125 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V29!, The Orange Legion

clivengu
post Aug 2 2009, 10:24 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Aug 2 2009, 10:18 PM)
hehe... ya loh... sometimes I have to read and reread his posting... so that I really understand.  biggrin.gif
Thank god person like himself is here with us and actively posting  rclxms.gif
Invaluable sharing of information and knowledge  notworthy.gif
I'll refer him as the Walking Encylopedia of Alpha (n other camera related info of course) thumbup.gif His explaination n terms used to describe everything are so accurate
achew
post Aug 2 2009, 10:26 PM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Aug 2 2009, 10:12 PM)
very curious bout the A550 model... since i dont think is time for me to upgrade to Fullframe like the A850 yet...

Worry the A550 was the "cut-cost" version of A700 then i might as well better to get the A700 now when d price r on its lowest.

The fullframe even if its selling for 6k+ FF lens(still not too understand with the FF lenses...) its still far beyond my budget sad.gif
from the sony/minolta naming convention..it looks like the next a100 to me...
albnok
post Aug 2 2009, 10:37 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

clivengu: Some FF lenses are cheaper than their APS-C counterparts.

Sony 50mm F1.4 = RM1100
Sigma 30mm F1.4 DC = RM1700

The Zeiss lenses, are of course more recently priced.

From what I've heard, the A550 is not the cut-cost version of the A700 (if you mean from A200 to A230). It is likely that the A550 will be similiar to the A700, just that by now a proper A700 replacement will have a lot more features.

Supposing:

A700 = RM4400 street price in 2007
A900 = RM8300 street price in 2008
A850 = RM6000 street price in 2009

A700 = RM3200 street price in 2009
A230 = RM1500 street price in 2009
A330 = RM1800 street price in 2009
A380 = RM2400 street price in 2009 * not sold in Malaysia

I would guess that the A500 would be very close to the current A700 price, and the A550 just a bit more. This is including the A700 feature set but probably with Live View.

When the A700 came out, it was closer to specifications and price to a Canon 40D with the Nikon D300 costing RM5400 instead and having more features. A proper A700 replacement should add features... but where in between the A550 and A850 would its price be?
signither
post Aug 2 2009, 10:50 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

wow.. A850!!

but FF is not for me la.. coz i only have one FF lens right now, the 50mm f/1.4 sweat.gif
hafeez71
post Aug 2 2009, 10:50 PM

/// CleaN ISO \\\
538 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Aug 2 2009, 10:50 PM)
wow.. A850!!

but FF is not for me la.. coz i only have one FF lens right now, the 50mm f/1.4 sweat.gif
same la ngan aku pun,,, sweat.gif sweat.gif
signither
post Aug 2 2009, 10:53 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

need to save for FF lenses first, then baru go FF flex.gif
clivengu
post Aug 2 2009, 10:54 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 2 2009, 10:37 PM)
clivengu: Some FF lenses are cheaper than their APS-C counterparts.

Sony 50mm F1.4 = RM1100
Sigma 30mm F1.4 DC = RM1700

The Zeiss lenses, are of course more recently priced.

From what I've heard, the A550 is not the cut-cost version of the A700 (if you mean from A200 to A230). It is likely that the A550 will be similiar to the A700, just that by now a proper A700 replacement will have a lot more features.

Supposing:

A700 = RM4400 street price in 2007
A900 = RM8300 street price in 2008
A850 = RM6000 street price in 2009

A700 = RM3200 street price in 2009
A230 = RM1500 street price in 2009
A330 = RM1800 street price in 2009
A380 = RM2400 street price in 2009 * not sold in Malaysia

I would guess that the A500 would be very close to the current A700 price, and the A550 just a bit more. This is including the A700 feature set but probably with Live View.

When the A700 came out, it was closer to specifications and price to a Canon 40D with the Nikon D300 costing RM5400 instead and having more features. A proper A700 replacement should add features... but where in between the A550 and A850 would its price be?
Thanks for the breakdown.. nice to understand the price range of the alpha line.

Does the Sal50mm F1.4 fit for FF camera? it means when its on a FF camera it will appear like 38mm on an APS-c? Which is the actual Ideal range for Potrait. I oways heard ppl say 50mm is d best n accurate potrait lens.. but i still find it a bit too close on apsc... so it actually apply on a FF camera + 50mm lens?

So albert u believe the A550 would be a A700 replacement...mayb i was assuming by the way Sony named their camera, based on the level of performance... A100<A200<A350<A700<A850<A900... So I thought A 550 could be lower performance than the A700 but better than the A3xx range sweat.gif

I do believe that The A550 should come with the Live View n not sure they will introduce HD videorecording or not (is like a trend now) no harm hving it...it will be interesting.

achew
post Aug 2 2009, 10:56 PM

3,807 posts

50mm F1.4 is a FF lens...and i think it probably boils down to ur portrait style...for me *most of the time* i would find 3x mm(on apsc term) a lil bit too wide for portrait of my style...i'd prefer 85~1xx >.<
post Aug 2 2009, 11:06 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Aug 2 2009, 11:56 PM)
50mm F1.4 is a FF lens...and i think it probably boils down to ur portrait style...for me *most of the time* i would find 3x mm(on apsc term) a lil bit too wide for portrait of my style...i'd prefer 85~1xx   >.<
then get CZ 85mm f/1.4 for ur FF brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
or 135CZ f/1.8 * biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by 168257061: Aug 2 2009, 11:06 PM
tanjq87
post Aug 2 2009, 11:09 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 2 2009, 06:19 PM)

Seng_Kiat: Yes, the A700 screen vividness and sharpness matches my CRT monitor. Also it uses a 640x480 3" VGA screen (your 40D has a 320x240 3" QVGA...)
So A700 screen colour is 'actual colour'?
It's a lil different from my macbook pro lcd, so that means i have to calibrate the lcd?
clivengu
post Aug 2 2009, 11:09 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Aug 2 2009, 10:56 PM)
50mm F1.4 is a FF lens...and i think it probably boils down to ur portrait style...for me *most of the time* i would find 3x mm(on apsc term) a lil bit too wide for portrait of my style...i'd prefer 85~1xx  >.<
hahaha.. i guess im just a lazy user who oways shoot mostly during dining time... shoot food n shoot from my sitting n shoot my friend across the table... tongue.gif don really hv chance to shoot a serious potrait outdoor .... I use the 50mm on my friend. n she said make her face look BIG~lol.... n i used my kit lenss n she just love it.. sweat.gif
achew
post Aug 2 2009, 11:13 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Aug 2 2009, 11:06 PM)
then get CZ 85mm f/1.4  for ur FF brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
or 135CZ f/1.8 *  biggrin.gif
wow..lurker~ tongue.gif

nah..most probably not going to buy it...im kinda afraid i hav too many lenses and i rarely use them...trying to get a set across the range i'd use...and thats it...and now im planing 70200G as my portrait lens + my 50mm F1.4...guess shd be enough? whistling.gif
albnok
post Aug 2 2009, 11:15 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

clivengu: The 50mm on FF becomes a "normal" lens. Come for one of our TTs I'll show you! biggrin.gif

The 50mm on APS-C becomes a short portrait lens.
achew
post Aug 2 2009, 11:18 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 2 2009, 11:15 PM)
clivengu: The 50mm on FF becomes a "normal" lens. Come for one of our TTs I'll show you! biggrin.gif

but somehow i feel that shooting from a distant somehow many the model more "3D" or rather..pop out from the background...

i'd use 50mm on FF when i shoot my gf during some travel/tour..in that way perhaps more background could be captured...
albnok
post Aug 2 2009, 11:22 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

tanjq87: Look directly at the A700 screen. Then tilt it slightly up or down. You might notice that it's a bit warmer straight on but when at a slight angle, that's the true color.

Yes, you might have to calibrate your LCD. Hmmm, perhaps we could have a TT with Azrul and his Spyder!

achew: Exactly, the 50mm on FF is for exactly that. Person and background. But at close range, rotate to portrait mode, and you have a portrait.
Sp00kY
post Aug 2 2009, 11:23 PM

3,366 posts

albnok: a850 price at RM6000? It will be the most affordable FF ~ nice wink.gif
achew
post Aug 2 2009, 11:29 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Aug 2 2009, 11:23 PM)
albnok: a850 price at RM6000? It will be the most affordable FF ~ nice wink.gif
hopefully...
6000/2.45 = 2450SGD..i would buy it without an extra thought~ + 70200G its stil lesser than 5k sgd..hehehe..just nice fit in my budget =o
hkhk
post Aug 2 2009, 11:29 PM

*&^%$#@!
834 posts

Wonder that whether they will bundle the A850 with VG at a promotion prize.. Getting Itchy now..
clivengu
post Aug 2 2009, 11:30 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 2 2009, 11:15 PM)

is been a long time has not TT with u guys, must hv gain hundred of new alpha faces.. thumbup.gif will try to attend one next time thrs one keke.. n hv to make sure Anti FF poison is on.... whistling.gif

Cant wait for the Oct Alpha Convention. Guess tat should be the launching time for the new model. I missed the 2008 one cause was in hometown. doh.gif
Sp00kY
post Aug 2 2009, 11:30 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Aug 2 2009, 11:29 PM)
hopefully...
6000/2.45 = 2450SGD..i would buy it without an extra thought~ + 70200G its stil lesser than 5k sgd..hehehe..just nice fit in my budget =o
how nice if SGD = MYR or 1.5x la...HEHE...
tempting FF arh smile.gif...so 5dmk2 and d700 have to reduce price also smile.gif smile.gif then i will get d700 hEHE

125 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:25 AM