. then burn alot of money with them.

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Jul 26 2009, 06:40 PM
jae
post Jul 26 2009, 07:36 PM

359 posts

I have had friends who managed to get into UniMelb second year Commerce program via credit transfer from Monash Sunway, but like any credit transfer, it depends on whether you meet the requirement in having a certain average over your first year results and perhaps some other factors that I'm not aware of.

Alternatively, just get yourself enrolled in one of those pre-u courses (SAM, AUSMAT, A-levels) and get the grades required.
+3kk!
post Jul 26 2009, 07:47 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jul 26 2009, 04:19 PM)
I would ask *~ChoC_CanDLe~*, what is your highest qualification? The only ones I seem to see is an unhealthy amount of knowledge of dresses, handbags et al (through if you find a Kinomoto Sakura figurine I might be interested).

Parents where money is  no object, insisting on entering a university based on perceived notions, not happy with HELP university college?
QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jul 26 2009, 06:35 PM)
there is monash, also good in business.

Added on July 26, 2009, 6:40 pm

yup, true. Its so overrated of UniMelb.

viceversa, when you graduate, you want to get to work with skills employer`s want to use for the company . what else, while for your parents; name. status..fame..isnt it?

you can go in unimelb, if you cant cope with the standards. then burn alot of money with them.
dismiss a top U is rather ignorant, top U's make you stand out more esp in big companies. they also offer more oppournities, companies frequent top unis and steal students moer then low and second class unis. you can argue till the cows come home that certain employers dont care or its overrated but then again it offers what it offers, oppournities tho just slightly higher.

diminishing returns of scale rule mate, applies to everything.

QUOTE(*~ChoC_CanDLe~* @ Jul 26 2009, 12:17 PM)
best uni in aus is ANU, then Uni MEL then UQ. thats for the top 3

first, there are no direct ways to get into them via credit transfer or 2+1. most of these universities have got very strict systems, the only uni you can go and hope to get ino UniMEL with a 100% credit transfer is Monash or a uni in the group of 8 anything else is just bullshit. going to monash is still taking a risk, you might and might not get a 100% credit transfer or have issues along the way, but its relatively easier compared to other non-goup of 8 unis.

a lot of monash students do jump to UniMel, but again its not a direct 100% thing.

if you are in foundation level you can opt for a good foundation, MUFY, A-Levels (the best) and go there and spend 3 years.

0.0218sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:14 AM