7.1 Setup, A Necessity?

TSLone*Wolf
post Jul 25 2009, 05:24 PM, updated 17y ago

1,442 posts

Boys,

Need some advice here. I know 7.1 is becoming the defacto standard in HT systems. I am planning in only a 5.1 (ok, ok, no budget). So I need to know, if I go 5.1, will I be missing a lot in terms of AQ/effects? How many titles support true 7.1 channels anyway?

Thank you.

hian
post Jul 25 2009, 07:14 PM

418 posts

A proper 5.1 setup will bring you right into the middle of any movie action. However, fly-by sound will sound smoother with the extra speaker at the rear in a larger room (think of the real cinema speakers setup and position). A good AVR will extract the 5.1 into 6/7.1 giving you a more better movie experience.
dopp
post Jul 25 2009, 07:21 PM

1,733 posts

I think most ppl still 5.1
azbro
post Jul 25 2009, 07:23 PM

4,403 posts

for my small house 5.1 more than enough.
rthj
post Jul 25 2009, 09:27 PM

1,048 posts

i thought 5.1 was enough......till i installed 2 extra speakers...
xrossf1re
post Jul 25 2009, 09:41 PM

248 posts

I thought 7.1 is enough... till I installed 4 extra speakers and another subwoofer. 11.2 is the way to go
rthj
post Jul 25 2009, 09:45 PM

1,048 posts

yup the more the merrier!
TSLone*Wolf
post Jul 25 2009, 10:07 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(hian @ Jul 25 2009, 07:14 PM)
A proper 5.1 setup will bring you right into the middle of any movie action.  However, fly-by sound will sound smoother with the extra speaker at the rear in a larger room (think of the real cinema speakers setup and position).  A good AVR will extract the 5.1 into 6/7.1 giving you a more better movie experience.
Meaning matrix out the 5.1 sound to have a 7.1 feel? Wouldnt that compromise the AQ?

BTW, any movies with 7.1?
pgf501
post Jul 25 2009, 10:21 PM

154 posts

here's the link.blu ray audio
pierreye
post Jul 25 2009, 10:26 PM

1,308 posts

You need to get a very good dipole if going for 5.1. What you need is a diffuse surround. Normally if you have 2 rows of seat, then 7.1 is necessary. Also, 7.1 will give you a smoother transition of sound from back to front. Most material is 5.1 so you need either PLIIx or THX Surround mode to simulate 7.1
TSLone*Wolf
post Jul 25 2009, 10:33 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(pgf501 @ Jul 25 2009, 10:21 PM)
here's the link.blu ray audio
notworthy.gif

Judging by the list, no real hurry to 7.1 then .... whistling.gif
arremie
post Jul 25 2009, 10:36 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

yeah a lot of titles still 5.1 even new movies
pgf501
post Jul 25 2009, 10:51 PM

154 posts

hoping for transformer 2 will released in 7.1
s6xs9x
post Jul 25 2009, 11:00 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jul 25 2009, 10:33 PM)
notworthy.gif

Judging by the list, no real hurry to 7.1 then ....  whistling.gif
QUOTE(arremie @ Jul 25 2009, 10:36 PM)
yeah a lot of titles still 5.1 even new movies
Same here, 5.1 for me .. but i've still not jumped into BDs yet .. i bet in another month we'll see another 7.1 setup .. someone is busy making BD wishlist .. and it's NOT me!
arremie
post Jul 25 2009, 11:31 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Jul 25 2009, 11:00 PM)
someone is busy making BD wishlist .. and it's NOT me!
whistling.gif
samlee860407
post Jul 25 2009, 11:38 PM

4,631 posts

5.1 currently cukup liao....ckuuuup for me .....at least........
mikapoh
post Jul 25 2009, 11:48 PM

1,263 posts

I think besides budget, the mess of extra pair of long cables and the space to hang up the another 2 back surrounds are pulling many HT set-up from adopting 7.1 system. If the back 4 are not positioned at same height, the smooth transition of the surround sound will not be felt too.

arremie
post Jul 26 2009, 12:21 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

If u have dedicated AV room then no problem to go crazy with speakers. Easily can hide the cables.
robinlim
post Jul 26 2009, 12:33 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

like my case in the living room
no way for me to have a 7.1 setup
rthj
post Jul 26 2009, 02:05 AM

1,048 posts

ermmm......i put mine in the living room....cables are not in the wall.....but you wont see them unless you look for it..hehe

0.0208sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:54 AM