AMD® Socket AM3 Unlocking 4th CORE Thread ~, Those Who Have Tried,Please List it HERE

rexio
post Mar 31 2010, 02:45 PM

20 posts

Hi guys,

I'm new here. Please guide me.
Currently I'm using MSI 770-C45 mobo with Athlon X2 240 OCed to 3.5GHz with CoolerMaster 212+ CPU cooler.

Now I'm planning to upgrade my proc because then Athlon cannot tahan running 100% load 24/7, as I want to run more program. Is there any recommendation on what proc should I get between 550 BE and 555 BE, I'm planning to unlock and overclock it if possible. 550 or 555 is better?

Any good proc batch(as I didn't see any 555 BE batch at the first page) and maybe a good shop at lowyat?

This post has been edited by rexio: Mar 31 2010, 02:46 PM
rexio
post Mar 31 2010, 05:45 PM

20 posts

It still can tahan, no restart or BSOD although being used 24/7, but when I want to start new application, it'll be very laggy.

Is there any noticable difference between Athlon X2 and Phenom X2 if I use it for multitasking?
rexio
post Mar 31 2010, 06:40 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Mar 31 2010, 06:35 PM)
my successful batch
CACAC AC 1003 EPMW
btw how much ram do u have in ur rig??
I have 6GB RAMs of DDR2 800, but all value RAMs, not performance one.
Do you know any shop in lowyat still having those batch? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by rexio: Mar 31 2010, 06:46 PM
rexio
post Mar 31 2010, 06:57 PM

20 posts

Lets say now I'm running 10 of XYZApplication, I can still play WarCraft while 10 XYZApplication still running, but when I run 11 of XYZApplication and play WarCraft, the gameplay will be laggy. I want to run more XYZApplication and play game at the same time.

This post has been edited by rexio: Mar 31 2010, 06:58 PM
rexio
post Apr 1 2010, 03:16 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Apr 1 2010, 01:56 AM)
Go get the 1003 GPMW or 1003 EPMW! 100% success! wink.gif
Hey, I just bought mine 555BE 1003GPMW but not yet test it out.

You sure this batch number 100% can unlock? I ronda whole Lowyat and at last found 1 1003GPMW from Viewnet, last 555BE in the glass cupboard. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Hope I'll able to unlock and OC it.. <--so greedy.. Haha
rexio
post Apr 1 2010, 08:22 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Apr 1 2010, 05:57 PM)
unlock is the easy part,to make it stable is the hard part.
Successfully unlock it, just set ACC to auto and EC Firmware to Special(MSI770T-C45) tongue.gif tongue.gif
rexio
post Apr 2 2010, 09:01 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Apr 1 2010, 08:24 PM)
prime it for an hour or so

blend test
I've run prime95 for 1 hour after unlock it @ stock clock speed but I haven't run the prime95 after unlock+OC to 3.5GHz. Currently my rig running as X4 @ 3.5GHz, because lazy to wait to prime it, just unlock+oc and run all my apps. Seems fine, but of course to make sure its 100% stable I need to prime it because now the proc not even reach 50% load where my athlon X2 240 will reach 100% with same amount of apps. Very happy with my new 555 BE. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
rexio
post Apr 2 2010, 03:28 PM

20 posts

Did you try to change the "EC Firmware" to "Special"?
What BIOS are you using? I'm using the latest from MSI website.

All the best. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by rexio: Apr 2 2010, 03:29 PM
rexio
post Jun 3 2010, 05:00 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ May 29 2010, 10:06 AM)
MSI 770 C45 BIOS 1.6
AMD Phenom X2 555BE
3Gb Kingston DDR1333
Silverstone SST400

Fail. Can't unlock 4 cores.
When I enable to choose cores. Only able to select 2 cores.
So, how am I going to unlock the third?

Btw, how to update the MSI motherboard via windows? I don't have floopy disk ...  sweat.gif

Did you select the change ECC Firmware to "Special"? Try that...
rexio
post Jun 3 2010, 05:24 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jun 3 2010, 05:15 PM)
My bios is new version. It does not have the ECC Firmware option but there's another one that can unlock cores too.

I set to ENABLE and ACC on. Blank screen. Have to reset CMOS. If I set to all 0%. Can boot to windows but only 2 cores.
Then you're having a bad unlockable cores i guess... I'm using same mobo but DDR2 version and able to unlock to 555BE to x4@3.5GHz

0.0313sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:59 AM